Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

to take on the farm/ or p.r in canada ?

Options
  • 03-02-2018 11:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 23

my head is melted at the moment I would like to get an outsiders opinion please.

basically I live on a dairy farm and I'm 24 and the only son in the family resulting in me most likely inheriting the farm.

im currently on a working holiday visa in Vancouver canada and have the opportunity to start a carpentry apprenticeship. I've no prior experience with carpentry but have been in a sawmill before and I like working with timber.

i have worked on the farm a bit down through the years and I don't really enjoy it Tbh although I did when my father was laid up after a hip op as bad as it sounds I felt more independent plus my living situation was at home with my parents maybe I would be in a better mood if I had my own place. ideally I should have started to build my own herd already if I had a true interest. I'm not the most knowledgeable when it comes to farming I've been basically your standard labourer earning a small wage. I think I'm a bit blindfolded when it comes to the business/output/ and earning potential of the farm. there is another employee working I like the man and didn't want to see him leave at the time as I wanted to travel but if I'm going to take over now he may leave in order for me to earn a full time wage.

i do find ireland very bleak at the best of times and I have been taken back by how beautiful canada has been the scenery etc I'm thinking do I want to make a life for myself out here.