Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump Presidency discussion thread III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,931 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Igotadose wrote: »
    Hrm. Maybe this is one way something can be done by Trump on prison reform - meet with a celebrity advocate:

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/us-politics/trump-kim-kardashian-meeting-prison-reform-alice-marie-johnson-a8376771.html

What is it with him and porn stars?

So, with Gowdy, Shep Smith and the Senate all stating that there is no "there there" regarding any spies, Trump has to go down to Rush Limbaugh levels to find someone to support him

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1002141448232493056

(Ignoring of course the fact that his team were warned in the Summer of 2016)

One step away from Alex Jones* :eek:

*who he has complimented before and appeared on his show

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Nox

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Nox wrote: »
    Looks like being a fan of the current POTUS is not a popular thing here. The biggest and best accomplishment of this administration has to do with the courts ... beginning with the Supreme Court followed by the District Courts. Look at what is happening ... and after only 18 months.  Trans Pacific.  Iran.  NOKO.  Hostages ... the list goes on. 
    In a quick response to a prior post ... stay tuned about "lock her up". This deplorable is still waiting for the IG report. Tax cuts ... they sure have helped me. But then "crumbs" Nancy wants to repeal those and increase taxes.
    BTW ... the creeps in MS-13 are indeed ANIMALS. Look at photos of their victims and tell me I'm wrong. Having said that, I anticipate that someone will ... but I doubt the will have looked at the photos.

You are correct that being a fan is not popular around here, and indeed in many places.  You either think that somehow you are one of a select few that see the real picture or perhaps you are wrong.  Quantity does not equal being right, but when the majority, all individuals, are falling in one direction and have posted plenty of examples of how they came to that conclusion, simply coming on and saying that everyone is wrong without any actual evidence of which you have based your position is of course going to open you up to questions.

I see that you made a small attempt to point out the positives.  Lets review them;

The biggest and best accomplishment of this administration has to do with the courts ... beginning with the Supreme Court followed by the District Courts.

What effects has this had?  I hear Trump and the GOP talk endlessly about it, but apart from looking to politicise the legal system (which surely cannot be seen as a good thing) what has it actually achieved.  What was the major issue that was ruining the previous legal system that putting political stooges in place is going to solve?
    Trans Pacific.  Same as above.  What benefit has Trump position brought to the US?  I would assume you do see that the agreement would have brought some benefits, which are no gone, so these need to be factored in. 
    Iran.  We have gone from a position of a deal which was holding off them gaining a nuke, to no deal at all.  I can, if I try really hard, see how he wanted a better deal, but to just drop out without any deal in place?  How is that any better? 
    NOKO.  Nothing is achieved yet and Trump seems to be very much reacting to events rather than the driver of them.  The real truth is that the reason NK are talking now rather than to Obama or W Bush, is that they finally got the nuke.  They have a major bargaining chip.  NK were never going to take on the US militarily, China wouldn't let them as it would be a direct threat to them.  This isn't because of anything Trump did, NK would have done the same had they got the bomb under Obama.  Kim has what he wanted, knows he is in a powerful position and is looking to cash in on the investment.
    Hostages - They were hostages freed under Obama as well.
    Tax cuts ... they sure have helped me.  But how much did that cost you?  Lets say you have got 10k back in taxes.  Corporations are saving billions.  Elites, like Trump, are going to save millions.  That you can be bought off, with your own money, so easily is startling.  The national debt is going to mushroom.  The likes of Pelosi of course will have to increase your taxes later, how else will all this be paid for.  BTW, do you not think it odd that the CT cut is forever yet your taxes are time restricted?
    MS-13 - Can you show me a quote where anyone has said that MS-13 are welcome?  Can you show me anything to suggest that the DNC are against dealing with criminals?  Do you really think that until Trump arrived the US police simply ignored MS-13?  And why the focus on them?  There is plenty of crime in the US, carried out by US citizens.  What is Trump doing about the continued school shootings.  The rampant deaths from guns due to lack of gun control?  Do you think MS-13 are somehow the only criminal gangs in the US?

Now what about all the negative things he has done.  Before you can state that he is positive one needs to consider both sides.

He has aggressively attacked the press, a cornerstone of your constitution.
    He has used the POTUS to enrich himself and his family.
    His family continues to use his position to further their business interests, Ivanka has miracously obtained 13 patents in China in the last 3 months.
    He has given tacit, and sometimes explicit, acceptance of racism.  Even the latest issue with Rosanne.  
    He has done nothing to deal with the lack of medicare.
    He is doing nothing to prepare the US for the effects of climate change
    He hasn't failed to deliver on his promise for Mexico to pay for the wall.
    He is currently under investigation for obstruction of justice and possible campaign corruption
    He has stood by his son who admitted to trying to collude with a foreign power.

A civil and cogent post ... I shall respond:

The previous administration appointed two SCOTUS judges ... one with NO prior judicial experience and the other who believes the Constitution is a "living document" to be interpreted any way she pleases. District Court justices, especially the 9th Circuit feel they can dictate federal law for the entire nation. Talk about politicizing the judiciary ... President Trump is trying to bring back sanity to the courts.

Every nation in the TPP benefited from the pact except the US. The benefit that the POTUS brought was for this country.

Pulling the plug on Iran did not hasten their nuke program ... Israel proved that. How did you feel about 'self inspection'? 

NOKO ... you said it yourself ... nothing has happened yet. POTUS cnx the summit ... Kim comes screaming back wanting it. Did you forget about how Kim's tone changed both times after being invited to China for tea?

This POTUS did not send a plane filled with cash to get ANY hostages. No comparison at all.

Glad that you too enjoy the tax cut 'crumbs'. Nancy is the gift that keeps on giving.

The MS-13 blurb is replete non-issues to the subject. Yes ... that gang existed ... but a bigger YES is that this POTUS is actually doing something about the ANIMALS. BTW ... what has the opposition party done about them ... besides NOTHING.

Hmmm ... attacking the press ... just who started it ... and when?

Seems to me that all the points about folks other than the POTUS belong on a different thread.

Have you ever heard of  'guilt by allegation'? In case you don't know it ... you can be accused of or investigated for ANYTHING.

I appreciate civil and cogent intercourse ... thank you.

Outside of the MSM trying to tie Rosanne to the POTUS ... what racism is there? Are you talking about employment statistics? BTW ... this country is for its own citizens ... at least it should be ... if the courts interpret the Constitution the way it was written.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

....this country is for its own citizens ... at least it should be ... if the courts interpret the Constitution the way it was written.

This is something that I really struggle with in terms of the Conservative viewpoint.

Are the right really saying that the Constitution written a very very long time ago can never be re-interpreted based on a modern lens?

and that any and all new interpretations be subject to a Constitutional amendment?

If that is the case (as would seem to be the position if I am interpreting things correctly) then how does that align with things like Scalias update on the 2nd Amendment following the Heller judgement that shifted the meaning from being "States can maintain a well regulated militia" to "Everyone can own all sorts of weapons for personal use"?

How is that not a "new" interpretation?

Either it's written in stone and only a new amendment can change it or it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,710 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

The previous administration appointed two SCOTUS judges ... one with NO prior judicial experience and the other who believes the Constitution is a "living document" to be interpreted any way she pleases. District Court justices, especially the 9th Circuit feel they can dictate federal law for the entire nation. Talk about politicizing the judiciary ... President Trump is trying to bring back sanity to the courts.

So let me get this straight. You claim that the last admin politicised the courts and you are totally behind Trump doing exactly that? So you think the courts should be a plaything to whatever party or person has power at any particular time? I can only deem from your lack of actual detail as to the benefits that you think that the law will now be interpreted based on the way you want it to be. I totally see the logic in that, the problem being that the law should be above the machinations of politics.
    Every nation in the TPP benefited from the pact except the US. The benefit that the POTUS brought was for this country.

You are going to have to provide a bit more detail than that. Are you suggesting that the US would not have benefitted at all from TPP? I simply do not believe it. Could it have been better, yes, but all deals are a trade off. US being the dominant in any deal will always look to lose out in comparison as the other countries are coming from a much lower base.
    Pulling the plug on Iran did not hasten their nuke program ... Israel proved that. How did you feel about 'self inspection'? 

Iran proved that back in 2002 they were trying to build nukes, well yeah, hence the need for the deal. All other participants in the deal agreed that Iran were sticking to the plan. What possible purpose would the EU have in conspiring with Iran to help them build a nuke? Why would China want them to? What has getting rid of the deal achieved? Has Iran suddenly started more rigorous inspections?
    NOKO ... you said it yourself ... nothing has happened yet. POTUS cnx the summit ... Kim comes screaming back wanting it. Did you forget about how Kim's tone changed both times after being invited to China for tea?

But you failed to deal with my point about why all this is happening now. You seem to think Trump is the cause, I think it is simply timing. Kim finally got to the point of having nukes, he didn't have them before. That what all the rocket tests were about, showing the world he had them. One minute he is an evil dictator but harmless to the wider world, and next thing he is a evil dictator with nukes. So he has spent billions getting this upgrade and now he is cashing in. Already Trump is promising massive investment, for Kim to remain in charge. Far from Trump leading this it is Kim in charge.

Now, I really don't care once the issue is dealt with. If that means Trump takes some plaudits, but the world is a bit safer then I'm fine with that trade-off. But there really is no reason to think Trump is the one to get the kudos on this.
    This POTUS did not send a plane filled with cash to get ANY hostages. No comparison at all.

He didn't need to. He has given Kim the one thing he craved, international importance. Listen to Trump on the tarmac. "Excellent" he called Kim. Fro a propaganda POV that is priceless. Imagine that clip being played repeatedly in NK. Kim promised he would bring the US to the table and that is what he has achieved.
    Glad that you too enjoy the tax cut 'crumbs'. Nancy is the gift that keeps on giving.

I am not sure if you just missed the point or have dileberatedly done so. i acknowledged that the tax cuts are welcome, I never mentioned crumbs, that is your position. I asked at what cost. You get 10k, but Trump gets millions. You get 10k but CT gets cut from 36% to 21%. CT is forever, but individuals is time-limited. I simply cannot understand why you cannot see that you have been sold a pup. The fact that the tax cuts means either massive reduction in spending or future tax cuts seems to have totally escaped you. Why didn't Trump simply reduce the individual tax rates? Why the need to get rid of the inheritance tax?
    The MS-13 blurb is replete non-issues to the subject. Yes ... that gang existed ... but a bigger YES is that this POTUS is actually doing something about the ANIMALS. BTW ... what has the opposition party done about them ... besides NOTHING.

Fine, what is he doing? I now he talks about it alot, but in practical terms what has he done? Are you claiming that not one MS-13 member was arrested during the Obama admin?

Don't understand the question, but it feels like deflection. Trump and the WH is very aggressive against a free press. He selects the outlets he believes give him the easiest ride, whilst boycotting the others. That in itself is a clear form of censorship. Are you comfortable with a POTUS that only speaks to certain parts of the population? Are you comfortable with a POTUS that has only held 1 press conference since he was installed? Are you comfortable with a POTUS can lies (3000 times + at last count).
    Seems to me that all the points about folks other than the POTUS belong on a different thread.

I don't follow you on this? Can you expand?
    Have you ever heard of  'guilt by allegation'? In case you don't know it ... you can be accused of or investigated for ANYTHING.

Yes, but to be investigated as POTUS is quite a high bar, they don't simply do it for nothing. Particularly when the POTUS party control the House, Senate and the Courts. He's son admitted to trying to collude with a foreign power, something that he father than tried to use the WH to cover up. Is that not an issue for you?

i find that most posts on this thread fit that bill.
    Outside of the MSM trying to tie Rosanne to the POTUS ... what racism is there? Are you talking about employment statistics? BTW ... this country is for its own citizens ... at least it should be ... if the courts interpret the Constitution the way it was written.

Mexico are rapists, African countries are all sh1tholes, Puerto Rico left for dead whilst pumping billions into Houston. His response to Charlottsvile. His non response to Roseanne. Remember he was all over Roseanne when her new TV series started, he couldn't wait to tell everyone that Rosanne spoke for the real America. Now not a sausage. Nothing. Not even to condemn what she said.

You started this section of conversation by stating
    Too many folks forget the positive things President Trump has accomplished and eat the pablum blather the MSM regurgitates daily

Is that all you have? All of those things outweigh the rest of the failures? His failure to have any plan on Obamacare. He failure to get Mexico to pay for a wall. Is failure to kick start the economy (it is roughly in line with the trend that Obama set. Not bad, but hardly something to take much credit for).
    What companies have brought the jobs back? How many new coal jobs are there? What has dropping out of the Paris accord actually achieved? What is getting rid of the Frank-Dobbs act going to do for ordinary people? What is getting rid of the act (can't recall the name) that forced financial advisors to work to the benefit of their clients rather than themselves/suppliers going to achieve?

I certainly understand why people fell for Trump, his message was clear, simple, and spoke to the needs of everyone. But he is totally failing to deliver except for the most tangential areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Here we go Trade War in 3,2,1. Trump puts tariff's on EU Steel and Aluminium imports to the US

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-44320221

• Site Banned Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭RIGOLO

I think most people should put the whole TPP discussion to bed . 

Anyone who thinks Trump was a fool to tear it up and take America out of it , must also think Hilary Clinton is a fool, because she said she would do the exact same thing. (albeit there is some discussion of a flip flop on this, but thats beside the point)  . Either way she was vocal about TPP being bad for the US. 
    " I oppose it now, I will oppose it after the election and I will oppose it as president " HRC .
    https://www.bloomberg.com/news/videos/2016-08-11/clinton-i-oppose-tpp-now-and-i-ll-oppose-it-as-president
    This was a great speech by Hilary , I remember it at the time .
    In fact if she had managed to get this message across more and not get involved in the DT baiting and main stream media 'roasting' of DT she may well have carried it all off. 

On a broader note in this same speech she talked up 'bad US trade deals', ' renegotiating trade deals' and also 'intellectual property theft' and China deficit....sound familiar .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Igotadose wrote: »
    Hrm. Maybe this is one way something can be done by Trump on prison reform - meet with a celebrity advocate:

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/us-politics/trump-kim-kardashian-meeting-prison-reform-alice-marie-johnson-a8376771.html

Fair play to Kim, she knew she'd be lit up by a lot of her base, but put herself out there to try and get a release for someone who really needs it.

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    ....this country is for its own citizens ... at least it should be ... if the courts interpret the Constitution the way it was written.

This is something that I really struggle with in terms of the Conservative viewpoint.

Are the right really saying that the Constitution written a very very long time ago can never be re-interpreted based on a modern lens?

and that any and all new interpretations be subject to a Constitutional amendment?

If that is the case (as would seem to be the position if I am interpreting things correctly) then how does that align with things like Scalias update on the 2nd Amendment following the Heller judgement that shifted the meaning from being "States can maintain a well regulated militia" to "Everyone can own all sorts of weapons for personal use"?

How is that not a "new" interpretation?

Either it's written in stone and only a new amendment can change it or it's not.

When you look at the 2nd Amendment, let us go back to the Federalist Papers which address the subject of the well armed militia. Why was that put in? That amendment, like all the others, was put in to correct the abuses the founding fathers found in England. Cromwell showed the problem of the guns being under government control. Coupled with that was the fact that the colonists were carving out their homes in the wilderness and needed those weapons for food and defense. But your point addresses the States and militias. What more is a militia than an armed force of civilians? I see no contradiction at all.

As far as changing times … that is what the amending process is all about … not activist judges. I will use a totally unrelated example to demonstrate my point.  Many things in todays world did not exist during the writing of the Constitution and our laws adjust to same. But when a 9th Circuit judge can stop the POTUS from doing his job as stated in the Constitution, then there is a major problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,710 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

As far as changing times … that is what the amending process is all about … not activist judges. I will use a totally unrelated example to demonstrate my point.  Many things in todays world did not exist during the writing of the Constitution and our laws adjust to same. But when a 9th Circuit judge can stop the POTUS from doing his job as stated in the Constitution, then there is a major problem.

The 9th District cannot simply stop POTUS from doing his job, where on earth did you get that notion from?

I am far from being a constitutional expert, or even a law expert, but I find it strange that people are so quick to dismiss the entire legal system, a system that covers almost every aspects of everyones lives, on the basis of Trump not getting his way.

Isn't it more likely, given that we know that Trump has the multi problem of lack of experience, lack of attention to detail and has surrounded himself with people that have no qualifications or experience in their particular area, isn't it more likely that Trump got it wrong rather than some vast conspiracy?

And even if some judge does interpret the law in a way that is against the constitution, there are a series of higher courts that allow any failure to be reviewed.

They are stopping POTUS from doing stuff that is outside the terms of the constitution, the very constitution that he swore an oath to uphold.

The purpose of the constitution is not just to give people rights, but also obligations. 2nd Amendment carries the same weight as the rest of the constitution, though you would be hard pressed to find those that advocate for the 2nd amendment to have the same almost religious zeal in terms of the 1st.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,379 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

RIGOLO wrote: »
    I think most people should put the whole TPP discussion to bed .

Anyone who thinks Trump was a fool to tear it up and take America out of it , must also think Hilary Clinton is a fool, because she said she would do the exact same thing. (albeit there is some discussion of a flip flop on this, but thats beside the point) . Either way she was vocal about TPP being bad for the US.
    " I oppose it now, I will oppose it after the election and I will oppose it as president " HRC .
    https://www.bloomberg.com/news/videos/2016-08-11/clinton-i-oppose-tpp-now-and-i-ll-oppose-it-as-president
    This was a great speech by Hilary , I remember it at the time .
    In fact if she had managed to get this message across more and not get involved in the DT baiting and main stream media 'roasting' of DT she may well have carried it all off.

On a broader note in this same speech she talked up 'bad US trade deals', ' renegotiating trade deals' and also 'intellectual property theft' and China deficit....sound familiar .

Amazing how many people mistake the words 'Donald Trump Thread' with 'Hillary Clinton Thread'. I suppose, in a visceral and conditioned rush to defend the righteous from the snowflake lefties, it could happen to anyone.

When you look at the 2nd Amendment, let us go back to the Federalist Papers
    which address the subject of the well armed militia. Why was that put in? That
    amendment, like all the others, was put in to correct the abuses the founding
    fathers found in England. Cromwell showed the problem of the guns being under
    government control. Coupled with that was the fact that the colonists were
    carving out their homes in the wilderness and needed those weapons for food and
    defense. But your point addresses the States and militias. What more is a
    militia than an armed force of civilians? I see no contradiction at all.

Yay the Constitution!
    As far as changing times … that is what the amending process is all about … not
    activist judges. I will use a totally unrelated example to demonstrate my
    point. Many things in todays world did not exist during the writing of the
    Constitution and our laws adjust to same. But when a 9th Circuit judge can stop
    the POTUS from doing his job as stated in the Constitution, then there is a
    major problem.

Boo the Constitution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,216 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Inquitus wrote: »
    Here we go Trade War in 3,2,1. Trump puts tariff's on EU Steel and Aluminium imports to the US

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-44320221

His entire administrations complete misunderstanding of how international trade works just baffles me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Suspiciously Donald like tweet sent from the Melania's twitter.

https://twitter.com/FLOTUS/status/1001912411933364224

Also, Kim Kardashian looking good for a spot in the Justice Department

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1001961235838103552

His desk is so clean and obviously unused beyond photo ops it always amuses me :)

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Leroy42 wrote: »

So let me get this straight.  You claim that the last admin politicised the courts and you are totally behind Trump doing exactly that?  So you think the courts should be a plaything to whatever party or person has power at any particular time?  I can only deem from your lack of actual detail as to the benefits that you think that the law will now be interpreted based on the way you want it to be.  I totally see the logic in that, the problem being that the law should be above the machinations of politics.

Not what I said at all. This POTUS is trying to de-politicize the courts.

You are going to have to provide a bit more detail than that.  Are you suggesting that the US would not have benefitted at all from TPP?  I simply do not believe it.  Could it have been better, yes, but all deals are a trade off.  US being the dominant in any deal will always look to lose out in comparison as the other countries are coming from a much lower base.

Thank you for admitting that it could have been better. I don't understand your point about 'lower base'.

Iran proved that back in 2002 they were trying to build nukes, well yeah, hence the need for the deal.  All other participants in the deal agreed that Iran were sticking to the plan.  What possible purpose would the EU have in conspiring with Iran to help them build a nuke?  Why would China want them to?  What has getting rid of the deal achieved?  Has Iran suddenly started more rigorous inspections?

I repeat my point about self-inspections since that says it all … and for your last question … ask them.

But you failed to deal with my point about why all this is happening now.  You seem to think Trump is the cause, I think it is simply timing.  Kim finally got to the point of having nukes, he didn't have them before.  That what all the rocket tests were about, showing the world he had them.  One minute he is an evil dictator but harmless to the wider world, and next thing he is a evil dictator with nukes.  So he has spent billions getting this upgrade and now he is cashing in.  Already Trump is promising massive investment, for Kim to remain in charge.  Far from Trump leading this it is Kim in charge.

Now, I really don't care once the issue is dealt with.  If that means Trump takes some plaudits, but the world is a bit safer then I'm fine with that trade-off.  But there really is no reason to think Trump is the one to get the kudos on this.

Both of us need a crystal ball to go forward on this part of the discussion.

He didn't need to.  He has given Kim the one thing he craved, international importance.  Listen to Trump on the tarmac.  "Excellent" he called Kim.  Fro a propaganda POV that is priceless.  Imagine that clip being played repeatedly in NK.  Kim promised he would bring the US to the table and that is what he has achieved.

An interesting point … however, didn't his rockets get him an international stage? BTW … how much did Venezuela get?

I am not sure if you just missed the point or have dileberatedly done so.  i acknowledged that the tax cuts are welcome, I never mentioned crumbs, that is your position.  I asked at what cost.  You get 10k, but Trump gets millions.  You get 10k but CT gets cut from 36% to 21%.  CT is forever, but individuals is time-limited.  I simply cannot understand why you cannot see that you have been sold a pup.  The fact that the tax cuts means either massive reduction in spending or future tax cuts seems to have totally escaped you.  Why didn't Trump simply reduce the individual tax rates?  Why the need to get rid of the inheritance tax? 

The state I live in has magically found unplanned revenue … I wonder where that came from.

Apparently you don't own a farm or family business. Might explain the inheritance tax if you did.

Fine, what is he doing? I now he talks about it alot, but in practical terms what has he done?  Are you claiming that not one MS-13 member was arrested during the Obama admin?

He has targeted and deported literally thousand of same. Since the rest of your post was cogent, I will ignore your third question.

Don't understand the question, but it feels like deflection.  Trump and the WH is very aggressive against a free press.  He selects the outlets he believes give him the easiest ride, whilst boycotting the others.  That in itself is a clear form of censorship.  Are you comfortable with a POTUS that only speaks to certain parts of the population?  Are you comfortable with a POTUS that has only held 1 press conference since he was installed?  Are you comfortable with a POTUS can lies (3000 times + at last count).  

Yes the press should be free. Yes the press should report the news. Yes the press should report ALL the news. I'm hard pressed to find which press members have been boycotted. Even CNN's Acosta gets into the briefing room. Presidential lies??? 3000???    You can keep your doctor … among others.

I don't follow you on this?  Can you expand?

I am being polite … reread the other items that do not address President Donald J Trump. 

Yes, but to be investigated as POTUS is quite a high bar, they don't simply do it for nothing.  Particularly when the POTUS party control the House, Senate and the Courts.  He's son admitted to trying to collude with a foreign power, something that he father than tried to use the WH to cover up.  Is that not an issue for you?

"They don't simply do it for nothing." ??? Hmmm ,.. a year plus, 18 lawyers  and where is the collusion between President Donald J Trump and the Russians. Other than your statement about the son of the POTUS colluding with a "foreign power" I have seen nothing about it. BTW … please state the specific law that "colluding" violates. Also … which "foreign power"?

i find that most posts on this thread fit that bill.

Your opinion is noted.

Mexico are rapists, African countries are all sh1tholes, Puerto Rico left for dead whilst pumping billions into Houston.  His response to Charlottsvile.  His non response to Roseanne.  Remember he was all over Roseanne when her new TV series started, he couldn't wait to tell everyone that Rosanne spoke for the real America.  Now not a sausage.  Nothing.  Not even to condemn what she said.  

You started this section of conversation by stating
    Too many folks forget the positive things President Trump has accomplished and eat the pablum blather the MSM regurgitates daily

Is that all you have?  All of those things outweigh the rest of the failures?  His failure to have any plan on Obamacare.  He failure to get Mexico to pay for a wall.  Is failure to kick start the economy (it is roughly in line with the trend that Obama set.  Not bad, but hardly something to take much credit for).
    What companies have brought the jobs back?  How many new coal jobs are there?  What has dropping out of the Paris accord actually achieved?  What is getting rid of the Frank-Dobbs act going to do for ordinary people?  What is getting rid of the act (can't recall the name) that forced financial advisors to work to the benefit of their clients rather than themselves/suppliers going to achieve?

I certainly understand why people fell for Trump, his message was clear, simple, and spoke to the needs of everyone.  But he is totally failing to deliver except for the most tangential areas.

Well, this response is longer than I wanted and I'm sure I haven't addressed all your issues. I only hope that I was able to get my responses so they were not lost in the jumble. I will find out when I hit submit reply since there isn't an option to review the post as it will appear.

VinLieger wrote: »
    His entire administrations complete misunderstanding of how international trade works just baffles me

Let's apply a little logic. The US puts punitive trade barriers up with China, Canada, Mexico, the EU, Japan etc. So these countries retaliate with similar punitive barriers. Now they must find new trade partners. As they don't have punitive trade barriers with each other, trade between them increases. Meanwhile, US trade decreases. Am I missing something?

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1002160516733853696

This is complete madness!
    He is now denying what has been recorded and broadcast for anyone to see. He is denying reality.

(skip to 40 seconds)

Let's apply a little logic. The US puts punitive trade barriers up with China, Canada, Mexico, the EU, Japan etc. So these countries retaliate with similar punitive barriers. Now they must find new trade partners. As they don't have punitive trade barriers with each other, trade between them increases. Meanwhile, US trade decreases. Am I missing something?

Thats it exactly, the US just gets cut out of the party and isolated and when they come back to their senses either when enough people show donald how idiotic an idea it as and how much money they are losing or when a new administration gets in it will be too late, the damage is done. As everyone is already happy trading with their new friends so the US will instead have to offer even better incentives that unlike now will definitely favour everyone else just to get people to trade with them again.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,327 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Thats it exactly, the US just gets cut out of the party and isolated and when they come back to their senses either when enough people show donald how idiotic an idea it as and how much money they are losing or when a new administration gets in it will be too late, the damage is done. As everyone is already happy trading with their new friends so the US will instead have to offer even better incentives that unlike now will definitely favour everyone else just to get people to trade with them again.
    Not only that but all those countries trading with each other will spur on further developments, research etc. to remain competitive while the US steel giants will fall behind (which was exactly what happened the last time US tried to do this) and lose even more market when they drop the tolls. This in turn will spur on even further cuts, automation etc. to try to catch up and become competitive which will hurt the workers Trump claims to protect in the first place.

Suspiciously Donald like tweet sent from the Melania's twitter.

https://twitter.com/FLOTUS/status/1001912411933364224

Also, Kim Kardashian looking good for a spot in the Justice Department

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1001961235838103552

His desk is so clean and obviously unused beyond photo ops it always amuses me :)
    Go back and look at the films of Eisenhower and see how he "cleaned" his desk before a photo op. Is it possible that history is repeating itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

everlast75 wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1002160516733853696

This is complete madness!
    He is now denying what has been recorded and broadcast for anyone to see. He is denying reality.

(skip to 40 seconds)

Those pesky cameras and microphones ha ? He LITERALLY says he fired James comey because of Russia. This has to be a joke or an act. No human being can be this stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭circadian

Go back and look at the films of Eisenhower and see how he "cleaned" his desk before a photo op. Is it possible that history is repeating itself?

"During his presidency, he was widely seen by critics as an inactive, uninspiring, golf-playing president."

From Wikipedia. I guess there are some similarities.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dwight_D._Eisenhower

Also I see guliani is talking utter rubbish(I know you're shocked) about michael avenatti and basically saying he'd beat him in a legal debate/argument.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Those pesky cameras and microphones ha ? He LITERALLY says he fired James comey because of Russia. This has to be a joke or an act. No human being can be this stupid.

He's neither hes an extreme grandiose narcissist, he truly believes whatever comes out of his mouth at the time is the truth regardless of anything he has said or can be shown to have said previously. Even if you showed him this and asked him to explain the contradiction he wouldn't accept there was any contradiction as his narcissism wouldn't allow him to comprehend that saying two different things and both of them not being true as possible.

Also i believe he has dementia on top of that, my bet is advanced syphalis is slowly eating his brain.

circadian wrote: »

"During his presidency, he was widely seen by critics as an inactive, uninspiring, golf-playing president."

From Wikipedia. I guess there are some similarities.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dwight_D._Eisenhower
    I mean fair enough Eisenhower did play a lot of golf(badly) but to be fair to Eisenhower. He had done the United States some service and hadn't been affected by those pesky born spurs prior to becoming the president of the United States.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

He's neither hes an extreme grandiose narcissist, he truly believes whatever comes out of his mouth at the time is the truth regardless of anything he has said or can be shown to have said previously. Even if you showed him this and asked him to explain the contradiction he wouldn't accept there was any contradiction as his narcissism wouldn't allow him to comprehend that saying two different things and both of them not being true as possible.

Also i believe he has dementia on top of that, my bet is advanced syphalis is slowly eating his brain.

I'd 100% agree with you on the grandiose narcissism - it perfectly explains all of the ridiculously easy to disprove lying that he does. In Trump's brain they aren't actually lies; any fact which is in any way inconvenient to him simply has to be wrong and that's all there is to it. Reality is whatever he says it is, even if the reality he accepts today is the opposite of the one he accepted yesterday.

He fundamentally does not perceive reality like a normal person.

Edit: And now he's going to pardon convicted felon Dinesh D'Souza (who pled guilty to making an illegal campaign donation btw):

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1002177521599860736

Persumably because he only says nice things about Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Kim Kardashian in the white house is more what I expected from a Trump presidency than potential trade wars with allies. The latter seems to have a good chance of happening too.

Also I see guliani is talking utter rubbish(I know you're shocked) about michael avenatti and basically saying he'd beat him in a legal debate/argument.
    The two seem to be cut from the same cloth.

Kim Kardashian in the white house is more what I expected from a Trump presidency than potential trade wars with allies. The latter seems to have a good chance of happening too.

The two seem to be cut from the same cloth.
    Avenatti may be a big arrogant but he's able to back it up and is clearly a very good attorney. Americas mayor ? Not so much bar the arrogance. Guilanni may have been a good lawyer in the past but now he most certainly isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,235 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

B0jangles wrote: »
    Edit: And now he's going to pardon convicted felon Dinesh D'Souza (who pled guilty to making an illegal campaign donation btw):

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1002177521599860736

Persumably because he only says nice things about Trump

Seems a classy guy
    https://twitter.com/DineshDSouza/status/1002229961586077698?s=19

So with the phone call to Cohen shortly after his arrest, it looked like maybe a call to let him know Trump will look after him.

Now we have news of one definite pardon (see above) re finance contribution, a charge Cohen might have to face.

Trump isn't even subtle about it at this stage.

Samantha Bee has gotten into hot water for calling Ivanka out for her pic with her kid, as news of 1500 kids going missing, in part due to her father. She called her a "feckless c***" and asked her to put on a low cut top and something tight and go get her father to stop it!