Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Pubs to open on Good Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Ohhh Dear God..
    Now people want pubs to be ALLOWED open on the Birthday of Jesus Christ.
    God help us.
    Give them an inch and they'll take a mile.
    Crazy drunken egits. Amen.

No, just on December 25th.

Scholars disagree on whether Jesus was born in the spring or autumn, but are pretty happy to agree that he wasn't born in December.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Ohhh Dear God..
    God help us.

I think it's fitting that a bloke who could turn water into wine would have his birthday celebrated and marked by establishments that purvey wine and other beverages being open to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

I think it would be great if Christmas was a moveable feast like Easter.
    Christmas in July would be class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭kenmc

Ohhh Dear God..
    God help us.
    Lol. All Xmas really is, is the churches hijacking of the pagan winter festival. Birth of jesus christ hahaha!

Let me dig out my calendar see if I can find a suitable date for Frodoeen, the birthday of the saviour of elves, men, hobbits, dwarfs and middle earth.

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭pemay

Chrongen wrote: »
    Ah, the old "if you don't like it, fuck off" retort.

Are you trying to equate the notion that if someone wants to have choice in their life rather than being dictated to then all of a sudden they are proponents of anarchy and chaos? Do you actually expect to be taken seriously with drivel like that?

No, none of that really. Just pointing out the contrarian "argument" of "who are you to.....yadda yadda yadda?"

You can say that about absolutely anything and everything under the sun.

And it is stupid, because the counter "argument" is "well who are YOU to.....yadda yadda yadda?!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Ohhh Dear God..
    God help us.

Troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I worry for Irelands future, all our morals and good Catholic values, seem to be slipping away...
    Like if people want the life that they seem to be promoting for Ireland, then they should head off to places like Amsterdam or maybe Bangkok that seem to cater more for that 'way' of life!?!?
    Anyway I pray for us all.....

And you should head to the Vatican...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

A nice visit to the Vatican is what we all need, and then come back and think about your actions and love of Alcohol and disrespect for the Catholic Faith....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

A nice visit to the Vatican is what we all need, and then come back and think about your actions and love of Alcohol and disrespect for the Catholic Faith....
    The Catholic faith is in no position to demand respect.
    It is anti woman
    Anti gay
    Anti choice
    And even as lately as last week it's leader was defending those who abuse children.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Does the altar wine taste better over there?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Jesus H Christ on a bike, we don't all have faith in God. A trip to the Vatican wouldn't make us believe in God either or make us abstain from alcohol. How do you feel about what priests or Christian Brothers did to the young children back in the day? The beatings and sexual abuse that went on daily years ago? Do you agree with the way unwed mothers were vilified at the hands of nuns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Awwwwwh I give up, yis are all bullying me because am a good Catholic hmmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Bullying and the Catholic religion! No way! That's never happened before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

pemay wrote: »
    No, none of that really. Just pointing out the contrarian "argument" of "who are you to.....yadda yadda yadda?"

You can say that about absolutely anything and everything under the sun.

And it is stupid, because the counter "argument" is "well who are YOU to.....yadda yadda yadda?!"

So you're worried about a slippery slope then?

Society at large is changing at a fairly rapid pace (250k increase in those with no religion, census to census).

Should rules governing society not change pace to match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Does the altar wine taste better over there?
    Sure, but apparently you have to close your eyes and suck it through a hose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

So the day is finally here :D

I certainly wont be changing my Good Friday traditions and going down the pub. Nope, its a bag of cans in a mates house as per usual. Only advantage is that I didnt have to plan ahead and go out and buy them earlier tonight :pac:

The publicans seem to think this will be as big as Paddys weekend. I wouldnt be so sure, especially not at 6 lids a pint.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

#CatholicLivesMatter

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

I'm not much of a drinker, I won't be drinking today but I'm delighted at this change in practice. No pub is going to be forced to open, nobody is going to be forced to drink. It's about time we saw the catholic church loosening it's grip on us.

• Site Banned Posts: 13 Shanowen Shakedown

#CatholicLivesMatter

CatholicLiversMatter

Fixed that for you.

Will off sales be permitted or is the exemption only granted for pubs?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

I think off licences are included as well so they should be open for sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Heavy restrictions on pubs in NI as well as the rest of Easter week

Can you elaborate on that please?

I was given to understand the pubs up there can only open after 5pm today

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,152 ✭✭✭✭beertons

First good Friday working for me, delivering to pubs. 11:30 closing tonight, for some mad holy reason. You can't have it all I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Seen a massive sign in my local O'Briens door on Wednesday evening, advising people that they're open from until 10pm on Fri 30th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

erica74 wrote:
    I think off licences are included as well so they should be open for sales.

Big sign outside tesco saying the off licence is open from 10 30 to 22 00 ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭skibum

beertons wrote: »
    First good Friday working for me, delivering to pubs. 11:30 closing tonight, for some mad holy reason. You can't have it all I suppose.

Closing time tonight is 12.30 am, with 30 minutes drinking up time,

I don't think so?

What are they:confused:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Saw online that some pubs are opening at 7am today. Is today exempt from the laws for times?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,641 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

The internet tells me these are the current restrictions in the North for the weekend:

Easter Thursday
    Pubs/Bars/Restaurants/Nightclubs must close at midnight

Good Friday
    Off licences can sell all day until 11pm
    Pubs/Bars/Restaurants/Nightclub must not sell alcohol prior to 5pm or after 11pm

Easter Saturday
    Off Licenses & Pubs/Bars/Restaurants/Nightclubs can sell alcohol from morning until midnight.

Easter Sunday
    Off Licenses are forbidden from selling at all
    Pubs/Bars/Restaurants/Nightclubs must not sell alcohol prior to 12:30pm or after 10pm

skibum wrote: »
    Closing time tonight is 12.30 am, with 30 minutes drinking up time,

So restricted to Sunday times? That’s absolute bollocks.

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    The internet tells me these are the current restrictions in the North for the weekend:

Easter Thursday
    Pubs/Bars/Restaurants/Nightclubs must close at midnight

Good Friday
    Off licences can sell all day until 11pm
    Pubs/Bars/Restaurants/Nightclub must not sell alcohol prior to 5pm or after 11pm

Easter Saturday
    Off Licenses & Pubs/Bars/Restaurants/Nightclubs can sell alcohol from morning until midnight.

Easter Sunday
    Off Licenses are forbidden from selling at all
    Pubs/Bars/Restaurants/Nightclubs must not sell alcohol prior to 12:30pm or after 10pm

Apart from the 5pm today, and no off license on Sunday, that's pretty much business as usual.

The norths opening hours are old fashioned regarding Sunday's anyway, any of the major retailers are restricted by Sunday opening hours up there, e.g. you can't buy anything from Tesco until 1pm on a Sunday, whereas Tesco in Britain have the same hours as any other day.

I was there for a stag weekend last year (Enniskillen) over Easter and didn't notice any restriction on opening hours, but in fairness we were in a hotel, so in hindsight probably enjoyed residents status, so went over my head anyway.

Apart from the 5pm today, and no off license on Sunday, that's pretty much business as usual.

The norths opening hours are old fashioned regarding Sunday's anyway, any of the major retailers are restricted by Sunday opening hours up there, e.g. you can't buy anything from Tesco until 1pm on a Sunday, whereas Tesco in Britain have the same hours as any other day.

I was there for a stag weekend last year (Enniskillen) over Easter and didn't notice any restriction on opening hours, but in fairness we were in a hotel, so in hindsight probably enjoyed residents status, so went over my head anyway.

Yep it's not a big deal at all, despite what Hospitality Ulster would have you believe. Tbh if your main business comes from people drinking before 5pm on a Friday then your pub is full of alcoholics or civil service staff. I cannot believe that £16 million is lost in revenue over those few restricted hours.
    http://www.irishnews.com/business/2018/01/27/news/-antiquated-easter-alcohol-laws-costing-north-16m-a-year-1242702/

But on the other hand I see no reason why the hours should be restricted for this one weekend anyway so I'm all for keeping the licensing laws in harmony with the rest of the island and Uk.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Have a hankering for a pint myself now.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Damn, another day I won’t get to go to the pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I agree with the pubs being open, its is a free market after all

I just don't get the obsession with having to go for a pint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭two wheels good

nice_guy80 wrote: »

Well, it's not actually. There are restrictions on the sale of alcohol.
    The issue is the reason for the restriction.

On a wider point: this acceptance and lauding of "free markets" as inevitable and welcome needs to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

nice_guy80 wrote: »

We can be a strange aud nation. Always found the panic over no alcohol on Good Fridays of the past weird. Like one day out of the year and you'd have queues to get into the off licence on the Thursday. Fairly sad.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,152 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I've been in 6/7 places today and they all said its been treated like Christmas Eve. 11:30 stop, and 30 mins to finish up.

Heard you can't walk into a bookies today. They're all closed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

beertons wrote: »
    I've been in 6/7 places today and they all said its been treated like Christmas Eve. 11:30 stop, and 30 mins to finish up.

Heard you can't walk into a bookies today. They're all closed?

Its a normal Friday so closing time is 12.30

I'm in Belfast right now and there's not a drink to be had

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Most pubs are complete dumps. I use to love drink but you grow up eventually .

During the day its ould lads gambling away their pensions in most pubs at the counter.

I'm in Belfast right now and there's not a drink to be had

Shocking stuff altogether. The world must surely come to an end!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

I rarely go out these days but I am heading out for a few quiet pints tonight.
    Any reduction in the influence of the church in Rome on Irish society is good for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Any reduction in the influence of the church in Rome on Irish society is good for me.

That's pretty sad. Ill go to the pub, not to socialize, have fun and relax. No, just to give two fingers to the Catholic Church. All that anger can not be healthy

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

That's pretty sad. Ill go to the pub, not to socialize, have fun and relax. No, just to give two fingers to the Catholic Church. All that anger can not be healthy

The night out was planned long before we realised it was Good Friday. Coincidence and trust me I will have mighty craic tonight knowing the gents joining me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Muahahaha wrote: »
    So the day is finally here :D

I certainly wont be changing my Good Friday traditions and going down the pub. Nope, its a bag of cans in a mates house as per usual. Only advantage is that I didnt have to plan ahead and go out and buy them earlier tonight :pac:

The publicans seem to think this will be as big as Paddys weekend. I wouldnt be so sure, especially not at 6 lids a pint.

Hubs and a few co-workers are having a gaming tournament in work after office hours. Work is providing a small amount of booze but an offie trip is almost certain. I’m glad that they’ll be able to go get more booze if they want.

To the naysayers who thought that the pressure to end the ban showed up our dependency - no, it just means people can socialise as normal with having to plan ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

_Dara_ wrote: »
    Hubs and a few co-workers are having a gaming tournament in work after office hours. Work is providing a small amount of booze but an offie trip is almost certain. I’m glad that they’ll be able to go get more booze if they want.

To the naysayers who thought that the pressure to end the ban showed up our dependency - no, it just means people can socialise as normal with having to plan ahead.

Yeah, totally get how hard it is to get a few drinks in before the planned event (i'm sure they didn't rock into work this morning and say lets all stay late and play games this evening)... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Most pubs are complete dumps. I use to love drink but you grow up eventually .

During the day its ould lads gambling away their pensions in most pubs at the counter.

And that is their decision. Didn't they work all their lives to do whatever they want when they retire?!