Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

America is such a mess. The absolute debacle of an address about a fictional border conflict and then a mass mailer asking for money to go on a list of 'wall supporters' is beyond tin pot dictator stuff.

Trump looked like he was giving that address in front of a green screen.

I tried to listen to that address. I find it difficult to believe a word anyone says in american politics any more. They're all fighting for their own team, throwing **** at each other rather than trying to find the truth. It's like being a Leinster fan reading the latest Connacht v Munster thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

America is such a mess. The absolute debacle of an address about a fictional border conflict and then a mass mailer asking for money to go on a list of 'wall supporters' is beyond tin pot dictator stuff.

The economy is still flying so it's hard to see an end in sight, but it's gone beyond bizarre and fully into the land of fairy tales and Unicorns.

The Dow had a nice bump in his first year, but it had a sizeable loss in his second. Overall, it's up 18% in his first two years, and this is nothing special. Compared, for example, to Obama, where the Dow was up 48% in the same initial period. If he continues with popup trade wars and governmental shutdowns, this bear trend will only continue.

Neil3030 wrote: »
    The Dow had a nice bump in his first year, but it had a sizeable loss in his second. Overall, it's up 18% in his first two years, and this is nothing special. Compared, for example, to Obama, where the Dow was up 48% in the same initial period. If he continues with popup trade wars and governmental shutdowns, this bear trend will only continue.

The stock market is no reflection on the real economy and their employment numbers are good. Still more Obamas economy but its not gotten worse.

They do have a LOT more debt though.

The stock market is no reflection on the real economy and their employment numbers are good. Still more Obamas economy but its not gotten worse.

They do have a LOT more debt though.

Long term, America's GDP and stock market performance correlates something in the region of 0.95. If the market continues tanking, it's a matter of time before this hits his voters, at the very least in their retirement accounts.

The amount of work piling into Dublin is hard to credit. I wonder have the Brits realised yet that financial services have finally given up on London.

I barely saw the light of day in December, I'm going to do 65+ hours this week and have never been under this much pressure this quickly in January.

Brexit has very seriously and quite dramatically started to bite.

The amount of work piling into Dublin is hard to credit. I wonder have the Brits realised yet that financial services have finally given up on London.

I barely saw the light of day in December, I'm going to do 65+ hours this week and have never been under this much pressure this quickly in January.

Brexit has very seriously and quite dramatically started to bite.

Lucky for some, I'm bored to death with my current job but there's so little work elsewhere in my industry. Within Ireland anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Apparently Trump sent out a mailshot around the time of his TV address the other night about this "border crisis" that he's made up. The email/letter asked supporters to contribute to help fund the wall, but it turns out it was actually a fundraiser for his 2020 re-election campaign.

Zzippy wrote: »
    Apparently Trump sent out a mailshot around the time of his TV address the other night about this "border crisis" that he's made up. The email/letter asked supporters to contribute to help fund the wall, but it turns out it was actually a fundraiser for his 2020 re-election campaign.

Mad stuff.

https://twitter.com/davelevinthal/status/1082727019874529280

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

If he’s not in jail by then he’ll probably win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Sirius Boner

I would say the chances of Donald Trump going to jail before the next election are 0...and if re-elected (which he probably will be) agains a big fat 0

Nothing to do with the Russian stuff, but there is a possibility there is already a sealed indictment there against him. His business dealings and in particular his "charitable foundation" may be what takes him down. The republicans may be able to stop him being impeached, but they are powerless to stop a federal prosecution.

stephen_n wrote: »
    Nothing to do with the Russian stuff, but there is a possibility there is already a sealed indictment there against him. His business dealings and in particular his "charitable foundation" may be what takes him down. The republicans may be able to stop him being impeached, but they are powerless to stop a federal prosecution.

A federal prosecution ain't gonna happen. He's got control of the Supreme Court with his nominees on the bench, they won't let it proceed. Any indictment will be fought in court all the way for years then the SC will throw it out, or they'll say you can't indict a sitting president and it will have to wait til he resigns or leaves.
    This ends one of two ways - Trump serves his term(s) and then retires to fight charges, or the Republicans get tired of him and cut him loose by doing a Nixon on him - resign or be impeached. But they won't do that until he's into a second term, when they can install Pence and give him 2/3 years to build up his profile to go for another term himself.
    As of now, I don't see any figure emerging on the Democrat side with the necessary profile, charisma and backing to challenge seriously in 2020. Bernie is too old. Biden's been out of the limelight too long. They'll be wary of a female candidate after the experience with Hillary. John Kerry is a dark horse who hasn't ruled himself out yet...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I'd be shocked if Kerry was put forward. It would be a gift from heaven for Trump. We can only imagine how many times he'll call him a failed loser for the 2004 election.

Biden, O'Rourke, Warren...those are the options at the moment really.

A federal prosecution ain't gonna happen. He's got control of the Supreme Court with his nominees on the bench, they won't let it proceed. Any indictment will be fought in court all the way for years then the SC will throw it out, or they'll say you can't indict a sitting president and it will have to wait til he resigns or leaves.
    This ends one of two ways - Trump serves his term(s) and then retires to fight charges, or the Republicans get tired of him and cut him loose by doing a Nixon on him - resign or be impeached. But they won't do that until he's into a second term, when they can install Pence and give him 2/3 years to build up his profile to go for another term himself.
    As of now, I don't see any figure emerging on the Democrat side with the necessary profile, charisma and backing to challenge seriously in 2020. Bernie is too old. Biden's been out of the limelight too long. They'll be wary of a female candidate after the experience with Hillary. John Kerry is a dark horse who hasn't ruled himself out yet...
    The Supreme Court can’t block a criminal trial from going ahead, they will only be involved after a lengthy appeals process. The suspected sealed indictment that happened at the beginning of December is probably being held off till he finishes this term. I doubt very much the prosecutors will stand by and let him run again. The question is, will Trump pardon himself if convicted, which will really test the republicans resolve and the constitution.

stephen_n wrote: »
    The Supreme Court can’t block a criminal trial from going ahead, they will only be involved after a lengthy appeals process. The suspected sealed indictment that happened at the beginning of December is probably being held off till he finishes this term. I doubt very much the prosecutors will stand by and let him run again. The question is, will Trump pardon himself if convicted, which will really test the republicans resolve and the constitution.

There are conflicting opinions on whether a sitting president can even be indicted, which is the fight they will take to court first. Kavanaugh has already gone on record to say he doesn't think a sitting president should be indicted, and more of the SC will agree with that. The prosecutors won't be able to intervene and stop him running again. And I have no doubt that if all that failed, and he is indicted and convicted, either he will pardon himself or Pence will once the change of power happens. The Republicans have no resolve, it became apparent a long time ago that they are nearly all compromised in some way too.

• Administrators Posts: 54,184 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Been kitting out our house will all the extra stuff this week, prices of some things would make ye weep.

Asked for an extra door to be put on the wardrobe. Literally just a door, the shelving etc is there but it's exposed and it'd wreck my head. 250 euro. Two hundred and fifty euro for a single wardrobe door.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭kuang1

awec wrote: »
    Been kitting out our house will all the extra stuff this week, prices of some things would make ye weep.

Asked for an extra door to be put on the wardrobe. Literally just a door, the shelving etc is there but it's exposed and it'd wreck my head. 250 euro. Two hundred and fifty euro for a single wardrobe door.

That's mad Ted.

Not shocking though.
    I got quoted €9,000 for 3 fitted wardrobes!

Ah man! My missus decided she wanted a fitted wardrobe for the spare bedroom. A future kids bedroom. I was thinking Ikea job, doesn't need to look amazing, only a spare bedroom, couple of hundred euro, be grand. Be grand alright, three f*cking grand from some bespoke designer place!

kuang1 wrote: »
    That's mad Ted.

Not shocking though.
    I got quoted €9,000 for 3 fitted wardrobes!
    Ah man! My missus decided she wanted a fitted wardrobe for the spare bedroom. A future kids bedroom. I was thinking Ikea job, doesn't need to look amazing, only a spare bedroom, couple of hundred euro, be grand. Be grand alright, three f*cking grand from some bespoke designer place!
    Our fitted wardrobes come as part of the house, but we want to make a few modifications.

You can ask for the money back instead of the wardrobes, but of course the money you get back is nowhere near the retail value of the wardrobe going in, so it's just more practical to get them changed to suit.

Don't get me started on blinds. The amount people charge to fit these damn things you'd think a doctorate in engineering is required to do it!

At least the rate of screwage is consistent! :)

Our fitted wardrobes come as part of the house, but we want to make a few modifications.

You can ask for the money back instead of the wardrobes, but of course the money you get back is nowhere near the retail value of the wardrobe going in, so it's just more practical to get them changed to suit.

Don't get me started on blinds. The amount people charge to fit these damn things you'd think a doctorate in engineering is required to do it!

Yeah I have to seriously focus on quelling that part of my being that's screaming: "Ah Ffs I could do that...there's youtube videos that'll show me how..."

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

We bought an old house a couple of months back and are looking at getting the windows replaced. The prices being quoted are utterly ridiculous when compared to far bigger jobs done in the very recent past. It seems they've just tacked on a couple of k for the craic.

I have blackout blinds from a specialist company in a couple of rooms and blackout blinds from IKEA in a couple. The IKEA ones look almost identical and do just as good a job. Piece of p*ss to hang.

If you're looking to save a few quid, it's low hanging fruit.

Buer wrote: »
    I have blackout blinds from a specialist company in a couple of rooms and blackout blinds from IKEA in a couple. The IKEA ones look almost identical and do just as good a job. Piece of p*ss to hang.

Any sign of wear? You'd seriously recommend them?

I've had them in my bedroom for nearly ten years. They're grand

Only in the house 9 months so no sign of wear yet that I can see. Only difference is the IKEA ones have to be physically pulled down whilst the professional ones have a proper chain at the side.

I suppose the IKEA ones are less responsive to opening/closing if I'm looking to pick holes. But the price difference is ridiculous. It's literally a fraction. It doesn't have to be permanent if you don't want but for €20 you can't go wrong.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Unless you've non standard windows they are grand. I had them in a house on the normal windows but had to shell out for custom blinds for two windows that were right feet wide

Those two blinds were probably ten times more expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Only in the house 9 months so no sign of wear yet that I can see. Only difference is the IKEA ones have to be physically pulled down whilst the professional ones have a proper chain at the side.

Peasant!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I suppose the IKEA ones are less responsive to opening/closing if I'm looking to pick holes. But the price difference is ridiculous. It's literally a fraction. It doesn't have to be permanent if you don't want but for €20 you can't go wrong.

My fookin giant blinds had no chain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

The blinds in my own bedroom are such a massive pain to open that they've now been closed for 2 months and I'm pretty sure we're never opening them again. We're being held hostage by their poor design.

Does anyone here pay into a defined benefit pension scheme at their job? What contributions do you make and what's the deal?

I do but I'm leaving soon and because I've been in under two years, I have to cash out.

As far as I know, you make a contribution of X% of your salary and when you retire, your payout is a certain percentage of your average career earnings.

They all work differently though.

Pleasant!

Very nice, yes. Thanks.

A previous employer equalled up to 5% of my salary in contribution, so I went that high. Wanted to get one going again in the near future, but honestly considering investing in buy to rent property instead of paying into a pension. Any time I look into it, it just seems like crap value for money. I'm most likely mad.

Aren't these heavily advised against if you've children as there's a high risk of strangulation?

dregin wrote: »
    Aren't these heavily advised against if you've children as there's a high risk of strangulation?

The chains have to be fixed to the wall at a certain height now so they don’t hang down.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,820 ✭✭✭b.gud

If the blinds in IKEA don't suit the size of your windows check out 247blinds.ie you can give them the exact measurements and they'll make them to fit your window. We got some and are pretty happy with them

Anyone opt for electric blinds?
    €600 a pop I've been quoted give or take. Apparently the width only barely changes the price.

kuang1 wrote: »
    Anyone opt for electric blinds?
    €600 a pop I've been quoted give or take. Apparently the width only barely changes the price.

Had them in Australia. They're a bit of a luxury but to be fair, if you have kids they'll last longer. Kids just tugging at them is what ruins blinds but they'll always be eager to press the button.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Stupid question, I've forgotten where the ignore button is. Can someone direct me to it?

EDIT: Nm, found it. Bliss.

KtbPaQ2.gif

These NFL playoffs so far have just made me feel so bad for 1st class defenses. The Bears, Ravens, Texans and now Colts have defenses putting in heroic shifts only to be let down by ****ty offenses.

troyzer wrote: »
    These NFL playoffs so far have just made me feel so bad for 1st class defenses. The Bears, Ravens, Texans and now Colts have defenses putting in heroic shifts only to be let down by ****ty offenses kicks

FYP

Any of you construction working types on here know if it's hard to get a garden shed connected up to your electrics so it has power + lights?

Or if I was to ask an electrician to do this during the build phase, is this something they can do without the shed existing yet?

Any of you construction working types on here know if it's hard to get a garden shed connected up to your electrics so it has power + lights?

Or if I was to ask an electrician to do this during the build phase, is this something they can do without the shed existing yet?
    0342832-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Shouldn't be too hard, but it depends what you want it for, is it just a simple double socket and a light bulb? If so it's generally armoured cable from the breaker (RCB may be needed) to a CU that would be in the shed. Will have to be underground though so will require a trench. Most sparks won't run cables out the garden above ground unless it's a really short run

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Chargers really can not defend for ****e.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Chargers really can not defend for ****e.

"He is Lord. He is Lord.

He is risen from the dead and he is lord.

Every knee shall bow

Every tongue confess

That Tom Brady is Lord."

I hate him so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Shouldn't be too hard, but it depends what you want it for, is it just a simple double socket and a light bulb? If so it's generally armoured cable from the breaker (RCB may be needed) to a CU that would be in the shed. Will have to be underground though so will require a trench. Most sparks won't run cables out the garden above ground unless it's a really short run
    Ordinary 2.5 squared in heavy gauge hydrodare pipe can be a cheaper alternative to armoured.

If you're looking for cheap heavy gauge hydrodare awec, I've a couple of hundred foot lengths going from when my well pump was replaced. :)

Get it done during works. Won't be a significant cost. Assume it's just lighting and a couple of sockets? Nothing much in it. You can go down to an electrical wholesaler and get materials yourself.