Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Thinks Wich Trivilly anoy u.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,926 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

73Cat wrote:
    Clothes that are on the wrong hangers in shops. I have to bring back a pair of pants tomorrow that are two sizes too big

One of my earliest memories is of my mum checking the label on clothes in Penney's in Rathfarnham Shopping Centre because the hangers weren't to be trusted. I'd say I was about 4. Possibly on the same visit she made me try on clothes without going into the fitting room because "Sure who's looking at you???"

How times have changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    We had that in a room and it was a dead mouse in the wardrobe !!

We'll be checking for dead mouse in a few minutes. Or the man will after the greenhouse dilemma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭4Ad

Telling White Lies to my Da about where I am...while picking up Family at the airport for his surprise party tomorrow...
    I cant wait to see his face...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cleopatra_

A certain awkward and selfish family member. Grumble.

Trying to get a superhero costume for my 1-year-old as it's superhero day in crèche tomorrow. Jesus, they don't make it easy. I got in the car at 9am and drove to Dún Droma for Hamleys. The place looked like a morgue so I asked a girl nearby and when she heard my plight she told me sympathetically the whole place has closed down for good. She recommended two other places.

I went there and the sneering [male] feckers were barely hiding their amusement at my search for a superhero costume. Girls are so much more sympathetic for this sort of shopping! Off with me to Carrickmines and Smyths had three superheroes (allegedly!) that I had never heard of Cat something and two others. "Superheroes" my eye. No Superman at all. Went to Mothercare and they had Batman, who was nowhere near as big a superhero as Superman was, the Avengers, which I think was a 1970s drama with loads of women [edit: that was Charlie's Angels], and the Incredible Hulk who was a crap "superhero". And then not one place had a superhero costume to fit a 1-year-old superhero. As if a one-year-old can't be a real superhero.... At the end, I just asked the nearest woman in Mothercare which is the best, and went with her recommendation. As things stand it's going to be entertaining at 7:30am tomorrow after the nappy change to fit him into an Avengers costume for age group 3-5 (replete with face mask) - and then try and fit him into the car seat. Although I think I'll be breaking my sides laughing watching him waddle into crèche from the car.

... all this reminds me of my mother bringing a Superman pyjamas home from New York to me in about 1980 and I was upset because she couldn't find a real Superman outfit in all of America (I remember vividly the daily phonecalls asking her did she find it yet!). She was so apologetic.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

LirW wrote: »
    We'll be checking for dead mouse in a few minutes. Or the man will after the greenhouse dilemma.

If you have potted plants, there could be stagnant water in the saucers under them. It can get quite pungent, with the warm weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Been installing updates and restarting my laptop since 8pm :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Cleopatra_ wrote: »
    A certain awkward and selfish family member. Grumble.

These miserable yokes will probably out live the rest of us, too contrary to f off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

First day of air quotes holidays was hectic, and I fully expect another week or two of it.
    TA One part of it was taking dog to the vets for full run of vaccinations as he needs to be up to date for travelling, and although I had clearly said on booking I needed all vaccines ticked and done, when we got there they said they were out of kennel cough, last one gone the same day, so now I've to go back there tomorrow.

Only counting the back and forth between our 2 local towns and our home, it was slightly above 120 km driving today, and now that I've to return to vets tomorrow, it'll be another +120 km tomorrow, possibly a bit less rushed if I'm lucky.

Tough going day after taking Mtx too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Herpes Free Since03

Oh MTX... 20mg a week for me...not fun.

My TA is the bargain alerts on Gillette razors...you always have someone popping up screaming use a DE blade.... absolute idiots
    How do you know someone uses a DE razor?
    Coz they tell you...again....and again...and again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,871 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Was I telling you I use a DE razor and I don't know whether to be TA'd or just laugh at what some pay for multi bladed face destroyers.

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,806 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

When I was making coffee, I stubbed my toe on the table, the pain is real, you mother f***** :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

New Home wrote: »
    If you have potted plants, there could be stagnant water in the saucers under them. It can get quite pungent, with the warm weather.

Figured now that it was the dog, the smell is gone and this stupid mutt probably just ate something it really shouldn't have eaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,688 ✭✭✭storker

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    My gran used to say it , its a Dub thing . I see nothing at all there to make you unfriend anyone .

"What did he die of?"
    "He died of a Tuesday."

_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Every warm spell during the summer there always seems to be a drowning accident in this country. While my heart goes out to the families of the two young lads who died yesterday, there just seems to be a complete lack of awareness when it comes to safety outdoors.

And we've even got to the stage of putting out reminders to grown adults during "festival season" to apply suncream/bring rain-gear to the event as if people are completely incapable of checking the weather in advance and taking appropriate action.

Actually, that reminds me of another TA. "Festival season". Built up in the media as some sort of compulsory life-experience when in reality they resemble a POW camp with young people often off their heads on yokes, inevitable rain and inhumane toilet facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

TA'd that my phone won't send messages despite having full coverage :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭bot43

people typing and refusing to use capitals at the start of sentences, or at all.

especially in work emails.

it is very irritating.

bang of, "im too important to press shift when typing".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Bredabe

The boysib I stay with when I'm in regional HQ got his twice-yearly blood's back.
    All good, has lost weight and has the cholesterol of 'a vegetarian' according to the Dr.

TA? This is because of the dietary changes I passed on from my time with a dietician, not, of course, a word of thanks. I'm not having good results at all! Freaking sugar addiction/procrastination.

Someone turned off the ad blocker on one of the girls' computers, she has some cookies from when she was looking for info after her mis, now she is being swamped by all kind of triggering images. I can see her regressing in front of me from this kind of exposure.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭trellheim

TA'd that my phone won't send messages despite having full coverage
    Typically happens when you have 3g and Wifi at the same time, but the wifi is blocked via a login or 'click OK' page ... turn off wifi and see if it works...

The missus is working from home today, from the kitchen. I can't put on the washing machine and I get murderous glances if I even go in to get a drink. She's on calls all day so I'm trying to be as quiet as possible.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,806 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Was in Dunnes today and I passed this woman giving out cans of Heineken alcohol free cans (yuck for Heineken in general), she asked if I would like one, I said no thanks and smiled at her, well you'd swear I just turned down the offer of a million euros with the way she looked at me, she looked very offended that I declined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 MurmanskRun

TA #1 Listening via headphones* to happy tunes on my phone whilst eating. Brushing errant crumbs off my chest and ripping the fcuking buds out of my fcuking ears for the upteenth fcuking time.

TA #2 Standing on aforementioned headphones*.

TA #3 Collating (for irrelevant purposes related to this TA) YouTube videos today. Allianz, I will never, *ever* avail of your insurance.

(* Yay, €1.50 Dealz headphones ftw)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Sweating profusely like a singing dancing 90yearold Tina Turner rolling on a river. I need a thousand cold Showers.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Sweating profusely like a singing dancing 90yearold Tina Turner rolling on a river. I need a thousand cold Showers.

I love this weather but I can't cope with the sweating either!

TA: my scalp got burnt yesterday when I was sunbathing in the garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,314 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

KatW4 wrote: »
    I love this weather but I can't cope with the sweating either!

TA: my scalp got burnt yesterday when I was sunbathing in the garden.

It's trivially annoying how much more times we need to wash bodies and clothes (especially bed clothes) in this heat.
    On the bright side, there's great saving on the tumble dryer!

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

I'm a lot like my printer, I only work half the time and when I do I'm very temperamental and my output varies. But I am iPhone compatible!

My face has been really dry all day and it's really irritating me! My face never gets dry, and I've no idea what's causing it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Dramatik

TA I've somehow gotten a single drop of what looks like oil on my suit trousers, no idea of where it could have come from. To make matters worse I just got them dry cleaned last week. I also don't finish till six so I have to deal with it sitting there mocking me asking to be cleaned.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Films that show the end at the beginning.

People who think that because they know about some massive event within their own tiny bubble that everyone else automatically knows too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭farmerwifelet

drama llamas!! stop complicating things just for the sake of it! i am not enabling that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

Not coping with new website layout!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Wishing for the weekend all week and now it’s here and I’m bored.
    Is it too early to get drunk?

Ate half a box of chocolates and now my belly is sore. First world problems.

Same here except I ate ice cream, Ta'd I don't know when to stop :3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Herpes Free Since03

Ah... but you'll be very popular now "nudge, nudge, wink, wink"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Ah... but you'll be very popular now "nudge, nudge, wink, wink"!!

Do you not know we have had advanced to the hand-drop.

TA, I should be doing stuff, but arsing about.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

Was looking forward to a chinese takeaway earlier.And it wasnt open.So i ate loads of crap,feel sick and not in the humour for a takeaway now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

My friends are meant to be coming over for predrinks before we head out, but they’re running late.
    I was bored so I ate all the snacks I bought us and now I feel fat and gross.
    Wish they’d hurry or I’ll be too drunk to leave the couch :pac:

Feeling lonesome :(

Hugs

Ditto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,314 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Hugs

Ditto

Hugs trebled from single gal sitting in on a BH Saturday :(

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

That twat on the ad for Viagra dancing down the stairs after presumably getting the ride. I'd love to give him a hefty shove in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭4Ad

73Cat wrote: »
    That twat on the ad for Viagra dancing down the stairs after presumably getting the ride. I'd love to give him a hefty shove in the back.

Yeah, fecking smug heads on them....feck off !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I'm loving the current spell of weather but the fcuking moths are driving me to distraction, they are always flying towards the laptop screen. I might have to resort to the can of Lynx and lighter in a minute. :(:mad:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

TA'd at this headache I still have even after taking painkillers for it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Still awake. Still feel like crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

I am the definition of that Micky Flanagan 'out-out' sketch.
    TA at my lack of self control.

Went out for 1/2, woke up with one shoe on, one shoe off.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Got a meal the other night served on a chopping board, then the dessert came out on a slate. Maybe I'm getting old, and I'm not "down with the kids" on food trends, but that's just wrong.
    Skinny jeans with the 2 knees ripped out of them, no socks, and those outdoor slippers, on 90% of young lads, also the half haircuts. I bet in a few years, they'll look back and cringe, just like I did looking back at the xworx, eclipse, Petro motion phase.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

People who try to talk to me on the train. I am so awkward talking to people and I hate having to talk to people I don't know. I can't be rude so I always reply and then they think they can start full scale conversations with me. Leave me alone :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

When you’re doing a clear out and jamming everything into a black bag only to lift it up and the whole side of it rips and everything’s out on the floor ffs