Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

1194195196197198200»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭UAEguy2020

As I said - I was open to the possibility that you were correct, this post has unfortunately dashed that possibility.

Best of luck to you.

The specific reason for the lock down was to ensure the hospitals could cope with the number of cases, and they can.

No I am 100% right. We have a health minister who thinks the Coronavirus was called COVID19 was the 19th Coronavirus ffs, how can you possibly believe that we are in good hands!

awec wrote: »
    No you won't. Take your tinfoil hat bollocks somewhere else.

No comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

The next week, and how people react to the prolongation of the lockdown, will tell you everything you need to know about a person.

Had a meeting/walkthrough of a site this morning. One of the technicians approached me after we were having small talk about the current situation. "Buer, would you follow the conspiracies at all?"

Opinion of him (which in fairness was pretty f*cking low already) managed to hit rock bottom and then dig a few feet.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    we are doing a good job... our testing has increased where, taking countries of over 3 million population, we are number 4 in the world.

behind UAE, Kuwait and Portugal.. with only Portugal being a comparative nation.
    UAE are testing everyone in their country for free.

We share a land border with a country whos pandemic response was nothing short of embarrassing.

If we can keep our R0 below 1 and if it takes 2 more weeks to really get it down low and to contain the virus into clusters then so be it.

I’m just going to leave commenting on this topic here as I can see the mods waiting in the long grass.

• Administrators Posts: 54,619 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

UAEguy2020 wrote: »
    I’m just going to leave commenting on this topic here as I can see the mods waiting in the long grass.

Good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Just imagine if Twitter were modded like boards....

<pictures us all dancing in a sunny meadow>

Sigh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

I despise the people who thought up the wage subsidy. It's like they did everything possible to make it as complicated as they could. Absolute nightmare for anyone that processes payroll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

So apparently the girlfriend has only seen "maybe five" episodes of Father Ted ever. I think my jaw actually hit the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,970 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Bazzo wrote: »
    So apparently the girlfriend has only seen "maybe five" episodes of Father Ted ever. I think my jaw actually hit the floor.

Fire up the More 4 channel on YouTube.

Immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,948 ✭✭✭jacothelad

UAEguy2020 wrote: »
    The media lied about the details of a 22 year olds death in the UK just to make it look like COVID19 was the reason...they have absolutely no shame or morals when it comes to reporting.

Did they lie about the other 27,000 UK deaths.....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

The next week, and how people react to the prolongation of the lockdown, will tell you everything you need to know about a person.

I wonder if a good approach would be a 2 week relaxation of a lockdown followed by another 2 week lockdown. Given it takes that long to actually assess the effects (or however long it took Singapore to realise lifting their lockdown was a big, big mistake).

I say this as someone with no idea what I’m talking about, from a corner of the world that has miraculously avoided a large outbreak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,516 ✭✭✭swiwi_

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Haircut scheduled Wednesday. Or more like a shearing appt.

I think you could well knit a woolen jersey.

0182-THIN-2.jpg?v-cache=1539071507

Not enough for a jersey. But clever use of the strands of greying hair.

First time I've had a haircut wearing a mask...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I've seen two, the one where the bishop(I think) visits and the one with all the rabbits

Detest that programme

Stheno wrote: »
    I've seen two, the one where the bishop(I think) visits and the one with all the rabbits

Detest that programme

Oh this.... this will.... this will go down well....

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Our whole office has just been put on 54 hour weeks.

Not sure if there are any jobs going these days but I just can't hack this. It means banning the kids from the living room 9 hours a day 6 days a week along with all the rest.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Not sure if there are any jobs going these days but I just can't hack this. It means banning the kids from the living room 9 hours a day 6 days a week along with all the rest.

There are jobs going the ohs son started one this week

Are your company aware of the working hours laws?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Nightmare. I'm doing at least 70 hours a week since this kicked off. Watching mates doing nothing and still getting paid is a kick in the teeth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Are your company aware of the working hours laws?

And is it in your contract that they can make you work 54 hour weeks?

OK folks, potentially good Covid news, at least that's how I'm choosing to interpret this:

Have a listen to this podcast if you want a great insight into what front line docs now think is killing covid patients.

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/rebel-cast/id890660610?i=1000472519919

Basic idea is what this ER doc calls "silent hypoxia". Covid seems to be unique in how it compromises your oxygen saturation meaning oxygen is not getting to your tissues (hypoxia). However the unique part is that you continue to blow off CO2, no bother. So you don't experience anything like shortness of breath (as you would in, say, high altitude). Instead, your body ramps up respiration but not enough for you to notice. So you think you're grand, all the while your oxygen saturation is decreasing, and your lungs are stressed out by the increased workload. Eventually, the lungs seize up and the **** hits the fan, you now feel shortness of breath or even pass out. Problem is, you may be too far gone to fix it. Your organs have been deprived oxygen for so long, and your lungs have been worked like a mule, possibly beyond repair.

This may explain several trends with Covid - most notably why front line workers, trying to continue working while they themselves have the disease, are dying. This latest theory would suggest they are already stressed beyond capacity, and now running on decreasing levels of O2, presumably doing exponentially more damage to their organs than folks who can rest at home. Similarly, you hear of young people having strokes, and again, if hypoxia goes ahead unnoticed, there may be some reason it eventually targets brain tissue - perhaps their younger organs can hold out longer and it progresses to the brain (i.e., an older person would pass out before the brain gets significant lesions). Also silent hypoxia would explain the other cases of super fit people like marathon runners etc dying, as they may, paradoxically, be able to tough it out at home even longer before noticing a problem, i.e., progressing farther beyond repair.

So after all that, here's the potential good news: his solution is simple. All Covid patients need to wear a pulse oximeter at home. You can buy them on Amazon for 40 quid, and they clip on your finger. Healthy oxygen levels are between 95-100%. If it dips below 92-93, get to the hospital, even if you feel fine. They now think hitting people early with a combination of non-invasive oxygen (i.e. just the clip in your nose, not the full ventilator tube down your throat) and maybe steroids for your lungs is the way to do it. That and or simple positioning routines where you lay patients prone (on their stomachs) to increase air flow in lower lungs.

The doc interviewed can be followed here on twitter: twitter.com/airwaycam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,740 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Ah that's ridiculous, especially in times like this where people are under stress anyways to pile it on top of everything. Even under normal circumstances that'd be a lot to do for most people.

There's definitely places still hiring but you just have to be a bit more cautious about making the switch in terms of making sure the offer won't fall through etc and it might take a bit longer.

Nordies secretly follow the advice of the Irish govt: confirmed.

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Nordies secretly follow the advice of the Irish govt: confirmed.

And Scotland took it's queues from Sturgeon.

British nationalism has an awful lot to answer for these last few years but it's nothing in comparison to this calamity that has befallen the English.

And I bet there will never be any accountability.

And Scotland took it's queues from Sturgeon.

British nationalism has an awful lot to answer for these last few years but it's nothing in comparison to this calamity that has befallen the English.

And I bet there will never be any accountability.

Shane.PNG

Do we care?

Shane.PNG

Do we care?

It's going to be harder to suppress our own outbreak if next door maintains a higher rate of infection.

Or on the bright side, it expedites the inevitable transition to more economic and political connectivity with mainland Europe. I was very encouraged to see us sending the testing backlog to Germany, for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Surely not? I don't believe this. It's completely illegal.

Are you sure your company hasn't just extended its business hours in order to give you more flexibility to decide when you want to get the work done?

So you’re not living in France anymore then...?

Sweden’s strategy is working out well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Clegg wrote: »
    Fire up the More 4 channel on YouTube.

Immediately.

Minimum episode a day for the next couple weeks.

Detest that programme

For you I feel very sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

father-ted-doogle-looking-shocked-confused-1358421227x.gif?id=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,927 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Minimum episode a day for the next couple weeks.

For you I feel very sorry.

I let the daughters watch it over the lockdown. The youngest is 10 so a few bits go over her head.
    The episode with Father Damo produced some huge laughs.

Not letting them watch the Pat Mustard one (bit risque at times).
    Only the Christmas one left for them now.

Forgotten how funny it was myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

The Lent episode is one of the best.

Dougal, do you remember Sister Assumpta?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

mfceiling wrote: »
    I let the daughters watch it over the lockdown. The youngest is 10 so a few bits go over her head.
    The episode with Father Damo produced some huge laughs.

Not letting them watch the Pat Mustard one (bit risque at times).
    Only the Christmas one left for them now.

Forgotten how funny it was myself.

"THOSE WOMEN WERE IN THE NIP!!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Feck off Buer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

I know someone who's never seen a full episode. Could have your passport revoked for less tbh.. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Surely not? I don't believe this. It's completely illegal.

Are you sure your company hasn't just extended its business hours in order to give you more flexibility to decide when you want to get the work done?

I think pickarooney is in like Japan or Samoa or Russia or Brazil, somewhere like that, where the working time directive doesn’t apply I assume!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

As the UK's official death toll closes in on Italy, and their actual death toll is likely already much higher, Boris is giving himself a pat on the back that they avoided the absolute worst case scenario.

He's unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

As the UK's official death toll closes in on Italy, and their actual death toll is likely already much higher, Boris is giving himself a pat on the back that they avoided the absolute worst case scenario.

He's unbelievable.

He learned from Trump. Repeat a lie often enough and it becomes the "truth"...

The calamity of the UK's response to Covid will be forever documented in the amount of excess deaths. The problem is, the vast majority of people don't work in healthcare, and had no immediate family member die of this disease, so at best, the excess death will simply remain a statistic (if they're even aware of it).

In contrast, most people will personally feel the effects of "returning to normal", i.e., getting out of lockdown, getting back to work, getting their salary back in etc.

So brace yourselves, because it's entirely plausible the UK will emerge quite efficiently from their lockdown, and Boris will be hailed a hero.

Also brace yourselves for the inevitable wave of nationalistic masturbation that will ensue if that group in Oxford are the ones to crack the vaccine.

He's unbelievable.

If Boris was wrong about this then what else has he been wrong about?

If EU countries manage their covid response better than Great Britain then what else are they better at?

These are questions the Tory party, the right wing media and much of the voting public in England simply don't want to acknowledge. Denial is a much easier means of answering failure and so half the country are partaking in an unprecedented level of denial despite the unprecedented cost of their failure.

The nationalism and sense of cultural superiority which has rallied around Brexit is facing it's first, serious, dose of reality and responding by pretending everything is fine and is that really surprising? I don't think it is.

If they keep going like this they will fail as a country. They joined the EU as the sick man of Europe and once again as they leave - they are looking extremely unwell.
    Zzippy wrote: »
    He learned from Trump. Repeat a lie often enough and it becomes the "truth"...

They are stretching the limits of this strategy at the moment.

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/04/29/politics/jared-kushner-coronavirus-success-story/index.html
    So brace yourselves, because it's entirely plausible the UK will emerge quite efficiently from their lockdown, and Boris will be hailed a hero.

Maybe. They are emerging as a country of extreme bootlickers, but at the same time I'm seeing a lot of failure and incompetence from this government and it takes a lot of effort to keep bull****ting over the cracks. The media can convince their supporters that they are all a great bunch of captain Tom's but the reality of a weak government will eventually becomes obvious to everyone. It appears to be very gradually happening in the US but the UK are not quite as slow on the uptake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

An interesting development is that Piers Morgan; a long time supporter of Johnson and his government (as well as Trump) has done a complete volte face and is now becoming a very vocal critic of the government's handling of the crisis. And also of Trump's btw. To the point that Trump has unfollowed him on Twitter. Strange times.

Maybe. They are emerging as a country of extreme bootlickers, but at the same time I'm seeing a lot of failure and incompetence from this government and it takes a lot of effort to keep bull****ting over the cracks. The media can convince their supporters that they are all a great bunch of captain Tom's but the reality of a weak government will eventually becomes obvious to everyone. It appears to be very gradually happening in the US but the UK are not quite as slow on the uptake.

Think of your average Brit, currently in lockdown with their family, waiting to get back to work, doesn't pay much attention to the news, doesn't know anybody who died of Covid. They'll be back working soon, maintaining their social distancing, wearing a mask, etc., and in a few months to a year, the vaccine or herd immunity will bring everything back to normal.

How are they going to learn of the reality of their weak government? What specific experiences will awaken this person to Boris et al's failure and incompetence in the early stages of the pandemic?

At least Trump made it easy by telling people to drink bleach, and rage-quitting the briefings.

Think of your average Brit, currently in lockdown with their family, waiting to get back to work, doesn't pay much attention to the news, doesn't know anybody who died of Covid. They'll be back working soon, maintaining their social distancing, wearing a mask, etc., and in a few months to a year, the vaccine or herd immunity will bring everything back to normal.

How are they going to learn of the reality of their weak government? What specific experiences will awaken this person to Boris et al's failure and incompetence in the early stages of the pandemic?

At least Trump made it easy by telling people to drink bleach, and rage-quitting the briefings.

In time the cost of the tragedy will be unavoidable and long before that opportunists within the Tory part will look to set themselves aside. They are in pure populist territory now, a complete house of cards.

On a separate note however, I've just seen this quote from today's press conference:
    We’ve so far succeeded in the first and most important task we set ourselves as a nation, to avoid the tragedy that engulfed other parts of the world

I know it's charter breaking but what an incomprehensible **** Boris Johnson is. Imagine being responsible for thousands of deaths and saying something this out of touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

It's not out of touch. It's just straight up lying to make his supporters think that he's doing well, to provoke national pride and say "look we're still better than the rest of the world, Great Britain yay!".

There's no evidence so far that it doesn't work, too.

I hope it changes, and it might, but until how it has worked for him and gotten him into Number 10, so why would he stop?

(I realise you know all this, yes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man