Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

troyzer wrote: »
    Got my learner permit recently and I'm flying around on my motorbike.

To anyone who has ever had anxiety or panic disorder, get a bike.

The mindfulness and sense of peace you get is unbelievable.

Having said that, I'm still thawing out from my hour on it this morning.

I've never gotten a top of the line gpu and it's actually a decent price for that card. It's 300 more on the gpu than I'd predicted but I think it's worth it considering savings I've made elsewhere.

Got some good advice on the setup and this is where they said to go properly premium.

I'm looking forward to putting this together, then spending several days losing my mind with Microsoft software and finally, hopefully having a high performance rig for the new year!

Looks like fun. That cpu seems like a steal.

troyzer wrote: »
    Got my learner permit recently and I'm flying around on my motorbike.

To anyone who has ever had anxiety or panic disorder, get a bike.

The mindfulness and sense of peace you get is unbelievable.

I would have thought the opposite to be true! But I've very little experience on motor bikes. How much is it costing you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

I would have thought the opposite to be true! But I've very little experience on motor bikes. How much is it costing you?

It demands 100% of your concentration at any given time. You can't afford to let your mind drift and think ****ty thoughts.

You have to constantly manage your limited grip, your balance, your weight distribution, throttle and brakes. It's not like driving a car, the bike will not forgive you if you're twitchy with any of the controls.

Being lost in the moment and being intensely focused on a task is pretty much the definition of mindfulness. It's a very powerful relaxant and it really declutters your brain.

I'm about €5k all in at the moment. That got me an absolute peach of a bike which would appreciate after Brexit, mid range motorbike gear, insurance and a new set of tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Took a bit of extra time to research my PC build.

Here she is for anyone interested: https://ie.pcpartpicker.com/list/CMPJn7

Cheaping out on everything except the graphics card? That's like putting a spoiler on a Lada.

The processor and RAM will be your bottle neck and will require an upgrade sooner rather than later.

If I were you, I'd be looking for 3600 CPU, good overclockable 3200 RAM and a good low end x570 board. You could buy yourself a 1080ti second hand for about 400/500, leaving you with a spare 400/500 to spend on future proofing the most important parts of your system.
    You'll notice a higher frame rate in games and, better processing in general because of the reduced latency on the newer chips paired with the old ones.

16GB of 3200 RAM would be a better purchase than 32 GB of 3000 RAM.

More importantly you can just pop in a new edition AMD chip whenever you like and you've just upgraded your system.

Cheaping out on everything except the graphics card? That's like putting a spoiler on a Lada.

The processor and RAM will be your bottle neck and will require an upgrade sooner rather than later.

If I were you, I'd be looking for 3600 CPU, good overclockable 3200 RAM and a good low end x570 board. You could buy yourself a 1080ti second hand for about 400/500, leaving you with a spare 400/500 to spend on future proofing the most important parts of your system.
    You'll notice a higher frame rate in games and, better processing in general because of the reduced latency on the newer chips paired with the old ones.

More importantly you can just pop in a new edition AMD chip whenever you like and you've just upgraded your system.

I also would not go with that single fan CPU water cooler, they don't perform that well. You can get a Noctua air cooler for around the same price or less.

I plan on doing a CPU upgrade this time next year, but that CPU is an absolute steal considering it's performance. Will have a look at the ram - thanks for the heads up.
    I also would not go with that single fan CPU water cooler, they don't perform that well. You can get a Noctua air cooler for around the same price or less.

Airflow is a problem for where my PC is enclosed - hence water cooling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭shootermacg

I plan on doing a CPU upgrade this time next year, but that CPU is an absolute steal considering it's performance. Will have a look at the ram - thanks for the heads up.

Airflow is a problem for where my PC is enclosed - hence water cooling.

It may be a steal for performance, but ultimately a waste of money.
    So when you buy your new cpu, add an additional 200 euro onto it and that's how much it cost you taking the old cpu into account. Single fan coolers not a great idea either. Uou could just get a 3600/3700 with stock cooling instead. Would be almost the same price.

Isn't there anything you can salvage from your old system? 2K is a lot of cash to spend on a 3 year old system.

My advice is to get the best bare-bones you can afford. Leave the peripherals (hard drives) until they're on sale (except the M2 drive for the OS).

Use any hard drives you already have instead of ponying up for them right now, which is limiting the cash you could be spending on the main components, board, RAM, CPU.

The advantages of doing this now is, you'll generally get more M2 or NVME slots on a new board, mine has 3. You get a more up to date version of PCIExpress (faster IO). And more importantly, you'll be saving yourself the hassle of having to buy and build a new system for an additional 4/5 years at least.

I've also heard people complaining about boost speed and overheating with the old MSI boards and the new CPUs, so that's a possible issue you'll be dodging.

Anyways, ultimately it's your decision..

It may be a steal for performance, but ultimately a waste of money.
    So when you buy your new cpu, add an additional 200 euro onto it and that's how much it cost you taking the old cpu into account. Single fan coolers not a great idea either. Uou could just get a 3600/3700 with stock cooling instead. Would be almost the same price.

Isn't there anything you can salvage from your old system? 2K is a lot of cash to spend on a 3 year old system.

My advice is to get the best bare-bones you can afford. Leave the peripherals (hard drives) until they're on sale (except the M2 drive for the OS).

Use any hard drives you already have instead of ponying up for them right now, which is limiting the cash you could be spending on the main components, board, RAM, CPU.

The advantages of doing this now is, you'll generally get more M2 or NVME slots on a new board, mine has 3. You get a more up to date version of PCIExpress (faster IO). And more importantly, you'll be saving yourself the hassle of having to buy and build a new system for an additional 4/5 years at least.

I've also heard people complaining about boost speed and overheating with the old MSI boards and the new CPUs, so that's a possible issue you'll be dodging.

Anyways, ultimately it's your decision..

There is a good reason I'm getting this now, I mostly use my home pc for work so...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

There is a good reason I'm getting this now, I mostly use my home pc for work so...............

What the hell do you do for a living Venjur? Bond villain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Felix Jones is God.

mfceiling wrote: »

Not at all....he runs the Irish server for Pornhub....next time you hit Carla for Garda....give praise to Venjur!

mfceiling wrote: »

I do something that DEFINITELY requires that standard of WORK computer.

Are you that girl on twitch that plays that dancing game in skimpy shorts?

• Subscribers Posts: 41,863 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Are you that girl on twitch that plays that dancing game in skimpy shorts?

say what now ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

I do something that DEFINITELY requires that standard of WORK computer.

with the gpu I'm guessing crypto mining is part of it?

Neil3030 wrote: »
    with the gpu I'm guessing crypto mining is part of it?

Nah, it's just a generally overpriced GPU that's dropped in cost very recently.

This PC will be used for Arma3 and browsing every thread on boards rugby at the same time.

I definitely wont use this PC to perform by the second stat reviews of Peter O'Mahony just for the purpose of destabilising the Munster thread.

That would be a total waste, I'll definitely not do that. Ha ha - such a silly thing to say.

Good post though Neil, thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

sydthebeat wrote: »
    say what now ????

I think they're using code to arrange drug deals. Can't think of any other explanation for such a random collection of words.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    say what now ????

I'm not sure I even want to explain

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I see Ian Bailey has been arrested and will be extradited to France.

Not sure how I feel about that. Sets a bit of a worrying precedent surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

awec wrote: »

Agreed, if you can't be proved guilty in one jurisdiction (Ireland) it seems like double jeopardy to follow the ruling of another jurisdiction (France).

I do think it is relatively likely he did it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Well there is no way he's getting a fair trial anyway.

Knowing that I'm quite surprised they consented to extraditing him.

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Well there is no way he's getting a fair trial anyway.

Knowing that I'm quite surprised they consented to extraditing him.

Pretty sure France already had the trial and already found him guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Can he appeal it, I wonder.

The trial in France did appear to be a bit farcical, from my admittedly vague memory of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

A show trial pretty much.

Wait I don't think he will be extradited. He has been arrested, but it looks like they're referring the 2017 legislation to the supreme court to decide between two potential interpretations. One would extradite him, the other would not.

Bailey may end up doing more for the development of constitutional law in Ireland than anyone other than David Norris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

errlloyd wrote: »
    Agreed, if you can't be proved guilty in one jurisdiction (Ireland) it seems like double jeopardy to follow the ruling of another jurisdiction (France).

I do think it is relatively likely he did it though.
    I would doubt that tbh. The Garda investigation was carried out extremely sloppily. The scene was not preserved for something like 12 hours and rainfall pretty much destroyed it. And people were walking through it willy nilly. Including (I'm told) another possible suspect.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Think I recall reading that when tried in absentia like that they have to have another trial anyway once they actually have the person in custody.

I could also be talking through my arse.

Watched the last episode of Watchmen.

Really wasn't sure about it at the start but it's an exceptional season of TV. Very trieu to the source material.

Hmmm might have to give it a go. I'm not into comic book stuff in general and hate mysterious nonsense like Lost and Leftovers. Is this similar? I wasn't sold by the first episode at all even though I did like the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I read a couple of the comic books years ago, but I'll be honest, I watched the first episode and really struggled to figure out what was going on.

I'd have been fairly familiar with both the graphic novel and the movie and I found the first episode confusing.

It is however a great bit of universe building based on a novel that was effectively a caricature of the world. This is more of the same. It's a complex but solid piece of writing and Jeremy Irons is going to win awards for his performance.

I reckon this will end up being an anthology and a good one too.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Can he appeal it, I wonder.

The trial in France did appear to be a bit farcical, from my admittedly vague memory of it.
    He can't appeal because he didn't appear in court for the original trial, from what I remember.

dregin wrote: »
    He can't appeal because he didn't appear in court for the original trial, from what I remember.

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2019/0531/1052791-ian-bailey-paris-trial/
    Under French law, anyone found guilty of a crime in absentia is entitled to a second trial in France where they will be present in court and represented by defence lawyers.

Aha, I was not making it up. Can't imagine he'd have much more luck in person mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,225 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Rian Johnson has been vindicated.

Take that, nerds.

Clegg wrote: »
    Rian Johnson has been vindicated.

Take that, nerds.

Que?

Que?

New Star Wars is crap.

I heard it was poor alright. Thought the last one was absolutely dire and the first one was barely an original story.

All in all I feel like we've got the Original trilogy, a bunch of great novels and games and a long list of cinematic failure.

I'm actually glad they didn't do the Zahn trilogy in hindsight. They can hand creative direction over to someone competent before they tackle that material.

New Star Wars is crap.

So was his though. Doesn't vindicate his effort in the slightest.

(Unsure if you're being entirely serious with your original comment, tbh)

It's a bit sad. This is the first Star Wars I'm not even going to bother seeing in the cinema (other than the ones where I wasn't born yet, obviously).
    They can hand creative direction over to someone competent before they tackle that material.

Yeah, good luck with that.

Force Awakens I thought was quite good, if incredibly unoriginal. Some people seem to think TLJ is one of the best Star Wars movies and I have no idea what on earth they are thinking - I thought it was down there with the prequels. It made almost no sense. I'll go see the new one, cause feck it, but I expect nothing good.

I heard it was poor alright. Thought the last one was absolutely dire and the first one was barely an original story.

All in all I feel like we've got the Original trilogy, a bunch of great novels and games and a long list of cinematic failure.

I'm actually glad they didn't do the Zahn trilogy in hindsight. They can hand creative direction over to someone competent before they tackle that material.
    I don't want any more Star Wars films that touch on the old canon. They wouldn't do it justice.

New stories only please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Serious storm outside now, much worse than Atiyah. Wild since before 8pm but only upgraded to orange by Met Eireann after it hit. Trees down and roads blocked all over the place here in Galway. Load of cars under water in Salthill. A lot of people not impressed with the forecasters

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Force Awakens I thought was quite good, if incredibly unoriginal. Some people seem to think TLJ is one of the best Star Wars movies and I have no idea what on earth they are thinking - I thought it was down there with the prequels. It made almost no sense. I'll go see the new one, cause feck it, but I expect nothing good.

This. I dont know what character Mark Hamill played in TLJ, but it wasn't Luke Skywalker. The whole trilogy hinges on the audience believing that the guy who wouldnt kill his father, a man he didnt actually know, who was responsible for the death of billions, who was the right hand man of the most evil man in the galaxy, who was actively trying to kill Luke and threatening to kill his sister while the fate of the galaxy literally hung in the balance around them, all because he felt he could save his soul despite the fact that it meant certain death for him would then years later come seconds from murdering his nephew in his sleep that he had known his entire life, who hadn't done anything wrong, who wasnt threatening anyone, all because he thought he could turn to the dark side (from which he knew people could be saved) on a random night in peace time made absolutely no sense at all. It took Luke's victory in ROTJ in rejecting the dark side and fecked it in the bin along with loads of other things Johnson just wasn't arsed with. He didnt even bother trying to explain the wild sidestep Luke's character took. The audience could just like it or lump it.

New Star Wars is crap.

Holy god. I wasn't following the release at all because my interest died three movies ago - but this is getting utterly savaged online.

Some of the scathing commentary from critics says it all:
    Star Wars was modelled on John Ford’s The Searchers and Akira Kurosawa’s Hidden Fortress. The current “content” has more in common with the last update of your PC’s operating system. Have fun watching the grey bar complete itself
    The director is J.J. Abrams, perhaps the most consistent B student in modern popular culture
    The Rise of Skywalker, conversely, is overly obsessed with the past, with Abrams perhaps thinking that tying the arcs of its heroes to decades-old films will somehow increase their significance. Instead, it heightens the incoherence.

I saw the new one last night, thought it was irredeemably ****e. It's missing basically everything that made the original films so popular. It has absolutely no charm, a lot of things don't make a lick of sense, it's too loud, it's too brash, just did nothing for me at all.

Watched the last episode of Watchmen.

Really wasn't sure about it at the start but it's an exceptional season of TV. Very trieu to the source material.

On the plus side, I finished this last night and loved it. Not perfect, but very good. Looking forward to the final episode of the accompanying podcast.

Yeah this is the second season this year I've followed the accompanying podcast. Chernobyl was the other one.

Funny year for TV. I hated GOT, ended up really liking Watchmen and thought the Deuce was almost a masterpiece. Chernobyl was the one not on my radar and was by far the best season on TV this year.

Mandalorian is grand but I'm not the target age group at all.

Yeah this is the second season this year I've followed the accompanying podcast. Chernobyl was the other one.

They're the only two podcasts I've followed. I think HBO were trying something new with the Chernobyl podcast, it was excessively successful, and now it's going to be on every show.

It's funny really, because GoT could REALLY have done well with a Podcast to help the manage the message from episode to episode.

They're the only two podcasts I've followed. I think HBO were trying something new with the Chernobyl podcast, it was excessively successful, and now it's going to be on every show.

It's funny really, because GoT could REALLY have done well with a Podcast to help the manage the message from episode to episode.

Nothing could have helped that last season. They got it completely wrong.

Agreed though, it's a great concept and hope to see more of it.

Watch The Expanse. I binged season 4 in a few days. Best sci-fi out there.