Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there anything a average shooter can do to help loosen gun laws in this country

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭judestynes

jb88 wrote: »
    Thats what used to happen years ago and not too many years ago eithier.

Dont be suprised if they think of reverting back to the senario of a gun owner having to call up their local Garda to see when they are available to escort your gun and you to and from the range and back to the garda station with your gun.

That Gun staying in a locked safe in the Garda station, and good luck if its not manned 24/7.

Sure they can't look after their own guns :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

New licensing round is kicking of soon and from what I hear chatting to lads who met a FO the other day apparently it's open game on multiple licenses even if you only have 2 and even calibre.

I hope this isn't a trend but it's going to be torturous if it's true. Anyone suffer this **** before.?

New licensing round is kicking of soon and from what I hear chatting to lads who met a FO the other day apparently it's open game on multiple licenses even if you only have 2 and even calibre.

I hope this isn't a trend but it's going to be torturous if it's true. Anyone suffer this **** before...on a re licence

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭Chiparus

I just re-licensed my firearms ( 3 ) - no issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭Captainaxiom

No issue with my two either.

I Never listen to another lads nonsense. Unless it personally happens to me I ignore it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Just renewed three and sent in four more renewals and a sub on Monday. No problems so far.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Melodeon

I just re-licensed 5, no issues whatsoever.

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭SVI40

3 done, no problem, and also the fastest turn around in 28 years!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,986 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Changed two shotguns from Unrestricted to Restricted, renewed and applied for a silencer for one.22 and have currently one unrestricted shotgun cert sitting on the super's desk.Zero problems!

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Thanks guys at least its not a countrywide phenomenon and might be a local Superintendent trying to make a name for himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭Cadpat_cowboy

Dropped in an application for my first shotgun the other night and was sent home with it to write a letter justifying why I need more then a hundred shells on my license. I don't know if that's new or standerd or if it was just that particular garda.

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭Kran

Recently renewed 3 licenses and the FO called to verify serial numbers. No problem what so ever. Also just had a buddy get his first ever license granted and it was back in less than 2 weeks, I was shocked because it took nearly 3 months for me to get a license for my air rifle last year.

Firearms United is now a recognised NGO and lobby group on an EU and international level.:D:D:D Am very proud of this organisation and how far it has come within 3 years from an online petition post-Paris Nov gun attacks site to this point.:).
    So I guess I will have to don morning coat and top hat and present my official credentials at the DOJ or whatever one does when one is the national rep for a EU NGO in Ireland?:pac::)

https://www.gunsweek.com/en/current/news/firearms-united-officially-becomes-ngo?fbclid=IwAR07CB4F_R04tpoBbLIKWjZPXf3B_-rpYjwZS-TBqH8bWQ0pPD

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Mike9832

Dropped in an application for my first shotgun the other night and was sent home with it to write a letter justifying why I need more then a hundred shells on my license. I don't know if that's new or standerd or if it was just that particular garda.

Why do you need one?

Mike9832 wrote: »
    Why do you need one?

Why do I need a shotgun or why do I need one more then a hundred cartridges?

I need the shot gun for sporting and pest control reasons. I need the cartridge as I live in an area with lots of vermin that will require different types of cartridges to shoot and I want to make sure I have enough legally at home for what ever I'm going out after.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Firearms United is now a recognised NGO and lobby group on an EU and international level.:D:D:D Am very proud of this organisation and how far it has come within 3 years from an online petition post-Paris Nov gun attacks site to this point.:).
    So I guess I will have to don morning coat and top hat and present my official credentials at the DOJ or whatever one does when one is the national rep for a EU NGO in Ireland?:pac::)

https://www.gunsweek.com/en/current/news/firearms-united-officially-becomes-ngo?fbclid=IwAR07CB4F_R04tpoBbLIKWjZPXf3B_-rpYjwZS-TBqH8bWQ0pPD

Congratulations man how do we sign up?

Soon as I have info,it will be posted here.