Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Diary Room (Off-Topic Chat)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Ninjini

Oh god, dont bother with The Snowman, it was rubbish. :mad:
    I just read Alias Grace and it was a great read, great pacing and very visual (like a lot of Margaret Atwoods books).

Anyone else like "Botched"?
    Im not super fond of Nassiff (didnt care too much for him in RHOBH) but the stories are fascinating

Ah, I’ll cross that off my list so. Nothing worse than a disappointing read, especially one that’s so hyped up.

I read horns a while ago and enjoyed it, heart shaped box was an ok read by joe hill, too.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,066 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Didn't read that one , must look it up .

Is it bad that I remember watching the original Dynasty ?!
    And Falcon Crest , Knots Landing , time to shut up now.....:D

Mam, what about Dallas, did you watch that?.. I loved Dallas back in the day when it was popular, even though they were millionaires they must have had a homeless problem in Dallas back then, everyone lived together in the same house.... I never watched Dynasty, Knots Landing or FC.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,912 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Mam, what about Dallas, did you watch that?.. I loved Dallas back in the day when it was popular, even though they were millionaires they must have had a homeless problem in Dallas back then, everyone lived together in the same house.... I never watched Dynasty, Knots Landing or FC.

Ha Colly , that's brilliant - homeless problem !
    Falcon Crest was struck with the same crises , a few of them lived in the same house , poor rich people !

Loved Dallas , Jock and Miss Ellie , and poor Ray !

• Registered Users Posts: 86,385 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Knots Landing was a spin off from Dallas, Gary was JR's brother

I enjoyed the Dallas reboot

Anyone remember Sunset Beach or was it all a dream :p

• Registered Users Posts: 29,073 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Anyone remember Sunset Beach or was it all a dream

yeah i remember sunset beach. it was so over the top yet so watchable.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

Look at Ye all getting all cultured!! Disgraceful!

I watched married at first sight, that survival sh!te, and loads of coach trip! Keeping it real yo.

Oh my orgy list is pretty damn good too!!

441963.jpeg

Look at Ye all getting all cultured!! Disgraceful!

I watched married at first sight, that survival sh!te, and loads of coach trip! Keeping it real yo.

Oh my orgy list is pretty damn good too!!

441963.jpeg

Oh, Anna will be so jealous... Ha!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Translation of above.

“People of Ireland! What’s the craic? I hear that my girl Michelle Visage is doing great on Ireland’s Got Talent. It’s clear that you queens are deadly and mighty as well, but you better work, or you’ll be sashaying away"

Ru Paul is so right, I'm deadly queen who likes to sashay. :):):):):):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Ninjini

Mama Ru can speak better Irish than I can :o
    I gotta sissy my language game :D

JP I was watching celebrity marriage boot camp featuring non other than Speidi. Also saw some of married at first sight. I do wonder what kind of person I’d be scientifically matched to :p

• Registered Users Posts: 6,978 ✭✭✭wyrn

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Anyone remember Sunset Beach or was it all a dream :p
    JP I feckin loved Sunset Beach. It was so bad, it was excellent. I even posted in your 2010 thread about it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,978 ✭✭✭wyrn

PSA: Ebooks and Audio books from the library

So all the libraries of Ireland are now connected so if one branch has it, you can request it.

You can download an app either on your desktop or mobile (itunes / android) called BorrowBox. You can set up an account via your library card (assuming you have one. If not, pop into your local branch. My library subscription is now free in my county!). Once you have your library card number, it's really easy to set up an account and BOOM now you're reading!

There's an ok selection of books and audiobooks. I use the audiobooks because I can't afford an audible subscription and you can just renew the ebooks / audiobooks from your phone or desktop. It's a brilliant service. Cannot highly recommend it enough to get us through this post CBB times.

Here's the link to the desktop version of South County Dublin online library (not my local one). Not sure if all the different digital libraries for each county is the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Thanks for that link wyrn!

I have never really tried audio books, must give them a try.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Oh, Anna will be so jealous... Ha!

If I was able I'd insert a ship sailing gif right about now.

:D:p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

Translation of above.

“People of Ireland! What’s the craic? I hear that my girl Michelle Visage is doing great on Ireland’s Got Talent. It’s clear that you queens are deadly and mighty as well, but you better work, or you’ll be sashaying away"

Ru Paul is so right, I'm deadly queen who likes to sashay. :):):):):):):)

Thats actually deadly!!

giphy.gif

giphy.gif

anna080 wrote: »
    If I was able I'd insert a ship sailing gif right about now.

:D:p

Mam is open to polyamory and taking out the bin days bbz.

Share and share alike :D

Oh , are we not talking about books anymore ? ....:( :D

Anyone ever watch Dress To Impress on 3e?

Have just come across it , I think the girls have to dress the prospective date , and then he goes on a date with whoever dressed him best ?

Don't judge me , I need my bad tv fix...:D

• Registered Users Posts: 86,385 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

wyrn wrote: »
    JP I feckin loved Sunset Beach. It was so bad, it was excellent. I even posted in your 2010 thread about it :D

I wish TV3 would repeat it

giphy.gif

Saturday night madness.....(boredom) :D

The irony of getting an off topic thread and everyone fecks back to their busy real lives instead.....

Aww Mam... :D.... I'm wondering why Marriatte biscuits are so expensive, over €2 a pack of plain biscuits.. Shocking price altogether. :eek:

Shocking isn't it Colly , having a life away from here ... :P

I would in my f!ck pay 2euro for Marriette biscuits :eek::D

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭crustybla

Didn't read that one , must look it up .

Is it bad that I remember watching the original Dynasty ?!
    And Falcon Crest , Knots Landing , time to shut up now.....:D

I do too! Watched Dallas too but not the rest. I used to love Moonlighting as well. Anyone remember that one? Cybil Shepherd and Bruce Willis were in it.

A Joe Hill book I enjoyed was Wraith, it's nice and creepy.

giphy.gif

Me last night

giphy.gif

Me today. T'was fairly horrific lads. NEVER EVER again. EVER.

crustybla wrote: »
    giphy.gif

Me today. T'was fairly horrific lads. NEVER EVER again. EVER.

At least it was a pretty vomit , purple :D

I find lidl very good for the aul biscuits.

Some shocking prices do be had in tescos unless ya get a good offer.

Dunnes seem better but Lidl kick arse bikkie wise.

giphy.gif

This was me last night , and every night.....:D

That's usually me too Mam, hence the second gif. So not able. Great laugh but it's not worth it. Especially with kids hanging out of you all day!