Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick FC 2018 season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1900139646671439&id=239295259422561

Video of the sligo first goal.

Limerick are in big trouble. Is barret the right man going forward? Martin Russel is free, I'd argue he should be brought back
    It doesn't matter if Barrett is or is not the right man going forward, who will replace him? He will be in the helm for the remainder of the season at the very least, will still probably be over us if we are relegated.
    I don't want to see Martin Russell ever again over Limerick, playing lovely football is no good when you don't get a lovely result at full-time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Barrett is getting zero results. What about Brian kerr

If Limerick had money we wouldn't have Tommy Barrett. No way we can afford Brian Kerr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,927 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

If Limerick had money we wouldn't have Tommy Barrett. No way we can afford Brian Kerr.

This

Barrett was chosen because he was the cheapest option, if the club were anywhere serious about Tommy as manager he'd of at least gotten a crack at it as caretaker last season when Russell was sacked but instead club chose the even more inexperienced Boland to take charge.

Plus Kerr hasn't managed a club day to day in 22 years and would cost you bomb in wages. Also good win for Bray tonight against Shams, Limerick lad Ronan Coughlin getting the winner for Bray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,670 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Limerick 0-3 Dundalk

Dundalk had an easy night without ever really needing to get into top gear tonight.

They meant business right from the start, and went ahead after just 7 minutes. A cross to the back post saw the Limerick defenders outmuscled and a header glanced in.

Dundalk were content to press us until we gave the ball away, then attack with pace, and it paid further dividends with half an hour gone. One of their players won a ball he shouldn't have, worked his way to the endline, and crossed to the far post, where it was headed in. Limerick huffed and puffed but created next to nothing.

it was 3-0 early in the second half. Sean Kelly gave possession away very cheaply coming out of defence, and quick as a flash they worked a player in for a shooting chance, and he smashed it low past Clarke.

They took their foot off the gas then, and we had a bit more possession and created a few half-chances, the best of which was probably when Eoin Wearen played in Conor Ellis but his shot was blocked by the keeper. They were still dangerous when they wanted to be, and we needed some good blocks and a goalline clearance to prevent another.

All round, the gap between the teams was massive all over the pitch, and we had no idea of how to hurt them, or even compete with them.

Next game:
    away to Shamrock Rovers, Friday April 20th, 8pm

Limerick 1-2 Sligo:

Limerick are in big trouble
    Lot of discontent amongst the fans, some of whom are a disgrace. That fat red headed loud mouth should have been evicted. Does he think he is funny or some sort of centre piece attraction. Made a Mockery of the player's effort.

No one ever expected to beat the league leaders. The pack of kiddies he has following him weren't much better with their jeering and sniding at their own team

Shamrock Rovers 1-1 Limerick

(Morrissey)

A late equaliser saw Limerick pick up an unexpected point in Tallaght tonight.

I wasn't at the game, so was just going on updates from various sites. It seems like we started well, but went behind to a wonder strike from outside the area after 15 minutes. After that, Rovers gradually took control of the game and created some chances, with Clarke making good saves.

In the second half, we missed a good chance on the hour when Will Fitzgerald headed straight at the keeper after a Sean Kelly cross, and Rovers missed a few decent chances to extend their lead.

With only 5 minutes to go, Eoin Wearen played a through ball for Danny Morrissey, and a smart turn saw him through on goal, and he fired past the keeper. That's the first time we have equalised after going behind all season.

We had to hang on for a while, with 4 minutes added, and a straight red card for Cian Coleman didn't help. But hang on we did, for a very welcome point, and a boost going into a six-pointer next week against Bray, who lost tonight.

Next game: away to Bray Wanderers, Friday April 27th, 7.45pm

1-1 draw away to Rovers, super goal by Morrissey.

That's some goal from Morrissey, boys above.

Bray 0-1 Limerick

(Duggan)

Limerick came out on top in a relegation six-pointer in sunny Bray.

The first half was fairly even, with Limerick going close through Morrissey after a super pass from Billy Dennehy, and Bray missing a penalty. The same Dennehy needlessly tripped a player in the box, but McCabe blazed the penalty well over.

We took the lead early in the second half. A corner was glanced on to Duggan, and he wriggled past a couple of players before poking a shot into the bottom corner.

That gave us about 40 minutes to hold on, and we had to do plenty of defending. Bray pressed and created a few decent chances, the best of which was a free header late on that was somehow put wide. We also missed chances to finish the game off, but survived to the final whistle.

Bohemians scored a late late equaliser away to St pat's, and Sligo picked up an unlikely point away to Waterford.

Next game: home to Derry, Monday April 30th, 7.45pm.

Are noonan and kiely going to continue the podcast without rob hogan?

Limerick 0-3 Derry

Limerick crumbled late on tonight on a truly disgraceful Market's Field pitch.

We actually started well, and after only 40 seconds a ball into the box reached Duggan, but he was stretching for the volley and couldn't keep it down.

Derry were quick on the attack, and Clarke was kept busy, having to make one super save from a shot after a scramble in the box. At the other end, Limerick's best first-half chance fell to Danny Morrissey after a Clifford ball over the top had sent him in behind the defence. But he overran the ball and had to wait for it to come down, allowing the defence to close him down.

Right before half-time, we gave Derry too much time on the ball on the edge of the box, and they took advantage. A flick in behind the defence, and their striker had all the tme he needed to slot it past Clarke.

In the second half we kept up something of an attacking presence, and came close when Karl O'Sullivan left the fullback for dead before sliding a ball across the goal, but a stretching Morrissey could only find the side net. Derry were dangerous on the counter, and we were taking more and more risks, with Clarke again making good saves, and Derry missing a tap-in at the far post.

With 10 minutes to go, the chance we had been waiting for finally arrived. Mark O'Sullivan flicked on a long ball to Morrissey, who controlled it and played it back to him as he rushed towards goal, but with the goal at his mercy, O'Sullivan somehow blazed over from about 8 yards.

That deflated Limerick, and Derry took advantage, breaking quickly, and a Derry striker turned quickly to leave Whitehead behind him before smashing past Clarke. And just a couple of minutes later, it was 3-0. From a ball across the box, their striker evaded Cantwell to set up a shot, but Cantwell brought him down, and the penalty was converted.

Another night when we huffed and puffed, but our lack of quality in attack killed us, and another teams comes to Limerick and picks up the points without even playing all that well.

Next game: away to Cork, Saturday May 4th, 2pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Message posted this morning on The Blue Army's Facebook:

"We have genuinely had loads of messages and people approaching members of the group over the last week or two asking when the Blue Army will be back to full voice. Unfortunately as much as we are behind Tommy and what he is doing the group won't be back any time soon.

Due to the continued terrible treatment of our own fans and tbh in particular members of the Blue Army several members of the group have decided to no longer attend home games. While away fans are receiving awards 16 year old Limerick fans that travel the country to support the club are being turned away or attempting to charge them adult prices because they are not in possession of student ID what 16 year old secondary school student has student ID? While members of the Blue Army have had to jump through hoops to get back to games after receiving short term bans a man that we were assured wouldn't even be allowed to appeal his ban for another year strolls in no problem.

If this treatment of fans in general and the complete hypocrisy of how we are dealt with in certain situations compared to others is not dealt with sooner rather than later the group as a whole will no longer be attending home games."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

grenache wrote: »
    Message posted this morning on The Blue Army's Facebook:

"We have genuinely had loads of messages and people approaching members of the group over the last week or two asking when the Blue Army will be back to full voice. Unfortunately as much as we are behind Tommy and what he is doing the group won't be back any time soon.

Due to the continued terrible treatment of our own fans and tbh in particular members of the Blue Army several members of the group have decided to no longer attend home games. While away fans are receiving awards 16 year old Limerick fans that travel the country to support the club are being turned away or attempting to charge them adult prices because they are not in possession of student ID what 16 year old secondary school student has student ID? While members of the Blue Army have had to jump through hoops to get back to games after receiving short term bans a man that we were assured wouldn't even be allowed to appeal his ban for another year strolls in no problem.

If this treatment of fans in general and the complete hypocrisy of how we are dealt with in certain situations compared to others is not dealt with sooner rather than later the group as a whole will no longer be attending home games."

While I agree that their presence at games leads to a much improved atmosphere, they don't help themselves by acting the eejit at times. I've seen it myself only recently at MF for the Dundalk game, two of them wrestling each other to the ground. Grown men in their 20s behaving life 10 year olds. Then again in Bray last Friday night, ignoring stewards instructions.

Cork 2-1 Limerick

(Morrissey)

I wasn't able to make this, so will leave the reporting to others.

After Cork missed an early penalty, we took the lead through a Morrissey lob just after half an hour, but they equalised just a couple of minutes later.

1-1 at halftime, but they got a winner with 20 minutes to go. Sounds like Mark O'Sullivan missed yet another great chance to put us in front shortly before they got their second.

Next game: home to St. Pats, Saturday May 12th, 6.30pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭letsseehere14

How many penalties have we conceded this year. Top of my head home to Rover, Cork, Derry, Waterford. Away to Bray, Cork, Derry. Not doing ourselves much favour giving away goals in that manner.

Just a correction on the next game at home to St. Pats - it is on Friday at 7.45pm. not Saturday at 6.30pm.

Was changed because the FAI final is on that day. There's also a meeting tomorrow night in the Savoy hotel, it's more or less the same one that was in Dublin and is also open to the public so the Q&A section should be worth your while in going.

Sorry folks, forgot the RTE highlights.

1-0 win away to Bray:

3-0 defeat at home to Derry:

2-1 defeat away to Cork:

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭damowill

The videos dont lie, but we have a serious weak link in the back 4!!

Think the problems lie deeper than just the back four.

Limerick 0-1 St. Patricks Athletic

One of the best performances of the season ultimately came to nothing in a very entertaining match.

Limerick were probably the busier of the two sides in the first half, and created Some decent chances. Colm Walsh-O'Loughlen got in behind the defence but the keeper blocked his shot, Duggan forced a save after Coleman had dispossessed a defender, there was a real goalmouth scramble from a corner. Pat's best chance was probably a dipping volley that just cleared the crossbar.

In the second half we survived two scrambles of our own and continued to create chances, the best of which was probably when Morrissey worked room for a shot from the edge of the area, which was saved for a corner.

It was one of those games where you felt that missing these chances would come back to haunt you, and so it turned out. With about 20 minutes to go, we lost the ball in midfield, and quick as a flash they worked it to the edge of the area, where their striker turned Brouder and fired past Clarke.

We were still in the game, and causing real problems for them. Our best chance came when Karl O'Sullivan got on the end of a cross that was glanced on, but his toepoke towards the corner was again clawed away.

We pressed, but just couldn't find the back of the net. A real sickener after such a good game,with so many good Limerick performances.

Next game: away to Waterford, Friday May 18th, 7.45pm.

Highlights of the 0-1 result against Pats

Waterford 3-6 Limerick

(Morrissey 2, Karl O'Sullivan, Mark O'Sullivan, Maguire, Billy Dennehy pen)

Amazing scenes in Waterford, as Limerick scored for fun.

We pressed early, and took the lead when Morrissey glanced in an inswinging corner, and he doubled the lead a few minutes later, taking advantage of poor control by a defender to go one-on-one and beat the keeper.

Waterford had a midfielder sent off for an ugly lunge just after that, and we kept up the attacks. Billy Dennehy did well to work a cross from the left, and Karl O'Sullivan arrived at the back post to sidefoot back across the goal to make it 3-0. All of this after only 21 minutes.

Waterford pulled one back before half-time, and when they scored early in the second half, it looked like we were in for a struggle, and we did have to weather some attacks.

But we scored on the break when Maguire held off a defender and set up Mark O'Sullivan to score. That took the wind out of Waterford's sails, and the next while was fairly comfortable.

But they scrambled one, and we were under pressure again. But again, we hit back, with O'Sullivan returning the favour to set up Maguire to score. And late on Dennehy converted a penalty after a lazy handball.

Great great night, with the Blue Army in full voice. Only negative was a probable hamstring injury for Morrissey.

Next game: home to Cork, Monday May 21st, 7.45pm.

Massive win for Tommy and the lads, especially delighted for the youngsters with young Karl O'Sullivan getting on the score sheet. Fitzgerald, Walsh-O'Laughlin and O'Sullivan are gonna be main stays of this squad for the next 4yr maybe more years so it's good to see them playing well and young Brouder who hopefully didn't pick up that bad of a knock.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Limericklad121

Anyone know why McGowan isn't getting a run? Surely worth a shot? Just needs a chance to even coming on as a sub I think

Limerick 0-2 Cork

Limerick were unable to lay a glove on Cork, who ran out easy winners.

The first half was a low key affair, with no real chances. Duggan slashed at a volley after just a minute, and Will Fitzgerald horribly sliced a shot after good interplay between himself and Coleman set him up at the edge of the area. Cork's best chance was probably from a beautiful inswinging cross, but their striker sliding in at the far post couldn't make enough contact. They also had a good shout for a penalty.

They took the lead early in the second half, and it was a real sickener to concede. A long punt out of defence, and both Cantwell and Kelly left it for each other to deal with. A cork player took advantage and cut it back into the box from the endline, and an onrushing Cork player smashed it low past Clarke.

After that, it was all Cork, and we couldn't find our ay back into the game at all. Clarke had to make a couple of super saves to keep it at 1-0, but they finally did score late on when a forward evaded a couple of tackles and curled a lovely shot past Clarke from the edge of the area.

Right at the end we forced 3 corners in a row, and Coleman came close from them on two occasions, once with a shot and once with a header, but the final whistle came afterwards.

Next game: away to Sligo, Friday May 25th, 7.45pm.

Highlights from the Waterford and Cork games.

Sligo 0-0 Limerick

I wasn't at this, but it seemed like a fairly even game, going from reports.

The first half saw Limerick hit the bar twice, although Sligo had more of the attack in the early stages.

In the second it was again fairly even, until Sligo had a man sent off with 10 minutes to go, and Limerick pressed but couldn't find a winner. Seems like our best chance fell to Mark O'Sullivan but a last-ditch block prevented a goal.

We stay below Sligo on goal difference, while next week's opponents Bohs also picked up another point. Happily Bray suffered another hiding, amidst rumours that their players were not paid this month.

Next game: home to Bohemians, Friday June 1st, 7.45pm.