Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

October 2018 Babies club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Cash_Q

carolayna wrote:
    Gp said to me "but you are not sick"... Back to her tomorrow so fingers crossed ladies other wise I don't know what I'm gonna do..

How cruel! All they need to type is

"_____ is unable to attend work from [today] to [day before maternity leave starts]"

They don't need to specify any reason as your health is private. If they refuse tomorrow I'd seriously consider changing to another practice if you can.
    Good luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭audi02

Thats crazy that she wont give you a cert, I just need to contact reception anytime I need a cert for work. I would certainly consider changing practices, I would definitely not be giving her anymore business as she clearly doesnt care about your wellbeing or the babies. But Im sure if you contact the hospital and explain your case they were certainly give you a cert as their main concern is always the baby. Sorry to hear about all the hassle youre having.

My baby is gone back breech again..but as I was told it has another 3+ weeks to turn again so fingers crossed as I really don't want a section again this time,especially now I have a toddler jumping on me. Have a little extra fluid aswell so back for another scan in 3 weeks. Please god all will be ok. Google is a curse when ya hear anything bad.

Nearly there ladies😀

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Jumping in here to say carolyana, tell her you cannot work any more.Low iron levels, the hospital would sign you off...I have been there with that type of commute and they cut me off at 35 weeks.To be honest, you don't have to be sick-you're pregnant.Your doctor shouldn't need another reason.That is incredibly unprofessional of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Ladies, went to in touch in swords for their pregnancy session today. Unreal!! I got to lie on my tummy-they have the pregnancy table. Over three hours of bliss though I would have preferred harder pressure on my lower back (I get why they won’t tho!). Worth saving the penny’s for, I had birthday money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

That's awful Carolayna! I'm not having any issues like you are and my GP asked me if I felt able to continue work, with the clear insinuation that she would sign me off no problem.

I’m so done with pain. Rang the Coombe on Wednesday for physio and they’re down one physio (left) and another is on maternity so she was like it’s cancellations only and don’t hold your breath. I think I’m going to have to find a private person. My ‘good’ days are now on a par with my bad days of a few weeks ago

Oh you poor thing :( there's a girl called Ingrid in Killinarden Tallaght who is supposed to be an excellent physio in pregnancy. While it might be far from you, she could be able to recommend someone local if you ring her? Google Minding Mums Massage and the number should come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭catrionanic

Ah SPD is just pure torture! Surprised you've not gone to physio before now. It can really help. Just make sure you go to someone who specialises in women's health, as not all physios are well-trained in SPD.

Are you going back to work?

Yeah I’m back on Monday. Honestly I’m actually looking forward to some routine but I’m not sure how it will go practically. My principal is great and has made some arrangements already so I’m not on a full timetable (so the exam classes aren’t disrupted in four weeks time).

I did the class with the Coombe and the exercises/belt has been keeping it under control but walked the car park into the toilet in Liffey valley (and we were close to the door) and that was enough to leave me in bits which is just depressing

Yeah I’m back on Monday. Honestly I’m actually looking forward to some routine but I’m not sure how it will go practically. My principal is great and has made some arrangements already so I’m not on a full timetable (so the exam classes aren’t disrupted in four weeks time).

I did the class with the Coombe and the exercises/belt has been keeping it under control but walked the car park into the toilet in Liffey valley (and we were close to the door) and that was enough to leave me in bits which is just depressing

I know that walk well and it would've crippled me on my last pregnancy so you have my full sympathy!

Can your classes come to you rather than you going to them? You really need to move as little as possible.

I know that walk well and it would've crippled me on my last pregnancy so you have my full sympathy!

Can your classes come to you rather than you going to them? You really need to move as little as possible.

That will be fairly straightforward to arrange as I’m generally based in my own classroom thank God. I have it set up digitally so I can actually ‘write’ on the board without needing to be at it too. Really the big job for me is to get the school musical started and passed onto the replacement so that’s just a case of getting plonked behind a keyboard for a few hours at a time 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭greenttc

Ah mirror wall, defo get to a physio and as caitriona said, not any old physio will do, has to be womens health specialist. Whereabouts are you, I have a good recommendation on south side of dublin. I also mentioned before that the only physio that worked for me was internal, sounds horrific but the pain is unbelievable. I had it very bad a few weeks ago and had two sessions and I am much better now, still wouldn't be going for long walks but at least I can get around a bit. I know that pain of short walks, you start to be really economic with your steps and start working out the shortest routes, even around your house!

I can't wait to get back to work too! Also unsure of the practicalities of it, because I'm with a class of 10 boys aged 8-10 in a special school, so it'll be full on and I can't stay at my desk for the day, they need a lot of support. The days will hopefully pass quicker once I'm back in the routine, but I have a hell of a lot of appointments/classes already in the first few weeks, so there will be a fair amount of disruption for the kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 WeatherRocks

Not sure if anyone’s posted about this before but is anyone planning on buying the Strep b test themselves? As far as I can see it’s not tested for :-/

I was tested in my first and positive but I don’t know why I was tested tbh. I don’t know how t works this time. I think they may assume I have it. Must ask at the 34 week appointment

On a separate note, one day of meetings and I’m dead on my feet!

I was tested in my first and positive but I don’t know why I was tested tbh. I don’t know how t works this time. I think they may assume I have it. Must ask at the 34 week appointment

On a separate note, one day of meetings and I’m dead on my feet!

I'm planning to ask my GP to take a swab for it. On my last baby, the doctor did it for me no problem.

Not sure I'd trust those home swabs as they're so easily contaminated.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Jutton

I was in a lot of pain with lower back pain and was struggling with sleep for past couple weeks, tried pregnancy massage but it had no affect. Decided to give reflexology a go, had first appointment last Thursday and the relief was immediate. Would definitely recommend to anyone in the same boat. I've heard it's suppose to be good for inducing and easing labor pain (can confirm hopefully in 9 weeks). I have second session tmw and will prob go every two weeks then until closer to time.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 WeatherRocks

Oh didn’t even think of asking my gp for the test. Will do at the next appointment. 34 weeks now and pretty sure baby is lying sideways still :-( hoping lots of forward inversions will help.
    Not long until maternity leave starts for us all :-)

My hips have been killing me all day today, I can barely walk. Going to join my local pool at the weekend.

kylith wrote: »
    My hips have been killing me all day today, I can barely walk. Going to join my local pool at the weekend.

I feel you. I just had to get back up to take paracetamol and do ball rotations to loosen enough to sleep. Just back in bed now with an icepack

Ah Jesus girls, I stupidly agreed months ago to mind my friends 18 month old (same age as my boy) so they could go to a wedding. Theyve been away since 8.30am. Nightmare. I am in so much pain from all the running after them and lifting and playing and walking (took them to the farm). Bedtime total disaster - my boy has been acting up (maybe it's having to share mammy) and it took over two hours to get him down, half an hour for her. I finally fell into bed myself at 11, very sore with SPD and back pain. Then at 1, she woke (she still doesn't sleep through) and woke my boy.

Two hysterical toddlers. No chance of getting either to sleep. Took them into bed with me (husband is away), and the crying continued. Thankfully her parents came home half an hour later and she settled quickly for them. It is now 2.5 hours later and my boy is absolutely not going to sleep, nomatter what I do. Have given up and come downstairs now. So tired I could cry.

They've been here for 3 days in total and it's hard because it's only me here. I'm having to drive them around places, organise meals for adults and kids, and clean up after them. They go home tomorrow afternoon though.

My husband isn't back for over a week. He's away off in the UK for stags and weddings and visiting family. 11 days off work to do as he pleases. My own family are away on holidays too so no help there really.

I just want to SLEEP. And not be in pain. And have an afternoon to myself.

Omg catrionanic!!!! They owe you big time, they should never have asked/refused your offer to help. It's hard enough at this point for me to look after myself alone, never mind a toddler, never mind another toddler!! And hosting them for several days!! Wow.

When your husband gets home from his 11 day escape (!!!!) I'd be looking for a nice day or two down at a spa in lieu, you need a break!!!

I'm wide awake since 4am, thinking about how much I have to do in work to prepare for kids return on Thursday. I was there yesterday and it's like a bombsite having been painted over the summer, and I've to leave early today and arrive late tomorrow for antenatal class and physio, so I'm feeling under pressure.

Baby feeling gigantic and heavy in there. At 4am I thought it might be making it's entrance soon I was feeling so much pressure down there. I presume I'm just running out of space/turned a bit, as I'm not in real pain or anything, just feeling the pressure of an ever growing human inside me!

Omg you are some lady, I would be in tears over that Catrionac!! I wanted to cry when I woke up after three hours never mind with upset toddlers!!

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭Entropy7

Catrionanic... you are superwoman and I, in comparison, am having trouble putting socks on my own feet.

What is with husbands on this page?? Caitriona what is your husband doing leaving you for 11 days with an 18 month old and an almost at the end pregnancy!!??? And then knowing you have those guests for three days on top of that and he fecked off??? That is not on!

And what is wrong with those guests, a wedding does not take three days, why didn't they clear off straight after or not turn up so early before!and why didn't they look after you with dinners etc and take Liam out for you to rest as payback??

That is some rant from me who doesn't know any of these people but I am angry for you! You have every right to feel very sorry for yourself

Ah my husband is a man with a very strong mind and he is often hard to get him to see my point of view. He insisted on stag and wedding because this friend of his came to his own stag and wedding, and it is the last time he will be going to the UK to see family before baby arrives so wanted to stay a while. It also means that he has used all his remaining annual leave on this trip, so won't be using any when new baby arrives. I wasn't happy about this but couldn't persuade him.

However I'm working Saturday, sunday, Monday, so the toddler is going to the UK too later this week (my husband wanted me to drive from Belfast to Rosslare to drop toddler to the ferry, then back to Dublin, and was very annoyed at me when I refused to do this!!!! Now he is coming back to Dublin to collect him). The pain of work on my back and pelvis is another issue though... I'm meant to work until 7th Oct (due on 16th) but not sure I'll last.

Yeah I was surprised that my friends weren't more sympathetic to be honest. They kind of just expected it and I didn't get much thanks. They took my toddler out for a couple of walks so I could clean, cook etc. It was lovely to see them but it was too much for me at 33 weeks pregnant. I was glad to see them go.

I appreciate all your sympathy though girls. For what it's worth, I'm also struggling to put on my socks!

Catrionanic you're a saint!

Also struggling BIG time with the socks...too cold for flip flops now though :P

Total saint!

My feet are roasting and I’m up a full size 😂. About to get in the bath I’m so sore and crossing my fingers i’ll be able to get back out rofl. Physio booked for Thursday so hopefully it helps

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Caitriona, I'd have killed him.
    He owes you bigtime.

Ah god, I haven't been able to put on socks for weeks, have been so grateful to be able to wear sandals all summer with no requirement for socks but yeah it's getting a bit cooler now, I have to wear open shoes today though, didn't get husband to put my socks on before he left for work today!! Oh well!

greenttc wrote:
    Ah god, I haven't been able to put on socks for weeks, have been so grateful to be able to wear sandals all summer with no requirement for socks but yeah it's getting a bit cooler now, I have to wear open shoes today though, didn't get husband to put my socks on before he left for work today!! Oh well!

Hahahahaha fair play. I handed flip flops for a few minutes around the house this morning but I was getting pains in my hips trying to grip them onto me so back into the socks and runners lol

Swollen feet and hands but blood pressure is brilliant (for me!). Bad news it looks like he’s gone breech again. I was wondering why there was so much movement down low, couldn’t figure out how the head could be doing that much. Feck it.

I’ve a scan at 36 weeks anyways so he has 2.5 weeks to turn lol

My wee man goes from transverse to breech to transverse again. Never head down. I can feel his head very clearly. Have a 4d scan tonight so we will see what's he's up to, but I can feel the head on my left side right now.

Doc said not to worry though as still enough space in there to turn.

I am stressed out trying to find a house. We've to be out of our own house by 3rd December, and just got outbid again today on a third house in the last month. It was our dream house so super disappointed but what can you do. I just want some certainty for what's ahead though. Really don't want to end up renting.

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭Orange369

Just catching up on all the posts as I am signed off work sick today and tomorrow - thank God its a well needed break! I agree about husbands on this page lol men dont seem to get it at all, although I feel mine is really taking care of me lately.. Does anyone else feel guilty being off work? Even though it is genuine and signed off by a doctor in the Coombe I feel like I am letting them down, work is just so mental at the min.. The swelling in my feets and legs yday was unreal so went down to Boots to get the BP checked and it was a big high so called the Coombe and they said come in to get checked, all good tho thank God no protein.. they were very thorough on the assessment unit, got bloods scanned and monitor for 20 mins too, BP is still a bit high but not too concerning.. Baby is measuring 33-34 weeks and I am 33 weeks now so all on schedule! I just dont no how much longer ill last in work, due 17/10 and maternity doesnt start officially til the 08/10

Orange369 wrote: »
    Just catching up on all the posts as I am signed off work sick today and tomorrow - thank God its a well needed break! I agree about husbands on this page lol men dont seem to get it at all, although I feel mine is really taking care of me lately.. Does anyone else feel guilty being off work? Even though it is genuine and signed off by a doctor in the Coombe I feel like I am letting them down, work is just so mental at the min.. The swelling in my feets and legs yday was unreal so went down to Boots to get the BP checked and it was a big high so called the Coombe and they said come in to get checked, all good tho thank God no protein.. they were very thorough on the assessment unit, got bloods scanned and monitor for 20 mins too, BP is still a bit high but not too concerning.. Baby is measuring 33-34 weeks and I am 33 weeks now so all on schedule! I just dont no how much longer ill last in work, due 17/10 and maternity doesnt start officially til the 08/10

Snap! Due 16th and mat leave starting on the 8th. I'm thinking of asking my GP to sign me off from the 24th though, so two weeks earlier. Its getting really tough now.

Orange369 wrote: »

Snap! Due 16th and mat leave starting on the 8th. I'm thinking of asking my GP to sign me off from the 24th though, so two weeks earlier. Its getting really tough now.

Aww I feel your pain!! I am thinking getting the consultant to sign me off from the 18th.. I am due back in the Coombe then for my 36 week check, do you reckon all we need to do is ask and they will!? I am in a FB group for babies due in Oct and so many of the girls are signed off already and some even had their babies by now..

I've no personal experience of being signed off, but from what I have heard, if you've a good reason then they absolutely will. You have to put yourself and baby first, after all.

Physio super unhappy with me today. More or less told me I was insane to have gone back to work with SPD as I’ve now spasmed my lower back compensating and feels like there’s a bulge in a disk. Nothing can really be done that I’m not already doing except rest and swimming. He wanted me off today but I might get another bit out of it if I swim as much as possible.

It’s kind of a relief to be honest, my back was so sore last night I thought I was in labour and ended up in the shower trying to relieve it, couldn’t even think about trying to get in and out of the bath. At least I know it’s not just ‘a pregnancy thing’

I’m going to try and do tomorrow, swim a couple of times over the weekend and then decide about Monday but it’s looking like I’m going to be out well early (I’m almost 34 weeks)

I’m not having the problems some of you ladies are having and i’m Considering asking my doctor to sign me off even though i’n Due to take annual leave a couple of weeks before Mat leave starts. I’m just _exhausted_.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

kylith wrote: »
    I’m not having the problems some of you ladies are having and i’m Considering asking my doctor to sign me off even though i’n Due to take annual leave a couple of weeks before Mat leave starts. I’m just _exhausted_.

Same here. No problems here really at all but got signed off all the same. 34 weeks today and my toddler arrived early at 34 weeks a few years ago so I kinda feel I’d better rest now while I can. Toddler back to playschool today so I’m gonna make the most of my time in the mornings to myself because once number 2 arrives I may never be alone again. :)

I’m glad the decision is made for me so to speak now. I’m not sure I’ll manage next week even to Wednesday as the relief from physio is wearing off already (I’m running the bath right now!) and the pain is really no fun but the end is in sight right now I guess.

Now if the little one would go back head down and I take it easy maybe my pain levels would go down! He’s super uncomfortable on top of the SPD/back. And I wouldn’t mind but half the spinning baby exercises are things I’ve been doing anyways and most of the other half are things I can’t even imagine trying to do right now lol

Have you tried swimming yet mirror wall? It is lovely to feel so weightless in the pool and to just float there but be careful with the actual swimming I felt like swimming aggravated my spd especially if I did breaststroke (if you think of the movement you would do with separating your legs continuously, front crawl is really energy intensive when I was so tired so I stuck to back crawl!

I have been off work for weeks now, felt very very very guilty not being in work and still do but ya know what, feck it, we need to look after ourselves, aside from any ailments this growing a baby business is tough work and it takes it out of you more than you realise. I think we need to take it easy and forget about work and do the most important job we will ever do which is growing these babies. Still very hard to shake off the guilt but are we just conditioned to feel that guilt? I dunno!

greenttc wrote: »
    Have you tried swimming yet mirror wall? It is lovely to feel so weightless in the pool and to just float there but be careful with the actual swimming I felt like swimming aggravated my spd especially if I did breaststroke (if you think of the movement you would do with separating your legs continuously, front crawl is really energy intensive when I was so tired so I stuck to back crawl!

I have been off work for weeks now, felt very very very guilty not being in work and still do but ya know what, feck it, we need to look after ourselves, aside from any ailments this growing a baby business is tough work and it takes it out of you more than you realise. I think we need to take it easy and forget about work and do the most important job we will ever do which is growing these babies. Still very hard to shake off the guilt but are we just conditioned to feel that guilt? I dunno!

Not recently as bringing my three year old wasn’t working at all but he’s back in crèche and we have a half day Friday so going myself tomorrow afternoon before I collect. Can’t wait. Husbands going to come with us at the weekend

Yeah I was warned against anything resembling breast stroke!!

I think we are. In many ways going back has just shown me that schools will continue with or without me, none of us are that important. So while I’ll not ‘waste’ an extra two days sick by going on a Friday I will take the leave and deal with it

Been back in work all week with students back in yesterday and today. I am shattered. Didn't help that we had a wedding yesterday which I rushed to immediately after my class left.

I really don't know how I am going to last, I can only take it one day at a time. The pace is fast in terms of physical support, moving around the classroom etc, but it's also very slow in terms of academic ability, behaviour issues and patience required. The kids are great and really lift the spirits and I'm glad to be busy, but I won't be surprised if I get signed off sick by the end of next week. I'd hate that to happen but I feel like I've been hit by a bus.

Cash_Q wrote: »
    Been back in work all week with students back in yesterday and today. I am shattered. Didn't help that we had a wedding yesterday which I rushed to immediately after my class left.

I really don't know how I am going to last, I can only take it one day at a time. The pace is fast in terms of physical support, moving around the classroom etc, but it's also very slow in terms of academic ability, behaviour issues and patience required. The kids are great and really lift the spirits and I'm glad to be busy, but I won't be surprised if I get signed off sick by the end of next week. I'd hate that to happen but I feel like I've been hit by a bus.

I feel your pain! I was in work Wednesday and the swelling in my legs and feet was unreal I could barely walk. I called the Coombe and they said to go get checked out. Turns out my BP was up but no protein or anything in my urine but I got signed off yday and today. I am due back Monday already dreading it, I am thinking ill take some AL days and do 4 day weeks for the next 2 weeks to see if it helps. The 5 days is just too much on the body at this stage for us girls!

Orange369 wrote:
    I feel your pain! I was in work Wednesday and the swelling in my legs and feet was unreal I could barely walk. I called the Coombe and they said to go get checked out. Turns out my BP was up but no protein or anything in my urine but I got signed off yday and today. I am due back Monday already dreading it, I am thinking ill take some AL days and do 4 day weeks for the next 2 weeks to see if it helps. The 5 days is just too much on the body at this stage for us girls!

Having just had 2 months off I had hoped I'd be rested/energised for the few weeks of work before mat leave starts... hard to measure because of the wedding yesterday, but I had found myself out of breath at tea break from rushing around, and I wasn't even really rushing around, I just need to slow down. I can't really go on reduced hours/days, the nature of our school doesn't lend itself to new faces coming in and out. Even my appointment days I come in before or after them, because my principal is really supportive in general and it's better for the kids to have me for part of the day than a stranger subbing. Its also hard to bend over backwards setting up stuff for the year when a sub will come in and do things their way any way, but I do still need to have good systems and structures in place for the time being. One day at a time!

Cash_Q I'm done completely. Did three classes in a row this morning and I was practically crying by the end of it so had to acknowledge that was that. My GP is happy, he wanted me off on Wednesday and the physio was very blunt. At this stage the students are better with someone who will be in every day (not at antenatal appointments once a week/fortnight) and actually has the energy for them rather than me doing damage to myself trying to stay there. Don't feel bad, we tend to think the students/school won't run without us but the reality is they will cope.

Orange mind that blood pressure, you might need longer than two days off depending on work stress. I had gestational hypertension on the first and it was a pain in the neck. I had to go on labetalol and be in for three days a week in the coombe for BP series. It was a pain in the neck but I did still make it to term

Went for a swim on my own today, hadn't quite realised how much I have slowed down until I realised the normal fluidity I have in the water was gone. I was still stiff and sore albeit without the weight. Holy **** getting out of the pool hurt though as the bump settled back on my hips/spine. Heading again tomorrow and will try and go every other day until baby I think if I can. Physio did put the wind up me a bit about long term damage

Cash_Q wrote: »
    Orange369 wrote:

Having just had 2 months off I had hoped I'd be rested/energised for the few weeks of work before mat leave starts... hard to measure because of the wedding yesterday, but I had found myself out of breath at tea break from rushing around, and I wasn't even really rushing around, I just need to slow down. I can't really go on reduced hours/days, the nature of our school doesn't lend itself to new faces coming in and out. Even my appointment days I come in before or after them, because my principal is really supportive in general and it's better for the kids to have me for part of the day than a stranger subbing. Its also hard to bend over backwards setting up stuff for the year when a sub will come in and do things their way any way, but I do still need to have good systems and structures in place for the time being. One day at a time!

Thats it excatly we just need to slow down a bit more now for the last few weeks. I am in an office in town a desk job sounds easy but its so mentally busy! I got a promotion at 7 weeks pregnant and the extra money has been great but some days I hate the responsibility of being a manager and wish I could just do normal work for my last few weeks! Almost there thank God hopefully you get some rest this weekend to recharge the batteries.

Yes they definitely will cope if I have to bow out...but I know I won't. I have found the summer very long and I thrive on the routine and sense of purpose with work. 34w on Sunday and the thoughts of another 8 weeks (potentially) at home waiting on the birth is just too much. I want to be in work for myself more than anything if I'm honest.