Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tommy Tiernan's comments on older gamers

• 10-01-2018 10:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

IMG_20180110_215254435.jpg

the last bit is actually "acting the eejit around women"

That's rich coming from that pig ignorant 'eejit'. Dude is about as funny as cot-death.

(That pic is from an interview with him in the Sindo)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,468 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Tommy Tiernan is a fcuking gowlbag! :pac:
    He's spent his entire adult life "acting the eejit" :mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,717 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Mr. Tiernan's throwaway comment shows a superficial knowledge of gaming culture: one that in reality is woven in many people's lifestyle and serves as a means to relax and interact with friends.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

He's a gob****e of the highest order! I wouldnt take anything he has to say serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,459 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Tiernan is an unfunny guy stealing a living masquerading as a "comdeian".

• Registered Users Posts: 18,707 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

He can feck off back to China for all I care.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Jebus lads, defensive much? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Ye are doing no good with this massive overreaction to a comedian. I didnt see it but did he mention very thin skinned?

Haha..yeah, he's actually dead right. But like it's happening across society..We live in the age of the eternal teenager..

(Speaking as an eternal teenager..)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

As a 36 year old obsessed with gaming I shrugged and kinda agreed with him. Then I went back to playing WoT.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

You really can't say anything these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Lads there is no need to be offended at this. Comedians use observations that they think will resonate with people, very often founded on a stereotype. This is Tiernan's art and there is a good chance that he may not actually believe it. However, he may well believe it and if so, why would that even matter? You (we) like what we like and times have changed with regard to how media is consumed. Games are as legit as movies, poetry or painting and there is no age limit. Have faith in your own choices. I don't see how an innocuous joke illegitamises them.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,301 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

So the gowl said something to get him back in the media so people are talking about him again? Job done :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Was it worth a thread ?
    Do we really care about his opinion ?

Some random comedian says something about a group of people....what's new ?

Failing comedian doesn't understand gamers.

OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Grahamer666

All Hail Dara o'Briain !!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Well done for showing him we're well rounded adults with such a mature response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Obviously he is crap at Battlefield One. This is his way of venting.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

There's a wide swathe of society that don't understand us. I'm not sure I understand us. Anyways, just need to get these 8 hours of work over so I can go back to the Division.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

OK.

How do you define failing comedian? He has a new comedy series out, has a very well received chat show and continues to sell out comedy gigs here and abroad.

I'm not a gamer but I'm staggered at this thread. It wasn't a slight on gamers. He could have used skateboarding or "going out clubbing " or other activities which are predominantly a younger demographic. Tommy Tiernan hasn't an issue with gaming - at least not by any comments he made in that article

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,278 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I don't really get what the big deal is here.

It's even worse. My dad is past his sixties and is still obsessed with games. He screams at the TV on a regular basis. The strangest thing is that he has no connection to Liverpool at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,842 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Tommy Tiernan is a fcuking gowlbag! :pac:
    He's spent his entire adult life "acting the eejit" :mad:
    He's a gob****e of the highest order! I wouldnt take anything he has to say serious.
    Tiernan is an unfunny guy stealing a living masquerading as a "comdeian".
    K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    He can feck off back to China for all I care.
    the_syco wrote: »
    So the gowl said something to get him back in the media so people are talking about him again? Job done :pac:

OK.

UnitedMemorableBrontosaurus-size_restricted.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

How do you define failing comedian? He has a new comedy series out, has a very well received chat show and continues to sell out comedy gigs here and abroad.

I'm not a gamer but I'm staggered at this thread. It wasn't a slight on gamers. He could have used skateboarding or "going out clubbing " or other activities which are predominantly a younger demographic. Tommy Tiernan hasn't an issue with gaming - at least not by any comments he made in that article

He's equating gaming at 40+ to somehow being a sign of extended immaturity, the usual stereotype of gaming only being acceptable as a hobby until you reach "adulthood".

Personally I will be gaming to the day I die and couldn't care less for anyone who holds a view like his. It's a valid hobby - like binge watching netflix, or watching movies or listening to music but doing those activities for 8 hours plus a week is somehow more socially "acceptable" than playing a video game. Complete bull****.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

tenor.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Ah Jaysus lads he's a comedian. Personally not a comedian to my taste but it's just observational comedy that he knows Joe public will say haha that's true I know a gamer, nerds. Haha you're funny Tommy as I agree with this statement.

So yeah no skin off my nose. Thankfully gaming as a hobby is a lot more accepted now than it was before.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,178 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Was gonna be offended but then remembered I played A Hat In Time a week or so ago and was smiling and laughing away at it so he's probably right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

He's equating gaming at 40+ to somehow being a sign of extended immaturity, the usual stereotype of gaming only being acceptable as a hobby until you reach "adulthood".

He's a comedian and commentator, not a psychologist presenting their findings in a medical journal.

It's Tommy Tiernan for gods sake, he takes a pop at everyone in society. He didn't claim that everyone over the age of 40 who play games are immature and act the eejit around women. People need to laugh and move on, otherwise you're falling into that immature adult observation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Charlie Brooker should have a word.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 NeonSquares

I'm 35, married, 2 kids, active social life, have a career, friends, still play the same online games in the evenings I have since my teenage 56k modem days.

Tommy can jog the feck on, sure isn't he an ex alcoholic and drug addict?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

There are already signs of 40 year old teenagers....

That's the key part of the sentence, why are people getting so annoyed? Where has he said older gamers are immature?