Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A virtual half-marathon for the Star Wars fan

• 17-01-2018 12:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭

This popped up on my Twitter feed and thought it might be of interest to any Star Wars fans here.

Star Wars Virtual Half Marathon
    Registration Dates: January 3 – February 28, 2018

Completion Timeframe: January 3 – March 31, 2018

Rule the galaxy from your own backyard!

The Star Wars Virtual Half Marathon lets you run at your own pace, on your own course! This virtual race is the perfect way to get experience running the half marathon distance or train for an upcoming runDisney race from home—on a treadmill, in your neighborhood or any course you choose!

Star Wars Virtual Half Marathon Highlights:

13.1 mile run on course of runner's choosing
    Share your experiences at #StarWarsVirtualHalf

Star Wars Virtual Half Marathon Participants Receive:

Commemorative Star Wars Finisher Medal*
    Downloadable Race Bib
    Downloadable Finisher Certificate

Dates, times, prices and inclusions subject to change. All races are subject to capacity limits and may close at any time.

*Star Wars Virtual Half Marathon participants ONLY will receive their commemorative medal in the mail at the physical address provided at the point of registration. Please note that medals cannot be shipped to a PO Box or APO Box. In addition, medals shipped outside the U.S. will require an international shipping charge of $10 per race.

Disney reserves the right to refuse the entry into, and/or revoke any registration for, any race for any reason in its sole discretion with refund of any applicable registration fees being the sole remedy of any such refusal and/or revocation.

Entry is $59 and you can register here.

One interesting thing from the FAQ:
    How is a runner's progress tracked?

Runners track their own times, and completion is based on the honor system. Once the runner completes their run, they will visit the finisher website to submit their results and download their certificate.

So if you wanted to channel your inner Sith, you could just pay $$$ for the medal!

https://twitter.com/runDisney/status/948557942550421504

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    So if you wanted to channel your inner Sith, you could just pay $$$ for the medal!

that's basically what everyone is doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Djoucer

So basically paying $59 for a medal to reward yourself on a training run?

Sweet Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,482 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

All part of the Disney experience!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Djoucer wrote: »

Sweet Jesus.

Actually, I don't even think you have to run the distance at all, just say you did!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,855 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Sweet Jesus.

Or just send 50 euros to me, I will email you a cert and get you a medal.
    For 60 euro, you don't have to do the run!!!!!!!!!!!

PM me if you want :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,400 ✭✭✭positron

Some incredibly greedy marketing genius behind this plan!! A virtual race where you need to pay with real money, and organiser has nothing to do, not even a virtual world like Zwift. What's even for fascinating is that some might actually sign up and pay for it! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

So basically paying $59 for a $5 medal to reward yourself on a training run?

Sweet Jesus.

FYP
    positron wrote: »
    Some incredibly greedy marketing genius behind this plan!! A virtual race where you need to pay with real money, and organiser has nothing to do, not even a virtual world like Zwift. What's even for fascinating is that some might actually sign up and pay for it! :)

Sadly these virtual runs are becoming the norm. There is a full time Irish company doing this (want to refrain from giving them publicity) but designing medals and using the virtual race aspect to drive up the margin they make from them.

Also hurts actual races as the knock on effect is that race numbers drop unless they have "as cool bling" as these companies who don't have any of the nuisance costs of actually organizing a race. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

If you buy yourself one of these it means you're allowed PB during a training run though! ;)

Even as a Disney run veteran it's hard not to be cynical about these things.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Aww I thought it was going to be a run through some forest in a costume with an evil sith Lord chasing you. Is the only thing making it star wars related the medal?

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭Butterbeans

positron wrote: »
    If ever the term 'easy money' was applicable, these lads have it boxed off! Fair play to them I guess, there's obviously a market for it. Not for me though 👎

Downloadable race bib also included. You’d look great wearing that in the gym while doing your 13.1 (if you bother). Will the results be published? Might make for some interesting reading. :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Can you use your result from this as a NY Marathon qualifier?

(asking for a friend)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭racersedge

Regularly get Facebook adverts for these kinds of virtual runs - usually Harry Potter inspired ones, mind you.

racersedge wrote: »
    Regularly get Facebook adverts for these kinds of virtual runs - usually Harry Potter inspired ones, mind you.

Strictly for mug(gle)s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,925 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Ultimately it’s a great idea, not as a race but as a way of selling something, I’d imagine there is no upfront cost as you only order the medals a few weeks after you know how many paid.