Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show 26th Jan 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭mollser

Not all of my friends have had creeps. Most of them but. Holy moly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

It's the classical moral panic. All based on theoretical dangers when most of the real threats are from people the parents know and like.

It'll also cause a lot of hatred and fighting between kids and parents listening to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,925 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

An Eye Phone at 14, well la de jaysus dah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Yes but children know how to turn it back on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

In my day they said Ceefax would warp our minds, but most of us survived.

GDY151

Schools have a lot to answer for, phones should be seized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Greybottle

He's condescending and patronising to her. He could have dumped Hubermann and Doyle Kennedy and let this run instead of rushing it through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭tinpib

It's every parents worst nightmare, hence the Daily Mail and Tubbers are whipping people up into a frenzy.

I'm not a parent, but a load of people died in a fire half way around the world in Sth Korea. One of my worst nightmares yet in no way relevant or newsworthy whatsoever to my life.

I get Lufties point. Don't pass any heed of current affairs from MSM, treat it only as wallpaper.

Skid X wrote: »

Did you look at that filth on the sly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,929 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'm a cool hip young Principal with Lego hair and a jumper of a nuetral colour.

GDY151

I predict RTE will bring on Cosgrave next, just when you thought technology was the devil they bring someone on who doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,929 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

That lad has the beady eyes that I would have fully expected the editor of the Daily Mail to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,516 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

All kids under 16 should have these...

4118TWTVDHL._SL500_AC_SS350_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Ban phones, look at Fr Dougal

ClY4rKIWgAATqur.jpg
    In my day, it was a tin cans and a piece of string

They were good times, didnt need shmartphones

2 channel land & Dial up is a concept lost on them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Jim Ellis

You could substitute any major technological change over the last 100 years (radio, television, video games, music) and the conversation was identical. "Won't somebody think of the children" is an age-old phenomenon that will live on for many generations more.

Berserker wrote: »
    Did you look at that filth on the sly?

Ah yeah, up at 5.30am for a clandestine look at Pages From Ceefax before Frank Bough started Breakfast Time. Worrying that my Ma would walk in and catch me. Dark days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,704 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Nokia 3310.

Panic over.

Pluses: snake
    Minuses: being shíte at snake is annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

He really isnt listening to what anyone says, just heading front on with the moral panic

GDY151

568695_v1.jpg

If you are a child watching this crap you really do have problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Do children not go outside anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

I've seen.first hand what trouble these apps can bring..... And it is nigh on impossible to trace the people who open the accounts. They are so backed up with complaints and investigations it could take 2 years to get to the end of identification of scumbags. It's awful to see kids lives being ruined and I just keep my own kids off the internet and that's it. Being a kid is about innocence and the internet is anything but.

God help any child watching this sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

why has the childline number two sets of triple sixes? 1800 666 666

Biteen satanic isnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    Good evening all. Not bothered watching the LL show tonight. Lovely to just read the thread.

Ye boys shouldn't bother with the 'no more tears no more tangles' babby shampoo for the beards, good old carbolic soap, what yer fadders fadders fadders fadder used and it didn't do them divil a bit of harm.

Wire brush and Dettol is the only job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Will Trump get a mention?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,744 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I did an unusual thing there and just watched something else for a while.

It was nice.

Ha, I was singing this earlier. Great tune, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

EPAndlee wrote: »

Far too dangerous. Elf 'n safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Capt Peacock

Tubridy is such a bell end, who does he think he is trying to save us all from phones.

What's this song called again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,884 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

I preferred when Bruce done this song

The thin end of the wedge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,516 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Only one Dutch band for me, sorry :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Will Trump get a mention?

:D Surprised Tubs didn't blame him

EPAndlee wrote: »

Might fall over and hurt themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭mojesius

Sounds like a good anthem for David drumm and the Anglo lads

All kids under 16 should have these...

4118TWTVDHL._SL500_AC_SS350_.jpg

& the battery lasted a week, another plus :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Mikeen denvers version is better

RTE presenters favourite song

GDY151

Wohoo enterprize slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Wonder will the Jordan Peterson Vs Cathy Newman interview get a mention.

Back in a few minutes, heading over to the other irish fella for a look at his show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Tubridy is such a bell end, who does he think he is trying to save us all from phones.

He's been yammering on about it all week, like he's the saviour of the children. When he more resembles The Child Snatcher. I suppose he's the best man to give advice on how to deal with bullying on social media since he allowed himself to be bullied off the Twitter machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Aertel was big in the house for the racing results and the runners. How I miss Aertel for the TV listings and film previews. Gone all nostalgic now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

The kik account was aoifed_2006 and she was supposed to be 13?

2006 + 13 != 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Are RTE on this social media/peado campaign in response to what one of their employees did?

What song did the Seeger sessions tribute play? I missed the gig in 06 and now I missed this.

Ryan, "i hope the conversation continues around all the breakfast tables tomoro" just turn off the wifi first :P

Talk about wifi, I was actually surprised a while back when my 10yr old neice had said Daryll was her fave from The Walking Dead, yeah TWD, me WTF :confused:
    Ironic though the father cant watch horror movies, they learn so young ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,744 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Just polishing off the Christmas beer here. Got a bit carried away buying the fancy ones in the run up.

Jesus, I don't think I've ever gone this long without me beloved Lidl Excelsior. Think this fancy pants stuff is giving me gout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

sligojoek wrote: »
    What song did the Seeger sessions tribute play? I missed the gig in 06 and now I missed this.

Pay Me My Money Down.