Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool vs Everton

Grayditch wrote: »
    He says "are you mad?" "you bitch".

Jaysus, I hope Holgate is ok. That's tough talk.

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

I’m a Liverpool fan but come on- that was an extraordinarily soft penno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

pundits talking some sense
    liverpool fans unhappy with realism
    only for the wrong penalty decision it'd be 0-0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

SlickRic wrote: »
    Faking being spat at is pathetic.
    I think that what he was doing, as he reacted very late to what ever was said.

Never a penalty.
    McCarthy is some thug.
    Holgate needs a slap. Faking being spat at is pathetic.
    Rooney should be off. Utterly out of control on that Gomez tackle.

Is that what he was doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,384 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Never a penalty.
    McCarthy is some thug.
    Holgate needs a slap. Faking being spat at is pathetic.
    Rooney should be off. Utterly out of control on that Gomez tackle.

Agree with most of that,

But can we be assuming he is faking being spat at? It could have been something that was said.

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    pundits talking some sense
    liverpool fans unhappy with realism
    only for the wrong penalty decision it'd be 0-0

Eyes. Dry them.

What goes around and all that

Faking being spat at is pathetic.
    I think that what he was doing, as he reacted very late to what ever was said.
    I think he said 'Puta'

correct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

Pushing someone into the crowd and then having the cheek to get annoyed when they say something mean to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

IT was a peno!!!

He was at least being held back with two hands. Stopping him from running to the ball is a peno.

I dont think Holgate deserved to be sent off but probably at least a yellow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,655 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Not much of a game.

Mr.H wrote: »
    IT was a peno!!!

He was at least being held back with two hands. Stopping him from running to the ball is a peno.

I dont think Holgate deserved to be sent off but probably at least a yellow

Hey, don't be telling alternative facts to referees in this thread!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

mark_jmc wrote: »
    I’m a Liverpool fan but come on- that was an extraordinarily soft penno

Nah it's definitely a penalty. It's as much a penalty as the one Everton got last month and that was a penalty as well. Holgate is stupid putting his arms around Lallana like that in the penalty area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

Soft enough peno but he did hold him back a little, wouldnt be happy of it was given against Liverpool myself.

Rooney is annoying to watch when is in this kind of humour, fouling and mouthing at the ref all half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,049 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I remember that 4 all game. My mother made me go to bed at 4-3 and I though Liverpool won. It was only till the next day my villa mate told me it was a draw and I wouldn't believe him. I had to check the paper imagine that young lads I had to check a paper. I'm hammered by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Agree with most of that,

But can we be assuming he is faking being spat at? It could have been something that was said.

It was something like puta which is think is along the lines of 'Son of a Bitch' in Portugese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,526 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I think he said 'Puta'

Hardly worth cracking up over. You can be sure he's called worse every game

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    Hey, don't be telling alternative facts to referees in this thread!!

:D he was being rugby tackled and Rooney spat at him when he was on the ground

ok maybe that is all lies but still........................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,382 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

I'm assuming he was complaining at being spat it. I can't imagine it being racial.

I can't imagine Firmino just shouting random expletives and insults would cause that reaction. Footballers do that shít all the time.

And Holgate was asking the ref to do something about whatever Firmino did. If it was racial he'd have just gone at Firmino, plus all the players around would've reacted.

So it can only be that he thought he was spat at IMO.

But I may obviously be wrong.

you're allowed to have your arm out to fend off a player
    thats what Holgate did
    Lallana threw himself to the ground
    2 match ban I hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

An unbelievably soft peno. When people say 'putting his arms around him', it conveys images of his arms entangling him and pulling him back, none of which happened at all. Players in the middle of the field running alongside each other jostling for the ball do that all the time and there's not even calls for a free. Once it's near or in the box it goes out the window and the minimum amount of contact that's allowed is reduced to almost nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Very soft pen like the other derby. Rooney and McCarthy are a red card waiting to happen.

thats what Holgate did
    2 match ban I hope

:pac::pac:

Brilliant

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

nice_guy80 wrote:
    you're allowed to have your arm out to fend off a player thats what Holgate did Lallana threw himself to the ground 2 match ban I hope

It's practically the exact same thing as Lovren. It's funny how it evens itself out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,382 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Rooney can only be a foul away...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

He'll be off for the next one you'd think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,542 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

fullstop wrote: »
    Hardly worth cracking up over. You can be sure he's called worse every game

Must have been something else, there's s bit where we can't see Firmino speak, otherwise it's odd reacting to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,828 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Rooney's legs have clearly gone.

Mushy wrote: »
    there's s bit where we can't see Firmino speak
    Ref and a number of Everton players around him, none of them reacted.

Mushy wrote: »
    Must have been something else, there's s bit where we can't see Firmino speak, otherwise it's odd reacting to that

Probably just told him he's ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,049 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Rooney can only be a foul away...

No ref has the balls to send him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,967 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Calvert-Lewin headbutting Robertson there I suppose

ERG89 wrote: »
    nice_guy80 wrote:
    you're allowed to have your arm out to fend off a player thats what Holgate did Lallana threw himself to the ground 2 match ban I hope

It's practically the exact same thing as Lovren. It's funny how it evens itself out
    its not
    DCL was going through at pace. Lallana wasn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,207 ✭✭✭fyfe79

monkey9 wrote: »
    Nah it's definitely a penalty. It's as much a penalty as the one Everton got last month and that was a penalty as well. Holgate is stupid putting his arms around Lallana like that in the penalty area.

Probably a peno in the eyes of the law, ie. the refs are told to give them for contact in the box.

BUT, I do agree with several posters that it should be a contact sport. A striker who powers through a soft challenge and thumps the ball into the net is a great sight. It's slowly being removed from the game, unfortunately.

thats what Holgate did
    2 match ban I hope

fend a player off yes

hold a player back no

your wrong

He's not happy about that but had to be done.

Rooney :pac::pac::pac:

Dying to come off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,828 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Rooney's legs have clearly gone.
    Off after 51 minutes - embarrassing.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

nice_guy80 wrote:
    its not DCL was going through at pace. Lallana wasn't

It is I'm afraid.
    Put his hands on him in box when he shouldn't & simply doesn't need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭mada999

Peter Reid looks the same as when he retired.

Some man.

dont think he's shaved his locks off since then...looks like he should be starring in emmerdale...

VVD time .....come on son

I doubt it's his legs that have him coming off and more so the sure red card that'd leave Everton screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,967 ✭✭✭Liamalone

How so?

More unfounded bitterness coming out

VVD unmarked....he made a great run

fyfe79 wrote: »
    Probably a peno in the eyes of the law, ie. the refs are told to give them for contact in the box.

BUT, I do agree with several posters that it should be a contact sport. A striker who powers through a soft challenge and thumps the ball into the net is a great sight. It's slowly being removed from the game, unfortunately.

Jesus you must have slept your way through the likes of Pires Ljunburg Ronaldo Suarez etc.................

its not
    DCL was going through at pace. Lallana wasn't
    Going away at pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,542 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Ref and a number of Everton players around him, none of them reacted.

Cos it's more directed at Holgate, they were trying to point something out to the ref.

If it is a nothing incident, it's very odd

He looked all over the place. Couldn't handle the occasion.