Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Pogbas been awful so far.

Martial been our best player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

The state of Jones. Jaysus.

Game posssibly gone in the first half hour.

Matic poor. Pogba invisible.

Sigh.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Headshot wrote: »
    It's not surprising he was fault for the 1st and now 2nd

He's not good enough to be starting in these big games

Ah here! He's having a poor game overall but Jones has easily been our best CB this year.30 minutes off a poor game doesn't negate all the good games he's had this season.

He lost a 50/50 header and made a shambles of a cross. Has also had one vital block to stop Ali in the box and another where he took it away from the man. Overall I agree it's been a terrible game for him but I'm sick of people never giving Jones credit and just jumping on him any chance they can get.

Also he played the full 90 minutes in both the games against Spurs and Liverpool where we kept clean sheets.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

We're gonna concede again . Spurs tearing us apart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

There's still plenty of time to turn this around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Any defenders on the bench? Jones should be hauled off right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

We are wide open in midfield, we are for certain conceding again.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭KH25

We are wide open in midfield, we are for certain conceding again.
    Pogba is too weak defensively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,166 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Pogba is playing so high up the pitch at times. Matic is all on his own.

Pogba always drifts like this. We need to stick him #10 and get an actual midfielder beside Matic. I knew Alexis wouldn't fix our cat midfield but hell this went south much quicker than my worst nightmare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

bangkok wrote: »
    Martial will def start, he was even rested for cup game. In the best form of his career.

Think we might go..

Lukaku

Martial sanchez

Pogba matic herrera

jose should have read that. Herrera would have more stable in a midfield 3.

our midfield so far has been poor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

We need an extra player in midfield

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Lot of sloppy passing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Pogba has genuinely no interest in helping out his defence. He was strolling back as Spurs created the chance that led to the penalty call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

We've no midfield, Pogba and Matic need to get closer together both attacking defending. A left footer in the team would be nice, Shaw for young might help both in terms of attack and defence, id also switch the wingers! Shocking goals to concede though

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Tom.D.BJJ wrote: »
    We need an extra player on the pitch

Fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I'd hook Lingard right now, for Felliani if fit or for Herrera. He is the odd man out and a change needs to be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

This is why matic/pogba doesnt work againist the bigger teams wide open

I'd hook Lingard right now, for Felliani if fit or for Herrera. He is the odd man out and a change needs to be made.

Lingard probably doesn't deserve it but it needs to be done. Give Pogba some freedom

yep lingard off, fellaini/herrera on

Pogba ultimately causes the team more problems than he solves in this formation.

We could get a tanking here if we dont change formation.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭KH25

Can’t understand why we’ve played a 2 man midfield tonight. It leaves us far too open. Matic ends up having to cover the entire defensive aspect.

Get Fellaini on for Martial he's invisible tonight

And now he's booked. He must come off at half-time.

Rojo or even fecking Fellaini would be better.

Never a yellow, Jones is gonna see red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Jones didn’t even touch that leg fs

For once in my life I agree with Hoddle.

Stick Sanchez in the central role and someone out left who will track back and defend more. Our left side seems to be where most of the attacks are getting their success.

sky88 wrote: »
    This is why matic/pogba doesnt work againist the bigger teams wide open

Doesn’t work full stop imo.

duffman13 wrote: »
    Lingard probably doesn't deserve it but it needs to be done. Give Pogba some freedom

I've said this plenty before but Pogba plays as a #10 regardless so we might aswell start him there properly. Do less harm to our team then.

Sloppy there's a red card coming if they don't stop the school boy stuff

Martial been our best player.
    Get Fellaini on for Martial he's invisible tonight

football :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Hard to get annoyed when this happens. Two mental goals. Need to get to HT and regroup

Been a shambolic first half overall. Poor defensively and in possession.

Hoping we nick a lucky goal before half time but at this point I'd settle for us just not to concede again. Need to get to half time and sort this out. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,558 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Yeah needs to be done asap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Good thing matic got rest in last game causes he's had to be all over the place tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,121 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Only Jose could play sanchez as a wing back.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Good thing matic got rest in last game causes he's had to be all over the place tonight.

yea he is all over the place and looks very leggy

We are being starved of the ball for the last 10 minutes or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

Hope Jose is sharpening up the knives . Disgusting performance so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,558 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Only Jose could play sanchez as a wing back.

When did he do that?

Back to transfer deadline. Non existant midfield killing us completely. Maybe against Huddersfield be worth watching.

Unless I see any subs are made here. Then I'll watch again but no point now as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

This is awful. Seems like we are losing the head altogether now with fouls.

Also Fooking stay on side for fook sake.

Hoofball already wow we are doooooooomed ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Young’s passing is way too laboured, I’d bring him and Lingard off for Fellaini and Shaw.. Fellaini as an outball to beat the press

difference between Lukaku and Kane is chalk and cheese tonight.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Jones awful. Young leaving too much space. Matic under too much pressure, and our attack and defensive aren't getting linked at all.

Jones surely can't come out for the second half.

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Jones awful. Young leaving too much space. Matic under too much pressure, and our attack and defensive aren't getting linked at all.

So pretty much, terrible all round.

Going to be a great comeback to watch though. 4-2 FT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,121 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Dier stuff so far

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Little point in signing Sanchez if our attacking strategy is sh*t overhit balls over the top to an offside Lukaku that Lloris just cleans up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Hope Jose is sharpening up the knives . Disgusting performance so far
    The players aren't the only parties responsible for the way the game has gone.