Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vegas....so many hotels. HELP!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭dobman88

GaGa21 wrote: »
    Yes, it's right next to the Aria for casinos. We loved the Vdara. It's a non smoking hotel too which is great(for me anyway!) The food was lovely, tho expensive like everywhere on the strip. I would recommend anyone to stay there and that's where I'll be going back to.

Yeah that comment about the casinos was very much tongue in cheek.

Nice to hear it's non smoking, plus points for us. I quit 5 years ago, she never smoked. Good food another plus.

Tbh Vdara just ticked all the boxes for us in our budget. Has good reviews and looks great

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Coopaloop

Thanks everyone. Some great tips and suggestions.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,964 ✭✭✭furiousox

Cassidy Travel have November trips to Vegas on sale now.
    A 4 night trip is coming in at less than 400 euro per person.
    Sooo tempted....

CPL 593H

• Registered Users Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

furiousox wrote: »
    Cassidy Travel have November trips to Vegas on sale now.
    A 4 night trip is coming in at less than 400 euro per person.
    Sooo tempted....

Don't forget resort fees are not included in that price.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

As others have said, 90%+ of pools will be shut at that time of year. We don't think of it as a cold place but it does turn in the winter and whilst it'll obviously be a lot nicer than Ireland will be at that time of year it probably won't be pool weather. If you want to swim then the biggest hotels (MGM & Caesars certainly) will have one of two heated pools open.

If you can bring your trip forward to the start of Octobwr then you'll have way more options.

Cosmopolitan is the nicest hotel in Vegas. It's very expensive though. I always recommend Mirage for first timers - perfect location, not so big that you'll get lost and a lovely hotel in its own right. Aria is a really nice too. TBH you can't go wrong if you're on the Strip. Ignore the worst of the reviews - even the worst Strip casino resort (other than Circus Circus which is in a league of crappiness on its own)is so much nicer than anything you'd find for the price just about anywhere else.

Ive stayed at Mirage, Luxor, Aria, Harrahs, New York New York and Vdara on the Strip and Plaza & Golden Gate on Fremont Street, all in the last few years and I've seen the rooms in Bellagio, Wynn, Cosmopolitan and SES so if you need any specific advice on any of those I'll try to help

dobman88 wrote: »
    Yeah that comment about the casinos was very much tongue in cheek.

Nice to hear it's non smoking, plus points for us. I quit 5 years ago, she never smoked. Good food another plus.

Tbh Vdara just ticked all the boxes for us in our budget. Has good reviews and looks great

It's really nice. You get a huge amount of room for your money including a mini kitchen (which means access to tea if you bring a travel kettle) and even though it doesn't have a casino you can an actually get to the casino in Bellagio, Aria and Cosmopolitan in less time than you can from some rooms in the bigger hotels.

Only problem with Vdara is it's got a ****ty pool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭leestone

Beefy78 wrote: »
    As others have said, 90%+ of pools will be shut at that time of year. We don't think of it as a cold place but it does turn in the winter and whilst it'll obviously be a lot nicer than Ireland will be at that time of year it probably won't be pool weather. If you want to swim then the biggest hotels (MGM & Caesars certainly) will have one of two heated pools open.

If you can bring your trip forward to the start of Octobwr then you'll have way more options.

Cosmopolitan is the nicest hotel in Vegas. It's very expensive though. I always recommend Mirage for first timers - perfect location, not so big that you'll get lost and a lovely hotel in its own right. Aria is a really nice too. TBH you can't go wrong if you're on the Strip. Ignore the worst of the reviews - even the worst Strip casino resort (other than Circus Circus which is in a league of crappiness on its own)is so much nicer than anything you'd find for the price just about anywhere else.

Ive stayed at Mirage, Luxor, Aria, Harrahs, New York New York and Vdara on the Strip and Plaza & Golden Gate on Fremont Street, all in the last few years and I've seen the rooms in Bellagio, Wynn, Cosmopolitan and SES so if you need any specific advice on any of those I'll try to help

Hi can you tell me what the Luxor is like seems the best value for what I need.

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭Assassin saphir

Hands down The Cosmopolitan. Best hotel in Vegas and worth every dollar. Bellagio nice too but older crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Monte Carlo, reasonable price too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    Monte Carlo, reasonable price too.

Being refurbished at the moment and turned into The Park MGM.

We're staying in Excalibur from Tuesday onwards, we were there before. It's now non-smoking in the hotel rooms (still allowed smoke in casino as far as I'm aware). Rooms are clean and comfortable. Book Royal tower if you can as it's newer.

We got a week including flights for 320 each. That was Dublin - Philidelphia - Las Vegas but due to a schedule change, we were moved for free to the Dublin - London - Las Vegas flight.

January wrote: »
    Being refurbished at the moment and turned into The Park MGM.

We're staying in Excalibur from Tuesday onwards, we were there before. It's now non-smoking in the hotel rooms (still allowed smoke in casino as far as I'm aware). Rooms are clean and comfortable. Book Royal tower if you can as it's newer.

We got a week including flights for 320 each. That was Dublin - Philidelphia - Las Vegas but due to a schedule change, we were moved for free to the Dublin - London - Las Vegas flight.

Omg where you get that price insane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

leestone wrote: »
    Omg where you get that price insane

Expedia, I posted in Bargain alerts about it at the time.

It was actually 370 pp I just checked but still, amazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭th283

There’s lots of deals on flights today, I booked Dublin to Vegas for 330 return in March last week, it’s down to €230 today

• Registered Users Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭youngblood

Cant recommend the Cosmopolitan high enough, stayed at the MGM, Luxor & Wynn, so a bit of a mix of hotels and Cosmopolitan wins on every front!

Except for the Breakfast Buffet and thats across the road in the Bellagio- 12 min walk

January wrote: »
    Expedia, I posted in Bargain alerts about it at the time.

It was actually 370 pp I just checked but still, amazing.

Tried Expedia recently found no zero decent prices strange

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭lillycakes2

What websites are good to book vegas holidays where you get free buffets and thinks like that ? I got that once when I went but cannot remember what website? it was part of the package deal

leestone wrote: »
    Hi can you tell me what the Luxor is like seems the best value for what I need.

I LOVE Luxor. As a casino its one of the most fun places on the Strip, IMO. You've Mandalay Bay right next to you which has a lot of cool bars and restaurants and its even got a decent Irish pub by it where you can get a proper cup of tea :D

The rooms in the two towers are sold as being the nicer rooms but they're really bog-standard Vegas hotel rooms. Clean, decent-ish size but nothing special. For me though what Luxor has over any other hotel in the World is the Pyramid and I'd recommend staying in there instead of the towers as part of the experience. Where else in the World can you stay in a pyramid? The pyramid rooms are a bit dated (although they appear to have started renovating them recently) but they're still functional.

Only 'downside' to Luxor is its location right at the South of the Strip. Personally for me that's my favourite end of the Strip but first-timers usually like to be more central. You're talking probably 45 minutes walk from Luxor to the fountains at the Bellagio.

Basically Luxor is cheap because it's a bit older and not in a great location but it's a lot of fun. I wouldn't go there if I was looking to impress anyone and might think about somewhere more central if its my first trip but if I'm just looking for a fun basecamp, don't mind the idea of elevators which move diagonally and either have been to Vegas before or am happy to do a lot of walking I'd definitely stay there again.

What websites are good to book vegas holidays where you get free buffets and thinks like that ? I got that once when I went but cannot remember what website? it was part of the package deal

Not sure if its what you mean but I always use http://www.smartervegas.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

What's the verdict on the Linq? Not the OP but going in a few months with younger crowd (24-26).

Not been mentioned too much on the thread so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭aj89

We have stayed in the Luxor, Excalibur and New York New York...

Luxor was the nicest but further down the strip... We are heading back in April and are staying in Planet Hollywood (which has been recommended by lots of people I know)!

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭loconnor1001

Mokuba wrote: »
    What's the verdict on the Linq? Not the OP but going in a few months with younger crowd (24-26).

It’s absolutely grand, I stayed there in June. Great location, more suitable to a younger crowd which should suit ye fine. The room was a bit smaller by Vegas standards, but nice and clean. Best thing about it hands down is the location, the promenade area is really lovely with lots of shops and restaurants!

Only downside the cellular reception when in the hotel/casino was nearly non existent and the WiFi was dreadful! Not the end of the world, but a bit annoying at times!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

Mokuba wrote: »

I've stayed in the Linq, and it's a clean hotel. Not the best casino on the strip, but the location is brilliant.

The Linq was a bit of a kip when it was Imperial Palace but they've renovated it twice in eight years. It usually gets decent reviews and as has been said it's in a great location.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Thread moved to where it would be better suited.

Thanks,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

I've stayed in the Vdara, Planet Hollywood and The Marriott at the convention centre (last minute booking).

Vdara was a lovely hotel. It's part of the same complex as the Aria, so the casino is very close. Great value for money in the Vdara I found. Quality rooms and great location.

The pool area in Planet Hollywood is very good. If lounging for a day at the pool is your thing, then I'd recommend that. They have a wave machine area for surfing as well. This was right below our room and was funny watching person after person wipe out :)

On the trip that I stayed in the Marriott, it was up by the convention centre. The rest of my group were staying in the Cosmopolitan and I basically hung out there for the weekend. It is a really nice hotel, probably the best in Vegas I would say, but it's expensive for the rooms there...

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Coopaloop

Thanks everyone for all your suggestions and tips!! I booked the Cosmopolitan in the end.
    Himself was very shocked and very happy and can't wait to go now...Roll on NOV!!