Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Registered Users Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭kuang1

Any recommendations for a decent pub in Edinburgh to watch the match on Saturday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

Sweet baby Jebus!

'Semedo charged with attempted murder'

http://www.skysports.com/share/11262136

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭swiwi_

danaloesch.jpg

Not a fan of the American gun lobby, but I reckon NRA spokesperson Dana Loesch could tempt Venjur to fire off a few rounds :D

swiwi_ wrote: »
    danaloesch.jpg

Not a fan of the American gun lobby, but I reckon NRA spokesperson Dana Loesch could tempt Venjur to fire off a few rounds :D

Pretty, yes, Soul? No.

Watch her propaganda videos on YouTube if you can stomach them.

Optics aside, my overall opinion is that she is a very ugly person.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Based on that pic alone she scares me. I can picture her legs around my throat, and not in a good way. Look at those eyes. Those empty, lifeless eyes.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Pretty, yes, Soul? No.

Wholesome Venjur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

molloyjh wrote: »
    Based on that pic alone she scares me. I can picture her legs around my throat, and not in a good way. Look at those eyes. Those empty, lifeless eyes.....

Sigh...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

You know the thing about a spokesperson for the NRA, she's got...
    lifeless eyes, black eyes, like a doll's eye. When she comes at ya, doesn't
    seem to be livin'. Until she bites ya and those black eyes roll over white.

Buer wrote: »
    You know the thing about a spokesperson for the NRA, she's got...
    lifeless eyes, black eyes, like a doll's eye. When she comes at ya, doesn't
    seem to be livin'. Until she bites ya and those black eyes roll over white.

I'm glad someone could see where I was going with that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Pretty, yes, Soul? No.

Ah now, I was only pulling you...pulling your leg.

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Ah now, I was only pulling you...pulling your leg.

It's often confused for a leg alright!

I'm certain I've posted this before, but here is one of the reason why her ugliness outshines her beauty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

If you read reports of the head of the NRA's speech yesterday, you'd be wondering how people can listen to that stuff without feeling patronised and treated like simpletons. Talking about 'elites' and 'socialists' coming to take away their second amendment rights. It was below the level of "four legs good, two legs bad".

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

prawnsambo wrote: »
    If you read reports of the head of the NRA's speech yesterday, you'd be wondering how people can listen to that stuff without feeling patronised and treated like simpletons. Talking about 'elites' and 'socialists' coming to take away their second amendment rights. It was below the level of "four legs good, two legs bad".

It’s not like he said anything new, it’s just the NRA’s standard response after every single mass shooting. As we have seen, constantly repeating the same message, regardless of its validity or veracity, works in America.

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

It was at some conservative hick gun loving neanderthal gathering so I imagine he was surrounded by like minded individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Trumpers believe that anyone who disagrees with them are part of an "elite", no matter the economic status of the other party. It's the biggest conspiracy theory ever sold, and millions have bought it.

awec wrote: »
    It was at some conservative hick gun loving neanderthal gathering so I imagine he was surrounded by like minded individuals.
    But even the most brain-dead hick has to wonder why a bunch of schoolkids who would like to go to school without the fear of being shot could be equated to 'elites' and 'socialists'.

And I know Alex Jones and his ilk are quite probably pretending it never happened a la Sandy Hook. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Whats the story with NRA membership? I've done some cursory research and numbers are all over the place. How does someone become a member? Do just have to pay a registration fee? Do you actually have to own a gun? Could all the anti-gun people join and bring it down from the inside?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭b.gud

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Whats the story with NRA membership? I've done some cursory research and numbers are all over the place. How does someone become a member? Do just have to pay a registration fee? Do you actually have to own a gun? Could all the anti-gun people join and bring it down from the inside?

Funny you should ask that I came across this interesting bit of info on NRA membership this morning

https://twitter.com/goldengateblond/status/966710494689185792

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

They are their own parody.

And I know Alex Jones and his ilk are quite probably pretending it never happened a la Sandy Hook. :rolleyes:

If that was all they did it would be bad but not awful. But no, they push the idea that it was in fact staged with actors. He's pushing this again this time, the parents are already having to take action to protect themselves from death threats.

Outrageously ****ed up country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

The deputy school resource officer is now being hung out to dry, being called a coward it seems by the President and his Sheriff.

Instead of the obvious response which is ... "maybe more guns in schools isn't actually a good idea".

The deputy school resource officer is now being hung out to dry, being called a coward it seems by the President and his Sheriff.
    Whilst I would never call him a coward as I have no idea how I would react, the guy absolutely failed to do what he was employed to do. He has resigned but there had to be an investigation into his inaction.

He definitely let down himself and those he was supposed to protect. Trump calling him a coward is a disgrace though. I would imagine he is enduring all sorts of horrendous threats and abuse at the moment not to mention his family. Trump is essentially vindicating those threats.

Whilst I would never call him a coward as I have no idea how I would react, the guy absolutely failed to do what he was employed to do. He has resigned but there had to be an investigation into his inaction.

He definitely let down himself and those he was supposed to protect. Trump calling him a coward is a disgrace though. I would imagine he is enduring all sorts of horrendous threats and abuse at the moment not to mention his family. Trump is essentially vindicating those threats.

Well cowardice is actually one of the only subjects he can speak from a position of authority on.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

deputy school resource officer

is such a strange title, I wonder what his actual job, training, and remit were.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    deputy school resource officer

is such a strange title, I wonder what his actual job, training, and remit were.
    He's a member of the sheriff's department and had been since 1985. He was in that role since 2009. I would assume it's something similar to a JLO here. He was on a very tidy salary in the job.

I feel pity for him and what he's going through now. It's hard to know how anyone would ever react in such a scenario.

I wouldn't call him a coward. He's not a soldier and we don't know what he is meant to do in that situation. Go in? Wait for backup? Even if he is meant to go in after the shooter, I don't know if I'd go running in against one or multiple heavily armed gun men. I think it's pathetic that he is being singled out, responsible adults would try and shield him from culpability but instead the grown ups have gone out of their way to ruin his life so they can deflect responsibility.

I've no idea. Maybe he is a coward but there have been loads of mass shootings where others nearby were armed and also failed to do anything.

Trump calling him anything is ****ing pathetic though. I've reached a point where I'm no longer capable of articulating just how awful a person he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

But...but... I thought the only way to stop a bad guy with a gun was a good guy with a gun!? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Not too sure about anyone here but I'd happily be an alive coward sooner than a dead hero.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Not too sure about anyone here but I'd happily be an alive coward sooner than a dead hero.

Hmm, how about an alive coward or an Ulster fan?

Ah. Wait...

I wouldn't like to be going up against someone with an AR-15 armed with a handgun. The odds are definitely not in your favour. But regardless of the context, it makes a nonsense of the call to arm teachers.

Yes the teachers clearly need bigger guns.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

It’s a ****in pea shooter in comparison. Within 15-20m I guess it might be a fairish fight but yeah...if I was on my own I’d probably **** myself too.

I know I'm clearly being critical of the officer at this point which goes against the grain but (to play devil's advocate) it's highly unlikely he had a clue what weapon the shooter had. At best he could audibly hear the bursts which would possibly suggest it was a single shooter with a semi automatic gun.

If I was walking through Dublin and a couple of scumbags kicked the snot out of me I would expect a Garda to engage them regardless of the threat to his own safety. Because that's what he's employed to do.

He happened upon a scene and froze. It happens and he's going through hell for it. But he was employed specifically for such a purpose and paid quite handsomely for it. If Trump had said nothing whatsoever and it flew under the radar, I'd expect him to be demoted at best.

The public denouncement from from Trump is shameful and completely outside his remit but that should not void the fact that the officer failed to do his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

They should have every school sitting on a ton of semtex and every teacher should have access to a separate detonator.
    Crazy kid goes crazy....press that red button and blow that mofo to smithereens. The school, kids, teachers and everything in a 4 mile radius can simply be waved away as "collateral damage".

Problem solved.

I know I'm clearly being critical of the officer at this point which goes against the grain but (to play devil's advocate) it's highly unlikely he had a clue what weapon the shooter had. At best he could audibly hear the bursts which would possibly suggest it was a single shooter with a semi automatic gun.

If I was walking through Dublin and a couple of scumbags kicked the snot out of me I would expect a Garda to engage them regardless of the threat to his own safety. Because that's what he's employed to do.

He happened upon a scene and froze. It happens and he's going through hell for it. But he was employed specifically for such a purpose and paid quite handsomely for it. If Trump had said nothing whatsoever and it flew under the radar, I'd expect him to be demoted at best.

The public denouncement from from Trump is shameful and completely outside his remit but that should not void the fact that the officer failed to do his job.
    If you've had any kind of training at all, you'd know the difference beween the sound of a handgun and a rifle. They're quite distinctive. Especially when the rifle is firing super-sonic rounds.

Grand. So, as I said, he would potentially have known what sort of weapon was being used with a single shooter likely.

That doesn't change my point at all though. He was a vastly experienced officer employed and trained in a specific role which he failed to fulfil. His inaction was a critical factor. I have nothing but sympathy for him but he is not exempt from criticism.

If this happened in Dublin and a member of the ARU ducked and covered for the duration of a public attack, he would be hammered. The difference being we would never shame the officer publicly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I don't really know but was he that experienced or trained.

I can only imagine that someone who's from the sheriff dept who guards a school to be like Dooey from Scream, i.e. not that competent.

The AR15 is a fantasticly easy weapon to be very good at. I was on the sauce the night before I went shooting with it and i was hitting targets 30-50m away very easily, and the kickback off it is very little really.

Grand. So, as I said, he would potentially have known what sort of weapon was being used with a single shooter likely.

That doesn't change my point at all though. He was a vastly experienced officer employed and trained in a specific role which he failed to fulfil. His inaction was a critical factor. I have nothing but sympathy for him but he is not exempt from criticism.

If this happened in Dublin and a member of the ARU ducked and covered for the duration of a public attack, he would be hammered. The difference being we would never shame the officer publicly.

Exempt from criticism.... probably not.... thrown under a bus and being blamed for these kids death... dangerous deflectionist horseshïte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

That's not unfair. I get where you're coming from. He gets paid to do a job (admittedly we have little detail of what that actually entails, but still) and it seems from outside that he failed to do that. From what I've read of the person in question, he's going to have this over his head for the rest of his life, he knows this and he's not the type of person who doesn't care at all - like some other notable others - I may be wrong here, I don't know the guy. - he seems to realise he ****ed up and has to own that.

Unlike pretty much everyone else in this situation. Trump, the NRA, the GOP, gun promoters and manufacturers... all absolve themselves of blame. That the President of the United States can come out and call this person a coward, particularly after their own actions as regards bone spurs, that those who promote gun use, and sale, and make profits from it can focus on this one person. That the GOP who have steadfastly and rabidly been anti-gun control for years can decide that this person isn't good enough to guard a school they have a hand in needing to be guarded ... all those are a disgrace. Any civilised country should be beyond this.

I realise you get most of this and (probably) don't disagree.

Focusing even in the slightest on this deputy's inaction or action as a cover for the actual problem (which they all benefit from) is beyond the pale, and I mean that in it's original sense. I wouldn't piss on these people were they on fire.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Except they would never find themselves alone, armed with just a pistol facing an asssailant with a rifle. Pistols are not accurate and don’t have anywhere close to the same stopping power. The chances of him even being able to do something are small.

Unfortunately it’s being latched into as fin his inaction is what went wrong and it the whole ****ing scenario.

Like I said. America is lost. Circling the drain with far too much momentum to pull it back at this stage.

I dunno if America is lost, they just really really really really like their guns. Like really!

Considering the banks have gotten all of the blame for our bail out, how people were so against Water Charges, Michael Lowry topping the polls everytime in tipp, and how much we love the drink we're not really in any position to look down on them. That's all without mentioning anything about Sinn Fein or republicanism.

I dunno if America is lost, they just really really really really like their guns. Like really!

Considering the banks have gotten all of the blame for our bail out, how people were so against Water Charges, Michael Lowry topping the polls everytime in tipp, and how much we love the drink we're not really in any position to look down on them. That's all without mentioning anything about Sinn Fein or republicanism.

You forgot the Healy Rae’s but in fairness all those things together don’t come close to Trump.

A 14yo boy passed away last night after a clash of heads in a schools gaa match in Kerry last week.
    Just a horrific accident and a loss of a young life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,155 ✭✭✭OldRio

Really. I mean really? Nah.

I mean totes really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,155 ✭✭✭OldRio

I mean totes really

Sorry but I genuinely have no idea what 'totes' means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Totes awky momo

Synode wrote: »
    Totes awky momo

Shíte. When this was a thing a year or two ago I can remember saying it a few times and this post has just made me realise I was saying it wrong.

I've reached a stage in my life where I can fully understand if my own kids find me out of touch. This post has aged me.

F**k you Synode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

My 8 year olds favourite word these days is wrecked. Keeps telling me how he's going to wreck me at Fifa. It will be a sad day when that happens :pac: