Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

errlloyd wrote: »
    This is an interesting development, tell me more.

Think they've one out in Booterstown as well, but yeah wood fire pizza, won best takeaway pizza last year from Just Eat.

There's also Vincenzo's on the Malahide Road which is decent but not as good as Firehouse.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Firehouse in Ballymun is the best pizza I've had in Dublin.

I tried that once. It was grand, but then I'm notoriously fussy about my pizzas.

Best I ever had was a little place in Greystones called Beast. It was set up next to the Beach House pub and you could sit outside with a beer from next door while waiting for your pizza. They closed for the winter a few months before I moved out to Greystones. And then never reopened. I was heartbroken. :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Think they've one out in Booterstown as well, but yeah wood fire pizza, won best takeaway pizza last year from Just Eat.

There's also Vincenzo's on the Malahide Road which is decent but not as good as Firehouse.

How long has Vincenzo's been there? Grew up just up the road though never noticed it, might give it a shot during some Christmas lethargy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Are we talking North Italy (thin base) or Neapolitan (light spongey crust) style here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Lads what's your favourite place for chicken breasts and pasta?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Lads its pre-season. Cut this ****ehawkery.

I'm with IBF on this one. It's hard enough choosing a restaurant in the south of france here without all this talk of pizzas and burgers.

*orders another round of beers*

Podge_irl wrote: »
    How long has Vincenzo's been there? Grew up just up the road though never noticed it, might give it a shot during some Christmas lethargy :D

Probably been there a couple years at this rate, it's in between Rocca's and Richard Gavin's old place I think.
    Neil3030 wrote: »
    Are we talking North Italy (thin base) or Neapolitan (light spongey crust) style here?

We're talking about the roundy circle ones made out of dough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭swiwi_

No not me, although I know the type. The house next to me is usually let out to Leinster players / staff. I've had Jimmy Goppert, Issac Boss, the new S&C coach and a few more as neighbors (all great neighbours).

It must have been like that scene in the hobbit for them after a Munster game, what with me giving them the old stink eye!

Yeah, I think the people who followed us were also Kiwis, and the man was one of the Leinster physios or something like that.

We would have happily stayed there if issues with the landlord hadn't forced us to move on.

That property itself is nice though, sun streaming through the windows on a Sunday afternoon often had me sound asleep on the sofa...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

This is more than a bit shocking.

More details here.

What a staggeringly massive asshole.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

prawnsambo wrote: »
    This is more than a bit shocking.

More details here.

It seems that men being violent against women is something society doesn’t really take seriously, like this one, one month after pleading guilty to what would be GBH if he did it to a guy on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

stephen_n wrote: »
    It seems that men being violent against women is something society doesn’t really take seriously, like this one, one month after pleading guilty to what would be GBH if he did it to a guy on the street.

Sentencing in this country leaves a lot to be desired.

Think it works somewhat along the lines of rugby disciplinary hearings. If you turn up in a nice suit and say you’re sorry you’ll get a light sentence. Seems to me as a father of two daughters, that women get little or no protection under the law. Something that irritates the hell out of me.

Victims don't get justice is the way I look at it.

Then again, iirc other countries with light sentencing tend to have low recidivism. That doesn't address the justice for the victim issue.

Something for me to research further to avoid posting further gibberish!

Victims don't get justice is the way I look at it.

Then again, iirc other countries with light sentencing tend to have low recidivism. That doesn't address the justice for the victim issue.

Something for me to research further to avoid posting further gibberish!

I think the low recidivism is not related to light sentencing in the sense we talk about it. There is light sentencing in that they may not go to jail but that doesn't mean they just wander off with a suspended sentence - there is an entire system set up to deal with and rehabilitate them.

The Nordic model works demonstrably better than ours but there is not a hope in hell of getting public support for it as people will denounce it as both weak and spending money on criminals. It is frustrating.

If he did that to a guy on the street I don't think there is the slightest chance he would get a stronger sentence.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    If he did that to a guy on the street I don't think there is the slightest chance he would get a stronger sentence.

I've seen much harsher sentencing in assault cases, from fights outside pubs. Certainly if the offender has previous like in that case.

Sentencing for anything in this country is a joke. You show up to court, get your lawyer to say you had a troubled upbringing and a past history of committing a crime so it should only be expected you'll do it again, and boom walk away with a suspended sentence.

I'd be interested to see if there is inconsistency in sentencing between judges. One in particular who I see in the news on a semi-regular basis loves his suspended sentences despite previous convictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I'd be interested to see if there is inconsistency in sentencing between judges. One in particular loves his suspended sentences despite previous convictions.

There is massive inconsistency between judges. One of the biggest injustices is actually at the lowest end of the spectrum. I've spent a lot of time observing the district court, and this **** is actually a joke.

http://www.thejournal.ie/court-poor-box-3936377-Apr2018/

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

I'd be interested to see if there is inconsistency in sentencing between judges. One in particular who I see in the news on a semi-regular basis loves his suspended sentences despite previous convictions.

Nolan?

dregin wrote: »
    Nolan?

That's the one.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,863 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

MN the big dog :)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

dregin wrote: »
    Nolan?

He has been taken to task over his sentencing in the past although I'm not sure if it had much impact. You may recall he was the judge who gave a man 6 years for tax evasion related to importing garlic. This is in bizarre contrast to the case he presided over recently involving Michael Lowry.

It's not even about consistency between various judges. There's a real lack of consistency between cases presided over by the same judge at times.

Those who can’t do teach, except in the case of the legal profession where they judge. Instead of getting the best and brightest that go through the law library, judges seem to be made up of the ones who couldn’t make it and wanted a safe job for life. I sat in Wicklow circuit court one day and the judge couldn’t stay awake, the clerk had to prompt him a few times. There was no way in hell the guy was fully taking in what was going on. Think most of his sentences were predecided. He had a reputation that anyone in front of him on drugs charges would get a custodial sentence. Though seemingly he never gave drunk drivers more than a fine.

Buer wrote: »
    He has been taken to task over his sentencing in the past although I'm not sure if it had much impact. You may recall he was the judge who gave a man 6 years for tax evasion related to importing garlic. This is in bizarre contrast to the case he presided over recently involving Michael Lowry.

It's not even about consistency between various judges. There's a real lack of consistency between cases presided over by the same judge at times.

He had an interesting one the other week of a woman from Darndale who attacked another woman on the bus because she wouldn't move out of her way.

She was given a suspended sentence because there was "a history of aggravation between the families" and she had been brought up for assault charges several times before.

I honestly have no idea how he's still there.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I've seen much harsher sentencing in assault cases, from fights outside pubs. Certainly if the offender has previous like in that case.

Did the accused plead guilty or not guilty in those cases? I'm always loathed to form an opinion on something like this when all we see is one side of things. If the perpetrator pleads guilty and starts getting the help they need then these things must surely be taken into account during sentencing? Do we know what, if any, mitigating factors applied? And if we don't know can we really pass judgement based on just some of the information?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

molloyjh wrote: »
    Did the accused plead guilty or not guilty in those cases? I'm always loathed to form an opinion on something like this when all we see is one side of things. If the perpetrator pleads guilty and starts getting the help they need then these things must surely be taken into account during sentencing? Do we know what, if any, mitigating factors applied? And if we don't know can we really pass judgement based on just some of the information?
    This. It's far too easy to take the tabloid headline approach to court decisions and sentencing. I've very seldom (if ever) found that I disagreed with a judgment when I spent the time to read up in detail on a case. And that's still based on less information than the judge or jury had to hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Those who can’t do teach, except in the case of the legal profession where they judge. Instead of getting the best and brightest that go through the law library, judges seem to be made up of the ones who couldn’t make it and wanted a safe job for life. I sat in Wicklow circuit court one day and the judge couldn’t stay awake, the clerk had to prompt him a few times. There was no way in hell the guy was fully taking in what was going on. Think most of his sentences were predecided. He had a reputation that anyone in front of him on drugs charges would get a custodial sentence. Though seemingly he never gave drunk drivers more than a fine.

It's well over 20 years ago now, but I worked in a pub in north Co. Dublin for a few years while going to college. One of the regulars in the bar was a district court judge who sat in a nearby county. 6 nights a week he would down 6 pints of Guinness, 3 or 4 double vodkas with coke, then buy a naggin of vodka which was consumed en route home - in his car. The next morning he would sit in judgement on drink driving cases and was pretty harsh when it came to fines and bans in those cases. I know for a fact he was stopped on several occasions by the guards, and escorted the rest of the way home rather than be breath tested. Guards knew it would be career suicide to arrest a judge, at the very least they would never get a conviction when giving evidence before that judge in the future.

molloyjh wrote: »

If you are asking about the case I posted earlier, he got a custodial sentence because he had been given a suspended sentence in a separate battery case, with another ex partner, whom he punched and bit. In the case he got one month for, yes he pleaded guilty to assault causing actual bodily harm. When he beat the victim up in front of her then 5 year old son. Both the woman and her son both suffer from anxiety and panic attacks since then. I don’t think any mitigating circumstances warrant such a weak sentence for a repeat offender and I’m fairly liberal in my views on these things. There’s nothing much of a tabloid headline about that case.

Zzippy wrote: »
    It's well over 20 years ago now, but I worked in a pub in north Co. Dublin for a few years while going to college. One of the regulars in the bar was a district court judge who sat in a nearby county. 6 nights a week he would down 6 pints of Guinness, 3 or 4 double vodkas with coke, then buy a naggin of vodka which was consumed en route home - in his car. The next morning he would sit in judgement on drink driving cases and was pretty harsh when it came to fines and bans in those cases. I know for a fact he was stopped on several occasions by the guards, and escorted the rest of the way home rather than be breath tested. Guards knew it would be career suicide to arrest a judge, at the very least they would never get a conviction when giving evidence before that judge in the future.

My ex wife’s friends dad was a circuit court judge and did the exact same from the Shelbourne to Cabinteely. Got caught loads of times and the Garda would just bring him and his car home.

The more things change in Ireland, the more that stay the same.

Circle the wagons lads, we'll bully our way out of this yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Massachusetts. the judges are appointed by the governor. So, campaign donations are the qualifications required. It's a ****show.

Snitches get stitches hey!

It would appear so. This is why I'm sometimes reluctant to throw stones at the likes of the UK and USA when we see some of their outlandish situations and politics. We're as backwards as any of them.

I can only hope that the protected disclosure the driver made is being investigated elsewhere and the correct actions will be taken if any wrongdoing is found to have taken place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Jesus, that's story is insane. School principal should get a hiding over that. No mention of the dodgy children's escort or what happened there (and I really don't fancy googling 'child escort' in work) either. Any follow up on that at all?

It would appear so. This is why I'm sometimes reluctant to throw stones at the likes of the UK and USA when we see some of their outlandish situations and politics. We're as backwards as any of them.

I can only hope that the protected disclosure the driver made is being investigated elsewhere and the correct actions will be taken if any wrongdoing is found to have taken place.

That really should be investigated, if the principle was trying to interfere with him making a child first report, then their job should be on the line.

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The humidity in Dublin these days is outrageous.

awec wrote: »

I'm none too plussed with the weather these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

It’s like trying to breathe in soup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

Nucifora forced the cooler air to go to Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I'm none too plussed with the weather these days.

Try coping in the high 30's in the south of france*

Even the swimming pool is roasting. I put the hose into it this morning and emptied the ice machine into a bucket and fecked that in. Didn't help much.

*thinly veiled I'm on holiday post

mfceiling wrote: »
    Try coping in the high 30's in the south of france*

Even the swimming pool is roasting. I put the hose into it this morning and emptied the ice machine into a bucket and fecked that in. Didn't help much.

*thinly veiled I'm on holiday post

Used to spend a lot of time in Nice, about 6 years ago there was a filthy heatwave that meant it was up in the 40s most days.

Cold showers are the way to go.

Are people following the Irish women’s hockey team? Or is it seen as an “English/colonial/Protestant” sport and no-one cares too much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Are people following the Irish women’s hockey team? Or is it seen as an “English/colonial/Protestant” sport and no-one cares too much?
    Plenty on twitter. and any need for big generalisation again swiwi??
    Seem to be doing ok in final quarter after struggling in the 3rd quarter

Plenty on twitter. and any need for big generalisation again swiwi??
    Seem to be doing ok in final quarter after struggling in the 3rd quarter

Sorry I probably put it wrongly. But it seems hockey and cricket are sort of viewed a bit the same and I hadn’t seen a single post about what seems a pretty phenomenal effort to reach at least the semi-finals of a World Cup in a sport that is played fairly widely in Europe even outside the old commonwealth.

You mean to say Protestant hurling?

Ok. I apologise. It was poorly worded. Please forgive me!

And fùck it you’re into the final!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭kuang1

Ok. I apologise. It was poorly worded. Please forgive me!

And fùck it you’re into the final!

Ah here... You're apologising to TLS... hardly a fair representation of the rest of us on here!
    Your comments are grand swiwi.

(hi TLS. Hope you're well. :))

kuang1 wrote: »
    Ah here... You're apologising to TLS... hardly a fair representation of the rest of us on here!
    Your comments are grand swiwi.

(hi TLS. Hope you're well. :))

The Swiss men’s team got silver at the ice hockey World Cup.

It’s surprisingly easy to all of a sudden get interested in a sport you usually find fairly dull.

I might just have to watch the hockey final!