Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam thread 2 (car videos only, no commenting on videos)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

What's wrong with the inside lane, eh! eh! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,934 ✭✭✭✭josip

A couple from the M50 on Sunday evening.

Strange place to check a load

Gardai responding to Mark Hennessy at Cherrywood

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Was the truck broken down maybe.

Them sirens are shockingly bad on those eru vehicles.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,934 ✭✭✭✭josip

Was the truck broken down maybe.

Perhaps. It's hard to see on the potato cam footage but the driver got back into the cab as I was passing, so I just assumed he was checking something.

oZS708Q.png

We were all doing 100 until very close to him.

Them sirens are shockingly bad on those eru vehicles.

:) I always mute the sound in case I'm talking sh1te.
    It was the fastest cop car I've ever seen and we were wondering at the time what was up.
    He'd cleared the long straight by the racecourse by the time we got there.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

https://www.dumpert.nl/mediabase/7436661/4eaf5fa5/motorrijder_onder_auto.html

If you dont like to hear someone screaming, turn down the sound.
    Screaming is probably more because of fear than pain looking at the end of the clip.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Having fun trying to sync music score as well, must consider buying a movie making software package

Kamili wrote: »
    curious as to why you drove in the bus lane and continued straight?

Out of hours so no issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭yannakis

Out of hours so no issue.

So laws of the road don't matter after dawn?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

yannakis wrote: »

Not all bus lanes are 24 hours. You are allowed into some of them at certain hours

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Kamili wrote: »
    curious as to why you drove in the bus lane and continued straight?

Because I'm allowed to, I'm driving a taxi.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭PCX

yannakis wrote: »

I assume they mean that bus lane was not operational as it was out of hours i.e. not a 24 hour bus lane.

If it is outside of the bus lane operational hours then it is just the normal left hand lane of the road. Therefore it is the one you should drive in by default unless you are overtaking.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,163 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

PCX wrote: »
    I think that you are ignoring the fact that the BMW guy was very clearly being the aggressor in this situation and had made the decision to attack the dash cam driver already at the point he started blocking him from overtaking. If you think that he wanted to stop just for a quick chat or that sensible driving from that point on were going to calm him down then I think you are being very naive.

If he let the BMW driver past him he was allowing him to control the situation and giving him the chance to pick the best place to stop and block the victim so as to make sure he could carry out an attack!

There have been lots of cases of road rage incidents leading to Murder. The murder of Stephen Cameron by Kenneth Noye in England is the one that immediatly sprang to my mind (Kenneth Noye is now released and enjoying his freedom while Stephen is still dead btw). I think that the guy did well not to get blocked in by that lunatic and possibly saved his own life (or a beating at least).

Edit - Noye is actually not totally out of prison but is in an open prison and goes out on day release. I should have checked that before I posted and not after!

Not at all, I've already said he was a lunatic.
    But I dont see the logic in antagonising a lunatic further. Someone who is likely to get out of his car and beat you is just as likely (imo) to crash into you if you start blocking them?

I too am sure he wasn't stopping for a quick chat and didnt suggest as such. Irrespective of why he was stopping, the cam car doesnt need to sit and wait for him to come over, just keep driving away?

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Right lets move on. Some people in here would argue about the smallest things :rolleyes:

81865613.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭chewed

Impressed that dashcam truck hit the brakes.
    Looked back several times at the point where starts braking but i see nothing what could alerted him to go for the brakes.

inforfun wrote: »
    Impressed that dashcam truck hit the brakes.
    Looked back several times at the point where starts braking but i see nothing what could alerted him to go for the brakes.

I think the black car that just overtook him hits the brakes....thought it could be a trick of the light.

Very alert & impressive either way!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

• Registered Users Posts: 2,998 ✭✭✭xabi

• Registered Users Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Foooook !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

That HAS to be sped up! That said the Nordies are fecking mental.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

That HAS to be sped up! That said the Nordies are fecking mental.

True been up there a few times in the last month they drive like lunatics.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

jimmynokia wrote: »
    True been up there a few times in the last month they drive like lunatics.

They drive worse down here... untouchable by penalty points.
    The sooner Ireland and the UK can agree a common penalty points system the better.

https://www.dumpert.nl/mediabase/7437497/4dbd0afd/even_lekker_appen.html

When you think your social media life is more important than life itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Is it just me who comes to this thread to make sure they aren't one of the eejits in the videos? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Ewan Hoosarmi

Is it just me who comes to this thread to make sure they aren't one of the eejits in the videos? :D
    You are not alone. :D

How bad a driver are you¿¿¿

• Registered Users Posts: 8,975 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy