Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Dunshaughlin news

• Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

Happy4all wrote: »
    Seems to be more feral teens about. Probably no different to the rest of the country in fairness

I see a few of them around. I'd say its up to the parents and the community to deal with any antisocial behavior. What I mean is the community i.e. you and I need to challenge them when they are out of order. I have on a few occasions. Its the same with adults not picking up dog poo etc... we need to challenge them when we see it. I have done that on a few occasions also.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

I've definitely noticed a slightly rougher element recently, but that goes hand in hand with a growing population and right now Dunshaughlin's population is growing at a very quick pace. Dunshaughlin has evolved from a village to a small town over the past few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 choccymousse

I’ve been living here 6 years now and agree there is a rough element creeping in. The park in particular is getting pretty bad . Saw a couple of lads the other day , prob 15 or 16 and they were weeing in the bushes . Asked them to stop as there were young kids around and got hurled abuse at . This was 3pm during the day and when I’d done another lap of the park they thought it would be fun to hurl abuse again . It’s really sad as there was such a village feeling here but again you have to ask what the parents are doing

• Registered Users Posts: 40 Diddleydoo

• Registered Users Posts: 11 Smilinpolitely

Planning for couple hundred more houses at the other end of the village. I cant post a url but..
    dunshaughlinwestshd.com

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Metalpanic

Is anyone else a bit worried that this is all too much growth too quickly? Does the village have the infrastructure and amenities to support this population level yet? It's all well and good building houses, but what is there actually to do recreationally? It should be hitting home with planners while we can only go 5 Km from our houses right?

Regarding the zoned land for sale, I would love to see a work hub or similar located there.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Wizard!

Metalpanic wrote: »
    Is anyone else a bit worried that this is all too much growth too quickly?
    They only thing I am worried is the rough youths that was mentioned above. It is a nice and quiet village/town, no need to change that for worse.

Does the village have the infrastructure and amenities to support this population level yet?
    Not even close. I hope though, since they build houses, other changes will follow.

It's all well and good building houses, but what is there actually to do recreationally?
    Not much. Soccer club for example is packed with kids. Around 100 last time I took my son there.

Wizard! wrote: »
    They only thing I am worried is the rough youths that was mentioned above. It is a nice and quiet village/town, no need to change that for worse.

Not much. Soccer club for example is packed with kids. Around 100 last time I took my son there.

This is exactly my point, those two things are linked. Nothing for people to do makes for bored gangs of teenagers wandering around looking for entertainment. And there can't be a lag between huge population increase and the amenities/infrastructure to support it. They have to happen in tandem, otherwise an excuse will be found not to spend the money. I am very skeptical of SHDs being used for these developments, because they completely circumvent any opportunity for locals to raise these kinds of issues.

Regarding the wider issue of a rough element around the village. I am from Dunshaughlin and have lived there my whole life. I remember this being an issue in the 90s also. It takes the community as a whole to push back against it and call the behaviour out when it is seen. Obviously not everyone will do this, but not letting them create areas where people won't go is an important element. If there are people around, they are less likely to get up to too much. In saying that I did see a car being gunned up the road with no left front tyre showering the place in sparks the other week.... Other than call the Guards what can you do there?!

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭maik3n

Planning for couple hundred more houses at the other end of the village. I cant post a url but..
    dunshaughlinwestshd.com

I think this is the same project as above?
    http://www.meathchronicle.ie/2020/11/19/castlethorn-seeking-415-new-homes-in-dunshaughlin/?

I'm not quite sure though if they are breaking through and providing access through the knocks area or just hugging the boundaries with this development. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 708 ✭✭✭A320

The resurfacing that's going on at moment up by the arch,anyone have info on this? Where are they doing it as far as etc

• Registered Users Posts: 840 ✭✭✭GeneHunt

maik3n wrote: »
    http://www.meathchronicle.ie/2020/11/19/castlethorn-seeking-415-new-homes-in-dunshaughlin/?

I'm not quite sure though if they are breaking through and providing access through the knocks area or just hugging the boundaries with this development. :o

Wow, yes it's the same development, Dun Rioga is going to be getting nearly as big as The Willows at this pace. So Dun Rioga could be on three corners of the Drumree roundabout, and the first development beside the GAA club could extend all the way to the roundabout at the M3 junction.

It does show a pedestrian / cycle path into the bottom corner of Community College field.

maik3n wrote: »

5 stories? They would struggle to get permission for that in Dublin lol.

I went to Crew Cut Barbers early in the morning and there was already a queue... Went again around 11, worse. Didn't try at lunch break, but went at 3pm. 7-8 people waiting. I asked them if I can book an appointment, and they don't. I cannot spend 2h waiting for a haircut.

Any other decent options in the town, preferably where I can book an appointment?

• Registered Users Posts: 692 ✭✭✭CUCINA

I went to Crew Cut Barbers early in the morning and there was already a queue... Went again around 11, worse. Didn't try at lunch break, but went at 3pm. 7-8 people waiting. I asked them if I can book an appointment, and they don't. I cannot spend 2h waiting for a haircut.

Any other decent options in the town, preferably where I can book an appointment?
    Interesting...I would have thought that the last place in the world where you would have difficulty getting in your hair cut, would be Dunshaughlin! The place is full of barbers and hairdressers!

As far as I know none of the 3 barbers do appointments. You could try going to the Turkish Barbers on Sunday. The owner knows his stuff I've heard and it should be quieter. I guess 6 weeks of no barbers and coming up to Christmas, there is a pent up demand.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Same happened after last lockdown. I left it a week after and had no issues. Will do the same next week with me and the boy.

As far as I know none of the 3 barbers do appointments.
    I really do not understand why... We live in 2020 and there are several tools and options to organize your work. I lived in Lucan before, the barber there had a Facebook page where you could book an appointment, and it was smooth. In, wait 5', haircut, out. What's the point of wasting time waiting in a queue?

Oh I agree. They could have one barber doing appointments and one doing walk-ins for example. I gave up getting my hair cut in the village years ago. I switched to booking an appointment and taking a break from work and doing it that way. Since lockdown 1 I have been shaving my head and will probably just keep doing that until next year tbh. I miss my hair but soooo much less hassle.

Just drove through the village and every barber was full and people also waiting.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭ongarite

Anyone on here bought or living in 3-bed in the Willows?
    PM me so I could ask a few questions about them.

ongarite wrote: »
    Anyone on here bought or living in 3-bed in the Willows?
    PM me so I could ask a few questions about them.

Sent you a PM there.

Errr... council? Bit of salt on the paths would be nice!

My VM contract is about to expire and I was thinking of any better options. I have 350/35 now, and almost zero problems.
    So I would go for a reliable FTTH only.

Based on this map, https://fibrerollout.ie/rollout-map/, my house is just outside the green area, but maybe it is not updated.

Anyone here with FTTH connection?
    Any suggestions?
    Any company to contact?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

My VM contract is about to expire and I was thinking of any better options. I have 350/35 now, and almost zero problems.
    So I would go for a reliable FTTH only.

Based on this map, https://fibrerollout.ie/rollout-map/, my house is just outside the green area, but maybe it is not updated.

Anyone here with FTTH connection?
    Any suggestions?
    Any company to contact?

not sure what part of Dunshaughlin you are in but basically FTTH is available to the more rural locations on the routes outside of Dunshaughlin by Eir.

In the town of Dunshaughlin there are some Eir FTTH and Siro FTTH in select areas.

For Eir check here: https://www.eir.ie/broadband/checkyourline/

For Siro check here: https://siro.ie/

you can also check using Digiweb's checker which checks for both Siro and Eir FTTH https://digiweb.ie/broadband-checker/

Gonzo wrote: »
    you can also check using Digiweb's checker which checks for both Siro and Eir FTTH https://digiweb.ie/broadband-checker/
    If this is reliable, then I can only get FTTC...
    I live in Fairfield and it is just outside the FTTH limit, based on the map I linked above.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Joffrey

I have been in an apartment complex in town for a few months. Local teens seem to all have the code for the main doors and on 3 separate occasions we have opened the door and they have been directly sitting outside our apartment rolling joints. Have informed garda, however the Dunshaughlin line rang out, was told in future to ring ashbourne. Landlords have been useless in addressing this, and everything else for that matter.

Also a ton of non residents use our bins, they do be in an awful state.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 agame

Joffrey wrote: »
    I have been in an apartment complex in town for a few months. Local teens seem to all have the code for the main doors and on 3 separate occasions we have opened the door and they have been directly sitting outside our apartment rolling joints. Have informed garda, however the Dunshaughlin line rang out, was told in future to ring ashbourne. Landlords have been useless in addressing this, and everything else for that matter.

Also a ton of non residents use our bins, they do be in an awful state.

Keep calling the gards - Ashbourne is the full time station covering dunshaughlin but you may get someone in Dunshaughlin on occasion so its worth trying it but if no answer try ashbourne. Gards are overstretched but at least make it known to them that there is an ongoing issue so they can tackle it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭franglan

Anyone know where the nearest public park with gaa goals is? The gaa club pitches are closed at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭rizzee

franglan wrote: »
    Anyone know where the nearest public park with gaa goals is? The gaa club pitches are closed at the moment.

Soccer goals available behind the community centre at the moment if that's any use to you. Not great conditions but I've seen people kicking a ball around the odd time when I've been on runs.

3 vans marked as "iCL - Specialist Providers of Fibre Solutions" in Fairfield right now...
    I wonder if they are installing fiber optics... :rolleyes: