Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BeebRock II - Music Shows on BBC Four, Sky Arts and everywhere else

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭dasdog

fryup wrote: »
    and are the jazzmaster & jaguar similar in sound to the stratocaster?

Tough crowd - late risers probably think they are special in some way. There's an album of Dead Kennedy tribute songs.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,884 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Skid X wrote: »
    Jaysus, a Concept Album with one song for each Star Sign backed up by a TV special with interpretative dance

Maybe it's for the best that was buried long ago

Yeah you don't get the interpretetatitutitatutive darnce much these days, which is probably just as well. Although, yer wan Kate Bush was bloody good at it back in the day.

Rolling the ball...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn0IRI5wdzI

Ooh, being tied up like that at the start is a kind of Japanese porn, isn't it? :eek:

The Dublin Airport cap is damaging the economy of Ireland as a whole, and must be scrapped forthwith.

Doug Wood did the theme they used to use for the darts on BBC as well.

It's a great tune. But in terms of today's TV, what's odd about it is that it's almost a full minute long and can't easily be split into something smaller. It's hard to imagine the opening theme of a sport TV show these days taking a full minute just for the intro.

The Dublin Airport cap is damaging the economy of Ireland as a whole, and must be scrapped forthwith.

dasdog wrote: »

That is a mind blowing record, never got close to the recognition it deserved.

Nana Mouskouri - i always found her strangely sexy kinda like a teacher at school you might have had a secret crush but would never dare admit it publicly

and on the subject of guitars what's the one Elvis Costello used?

Fender jazzmaster

• Registered Users Posts: 19,628 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Watching that Lennon yoke in +1.

I kinda just wish they did the George Martin bits from Yellow Submarine, and then did the Lennon songs with just guitars and pianos as appropriate.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,023 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

and are the jazzmaster & jaguar similar in sound to the stratocaster?

The bridge gives them a different vibe altogether, they are different for sure, the strat is more versatile and could replicate the others if required (to a point)

Personally I’d like one of each , but the strat would be my last to get.

The Tele and the Strat both have an amazing sound, Leo Fender hit the jackpot twice. There's a reason all of the later Fenders were less successful, but as a 90's indie kid i have to proclaim some affection for the Jaguar and Jazzmaster - but Sonic Youth modified and detuned them to the point of barely having any relation to the original instruments. They bought them in the 80s in pawn shops for like twenty bucks apiece...

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Hello, time once again to have a look at what might be on the schedules if nobody important dies before the weekend. Although with Tupac Shakur, Roy Orbison, Johnny Cash and the Bee Gees** featuring prominently it's mostly dead people due to appear anyway. Also exciting news if you want to see Cher with a lonely elephant on an obscure channel ...

Thursday
    10pm I Am Johnny Cash (Sky Documentaries)
    A celebration of the country singer-songwriter built around 12 of his classic tracks spanning four decades, and featuring interviews with his family and friends

11pm Other Voices – Elbow Special (RTE2)
    The second single artist special of the series, featuring performances by the Manchester-formed rock outfit Elbow, from Ballina and Dingle

Friday
    7.30pm Omos – Micheal D At 80 (TG4)
    A special hour of music, song, dance and poems on the occasion of President Michael D Higgins' 80th birthday. With Van Morrisson, Iarla Ó Lionáird, Tolü Makay, Laoise Kelly, Rita Ann Higgins, Steve Cooney, Mary Robinson, Máirtín O'Connor, Ivana Bacik Paddy Keenan, Thomas McCarthy, Doireann Ní Ghríofa, Gary Hynes and Gearóid Ó Tuathaigh

8pm Classic Albums: John Lennon – John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band (Sky Arts)
    9pm Classic Albums: The Who – The Who Sell Out (Sky Arts)

I think this is a new run of this series. They might reschedule and put on a repeat of the Bat Out Of Hell episode as a tribute to Jim Steinman, although there's a good chance they won't do that

9pm Top Of The Pops 1990 – December 13 (BBC4)
    Simon Mayo hosts the edition first aired on December 13. With performances by Shakin' Stevens, Malandra Burrows, Seal, Chris Isaak, Dimples D, the Righteous Brothers, Yazoo, Black Box and Vanilla Ice

9.30pm Top Of The Pops 1990 – December 20 (BBC4)
    Bruno Brookes hosts the edition first aired on December 20. With performances by Snap, Cliff Richard, Vanilla Ice, the Carpenters, INXS, Enigma, MC Hammer, Status Quo, Jive Bunny and the Mastermixers, and John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John

10pm & 2am St George’s Day At The BBC (BBC4)
    English acts. Including Elton John, Maddy Prior, Joe Strummer, the Spice Girls and Echo and the Bunnymen.

10pm Britain’s Favourite 80s Songs -1987 (Channel 5)

10pm The Great Songwriters – Noel Gallagher (Sky Arts)

10.30pm Jealous Guy – The Assasination Of John Lennon (Sky Documentaries)

11pm Oasis Live At The Barrowlands 2001 (Sky Arts)

11pm Definitely Dusty (BBC4)
    Documentary revisiting the career of Dusty Springfield, Includes interviews with Tom Jones, Elton John, Burt Bacharach, Lulu and Neil Tennant. Tom Jones is also on the Late Late Show tonight

11.35pm The Story Of The Songs – Madonna (Channel 5)

11.45pm Other Voices (RTE2)
    As Thursday

Midnight Kate Bush At The BBC (BBC4)

12.15 Oasis Live By The Sea (Southend 1995) (Sky Arts)

1.30am Mavericks – The Legendary Promoters (Sky Arts)
    Repeat of last week’s Doc

Saturday
    5.15pm Bad Company Live At Red Rocks (Sky Arts)

7pm Guy Garvey From The Vaults (Sky Arts)
    Ep 4 1984 - The Elbow frontman looks back at 1984, featuring Madonna's first British TV appearance, performances from Sade and the Style Council, and footage from Culture Club's Japanese tour

7pm and Midnight Cher And The Loneliest Elephant (Smithsonian Channel)
    Cher and her charity Free the Wild help to rescue Kavaan - a lonely Asian elephant - from the Islamabad Zoo and relocate him to an animal reserve in Cambodia. https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/the-story-behind-cher-and-her-new-documentary-cher-and-the-loneliest-elephant-40338562.html

8pm Top Of The Pops - The Story Of 1987 (BBC2)

8pm The Great Songwriters – Barry Gibb (Sky Arts)

8.40pm Viva Ceol Tire (TG4)
    Country music videos filmed on location in Ireland. They used to have things like this on the Freesat Station ‘Irish TV’ filmed with zero budget with things like Slurry Spreaders and Delapidated Sheds but then it went bust

9pm Roy Orbison- Mystery Girl Unraveled (Sky Arts) New?
    The making of the singer-songwriter's final album, featuring interviews with those involved, including Steve Cropper, Tom Petty, Mick Campbell and Jeff Lynne. This is from 2014 but I don’t remember it being on TV recently

Followed by …

10.20pm Roy Orbison And Friends – A Black And White Night (Sky Arts)
    In a programme first broadcast in 1988 - the year of his death - the singer performs his greatest hits, including Oh, Pretty Woman, It's Over and Crying. His backing band is made up of stars including Bruce Springsteen, Tom Waits, Elvis Costello, Jackson Browne, kd lang, Jennifer Warnes and Bonnie Raitt. The TCB Band which backs all featured artists was Elvis Presley's band until his death in 1977 and includes James Burton, Glen D Hardin, Jerry Scheff and Ronnie Tutt with musical drector T-Bone Burnett. Filmed at the Cocoanut Grove nightclub in Los Angeles

9.30pm A Life In Ten Pictures – Tupac Shakur (BBC2 NI, 30 mins earlier in other BBC2 channels. As are all other shows after this)

10.30pm Hip Hop At The BBC (BBC2)
    Hip-hop performances through the decades from the BBC archives, including the Sugarhill Gang in 1979 and Run DMC, LL Cool J and Eric B & Rakim in the '80s. Plus, Ice T, Monie Love, Fugees and the Roots in the '90s and latterly Dr Dre featuring Eminem, Dizzee Rascal and Jay-Z

10.50pm Searching For Sugar Man (Sky Documentaries)
    Documentary following two fans in search of their musical idol. American singer Sixto Rodriguez enjoyed a brief recording career in the 1970s before fading into obscurity. However, his politically conscious music became incredibly popular in South Africa. Bizarre stories of his death had circulated over the years, but two devotees plan to find out what really became of him

11pm Living With Lucy – Christy Dignam From Aslan (VM2)

11pm The Rolling Stones At The BBC (Yesterday)

11.20pm The RTE Concert Orchestra Performs The Musicals (RTE1)
    Killian Donnelly, Susan McFadden and Muirgen OMahony join the orchestra and conductor David Brophy for showstoppers from Oklahoma!, The King and I and The Sound of Music. Presented by Paul Herriott

11.30pm Top Of The Pops - Big Hits 1987 (BBC2)

11.40pm The Rolling Stones Live At Hyde Park 2013 (Sky Arts)

11.55pm Black Music Legends Of The 1980s – Prince (BBC4)

Midnight Meat Loaf – In And Out Of Hell (Yesterday)

12.55am Sinatra – All Or Nothing At All (BBC4)
    Ep 2 of 2

1am Looking For Lennon (Sky Arts)
    Documentary about the early life of John Lennon

Sunday
    3pm Pink Floyd – A Delicate Sound Of Thunder (Sky Arts)
    1988 New York. Are you ever more than 48 hours away from a Pink Floyd Concert?

5pm The Beatles, Hippies and Hells Angels (Sky Arts)

7pm Bee Gees Live In Melbourne 1989 (Sky Arts)

8.30pm Comhluadar Cheoil – The Shannon Family (TG4)

9pm Mumford & Sons Live From South Africa 2016 (Sky Arts)

9.30pm The Mighty Ocean (TG4)
    A musical piece scored for 12 musicians, touching on the entrancing power of the sea, while questioning mankind's destructive influence on the endangered oceans
    https://www.rte.ie/gaeilge/2021/0420/1210986-the-mighty-ocean-culture-and-climate-change-collide-on-tg4/

10pm Se Mo Laoch – Mairtin O’Connor (TG4)
    The life and career of Galway accordion player Mairtin O'Connor, a member of seminal groups Midnight Well, Skylark and De Dannan. With contributions from Cathal Hayden, Seamie O'Dowd, Jimmy Higgins, Sean Keane, Dónal Lunny, Zoe Conway, Garry O'Briain, Ciara O'Connor and Sinead O'Connor

10.45pm Flight Of The Conchords (Sky Comedy)
    S1 E3 When the boys are mugged, Bret abandons Jemaine who, through mistaken identity, is left to spend the night in a cell with one of his the muggers

1am The Beach Boys Live 2016 (Sky Arts)

There you are, Flight Of The Conchords in the schedules there and Bret McKenzie has written a Morrissey inspired Simpsons episode which hasn't aired over here yet. You'll be shocked to hear Morrissey is unimpressed with this episode which features tracks such as How Late Is Then, Hamburger Homicide and Everyone Is Horrid Except Me and Possibly You
    https://www.theguardian.com/music/2021/apr/19/morrissey-the-simpsons-parody-panic-on-the-streets-of-springfield

There's a new series of 'Cosc' on RTE1 next Tuesday at 7pm - This is a series which looks at things which were banned in Ireland (its in Irish). Next week is about the Dubliners' 'Seven Drunken Nights' Garry Mac Donncha tells the story behind Radio Éireann's banning from the airwaves of Seven Drunken Nights by the Dubliners, the band's 1967 hit that told of a woman's affair under the nose of her drunken husband. The tale of the song's success features John Sheahan, the Beatles and the Rolling Stones, Top of the Pops and an avant-garde British director

Interesting article about when Joe Frazier followed up beating Muhammed Ali to win the Heavyweight World Championship to do a singing tour of Ireland weeks later
    https://www.the42.ie/joe-frazier-ireland-5403541-Apr2021/

** Barry's not dead, he has a busy weekend up above, he's also getting royalties from Saturday Night Fever and Grease this weekend and he appears as himself in Only Fools And Horses (GOLD Sunday 10.35am)

https://twitter.com/delboy_ofah/status/951905018977931264?lang=en

... but Bazza takes second pwace to the legendary Tony Angelino for the title of Best Singer appearing in Only Fools And Horses This Weekend (Saturday 5.40pm GOLD)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭corkie

Warning: If you watch “Britain’s Favourite 80s Songs” on Friday, you will be rickrolled at the end (“Never Gonna Give You Up” was that year’s biggest-selling single).

• Registered Users Posts: 19,628 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Haven't watched FOTC in ages. It's the funniest thing ever.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

In other news the top proper music video on youtube has beaten Baby Shark Dance (Chinese kids song) which is at 8,383,904,776 views

This one 8,925,160,426 views

In other news the top proper music video on youtube has beaten Baby Shark Dance (Chinese kids song) which is at 8,383,904,776 views

I'm never going to get tired of that one!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭its_steve116

Baby Shark is Korean, not Chinese.

• Registered Users Posts: 72,622 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Come on, Snooker! :mad:

Floptopsche!

tenor.gif?itemid=7239673

The Who on Sky Arts, you can’t whack em!

• Registered Users Posts: 30,075 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Come on, Snooker! :mad:
    Floptopsche!

Careful now... there is a chance you might be going Snooker Loopy...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Although, on second thoughts...we could be seeing Malandra Burrows, Shakin’ Stevens and Cliff Richard right about now...

SNOOKER LOOPY, NUTS ARE WE!! :D

Looks like no TOTP tonight :(

200.gif

Now I have to watch the LLS! For a change :pac:

There were three simultaneous viewings this evening:

-Rovers v Bohs
    -TOTPopsche
    -Ronnie O'Sullivan being told to play badly earlier to make the snooker more interesting

And after watching last years snooker championship which was excellent I've no problem with TOTP2 being delayed.

That's the other snooker song I remember

Also, Captain Sensible appears to have been driving the car when the Drink Driving adverts used to say "If you drink you shouldn't drive, if you do just two will do"

mqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 30,075 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I find the snooker strangely calming... like tetris with the hushed commentary of john virgo.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

odyssey06 wrote: »
    I find the snooker strangely calming... like tetris with the hushed commentary of john virgo.

Yeah, I love a bit of snooker

I think I posted it before, but this vampire musical snooker movie is class

Also, Captain Sensible appears to have been driving the car when the Drink Driving adverts used to say "If you drink you shouldn't drive, if you do just two will do"

mqdefault.jpg

He's in the passenger seat Skid.

Remember the Only Fools where Del and Rodney are pulled over when they borrowed the pregnant German girl's VW, Del is plastered, copper thinks he's going to get a nick until Del points to the steering wheel on the other side :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Something I won't be watching
    Grease 18:50-21:00 Sat 24th Apr 2021 135m E4

• Registered Users Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

The recent Maria McKee appearances on TOTP reminded me of her appearance in this video.
    The criminally under rated tune and video to 'Friends in time' by the Golden Horde :confused:

Not sure how that got past the BBC censors, I suppose they only needed a very shortened version for Big Break and could cut out most of the numerous double entendres

I'm surprised he didn't manage to work in a line about sinking the pink into the brown pocket (is that a foul?)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

The recent Maria McKee appearances on TOTP reminded me of her appearance in this video.
    The criminally under rated tune and video to 'Friends in time' by the Golden Horde :confused:

Why do you say it's under rated...?

When ‘Reeling In The Years’ get to 2021, they’ll cover the time 30-year old episodes of TOTP were cancelled to make way for snooker.