Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hyundai Kona EV pre orders open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Y2K86 wrote: »
    The Ioniq is good value

Its 25k and price competitive for its segment

Don't get your are attempt at sarcasm

Whats your point?

As I said, Im not telling you :D work it out yourself.....

P.S Ioniq new is not 25k

No one asked u to answer

Kona 64kWh is expensive

Have u got that part?

Release?

As the prices for the Kona have not been released I have no idea if expensive or not....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Y2K86

grogi wrote: »
    How much would a similar ICE car with similar power output cost? That's 201 bhp - it's hot hatch territory...

It sure doesn't perform like one

0-100 7.6s
    0-160 19s

Slowest 200bhp small car I have ever seen

https://youtu.be/x50iCzOaYj4

A typical small car with 200bhp will be

0-100 6s
    0-160 15s

Jasper79 wrote: »
    Just curious is it 25k after grants or is that with scrappage ?

Would seriously consider one if could get for that price OTR.

Someone here got scrappage lately

26k he paid inc scrappage and grant

Not sure what spec

Someone here got scrappage lately

26k he paid inc scrappage and grant

Not sure what spec

After scrappage is not a new price.....

We get it, you dont want to buy the Kona.....maybe stop ruining the thread for people that are interested in the car....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,881 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

It sure doesn't perform like one

0-100 7.6s

Perhaps this figure is understated? The official 0-100km/h time of Hyundai Ioniq is 9.9s but the tested 0-60mph time is just 8.1s. For Leaf similar story. Officially 11.5s but tested 9.9s 0-100km/h. And we all know that the initial acceleration (where it counts) in an EV is superior to ICE. ICE wins later on (above 50km/h)

And of course in an EV you always get your acceleration, in a manual hot hatch there is not a hope in hell you get anywhere close to the official figures unless you mechanically abuse the car (and know the exact optimal shift times)

Put a Golf GTI Performance 245BHP DSG (not a manual, it wouldn't have a sporting chance) to the test vs Kona 64kWh 200BHP and I would put money on the Kona getting away quicker

Same as the Tesla S P100D Ludicrous is faster away than any ICE hypercar: LaFerrari, Porsche 918, Bugatti Veyron / Chiron although all of these cars eventually overtake the Tesla

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Dglflyer

Unkel, would you recommend Just Energy , any  gotchas,  does any one know when the reduced tolls are going to become effective.  I talked to a toll booth operator a few weeks back , she never heard of it .

Just Energy messed up my bill collection (direct debit) a few times at the start, I'd say they had teething problems setting up shop in Ireland. But it's a northern american multinational with millions of users, so I'd say I should be ok there

Also if I hit 10k kWh (3 times what I used last year), they have the right to put me on the normal variable unit rates until the end of my contract. And they sure won't renew on the same terms I got last year :p

No set dates yet for the tolls I'm afraid. But when it happens you'll see it in this forum very soon after! You will need to get a new physical toll tag (for EVs) in your car too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,479 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

unkel wrote: »
    Also if I hit 10k kWh (3 times what I used last year), they have the right to put me on the normal variable unit rates until the end of my contract. And they sure won't renew on the same terms I got last year
    What was your previous year's usage before you signed up?

I had high hopes but my quote was nuts.

Thats great Unkel
    thnx
    dglflyer

Put a Golf GTI Performance 245BHP DSG (not a manual, it wouldn't have a sporting chance) to the test vs Kona 64kWh 200BHP and I would put money on the Kona getting away quicker

Same as the Tesla S P100D Ludicrous is faster away than any ICE hypercar: LaFerrari, Porsche 918, Bugatti Veyron / Chiron although all of these cars eventually overtake the Tesla

The vid proves 0-100 in 7.6d

Who cares about the first 30kph anyway

DSG Golf will do 0-100 in 6 secs all day, how is the Kona going to beat it at that?

After 50 the DSG Golf will blow it away, hell a 184bhp Tdi would probably beat it to 150/160

The Kona 0 - 160 is comparable to a 320D

In no world is a 320D a quick car lol

Don't start me on the Tesla vs hypercars :)

Any decent supercar leaves a P100D for dead after 120kph, hypercars blow it off the road at those speeds, not even a contest

Its a one trick pony, nice party trick alright that 0-100

Power to weight is still number 1

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    After scrappage is not a new price.....

We get it, you dont want to buy the Kona.....maybe stop ruining the thread for people that are interested in the car....

People can have opposite views :)

Sales people won’t

Walk into Hyundai and tell them you have26k and you want to buy a new ioniq and see how far you get

DSG Golf will do 0-100 in 6 secs all day, how is the Kona going to beat it at that?

After 50 the DSG Golf will blow it away, hell a 184bhp Tdi would probably beat it to 150/160

Any decent supercar leaves a P100D for dead after 120kph, hypercars blow it off the road at those speeds, not even a contest

You are comparing someone bringing a car for a spin and a proper 0-100km test...

Also who cares what a car does after 120kmph....it’s illegal after that’s

Oh yeah, watch The Grand Tour season 2 episode1....might be eye opener

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,351 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Sales people won’t

Walk into Hyundai and tell them you have26k and you want to buy a new ioniq and see how far you get

:D:D:D:pac:
    You'd get about 90% of an ex demo, or laughed at as new ones aren't available till MY19

When was the last time you did 0-160?

Of course everybody cares about the first acceleration. 0-50, 0-70km/h. That's where the EV leaves everything behind. And it doesn't get old either. I do it many times, every day. It's free too :D

BMW i3 is faster to 50km/h than BMW M3. A poor Golf would not stand a chance against a 200BHP EV at the traffic lights...

DrPhilG wrote: »

3.5k kWh (the national average)

You don't drive a Skoda Fabia by any chance?

thierry14 wrote: »
    Might wanna add 3 or 4k to the price of 64kWh

Not a chance it will be 35k

Look at its competition

Leaf for 30k

They can charge what they like and people will pay

Its the start of long range EVs

Are they doing scrappage on Kona ICE?

Thats another few k off and no one will buy the top spec Kona ICE, will be 24k basic engine

Look familiar :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

3.5k kWh (the national average)
    That'll explain it. I used 7.7k kWh.

Still, I thought they would work out cheaper than the others. I suppose you have to have a very low year first time out.

Look familiar :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
    I didn't think that was even in question?

I just wasn't sure if it was a name change or a re-reg.

I suppose you have to have a very low year first time out.

And a very high second year :D

I didn't think that was even in question?

I just wasn't sure if it was a name change or a re-reg.

I missed that post :D ignore so.....

Full new account

Thiery last post was 16-04-2018, 13:24 (in this forum, saying he/she would be back in 2020)

Y2K86 first post was 21-04-2018, 23:22 (in this forum.....no mention of 2020 at all )

5 days of peace :-)

When was the last time you did 0-160?

Of course everybody cares about the first acceleration. 0-50, 0-70km/h. That's where the EV leaves everything behind. And it doesn't get old either. I do it many times, every day. It's free too :D

BMW i3 is faster to 50km/h than BMW M3. A poor Golf would not stand a chance against a 200BHP EV at the traffic lights...

Thats a load of ****e anyway

M3 does 0-50 in under 2.5s and 0-100 in 4.5s

i3 does 0-50 in 3.1s and 0-100 in 7.3s

From the BMW site

Racing from traffic lights isn't something most do, normal people use 80-140, joining motorways etc

Where a Golf Gti will kill the Kona

From the BMW site

Racing from traffic lights isn't something most do, normal people use 80-140, joining motorways etc

Buy yourself a GTi then

Perhaps it would do us all a favour if he did :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,141 ✭✭✭✭listermint

From the BMW site

I owned an M3 it was great cost me 1811 tax though but sure look I paid it for years.

Did you own one ?

listermint wrote: »
    I owned an M3 it was great cost me 1811 tax though but sure look I paid it for years.

Did you own one ?

By the looks of it he/she owns a cheap mans Golf.....

Previous versions of user have been known to absolutely hate VW....

This current version seems to have a bit of a liking towards the Golf

Maybe this version will take the eGolf for a spin?

Will you Thierry? sorry sorry Y2K.....whatever you are calling yourself this week

By the looks of it he/she owns a cheap mans Golf.....

Previous versions of user have been known to absolutely hate VW....

This current version seems to have a bit of a liking towards the Golf

Maybe this version will take the eGolf for a spin?

Will you Thierry? sorry sorry Y2K.....whatever you are calling yourself this week
    The new egolf is a great car.
    Had a (quick) spin in one myself, more of a curiosity/cursory glance than anything else.

I see reports online of similar efficiency (12-14kWh/100km) from the eGolf as the Ioniq. Which is remarkable considering the eGolf is not a designed super efficient EV. If I wasn't such a Mad Lad for the Ioniq the eGolf is similarly priced and seemingly equal. It doesn't have thermal management for cooling but the throttling is only to 30 odd kW.

I'm not a VW fan, but then again I'm not a Hyundai fan either.

ELM327 wrote: »
    Perhaps it would do us all a favour if he did :pac:

Why would it?

Whats wrong with ye anyway

Ganging up on me all the time

Thought you off all people would be better than that

Why would it?

Whats wrong with ye anyway

Ganging up on me all the time

Thought you off all people would be better than that
    Because you'd stop slating random EVs for no reason.

(Nice ninja edit to remove the remark towards shefwedfan)
    No one is ganging up on you, you seem to swing between viewpoints to garner reaction and then claim to be the victim when you're caught out. I remember many threads here where you thanked every post I wrote, and other threads where I had to stop replying to you because I don't want to be blocked off the site.

listermint wrote: »

Did you own one ?

Ffs

Unkel said it was slower than an i3 to 50

Wtf has that go to do with owning one?

Ffs

Unkel said it was slower than an i3 to 50

Wtf has that go to do with owning one?
    Another hissy fit and closed account I see?

Had a (quick) spin in one myself, more of a curiosity/cursory glance than anything else.

I see reports online of similar efficiency (12-14kWh/100km) from the eGolf as the Ioniq. Which is remarkable considering the eGolf is not a designed super efficient EV. If I wasn't such a Mad Lad for the Ioniq the eGolf is similarly priced and seemingly equal. It doesn't have thermal management for cooling but the throttling is only to 30 odd kW.

I'm not a VW fan, but then again I'm not a Hyundai fan either.

I was running at 12kWh/100km the last few weeks to be honest. Once the warm weather comes in and I dont drive like a lunatic it really is a great car in terms of distance.

The only issue I have is that I think I need the height of SUV moving forward. I can't see myself going for an electric car to replace it, It will be Kona/Niro or Crozz BEV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭Soarer

Try doing a 0-100 test without going through the first 30km/h.

Yes it is. It is very well made and it drives very well too. On those counts it is far ahead of Ioniq (or Leaf)

That said, early last year when I was buying, Ioniq was €25k cash on the road with metallic paint for me, eGolf would have been €35k

That price difference was far too high. Had it been only a couple of grand more and had the eGolf been a bit bigger in the back, then I would have bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭davidom2513

Any word on pricing for the Kona EV?

Nothing from Hyundai Ireland via Facebook as of Monday this week

I wonder if there's any danger of Hyundai doing a scrappage deal again on the Kona.

Doubt it.....they dont offer with Ioniq anymore....

I would guess they will launch, see how sales go, if they can't sell many on presale then maybe next year a scrappage.....

Could I drive an old banger for 6 month......no :P

http://www.autobild.de/artikel/hyundai-kona-elektro-2018-12491447.html

This is a German review, they are guess-timating 36000 euro , fully spec-ed as they say themselves. They only talk about the long range version in the article so I assume this is the one they are pricing , they also dont mention incentives , if this is the case then a long range "fully spec-ed" could start at 31k euro in Ireland after grant. Will see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭positron

Shefwedfan wrote:
    Doubt it.....they dont offer with Ioniq anymore....

They don't offer scrappage on petrol Kona either. So yeah I would be surprised (and throwing money at them) if they were to offer scrappage on top of the suggested 31k for 64kW version.

Local dealer keeps saying that the Kona EV will be available to order in October timeframe , with delivery in early 19, is anyone hearing any different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Called into Hyundai in Midleton(Cork) on my way home on Friday morning. I wanted to see the size of the thing first hand.
    Sat in a mid-spec version.
    I honestly don't know what people be on about with it being small inside. Easily the same as my Leaf. Sat in the back with both front seats fully back and still had 3 inches to spare on my knees.
    I will say the boot seemed small but is way more accessible than the leaf as its at the same level as the entrance. Looking online its 9L of a difference between it and a leaf (361vs370). Not much there then.
    I told the sales rep straight away I wasn't interested in purchasing a petrol and while I poked around in the car he got onto Hyundai to find out when the EV might be available in Ireland. I've heard its summer in UK but Hyundai told him its end of year/2019 for us.

ewj1978 wrote: »
    Called into Hyundai in Midleton(Cork) on my way home on Friday morning. I wanted to see the size of the thing first hand.
    Sat in a mid-spec version.
    I honestly don't know what people be on about with it being small inside. Easily the same as my Leaf. Sat in the back with both front seats fully back and still had 3 inches to spare on my knees.
    I will say the boot seemed small but is way more accessible than the leaf as its at the same level as the entrance. Looking online its 9L of a difference between it and a leaf (361vs370). Not much there then.
    I told the sales rep straight away I wasn't interested in purchasing a petrol and while I poked around in the car he got onto Hyundai to find out when the EV might be available in Ireland. I've heard its summer in UK but Hyundai told him its end of year/2019 for us.

I’m not comparing with the Leaf....I’m comparing with a standard SUV

The Leaf is s car and this is compact SUV

The comparison will be Kona v Niro v other SUV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Not sure how you can compare it with a Niro. The Niro is a good deal larger.
    A kona would be an Arona or Stonic size vehicle.

I was comparing it off my Leaf as thats the last small EV I owned. Clearly a leaf is not an SUV.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 8,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

I’m not comparing with the Leaf....I’m comparing with a standard SUV

The Leaf is s car and this is compact SUV

The comparison will be Kona v Niro v other SUV

Comparing any Crossover vs an SUV is going to come off smaller.

The Kona is the same class as the C-HR, CX-3, Stonic etc, the Niro would be more akin to the Tucson. The Niro share's it's platform with the Ioniq not the Kona. There is rumour of Kia Stonic EV to be announced.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭redlead

liamog wrote: »
    Comparing any Crossover vs an SUV is going to come off smaller.

The Kona is the same class as the C-HR, CX-3, Stonic etc, the Niro would be more akin to the Tucson. The Niro share's it's platform with the Ioniq not the Kona. There is rumour of Kia Stonic EV to be announced.

Not really, the sportage basically is the Tucson. The Niro would be smaller, but not that much smaller to be fair. It actually occurred to me earlier but Kia seem to have a massive range of cars. I just had a glance there and they have 12 different models on sale not including model variants.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 8,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

Yeah, it's more of a line than a direct comparison.

Either way the Kona and Stonic share a platform, and the Niro and Ioniq share one. I guess Hyundai don't have a model between the Kona and Tucson that fills the gap the Niro does in the Kia range.