Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings [Mod Note in Post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,414 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

No real indicator why they left? Drogheda isn't great but you could be in worse places. Plus they have got a good amount of gardai there now so shouldn't be as overstretched as other stations like in Dublin. Comment underneath seems to suggest some were annoyed they got moved so far north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,056 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Well, it's Tuesday afternoon now!

Must have forgot about the bank holiday

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭White lighting

I see Wes's Brother and the lads were enjoying themselves snorting over in Spain according to front page of the star

• Registered Users Posts: 930 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

I see Wes's Brother and the lads were enjoying themselves snorting over in Spain according to front page of the star

The tabloids and that ass clown Paul Williams shouldn't be sensationalizing these dickheads.

It's only promoting them.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭Bravestaar

No real indicator why they left? Drogheda isn't great but you could be in worse places. Plus they have got a good amount of gardai there now so shouldn't be as overstretched as other stations like in Dublin. Comment underneath seems to suggest some were annoyed they got moved so far north.

It would be tough for whole families to uproot from the likes of Cork all the way up to Louth. No way I would do it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Jooooe Duuuuffy will be eulogising the innocent young men :) getting shot on DNS

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,601 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

No flies on you.
    Have you ever heard of an editor? That's usually the line of work they do, edit and stuff lol

Eh no. If you think an editor corrects grammar mistakes for a journalist then you're definitely not a journalist.

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭mada82

This is obviously a bull**** account? How would a hit be known in advance and even if it was, this account announcing it would surely call it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭conor05

IvoryTower wrote: »
    52 people were shot in Chicago over the weekend, 10 dead, i'd say their Ganglands Shooting thread is lit

Darndale and Coolock would be like kindergarten compared to South Chicago.

That place is a genuine daily war zone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Back in the day , on a visit to Chicago the New York Gangster Lucky Luciano said

“ Chicago was a God Damn Crazy Place “ !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Well that's bollocks first off, nobody has left. They haven't even graduated yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Bravestaar wrote: »
    It would be tough for whole families to uproot from the likes of Cork all the way up to Louth. No way I would do it myself.
    This is the problem. Years ago you had to be under 25 and single to join the Guards.
    As a result people could be allocated to any station in the state. Cork people sent to the border counties for example. They knew that it could happen and were prepared to do their time there knowing that they could apply for a transfer south after a few years. Some settled in the border stations and some didnt.
    Now married people can join and there is a higher age limit meaning many applicants have third level degrees and are in good jobs.
    For some reason they think the police willbe more exciting.
    They may have been put under the impression that if they were married and/or had kids they would be facilitated to be near home. You cant run a police force like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

conor05 wrote: »
    compared to South Chicago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭enricoh

mada82 wrote: »
    This is obviously a bull**** account? How would a hit be known in advance and even if it was, this account announcing it would surely call it off

Could be a handy way to flush out who's doing the tweeting! Feed who u suspect the info n see if it gets tweeted!

Witcher wrote: »
    Well that's bollocks first off, nobody has left. They haven't even graduated yet.

Well these appear to have graduated

https://www.tipperarylive.ie/news/templemore/369691/twelve-tipperary-gardai-graduate-on-historic-day-in-templemore.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

That's Intake 183, it's 184 that is leaving at the end of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Witcher wrote: »
    That's Intake 183, it's 184 that is leaving at the end of the week.

They never specified any intake or group. They just said recent graduates left over the past few weeks after being stationed in Drogheda.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

DelaneyIn wrote: »

A murderer and a grass.

.Charlo wrote: »
    A murderer and a grass.

Now also a dead man.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Now also a dead man.

Brown bread as I believe it’s known ‘on the streets’, Utter C.

He probably had a degree from the school of hard knocks and a masters from the university of life too, Johnny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

He probably had a degree from the school of hard knocks and a masters from the university of life too, Johnny.

You can't be a Full Time Mad Bast*rd without them

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭All My Stars Aligned

17:01....

It's raining. Everyone knows gangland hitmen don't work on rainy days

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,283 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Water blurring the sniper scope.

Getting muck on the Nikes.

These guy's don't do distance, it's more in your face than that and even then some of them can't make the kill.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Ah ffs. Are you telling me an anonymous poster on boards.ie wasn’t right saying there would be a hit this morning

I give up . I told everyone it was a done deal .

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭Ilovemycharlie

someone whack that ****er glen ward already

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭KM792

These guy's don't do distance, it's more in your face than that and even then some of them can't make the kill.

I take it if you have little in the way of training,it's not as easy as it looks in the movies....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Force Carrier

It was a joke mate.

Yeah, I guessed that. Can you imagine the body count if these guys were trained marksmen :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭Ilovemycharlie

Sean little’s funeral is Friday. Rest in hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

what he ever do to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭hugs_for_drugs

And what about Davis?

#whackwardy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

Maybe you've mentioned it already & I didn't see it but what's your gripe with Flashy & them boi's? Looks like ye crossed paths somewhere along the line before you hung up the scales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Is this because it is too extreme for them? I would have thought that lads at the start of the career would love this kind of thing. Excitement, the backing of a big team and the law on your side.

Stick them in the radio control room, directing traffic, or else at the front desk stamping driving licence applications and they'd complain as well.

Maybe you've mentioned it already & I didn't see it but what's your gripe with Flashy & them boi's? Looks like ye crossed paths somewhere along the line before you hung up the scales.

"Hung up the scales" hahaha love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

Just flicking through today’s copy of the Sun.

Some cnut is buried with a €40K Rolex??? I’m heading to Woodies for a shovel!

First they came for the socialists...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 73 ✭✭ClintPower

Does anyone know what the story is with using bought, rather than stolen cars, for these jobs? Most of the recent hits seem to have involved this.

I presume it's to minimise the chance of the guards spotting a stolen car en route (do they have number plate readers yet?) but it does mean either the hit team or an associate is making themselves known to members of the public when buying the car.

Are they buying it off friends? Are they buying it safe in the knowledge that the seller will not want anything to do with a gangland murder investigation and will give minimal co operation? How are they getting away with it exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

He made a big show of checking the blinds, looking over his shoulder as if he knew all about surveillance.

Wow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

ClintPower wrote: »
    Does anyone know what the story is with using bought, rather than stolen cars, for these jobs? Most of the recent hits seem to have involved this.

I presume it's to minimise the chance of the guards spotting a stolen car en route (do they have number plate readers yet?) but it does mean either the hit team or an associate is making themselves known to members of the public when buying the car.

Are they buying it off friends? Are they buying it safe in the knowledge that the seller will not want anything to do with a gangland murder investigation and will give minimal co operation? How are they getting away with it exactly?
    https://mobile.twitter.com/gardatraffic/status/957264662944473089?lang=en

A few hits have been stopped en route in the past couple of years. Maybe this is why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It's getting very hot in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

We could have our very own thread hit

Great entertainment this thread on a rainy day

Feisar wrote: »
    Just flicking through today’s copy of the Sun.

Some cnut is buried with a €40K Rolex??? I’m heading to Woodies for a shovel!

Up to 100k of other jewellery in the coffin with him too.
    Surprised no one has dug him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Telly

What the fúck is an ater???

Do we have to take sides in this online feud?

We all need nicknames!