Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump Presidency discussion thread III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    A bad day for Trump, I'd say. First a lawsuit against his foundation, and then an IG report looks like it will not give him the evidence he was looking for to support his case that the entire top of FBI and DoJ are corrupt. However, IG report will support his decision to fire Comey. Comey seems to have phucked up with that July presser...

Yeah, expect people to spin this as the see fit. There will a sizeable group claiming that it adds support to the theory the Russians Comey decided the election. Likewise others can spin it as more proof that Comey deserved to be sacked and it wasn't to obstruct justice. All in all, don't feel Comey has done himself any favours with his action since.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

Comey deserved to be fired. However let us not forget that Trump was happy to keep him around and only fired him because he wouldn't give his 100% loyalty when asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

More people coming after DT:

https://www.ft.com/content/bb2d33cc-6fe0-11e8-852d-d8b934ff5ffa

For those that can't access the link. The New York AG is suing the Trump Foundation & its directors for persistent illegal behaviour.

He's already battling back over twitter in typical fashion:

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1007278788009480192

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1007278825661784064

He can't pardon State charges, which has probably annoyed him somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,214 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

He can't pardon State charges, which has probably annoyed him somewhat.

Id say confused him would be more accurate since he thinks being president equates to being a king so he should be able to do anything he wants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    A bad day for Trump, I'd say. First a lawsuit against his foundation, and then an IG report looks like it will not give him the evidence he was looking for to support his case that the entire top of FBI and DoJ are corrupt. However, IG report will support his decision to fire Comey. Comey seems to have phucked up with that July presser...
    To add to his bad day, here he is saluting a North Korean general. Not that it was legitimate anyway, but his supporters can't exactly say anything about NFL players 'disrespecting the veterans' by kneeling if Trump is willing to disrespect them by saluting a general in an army they actually fought against.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,379 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Pompey is insisting that complete denuclearisation must take place before sanctions are lifted which apparently is a complete surprise to NK. Never mind, The Donald will put the record straight given that he has one of the best memories ever.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Kneeling for the US anthem is sheer treachery in the eyes of conservatives, but saluting a North Korean general is ... what? More nothingburgers? I mean let's be fair: do other visiting dignitaries salute foreign troops; so would Michael D Higgins salute British soldiers when he visits the UK?

Cos I mean it's either 2 things: intentional, in which case it's a baffling diplomatic balls up and Trump's a fool (assuming the above isn't true and it's not a norm being overanalysed), or it was a total accident by an unprepared novice, in which case he's still a fool.

Ah well, another day another Trump cock up; I can sorta see why reporting on his every mistake is a bit obsessive in the eyes of erstwhile posters, cos it's frigging exhausting keeping track :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,631 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The US may not drop sanctions but this 'great deal' has sent signals to trade that matters to NK, namely China and Russia.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

pixelburp wrote: »
    Kneeling for the US anthem is sheer treachery in the eyes of conservatives,

Just on this word; I understand exactly the types you're talking about but I'm really not liking how the meaning of this word has changed in the recent past. Not blaming you for this, pixel, because it's meaning has definitely drifted, particularly in terms of US politics but to me conservatism as I remember it isn't necessarily a bad thing.

When I think of the word "conservative", I think of things like fiscal responsibility, valuing tradition, rule of law, personal responsibility and a desire to protect the nation. These aren't bad ideas at all and they are necessary to the success of every nation, in my opinion. It provides a counter to more radical and reactionary ideas. Let's not forget that we have conservative governments here, in Germany and in the UK(bad example right now but hear me out). Conservatism, by what I understand it to be is a solid ideology and it's necessary to society.

It's just a shame that now, it seems to mean "Whatever Trump does".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,767 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Pompey is insisting that complete denuclearisation must take place before sanctions are lifted which apparently is a complete surprise to NK. Never mind, The Donald will put the record straight given that he has one of the best memories ever.

If they get this then I’ll nominate Trump personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,930 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Trump peddled the theory the central park 5 were guilty.

Boll*x.

Trump peddled the theory Obama was not born in the U.S.

Boll*x.

Trump peddled the theory Obama wiretapped Trump Tower.

Boll*x.

Trump peddled the theory Obama placed a spy in his camp.

Boll*x.

Trump peddled the theory the FBI conspired to help Hillary win and cover her indiscretions.

Boll*x.

Anyone at this stage that can't see he is a bullshít artist who pedals conspiracy nonsense to those that are simply unwilling or too lazy to fact check is simply denying reality

Barbara Underwood, NYAG getting her teeth into him. She's not even standing for election to her position. Seems very principled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

pixelburp wrote: »
    Kneeling for the US anthem is sheer treachery in the eyes of conservatives, but saluting a North Korean general is ... what? More nothingburgers? I mean let's be fair: do other visiting dignitaries salute foreign troops; so would Michael D Higgins salute British soldiers when he visits the UK?

C

Listen I think Trump is the biggest idiot ever but that saluting the General while he should know better and would have been briefed I can see how it happens.

Years ago I was in Veitnam and went to see Ho Chi Minh's grave and preserved body. Anyway you queue up and you are told no smiling talking, dress appropriate etc etc serious stuff for these lads. As it happened myself and the misuses were first in the queue and were told to stand next to this army officer and wait to be escorted in. All grand and along comes his buddy to escort us in also and he stops in front of me and salutes his buddy who was standing next to me and what did I do, Salute him.......:P I though I was going to get arrested because I could stop laughing, you know those laughs like in Mass where you just cant stop:D

Anyway my point is I can see how it could happen he saluted Trump first and its almost like a instinctive reaction, I was never in the army but it happens to me. Now hes supposed to be the POTUS and should know better but this clown has done A LOT worse

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,930 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

ECO_Mental wrote: »
    Listen I think Trump is the biggest idiot ever but that saluting the General while he should know better and would have been briefed I can see how it happens.

Years ago I was in Veitnam and went to see Ho Chi Minh's grave and preserved body. Anyway you queue up and you are told no smiling talking, dress appropriate etc etc serious stuff for these lads. As it happened myself and the misuses were first in the queue and were told to stand next to this army officer and wait to be escorted in. All grand and along comes his buddy to escort us in also and he stops in front of me and salutes his buddy who was standing next to me and what did I do, Salute him.......:P I though I was going to get arrested because I could stop laughing, you know those laughs like in Mass where you just cant stop:D

Anyway my point is I can see how it could happen he saluted Trump first and its almost like a instinctive reaction, I was never in the army but it happens to me. Now hes supposed to be the POTUS and should know better but this clown has done A LOT worse

Yeah. He should know better and you can bet he was briefed on what to do but juat ignored it.

The respect he showed for KJU and the willingness to ignore, nay admire, how he treats his own people aside, you know for a fact he roasted Obama for how he treated certain middle eastern emissaries so the hypocrisy is nauseating

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭blackwave

The investigation into the Trump foundation has already thrown up a few nice tidbits. The treasurer of the foundation didn't know he the position until told by the authorities. Another one is that they haven't held a AGM meeting in nearly twenty years. The sheer incompetence of the Trump group for trying to hide their dodginess is hilarious.

http://theweek.com/speedreads/779101/trump-foundations-treasurer-didnt-know-treasurer-until-investigators-told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,826 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

More people coming after DT:

https://www.ft.com/content/bb2d33cc-6fe0-11e8-852d-d8b934ff5ffa

For those that can't access the link. The New York AG is suing the Trump Foundation & its directors for persistent illegal behaviour.

He's already battling back over twitter in typical fashion:

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1007278788009480192

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1007278825661784064

How does a charity give out 400,000 more than it took in from donations? Was the difference from interest earned in funds it banked or a display of his excellent record of money management?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Blowfish wrote: »
    To add to his bad day, here he is saluting a North Korean general. Not that it was legitimate anyway, but his supporters can't exactly say anything about NFL players 'disrespecting the veterans' by kneeling if Trump is willing to disrespect them by saluting a general in an army they actually fought against.

Clearly the salute was an reflex action on his part, largely due to the heady heights in which he was living in his mind at the time, and the NK guy saluted and he fcuked up. If he had prepared properly for the protocol involved, they'd have tried to train that reaction out of him.

It's a relatively minor matter in the scheme of things. He did it twice BTW. Wonder what he does when a US military person meets him and they salute?
    That charitable foundation will be gobstopping by the look of it.

Water John wrote: »
    It's a relatively minor matter in the scheme of things. He did it twice BTW. Wonder what he does when a US military person meets him and they salute?

I reckon he salutes them now. In the beginning he was prone to forgetting, particularly when getting off the Helo on the White House lawn. I think he forgot to salute one of the Marines on video at one point and he went back and saluted him in a very gracious way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Reports sanders is quiting along with her deputy. The staff turn over continues it would seem

I think she's denied it at today's presser... Mind you, I no longer know whether that means yes or no when Sarah denies stuff!!

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Nox

It was interesting to read Sarah's comments about the report.  She should contact the MSM more often so she can find out what she is supposed to say/do that day. Yet another bogus story to feed the 24/7 news bear … No news, create news.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Worth keeping an eye on the news today. June 15 was set as the deadline for Cohen's team to finish reviewing documents for designations of privilege. Today is also Cohens' lawyers last day on the job. When his new lawyers are announced we should get an idea of how he's going to approach the case against him.

Paul Manafort is due in court today where his bail could well be revoked. Commentators appear to have walked back the prospect of him being sent straight to jail from "likely" to "possible". If he does go to jail, holy hell will break out.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,437 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Blowfish wrote: »

You know not of which you speak. Perhaps you should look up military protocol or ask a soldier. Officers of foreign militaries, even enemy in time of war, are entitled a salute be returned.

For example, this modern manual.
    http://www.jag.navy.mil/distrib/instructions/OPNAV3461.6_Enemy_POW_Detainees.pdf
    Besides the courtesies required in their own armies toward
    their officers, enlisted EPW will salute all commissioned officers of
    the U.S. Armed Forces. Officer EPW will be required to salute only
    officers of a higher rank and the camp commander regardless of
    grade.
    (3) EPW may salute in the way prescribed by regulations in force
    in their own armies.
    (4) Other military courtesies will be rendered per AR 600-25
    (Salutes, Honors, and Visits of Courtesy) and FM-22-5 (Drill and
    Ceremonies).
    d. U.S. military personnel will extend the following courtesies
    toward EPW:
    (1) U.S. military personnel will not be required to salute EPW or
    assume the position of attention when addressing them; however,
    U.S. officers will return the salutes of EPW.

Here's Norman Schwartzkopf saluting an Iraqi in 1991.
    56993b98c08a8037018b9fca-960-641.jpg

Neither is it a new concept. For example, from this War Dept manual from 1944:
    http://www.schindler.org/psacot/captured.pdf
    If you are an enlisted prisoner of war, you must salute all enemy officers. If you are an officer prisoner of war, you salute only enemy officers of equal or higher rank. You render your own salute, not the salute as executed by the enemy.

Where other matters of military courtesy and discipline are concerned, you have the same rights and duties as your opposite number in the enemy army.

Not just American, either. Here's the Royal Navy exchanging with a Japanese in WW2.
    5316037412_9370deaa1a_b.jpg

So, can we put that to rest and pick on actual issues instead of making up more? It's not as if there aren't any already. Now, it may well be that the return was instinctive (It would be for me) instead of knowing the niceties of military etiquette, but either way, he got it right insofar as he has chosen to return salutes in general.

Oh, I don't know if it got linked to before, here's the text of what he signed with Kim. Nothing particularly dramatic, other than that it exists in the first place.
    https://amp.cnn.com/cnn/2018/06/12/politics/read-full-text-of-trump-kim-signed-statement/index.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭jooksavage

You know not of which you speak. Perhaps you should look up military protocol or ask a soldier. Officers of foreign militaries, even enemy in time of war, are entitled a salute be returned.

For example, this modern manual.
    http://www.jag.navy.mil/distrib/instructions/OPNAV3461.6_Enemy_POW_Detainees.pdf

Here's Norman Schwartzkopf saluting an Iraqi in 1991.
    56993b98c08a8037018b9fca-960-641.jpg

Neither is it a new concept. For example, from this War Dept manual from 1944:
    http://www.schindler.org/psacot/captured.pdf

Not just American, either. Here's the Royal Navy exchanging with a Japanese in WW2.
    5316037412_9370deaa1a_b.jpg

So, can we put that to rest and pick on actual issues instead of making up more? It's not as if there aren't any already.

Oh, I don't know if it got linked to before, here's the text of what he signed with Kim. Nothing particularly dramatic, other than that it exists in the first place.
    https://amp.cnn.com/cnn/2018/06/12/politics/read-full-text-of-trump-kim-signed-statement/index.html

Agreeing with this - Trump has bigger questions to answer. Although, it's kind hilarious that to see someone who would presume to tell kneeling athletes what is and isnt patriotic hand the NK media this little snippet for them to loop ad infinitum. Also, if his predecessor had as much as blinked at NK general, we'd still be hearing about Traitor Obama.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

jooksavage wrote: »
    Agreeing with this - Trump has bigger questions to answer. Although, it's kind hilarious that to see someone who would presume to tell kneeling athletes what is and isnt patriotic hand the NK media this little snippet for them to loop ad infinitum. Also, if his predecessor had as much as blinked at NK general, we'd still be hearing about Traitor Obama.

But Trump isn't and never was in the military. The military might salute another head of state, but unless the head of state is themselves military then they wouldn't be saluting back.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,379 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

robinph wrote: »
    But Trump isn't and never was in the military. The military might salute another head of state, but unless the head of state is themselves military then they wouldn't be saluting back.

A pesky bone spur in his heel prevented him from being drafted. Apparently The Donald was devastated. Fortunately it didn't stop him from playing squash, basketball and golf. Rather than hailing a true 'soldier' like McCain he rightly dismissed him as a loser for being captured. The Donald is pure class.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

aloyisious wrote: »
    How does a charity give out 400,000 more than it took in from donations? Was the difference from interest earned in funds it banked or a display of his excellent record of money management?

From reading some of the details , one of the accusations was that they were using the foundations tax free status as a a charity to funnel payments for various things , both inbound and outbound payments.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭mattser

robinph wrote: »

According to the Constitution of the Russian Federation, (Chapter 4, Article 87, Section 1) the President is the Supreme Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces. The President approves the military doctrine and appoints the defence minister and the chief and other members of the general staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

So, can we put that to rest and pick on actual issues instead of making up more? It's not as if there aren't any already. Now, it may well be that the return was instinctive (It would be for me) instead of knowing the niceties of military etiquette, but either way, he got it right insofar as he has chosen to return salutes in general.
    Oh I've no problem at all with him showing respect or courtesy to others when engaged in diplomacy, he can salute whomever he wants as far as I'm concerned. The issue is, and always has been how utterly hypocritical he and his supporters are when others do the same or similar.