Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What youtubers are you following at the mo?

• 26-01-2018 8:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

See how l used 'mo'.... yeah I'm down with the kids... :D

For me ...Cody Creelman (vet) some interesting stuff and helping to build my tolerance for quimmish stuff!

the funkyfarmer

Onelonleyfarmer

gerry6420

George Saunders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Panjandrums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭visatorro

Cotland farm I think it is. He does a bit of guntering on his machinery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Agriland
    Farmers Journal
    Robert Smith
    Tricia Kennedy
    Martin Coleman
    Laurence Feeney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Wildsurfer wrote:
    Ah now Tim you can't dismiss Auto feeders just because they are not necessary on your farm. If you are calving away 100 or so cows and good facilities, or even more cows with maybe a parent to lend a hand with calves then of course you could work very efficiently with batch feeders. Start calving bigger numbers and labour on farm only Mon-Fri, and on your own for weekend, that's when you'll appreciate the auto feeder. I would have had weekends when I wouldn't get near the calf shed till 10am, nice to have the majority of calves fed and content and not have a shed full of hungry bawling calves to add to the stress levels!

Muckit wrote:
    See how l used 'mo'.... yeah I'm down with the kids...

Muckit wrote:
    For me ...Cody Creelman (vet) some interesting stuff and helping to build my tolerance for quimmish stuff!

Muckit wrote:
    the funkyfarmer

Muckit wrote:
    Onelonleyfarmer

Muckit wrote:
    gerry6420

Muckit wrote:
    George Saunders

All of the above but I've gone off onelonelyfarmer recently

A couple I follow

How farms work
    Welker farms
    Guy in WY
    Jake Ziegler
    Bigtractorpower
    The farming life
    The rest of the story

All American farmers

AgrartechikHD
    Trekkerweb.nl
    Tractorspotter

Dutch tractor fanatics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,929 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

balmesh
    gerry6420
    cody creelman, Cow vet
    Tricia Kennedy
    Wranglerstar

love this video;
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EgDJWBHtJtM&t=205s

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

dean0303

stuart dubois

how farms work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

visatorro wrote: »
    Cotland farm I think it is. He does a bit of guntering on his machinery

Forgot about him. Yeah watching him too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭einn32

Donn DIY
    OLF
    Deano0303
    George Saunders
    Reed Flake
    Millennial Farmer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Deano0303
    Simplyagri
    Onelonelyfarmer (don't like really long videos though)
    George Saunders
    Stuart dubious (don't find his videos very good though tbh, all the same ****e every week)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Wranglerstar
    JimmyDiResta
    How It’s Made.

DiRestas stuff is half woodworking and then the other half is a multitude of welding, fabrication and other stuff.
    Pretty good though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭visatorro

Dont forget grass men. And do good work for charity as well in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,782 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

A bit of a mix of farming and non farming.

Stevie Cahill Videos

Four Sons Off Road Inc

Cawley Farms Dairy (they haven't posted anything in a while).

Ted x Talks

Urban Farmer Curtis Stone

Living Web Farms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

The Great War

Saturday night live

Vox

Life isn't all about farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

How farms work
    Guy in Wy.
    AvE
    Welding tips and tricks
    ChuckE2009
    Bad obsession motorsport
    Forgotten Weapons
    Donyboy73
    Lord Muck
    Western truck and tractor repair
    Mrpete222
    Abom79
    TheSnapChick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Alfie1

Farming related:
    Grassmen
    Farmflix
    George Saunders
    Farming Life
    Shane Casey

Non farming related;
    Abom79, manual lathes & milling machines & welding, excellent channel
    Double boost, similar to the above but on a smaller scale

New guy that I'm following is Tom Pemberton farm life. Dairy farmer from near Blackpool judging by his accent.

Duckgirl86 - Gifted operator. she can use a rubberduck(digger) like a shovel.

David Cuddy - drives a forwarder in the woods around Laois. Another good machine operator and as mad as a box of frogs to boot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Panjandrums

https://youtu.be/wnuNKufjzn0

Looking these videos at the moment.

Some cattle!
    Some men!

Now list off(in your head) 6 good men in the parish that you'd have with you! :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭anthony500_1

Muckit wrote:
    Now list off(in your head) 6 good men in the parish that you'd have with you! :-)

I think I'd rather list off the neighbour with a good crush and give him my first call. Some lads just love hardship.

Ah you're missing the point lad. A crush can't talk to you. These men are alive. You can sense the comradery, the oneness. Every man working together. I suppose it's the same buzz lafs get off GAA, only im not into it. But I'd love to be part of this. Yes it is madness. But perhaps thats part of the allure. I can imagine the craic, the feed and the drink after aswell!

It just shows what selective breeding can do. Keep picking mad bulls to breed and you end up with nutters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Devin Boehm he started dairy farming in Wisconsin from scratch at 19 three years ago and was milking 40 cows. He gave up May this year because of other interests and for more time off as he was milking all year round.

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Devin Boehm he started dairy farming in Wisconsin from scratch at 19 three years ago and was milking 40 cows. He gave up May this year because of other interests and for more time off as he was milking all year round.

I saw that. He worked constantly though. He didn't take many days off as he wouldn't trust anyone to come in and do the work. Think he just had enough of the processors too.

Dakota Dan wrote: »

Yeah l was following him. No farming background. I think he burnt himself out. He didn't take a day off in a year and a half l think

Muckit wrote: »
    Yeah l was following him. No farming background. I think he burnt himself out. He didn't take a day off in a year and a half l think
    Yeah and the weather and setup didn't help. milking cows in a tie up stall and scraping out slurry every day with a bobcat and spreading it on the land with a ford 66 and no cab in freezing conditions. Feeding through silos and feed mixers every day enough to any sane mans head in. Constant work from day break to bed time and back to the same crack the next day.

Onelonelyfarmer. What ye make of him? The americans love him it seems. He certwibly knows his way around machines. I dont know, is he a bit of a pr**k to his young lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Vex Willems

These men are alive.

I don't know about that, one lad had to be dragged out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

It just shows what selective breeding can do. Keep picking mad bulls to breed and you end up with nutters.

I’m pretty sure one of them won’t be breeding anytime soon, it looked like he got a hoof in the gilhoolies

Onelonelyfarmer. What ye make of him? The americans love him it seems. He certwibly knows his way around machines. I dont know, is he a bit of a pr**k to his young lads?

Only saw a few of his videos, knows his stuff but comes across as a bit of a gobsh1te.

Wyoming life is another good one, a farmer/rancher.

Guys you have to check out this lads channel when you get a chance.... harmless farmer.

This lad is unbelievable. I've watched most of his videos now.

Guys you have to check out this lads channel when you get a chance.... harmless farmer.

He just gets on with it!

einn32 wrote: »
    He just gets on with it!

I was just amazed at all the tasks
    Answering the phone while driving
    Cutting the strings of a small sq bale with a Stanley (which he then puts in his top pocket!!)
    Threading on nuts and using a spanner
    Moving the bags of grain and feeding the goats
    Opening lynch pins and letting down ramps

If this is Onelonelyfarmer you're referring to he's harmless alright.
    134 thousand subscribers and no adsense account set up.

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭anthony500_1

If this is Onelonelyfarmer you're referring to he's harmless alright. 134 thousand subscribers and no adsense account set up.

No it's another farmer,the Man has no arms but farms as good as any able bodied person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Do you just set up a YouTube account and can then follow these accounts then? Lol bit backwards with that stuff.

I think that's basically it.
    You'll get e-mail notifications when they upload new stuff.

Mostly myself though I just go into their user channel and click on videos for latest uploads.
    You don't have to set up an account.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

I watch:
    'Tom Pemberton'.
    'Farming life' (doing a huge dairy shed with robots atm. Crazy investment).
    Bit of 'The Swaley man' (young lad with swaledales. Think they might be selling up tho).
    'Maximus ironthumper' (bit of restoration, off grid, wood work, seems a smart man).
    'Bad obsession motorsports' (mini Cooper build that at current rate will be done by 2050, but they really are amazing to watch).
    A few more on and off can't think of them now.
    Don't watch much onelonelyfarmer anymore. He grates on me after a while. Knows his stuff, but thinks his **** don't stink.

Watch a few car channels and a bit of gaming aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I like watching this lad , Andrew Camarata.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Bullocks wrote: »
    I like watching this lad , Andrew Camarata.

Essential craftsman always has something interesting to offer, a mix of carpentry, blacksmithing and general contracting. He's currently in the initial stages of a house build that should make for interesting viewing. The channel ties in with the above, AVE, tips from a shipwright etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Essential craftsman always has something interesting to offer, a mix of carpentry, blacksmithing and general contracting. He's currently in the initial stages of a house build that should make for interesting viewing. The channel ties in with the above, AVE, tips from a shipwright etc
    Ya I watch him a bit aswell , he is nearly a bit too precise for me at times even though he is good . I would love to give that AVE a boot , he might know his stuff but his accent and turn of phrase drives me nuts :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Out of curiosity what kind of money are these guys pulling out of YouTube? Fellas with 10k subscribers, are they getting hundreds a year or are we thinking thousands?

I have no idea how much YouTube pays

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭older by the day

I like watching mo mo. She's trying to get me to ate the washing up liquid at the moment, she,s a fine looking bird but the eyes are a bit quare with her

Panch18 wrote: »
    Out of curiosity what kind of money are these guys pulling out of YouTube? Fellas with 10k subscribers, are they getting hundreds a year or are we thinking thousands?

I have no idea how much YouTube pays

I've no idea either but I do know that Ryan from How farms work and onelonelyfarmer were complaining about a year ago that the income they were getting from YouTube had been slashed. Onelonelyfarmer was especially pissed about it so suggests that he was making a nice few bob out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I've no idea either but I do know that Ryan from How farms work and onelonelyfarmer were complaining about a year ago that the income they were getting from YouTube had been slashed. Onelonelyfarmer was especially pissed about it so suggests that he was making a nice few bob out of it.

This link tells you how much per thousand views you tube pays.

https://youtu.be/Om68arkX_gU

This link tells you how much per thousand views you tube pays.

https://youtu.be/Om68arkX_gU

Hard to know what they make. 100k subscribers isn't that many in the scheme of things on youtube. I know OLF uses the money to travel a bit, buy cameras etc. You can pay extra to see bonus material etc. It's a side business plus the clothing and hats.

Saying that the editing has to be taken seriously due to rules and if you don't want to advertise certain activities on a farm you better make sure they are taken out.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

https://socialblade.com will give you some idea of what they may be earning. Seems to generally be 1 doller for every 1000 views.

Harry's Farm

Came across this guy today. Interesting for someone like me, who knows nothing about tillage. He does sound like Jeremy Clarkson though, but don't let that put you off.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFNRLTPU9263dTOYgrVcnHw

Ifarm wefarm.

Small Irish dairy farmer