Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Lofty123

Tom.D.BJJ wrote: »
    Lofty123 wrote: »
    RIP the United way.
    Talk of rebuilding needed after all the money spent by José is f***ing laughable.
    Supported United for over 40 years, through the 26 lean years, but this is the worst performance I can remember, especially given it was over 2 legs.
    José out. Who to replace him with? I have no Idea, but I can't take any more of this negative anti football.

I call bull**** or you need to jog your fùcking memory of how we played during the early fergie days and some of the big Ron games. What about Moyes or LvG? You've never seen one performance this bad?
    I have been disappointed many times watching United over the years and that includes under the above managers and Tommy Docherty, Frank O'Farrell, but never to the extent I was tonight. This wasn't a meaningless end of season game, it was the Champions League ffs.
    We might finish second in the league playing this dull, unattractive rubbish.... big whoop!!
    Thankfully I have many enjoyable times as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Zico !

bangkok wrote: »
    Mourinho: “Liverpool has the Champions League but they don’t have the FA Cup.”

Please jose just stop

Happy with pogba were ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

That is such a naive and simplistic analysis of what was, in reality, a sh.tshow.

Are you referring to your own post because that’s how yours reads. The guy who replied is stating fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Lord TSC wrote: »
    IF Jose left, we'd have had three managers in four years.

The board will be looking to minimise the risk as much as possible. They will be looking for as close to a garuntee as possible that we won't be back out of the top four and we'll be going deeper into the CL. You're nuts if you think it's the time to take a risk on an untested manager from a third level club.

If he has lost the dressing room which i think he has, he has to go.

I know pogba was **** when he came on but the loudest cheer of the whole night was him coming on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭limnam

Ninthlife wrote: »
    A professional athlete of McTomminays age should have zero problems playing 2 games in 4 games. I dont buy the players are tired excuse.

Players have the top medical care, massage, dieticians and sports scientists i even read Gary Monk talk about a sleep specialist being employed at Swansea to ensure players slept correctly.

Sure.

We should just go back to 11 players and 2 subs.

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Andrew Beef

The myth that Sir Alex handed over anything other than a complete hospital pass is simply breathtaking.

Then two jokers further wrecked the club.

This rebuild job is simply bigger than most people thought, and hasn’t been helped by marquee signings like Paul Pogba and Alexis Sanchez turning out to be lemons.

Sanchez is like a fella on a UCD soccer scholarship who saved up Kelloggs tokens to play at Old Trafford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Mourinho: “Liverpool has the Champions League but they don’t have the FA Cup.”

Please jose just stop

What was the question and context?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

The myth that Sir Alex handed over anything other than a complete hospital pass is simply breathtaking.

This rebuild job is simply bigger than most people thought, and hasn’t been helped by marquee signings like Paul Pogba and Alexis Sanchez turning out to be lemons.

Sanchez is like a fella on a UCD soccer scholarship who saved up Kelloggs tokens to play at Old Trafford.

It's been what, ten games, in a team that hasn't exactly been set up brilliantly. Calling Sanchez a lemon after two months is lol worthy...

DM_7 wrote: »
    Interesting, I never considered cringe as a fact scenario!

Anyway, point is as posted already ahove, straight after the game he should not be adding fuel to the fires and bland is exactly what he should be in public. If he said what he really felt it would not help anything just push blame around.

Plenty will blame him as well so I give him credit for not pushing the blame elsewhere at this stage of a season. It is too late for that with so few games left in the season.

But I didn’t think it was bland. Bland would be “we are very disappointed and we analyze what happened but have another game at the weekend...” etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

limnam wrote: »
    Sure.

We should just go back to 11 players and 2 subs.

I think youre missing my point.

Mourinho doesnt have a clue of his strongest 11. I think many United fans dont either because we havent been afforded the oppoetunity to see a consistent starting 11 play cohesive football.

Squad size/depth and switching personnel to match opposition is seperate to the point Im making

adox wrote: »
    But I didn’t think it was bland. Bland would be “we are very disappointed and we analyze what happened but have another game at the weekend...” etc.

Why bother telling fibs?

Not many looked genuinely disappointed to me...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭ericzeking

The football was worse under LVG and Moyes its acceptable under Jose if he wins things which he probably wont this season, hopefully we get his season 2 form in season 3 for us

LVGs football lacked a cutting edge in the final third but he had a superb defensive record and absolutely dominated the ball in every game. I think he was stifled by the conundrum of what to do with Rooney. If LVG had this squad, I reckon we would be playing a lot better stuff than we are seeing.

But that's just a personal opinion that is likely neither here nor there on such a depressing night as this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

#Progress

Lets give Scholesy the job.

astradave wrote: »
    What was the question and context?

Was asked about fixture list. Says liverpool will have more games now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

Cringing for the "Mourinho out" crowd,but i feel some of you have been sitting waiting to roll it out!

Tonight wasnt one bit pretty but its crazy to lay it all at Mourinhos door when Pogba or Sanchez cant pass a simple ball to begin with,manager and players alike need to look at themselves!

I think youre missing my point.

Mourinho doesnt have a clue of his strongest 11. I think many United fans dont either because we havent been afforded the oppoetunity to see a consistent starting 11 play cohesive football.

Squad size/depth and switching personnel to match opposition is seperate to the point Im making

Strongest 11 to do what? to play what way against who? home? away? CL/cups/prem.

This strongest 11 is just nonsense that lads say on the tele when they've nothing else to say.

Strange they never mentioned it after the Liverpool match or the Chelsea match...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

Absolutely. A cowardly approach. I don’t mind pragmatic as a means to and end and I suppose those with an opposite opinion to me would say that it would be justified if we got through.

The sad thing is if United had scraped a win tonight playing like that there would be plenty on here calling it a professional performance, Jose doing what was necessary to get through etc...

Pragmatism is doing what is needed to get through but Jose is time and again sending the team out to play cautious football when it absolutely is not the best approach. That is the opposite of pragmatism. He has us second in the league, fair play to him, but I have little doubt that any other of the top 5/6 would have beat Seville handy tonight, and it may have been over after the 1st leg. Jose is strangling the life out of the attacking players, much the same way LVG did.

Dozyart wrote: »
    Cringing for the "Mourinho out" crowd,but i feel some of you have been sitting waiting to roll it out!

Tonight wasnt one bit pretty but its crazy to lay it all at Mourinhos door when Pogba or Sanchez cant pass a simple ball to begin with,manager and players alike need to look at themselves!

Jose's problem is he cant pass ball 5yds and misses sitters.

Terrible terrible player

Dozyart wrote: »

Pogba didnt even start the game.

Mata dropped and he playing well and only one who can actually pass a ball

Rashford motm at weekend on left, put on the right.

Mctominay dropped for fellaini

Mourinho has us playing awful and the players are afraid to play under him

Why bother telling fibs?

Not many looked genuinely disappointed to me...

You don’t think Jose and his staff are disappointed?

My point was I didn’t think the interview was bland as DM7 said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Cheers, makes a bit of sense now..

Anyways heading to bed disgusted.

Night all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Perfectly fine answer so. Why did you post it out of context? Made it look like Jose was happier to be in the FA Cup as opposed to CL?

Strongest 11 to do what? to play what way against who? home? away? CL/cups/prem.

This strongest 11 is just nonsense that lads say on the tele when they've nothing else to say.

Strange they never mentioned it after the Liverpool match or the Chelsea match...

So you dont think that a manager given the players he has should not have 11 players out of his squad who he knows that regardless the opposition/cup/league/home/away will play with the same desire passion and will to win.

My opinion is Mourinho doesnt know which 11 gives him the best performance

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

The sad thing is if United had scraped a win tonight playing like that there would be plenty on here calling it a professional performance, Jose doing what was necessary to get through etc...

Pragmatism is doing what is needed to get through but Jose is time and again sending the team out to play cautious football when it absolutely is not the best approach. That is the opposite of pragmatism. He has us second in the league, fair play to him, but I have little doubt that any other of the top 5/6 would have beat Seville handy tonight, and it may have been over after the 1st leg. Jose is strangling the life out of the attacking players, much the same way LVG did.

That's exactly how the reaction to the first leg went with many claiming Fergie used to do the exact same thing. That performance was just as much of a pile of sh*te as tonight's one, the only difference is we just about got away with it in Seville.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Still think it is the defence that is all wrong at United. Any time they have to defend up the field and without a lot of protection they give away too many chances, attacks end with shots rather than United winnig the ball and it constricts the whole team.

That may seem bizarre with the defensive record but the goals given up like the Spurs away opener or Seville opener today are just shocking.

Grand when they can defend the box with players behind the ball but once they are up field at all and there is a gap to midfield they are brutal.

Is that why Jose is so reluctant to take a game to the oppossition? That a player like Correa running in behind or at Valencia with no protection paralyses the team?

Can't go into next season with Valencia, Young and Smalling playing every game, even if Young keeps playing well.

You don’t think Jose and his staff are disappointed?

My pint was I didn’t think the interview was bland as DM7 said.

If you mean his "technical staff"/Management team I couldn't care less what they're

As far as Jose interviews go. It was fairly bland.

So you dont think that a manager given the players he has should not have 11 players out of his squad who he knows that regardless the opposition/cup/league/home/away will play with the same desire passion and will to win.

My opinion is Mourinho doesnt know which 11 gives him the best performance

I think people say "best 11" on the tele a lot and have no idea what they're referring to and then other people pick up on that rubbish and sit at the bar saying "he doesn't know his best 11" not really understanding what they mean.

Lord TSC wrote: »

It's been what, ten games, in a team that hasn't exactly been set up brilliantly. Calling Sanchez a lemon after two months is lol worthy...

He has been dreadful Lord TSC.

He may very well “come good”, but he has performed appallingly to date.

One has to be concerned.

As for Pogba, we need to lance that particular boil; the man is a spoofer.

If you mean his "technical staff"/Management team I couldn't care less what they're

As far as Jose interviews go. It was fairly bland.

But you said they looked like they weren’t?:confused:

Anyway my point was I didn’t think it was a bland interview. We obviously don’t agree.

But you said they looked like they weren’t?:confused:

The fcking players didn't!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

limnam said bland, it was mild, unexplosive, gave little to batter the players, BT and media in general have no interest in a tactical analysis of a game. He said sweet f all but yet he has managed to get some focus on his words rather than how **** the defence is.

I still wish Arsenal had got Mata instead of yous. Last man back and all, doesn't quit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Anyone who thinks handing that manager even more money and thinking he'll improve the team is completely nuts. The football is absolutely garbage and if it wasn't for a good run of wins up to October we'd be in 6th or 7th easily.

The football he's responsible for is shocking.

There's only one change needed. Awful awful stuff

That is such a naive and simplistic analysis of what was, in reality, a sh.tshow.

Are you referring to your own post because that’s how yours reads. The guy who replied is stating fact.

Why do you insist on posting in such an unnecessarily confrontational way?

It’s pretty childish.

It is naive in the extreme and bizarre to dispute that Sir Alex didn’t give David Moyes a hospital pass; the fact that Moyes was dreadful just compounded the problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭ericzeking

I still wish Arsenal had got Mata instead of yous. Last man back and all, doesn't quit.

He's The Special Juan yo...

if it wasn't for a good run of wins up to October we'd be in 6th or 7th easily

Do wins in October count for less?

That’s Scouse logic.

No doubt if matches played at 12.30 or 20.00 are excluded, Liverpool would have won the Premier League at least once.

On tonights performance the delivery into the box was yet again rubbish. Rashfords free kicks and corners were equally crap.

No threat from free kicks or corners just another way of conceding possession

It’s pretty childish.

It is naive in the extreme and bizarre to dispute that Sir Alex didn’t give David Moyes a hospital pass; the fact that Moyes was dreadful just compounded the problem.

How is it confrontational and childish when I’m using your exact same words only pointing them at your post instead of the poster you directed them at?

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Perfectly fine answer so. Why did you post it out of context? Made it look like Jose was happier to be in the FA Cup as opposed to CL?

Its only 1 more game for liverpool and if we win saturday and liverpool get knocked out its the same amount of games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭d22ontour

DM_7 wrote: »
    Still think it is the defence that is all wrong at United. Any time they have to defend up the field and without a lot of protection they give away too many chances, attacks end with shots rather than United winning the ball and it constricts the whole team.

That may seem bizarre with the defensive record but the goals given up like the Spurs away opener or Seville opener today are just shocking.

Grand when they can defend the box with players behind the ball but once they are up field at all and there is a gap to midfield they are brutal.

Is that why Jose is so reluctant to take a game to the opposition? That a player like Correa running in behind or at Valencia with no protection paralyses the team?

Can't go into next season with Valencia, Young and Smalling playing every game, even if Young keeps playing well.

He has had 3 transfer windows to fix the defence yet we start with Young, Smalling,Valencia and sometimes Jones who are not good enough regardless of a once a few week decent game performances. They are all poor defenders or average wingers turned into poor defenders who should be nowhere near the team.

City seen their defence was shít and they fixed it, why can't we ?

Our midfield is slow as fúck and some of them are terrible on the ball, Matic or Fellaini are good at marking spaces but clumsy and give the ball away too often because of it, they play too many games...

3 windows to fix this has resulted in nothing.

We have some decent forwards but the squad players who are pretty much ineffective in lots of games seem to play more because defensively it supposedly works but it actually doesn't....

It’s pretty childish.

How is it confrontational and childish when I’m using your exact same words only pointing them at your post instead of the poster you directed them at?

It’s playground-standard debate to be honest.

A poster infers (as many misguided souls do) that Fergie winning the title in 2013 meant that everything in the garden was rosy.

I give a view that such analysis is naive, and your “contribution” adds the square root of zilch to proceedings.

Bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

Ridiculous.

This is what a team 2nd in the Premier League plays like? That's a farce.

You've players just trotting in and earning their wages on a weekly basis, no passion, no backbone, no spine and no interest. Our mentality when we're losing is also a joke, it turns into (bar the Palace match) damage limitation. We had a relatively easy draw and instead of pushing for a goal or two we were content again with long balls, side to side possession "they can't score if we have the ball" play.

There's no passion in the team anymore, gone are the days when lads came in and tried to get the best result they could achieve on a week to week basis.

Been a United fan since I was in nappies and this is just disheartening, we had a great start to the season, we were playing fantastic free-flowing attacking football and then we just gave up and settled for top four when we realized City's dominance.

I don't want a manager who has his moments of tactical brilliance (man-marking and effectively nullifying Hazard, using Lukaku to bully Liverpools defence to sneak Rashford in), I want a tactically brilliant manager, something that it seems Mourinho has lost.

On tonights performance the delivery into the box was yet again rubbish. Rashfords free kicks and corners were equally crap.

No threat from free kicks or corners just another way of conceding possession

Nothing wrong with his corners in fact they were very good

Really?

How many resulted in an attacking threat or troubled their keeper?

What i saw was the usual drilled into the front post and the defender easily clearing it. And thats not just this match nor Rashford that does it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Was at the game tonight and the only player that stood out was Rashford. Lukaku and Lingard not far behind but not many positives elsewhere. Seeing Matic and Bailly having a heated chat just after half time after defensive blunder and Mata kicking the post made me nervous.. the defence lacked leadership & when the goal went in it was a lot of panicky stray balls.

I think the team is suffering from lack of leadership. Matic is a great player but no leader, Pogba needs to improve performance & Lukaku is still lacking a bit in confidence and good service. A good run could see this team really take a leap forward but it just hasn’t got there yet. Sanchez was frustrating to watch but still too early to pass judgment

It’s playground-standard debate to be honest.

A poster infers (as many misguided souls do) that Fergie winning the title in 2013 meant that everything in the garden was rosy.

I give a view that such analysis is naive, and your “contribution” adds the square root of zilch to proceedings.

Bizarre.

But let’s debate it then and the points being made. I haven’t had a personal go at you at all but quoted one of your own posts you made to another poster and said that’s actually how your post read and that the posters post was factual(which it was)

You’ve called me over aggressive and childish over it for some reason.

You’ve given one line analysis of players including “spoofer” “charlatan” etc.

I mean come on. If you want to debate then let’s debate.

d22ontour wrote: »
    He has had 3 transfer windows to fix the defence yet we start with Young, Smalling,Valencia and sometimes Jones who are not good enough regardless of a once a few week decent game performances. They are all poor defenders or average wingers turned into poor defenders who should be nowhere near the team.

You do realise its the second best defense in the league.....right?
    d22ontour wrote: »
    Our midfield is slow as fúck and some of them are terrible on the ball, Matic or Fellaini are good at marking spaces but clumsy and give the ball away too often because of it, they play too many games...

Slow? Like we don't have the flying pace of RK? :confused::confused:

We have one of the most difficult players on the planet to get the ball off.

Apparently one of the best passers of the ball in world football. Who also happens to be one of the quickest players on the team in training apparently.

wtf is slow about it?

Really?

How many resulted in an attacking threat or troubled their keeper?

What i saw was the usual drilled into the front post and the defender easily clearing it. And thats not just this match nor Rashford that does it

We only had 5 corners. All hit into the danger area with pace, one even flicked on at near post.

Jose is not the problem.

There is a fundamental issue in football; Chelsea’s players down tools and successive managers are fired.

Seemingly top-class players (Pogba, Sanchez, etc) play like fellas who’ve won a Rice Krispies competition to play with their heroes for the day.

At what point does the sniper’s rifle turn on the overpaid mercenaries who keep suboptimising?

Men like Pogba and Sanchez are stealing a living. Luke Shaw is demonstrably overweight FFS; the man shouldn’t be paid a penny until he gets himself fit. He should be tested for kebab sauce or whatever it is that has him looking like Britney Spears post-meltdown.

Players get away with murder these days...charlatans!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

I’ve read back over the last 10 pages of this thread. It’s pretty much reaffirmed my views on most of the posters.
    Last summer our club spent 40m on Matic. 40 ****ing million. Just look at their first goal and his contribution.
    He has coasted through games doing nothing for months on end yet no one has questioned him tonight - again.
    Let’s just put this in perspective - he is playing in a deep holding role like Keano did.