Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gangland Shootings [Mod Note in Post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

ASOT wrote: »
    He wasnt a gangster, just an idiot.

I couldn't disagree with this post, but I will say this. HAVE SOME HUMANITY FFS :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Any drug dealer in any form is scum.

Do you include publicans in that ?

They sell one of the most dangerous and addictive drugs in existence and certainly the drug that harms society more then any other..

So do you consider them scum too ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

bigpink wrote: »
    A scummer who wanted to be a big time gangster by the sounds of it

By all accounts of people I have met today that knew him, none say he was a scumbag, and that's not just them refusing to speak ill of the dead. It may also be the reason he owed so much.
    He may also have been seen as a soft target.

If money owed is the reason he was killed, then some of the papers implying he may have owed it to Mr. Flashy.
    If it was a rival dealer, then it may have been somebody trying to make a name for themselves.

Either way, this is not the big leagues and I would imagine the Gardaí will be under more pressure than normal to get somebody for this.
    Which on the outside seems to be a pointless murder, i.e. a beating would have probably given the same message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

I couldn't disagree with this post, but I will say this. HAVE SOME HUMANITY FFS :mad:

I do have some humanity I know him personally, I'm just being honest.

ASOT wrote: »
    I do have some humanity I know him personally.

Read that out loud to yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

I like reading this thread but that’s more to it being quite cringeworthy.

It’s no different to a pack of fishwives gossiping on things they know very little about

When I want to know about any gangland crime, I go straight to here to get the details from white collar office workers who grew up in the sticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Well said. A guy interviewed at the scene of another killing some months back summed it up well when he said that these guys seem to treat the whole shooting/killing thing as some sort of 'call of duty' type video game.
    Not sure what the solution is but it's disgraceful and disgusting that the head honchos on both sides can remain at liberty.

Oh FFS this old nugget again

I suppose the lads in Chicago and New York in the 20's mowing each other down with Tommy guns were big gamers too?

I don't own or play any games btw, but this type of lazy analysis just grinds my gears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Suckit wrote: »
    Either way, this is not the big leagues and I would imagine the Gardaí will be under more pressure than normal to get somebody for this.
    Which on the outside seems to be a pointless murder, i.e. a beating would have probably given the same message.

I'd imagine because it's not big league it might make it easier to track down the perpetrator?

I'm sure too the trigger person is a little worried that one of them seems to have survived?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Guy on the radio just there said the Garda are analysing CCTV footage. Apparently there are a lot of cameras around that area. I've been there but can't say I've ever noticed.

"The gunman described as tall, of athletic build and wearing a black hoodie top with a black scarf covering his face, black tracksuit bottoms and black trainers with white soles.

"It’s understood he was carrying a grey or light coloured rucksack that may have concealed the firearm. "

The victim’s friend is currently stable in Beaumont Hospital.

"At approximately 7:30pm a lone male approached and fired a number of shots at a slow moving car as it was driven from Applewood Close onto Jugback Lane.

"The driver of the car Zach Parker from Swords was fatally injured. His passenger, a 25-year-old man also from the Swords area, was seriously injured and taken by Ambulance to Beaumont Hospital.

"The gunman left the scene on foot onto Jugback Lane in the direction of Balheary Road.

"The body of the deceased has been removed to the City Morgue, Whitehall where a post-mortem examination will be conducted later today by the Assistant State Pathologist, Dr Margot Bolster.

"The passenger remains in Beaumont Hospital where his condition is understood to be stable.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 195 ✭✭GAA Beo

Why? Drugs being illegal at all is a relic from a time when it was acceptable for governments to engage in social engineering around sexual and public morality. Drugs weren't made illegal because they were unhealthy, they were made illegal because hedonism was frowned upon and considered immoral.
    Any notion that coke or heroin should be made legal is absurd. I think people suggesting that need to give their head a shake. Cannabis maybe, I have no time for it myself but there is a serious case there. Anything more than that, no chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

how does murdering them get them their €50k or €15k back ?

not a great credit control policy - no winners

To the bigger guys €15k or €50k is peanuts. But let someone get away with not paying it back and you'll have everyone thinking they can get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Oh FFS this old nugget again

I suppose the lads in Chicago and New York in the 20's mowing each other down with Tommy guns were big gamers too?

I don't own or play any games btw, but this type of lazy analysis just grinds my gears

I couldn't give two ***** about your gears but I was making the point that these young fellas( and the killers are young men) treat the taking of life as you would shoot someone in a video game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Why? Drugs being illegal at all is a relic from a time when it was acceptable for governments to engage in social engineering around sexual and public morality. Drugs weren't made illegal because they were unhealthy, they were made illegal because hedonism was frowned upon and considered immoral.

take a walk down the broadwalk some evening , or afternoon or even some morning and see if you think those creatures are healthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

I couldn't give two ***** about your gears but I was making the point that these young fellas( and the killers are young men) treat the taking of life as you would shoot someone in a video game.

And I would say that a hyperbolic, throwaway and generic statement with absolutely no basis in fact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

To the bigger guys €15k or €50k is peanuts. But let someone get away with not paying it back and you'll have everyone thinking they can get away with it.

Well they defo won't be getting it back now then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

no reason why alcohol should be legal the the others not
    alcohol is incredibly dangerous yet the world makes an exception for it - why?

I say legalise all drugs and put the scum out of business
    Let the pfizers and the bayers of the world manufacture the stuff
    Let adults decide what they want to put in their bodies and pay tax on it

The money saved on the war on drugs + the taxation income would be massive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    And I would say that a hyperbolic, throwaway and generic statement with absolutely no basis in fact

Ah hear, your starting to sound like Philip Boucher-Hayes now!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

TallGlass wrote: »

unless they put the debt on his family

which also happens

no reason why alcohol should be legal the the others not
    alcohol is incredibly dangerous yet the world makes an exception for it - why?

I say legalise all drugs and put the scum out of business
    Let the pfizers and the bayers of the world manufacture the stuff
    Let adults decide what they want to put in their bodies and pay tax on it

The money saved on the war on drugs + the taxation income would be massive

The closest we came to this was headshops (well the physco active selling kind) and they where quickly shut down.

It's as if people take the approach if you can see it, then it isn't a problem. The funny thing is, all that syntic sniff the head shops where selling, that problem hasn't just gone away overnight it still exists except with cocaine.

I don't know if cocaine is a dirty drug per se, as in the chemicals like in heroin that stuff would ruin your life. I think cocaine is a blood drug, blood all over it, to me it's just morally wrong to use it, when you here of the mass killings where it comes from.

Cannabis, should be legal and taxed, literally wasted money trying to fight it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

mynamejeff wrote: »
    take a walk down the broadwalk some evening , or afternoon or even some morning and see if you think those creatures are healthy

He didn’t say there weren’t unhealthy, he’s saying they weren’t made illegal because they were unhealthy.

Illegal or legal, you will still have the same people down at the boardwalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

GAA Beo wrote: »
    Any notion that coke or heroin should be made legal is absurd. I think people suggesting that need to give their head a shake. Cannabis maybe, I have no time for it myself but there is a serious case there. Anything more than that, no chance.

Why not? Your brain is your brain. If you want to poison yourself for a short term gain, that's your decision - nobody else's. I choose to poison myself once a week or so by having more pints than I probably should with my friends, because the short term effects are in my view well worth the price of possibly not living as long. Why should it be any different if people choose to use opiates to dull whatever emotional trauma they're dealing with in life?

Drug dealers are scumbags when they get involved in violent crime. Drug dealers who just sell substances for personal use to people who are looking for them, are merely satisfying a natural demand.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

TallGlass wrote: »

I think sometimes it then falls onto family members.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Another violent drug dealer eulogized as "led astray" "a good boy at heart", "from a good family", our attitude to these people is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Suckit wrote: »
    By all accounts of people I have met today that knew him, none say he was a scumbag, and that's not just them refusing to speak ill of the dead. It may also be the reason he owed so much.
    He may also have been seen as a soft target.

Driving an x5 and holidaying in Dubai without a visible income.Doesn't seem like he was trying his best to pay off any "accidental " debts he got himself in to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Driving an x5 and holidaying in Dubai without a visible income.Doesn't seem like he was trying his best to pay off any "accidental " debts he got himself in to.

240 hours community service for being caught with €3000 of coke. What’s he to fear?

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭paska

Zach cut my hair a few times. We just talked about his car and random stuff. To me, he was a nice lad. He was also a customer in a shop I work in and was well-liked by my staff.
    Looks like he fell for the old get rich quick trick so many kids are drawn into.

It's sad to see this happen. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

What did the tattoo on his face say ?

which also happens

Rarely happens. A slug or two to the back of the head usually ends it. Dealers chasing debts from the family of the man murdered is extremely rare. So called 'republicans' however specialise in this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

which also happens

Rarely happens. A slug or two to the back of the head usually ends it. Dealers chasing debts from the family of the man murdered is extremely rare. So called 'republicans' however specialise in this.

Particularly INLA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Unrelated to this latest murder but I hear there was a shooting in Clondalkin on Sunday night, with several shots fired through the windscreen at a takeaway delivery driver. A case of mistaken identity apparently and a miracle he wasn't hurt. Terrifying that an innocent man doing his job can be shot at and it barely gets a mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Monkeynut

El_Bee wrote: »
    Another violent drug dealer eulogized as "led astray" "a good boy at heart", "from a good family", our attitude to these people is ridiculous.

I knew him growing up and he was a nice kid. Cycling around on his chopper with my brother in the estate. In my house at my brothers birthday's so on. Just looking at photo's this evening of him playing in newbridge farm having fun. It's heartbreaking. I hadn't seen him for a few years now. So yeah he did indeed go down the wrong road.

Money isn't everything, flash cars, etc. you can't take it with you, to anyone reading

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭liamoreilly

...Shooting in county down tonight, 1 man dead and woman injured...

https://www.rte.ie/news/ulster/2019/0118/1024181-warrenpoint-shooting/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Some strong rumours it's a very significant target. Only stuff on Twitter, mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Cazale

Some strong rumours it's a very significant target. Only stuff on Twitter, mind.

Journalists saying it's not Gerry Hutch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Significant target?
    Mago still up north?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭secman

What's the chance it's that lad James Mago Gately, think it was reported that he recently came back to Dublin from a holiday but was likely to go vack up NORTH., ?

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

Saw something on Twitter saying victim was from the area so doesn’t look like it’s connected to the Feud

Calltocall wrote: »
    Saw something on Twitter saying victim was from the area so doesn’t look like it’s connected to the Feud

Rte news reported psni saying its crosss border related ?

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

secman wrote: »

Interesting, where did you see that?

Calltocall wrote: »
    Interesting, where did you see that?

The late news on rte about 20 min ago

Unrelated to this latest murder but I hear there was a shooting in Clondalkin on Sunday night, with several shots fired through the windscreen at a takeaway delivery driver. A case of mistaken identity apparently and a miracle he wasn't hurt. Terrifying that an innocent man doing his job can be shot at and it barely gets a mention.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/i-dont-know-how-im-still-alive-delivery-driver-shot-at-three-times-37724681.html

Quite lucky he wasn't killed

Warrenpoint victim is 37-year-old Wayne Boylan.

Man and woman arrested following €500K drugs bust in Drimnagh.

The Special Crime Task Force and National Drugs and Organised Crime unit smashed the stash after searching a house in Drimnagh late last night.

Heroin, cannabis, and cocaine were all found by gardai who were targeting an organised gang based in the area.

The man, 37, and woman, 55, are being detained in Crumlin while gardai say the investigation is ongoing.

secman wrote: »

The surname is that of one of the outfits in drogheda trying trying to wipe each other out.. So it's possible. Although it's a fairly common name so probably coincidental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭septictank

"Show me the money"?

septictank wrote: »
    "Show me the money"?

No, someone from the other side if it's connected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose