Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Have you ever being blocked on social media?

• 11-02-2018 11:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭

I have being twice.
    Once was when I was in college I wouldn't go off with this young woman and she got the hump.
    The other was by Louise O'Neill. I liked a negative comment somebody made about one of her articles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

White ribbon blocked me when I asked why they don't recognise male victims of domestic violence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I get blocked and thrown out all the time by people because pretty much all I'm doing is being a sh1t on Facebook.

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭Ursummupet

Ive often been blocked on media. Sitting there with **** all happening til the the cork pops and the bowl gets grease bombed.
    Is it social to leave the door open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Frankie Boyle blocked me on twitter, but I think he spends a lot of time doing that tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

I have being twice.
    Once was when I was in college I wouldn't go off with this young woman and she got the hump.
    The other was by Louise O'Neill. I liked a negative comment somebody made about one of her articles.

Well in fairness, who hadn’t been blocked by the eternal snowflake that is LON.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Yea a few "bloggers" that I didn't agree with *eyeroll*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sirsok

Cian Twomey I made a video taking the piss out of him, he got upset and blocked me.....

Did me a favour

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭muppetshow1451

All the time,some lefties just cant handle the truth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

does Boards count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,272 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I have being twice.

Similar story.

I was blocked by Louise O'Neill after I refused to get off with her.

When you're famous they let you do anything............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

In 2007 I was added by over 300 American, British, Asian and (very few) Irish people on Facebook. I’m now down to about 70 because of my daily Simpsons, Family Guy, American Dad etc references. I’d say I’m second to Donald Trump on getting blocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,272 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

In 2007 I was added by over 300 American, British, Asian and (very few) Irish people on Facebook. I’m now down to about 70 because of my daily Simpsons, Family Guy, American Dad etc references. I’d say I’m second to Donald Trump on getting blocked.

Ah, you refused to get off with the bould Louise as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

Yeah..got blocked on twitter by Brian O'Driscoll.. Rob Kearney, Simon zebo, Bernard Jackman (although he did apologise afterwards and unblock me)
    Paul McGrath.... very surprised at that one
    Conrad Gallagher... enjoyed that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Yup, by Nicky Byrne on Twitter. I severely criticised the rubbish Sunlight eurovision entry a couple of years ago. I stand by every word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

does Boards count?

Kind of!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,606 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Think so. I lived in Brighton a few years ago which is extremely left wing and people I knew there did not care for my liberal beliefs and that was that.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

A few. All for stupid reasons. But the most pathetic was when blogger So Sue Me was begging for votes to be crowned Ireland's sexiest woman. Someone told her to stop being so desperate and I liked their comment and got blocked too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

Sure, who hasn't at this point? Don't begrudge anyone blocking me either. If someone finds me annoying more power to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

anna080 wrote: »
    A few. All for stupid reasons. But the most pathetic was when blogger So Sue Me was begging for votes to be crowned Ireland's sexiest woman. Someone told her to stop being so desperate and I liked their comment and got blocked too!

Is it just me or does blogger = cúnt ?

anna080 wrote: »

I think theirs certain social media users out their and they have more people blocked than actually follow them!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Sam Boland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Twitter should display the amount of people that each user blocks and mutes as it is seriously being misused so that certain users can create the illusion that they are willing to engage with people that disagree with them. I think having such information displayed might make them think twice about doing it so often.

Fcuking echo chambers is what most of them want and Twitter facilitate them in creating one.

I'm blocked by all the usual suspects by the way.

Kevin Spacey, Gaberial Byrne etc.

That's a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Yeah..got blocked on twitter by Brian O'Driscoll.. Rob Kearney, Simon zebo, Bernard Jackman (although he did apologise afterwards and unblock me)
    Paul McGrath.... very surprised at that one
    Conrad Gallagher... enjoyed that one

What was the craic with Jackman, what happened?

I've been blocked by Stephen Jones, the rugby journalist/troll.
    He's always blocking Irish fans (honestly, it's weird) but it was due to the fact I laughed at him when he pushing for Tom Huddlestone to go to the World Cup years ago.

Stumbled across some other journalist who has blocked me too, the other day. No idea who he is, never interacted with him, but I believe twitter casts a wide net for auto blocking.

Sam Boland.

Friends is homophobic!

razorblunt wrote: »
    Stumbled across some other journalist who has blocked me too, the other day. No idea who he is, never interacted with him, but I believe twitter casts a wide net for auto blocking.

You could be on a block list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

What was the craic with Jackman, what happened?

I've been blocked by Stephen Jones, the rugby journalist/troll.
    He's always blocking Irish fans (honestly, it's weird) but it was due to the fact I laughed at him when he pushing for Tom Huddlestone to go to the World Cup years ago.

A couple of years ago I created a program...it took 82 presses of next to end it...it enduced panic amongst a lot of people... Jerry Flannery abused me highly... think a c word may have been used , Jackman agreed and blocked me... although he did apologize and unblock me afterwards

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I'd consider being blocked on social media by Louise O'Neill or Una Mulally as a badge of honour...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

David Quinn blocked me on twitter.

But who hasn’t been blocked by him.

david75 wrote: »
    David Quinn blocked me on twitter.

But who hasn’t been blocked by him.

To be fair I think the more right wingers block a lot less the the lefties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

wes wrote: »
    You could be on a block list.

How do they work?

Some people block if you like something that they don't agree with. They class you as a troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Benildus

Gemma O'Doherty for calling her a "****ing loony nutjob" and asking if the "Lizard People were responsible". It was regarding some Maddie McCann post. Maddie seems to be her conspiracy de jour these days. Apparently Donegal plays a significant link......

How do they work?

Never used one myself, but my understanding is that an individual curates a list of people they find objectionable for whatever reason. So if someone subscribes to that block list, and the curator add someone, there automatically blocked by everyone who subscribes to the block list.

So if you manage to meet the curators criteria, you could end up being blocked by a lot of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

I got blocked by a film studies student in UCD or Trinity when I replied to her tweet lambasting a straight female porn actress who did not want to have sex with a bisexual man, by pointing out that she was essentially ignoring the issue of consent with this stance.

On Instagram I got blocked by some influencer who had been caught up in photoshopping controversies by asking under particular "natural look xoxo" photos whether these had been shopped like with some of her other photos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

no awards for this but Louise O'Neill and Una Mullally. Most famous George Takai

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I have being twice.

Brian Cox has blocked me !
    I was really pissed off too cos Im a big fan of astronomy and did like his stuff,
    All I did was when he was moaning about brexit I responded.

Stick to the Astronomy Brian.

That was it.

And I'm not pro Brexit either ! I just think the reaction of the remainers is a bit childish.

But this is a guy who goes on about access to knowledge and education, and there he has blocked me from a slice of that said Science and Knowledge because he perceives me as someone with a different opinion!

Dope!

silverharp wrote: »
    no awards for this but Louise O'Neill and Una Mullally. Most famous George Takai

George Takei I would take as a badge of honour !!

And of course the other two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Just blocked by a pro gaa bad parking entitled type, When I told him the city didn't need match goers business as he claimed.
    Last weekend was blocked by an amateur dr pro-life type who believes everything he reads and see's from ONE source.
    Was blocked by bias in media types, showing that they didn't really understand bias and though it was the same as disagreeing with THEM. Was blocked by a pro-choicer and anti-euthanasia (who badly overdid the Hitler/extermination verbal imagery).

Can't wait for Campaign for Leo to block me.

I regard each one as a badge of honor!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I blocked myself from social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Aye: when a former acquaintance was ousted for what he was; a pessimistic, sponging, self centered, woolly skater hat wearing tramp, he didn't like that very much and blocked me along with those who saw him for what he was.

Ah, that's better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

the rubberbandits have me blocked on twitter

never had any engagement with them :confused::confused:

I got blocked by a film studies student in UCD or Trinity when I replied to her tweet lambasting a straight female porn actress who did not want to have sex with a bisexual man, by pointing out that she was essentially ignoring the issue of consent with this stance.

Yeah that was a bizarre incident, the issue of LGB took higher precedence than rape for F*CKS sake!!!

Keep it up leftie loons, Trump rubbing his hands for 2020 ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I’ve had a fair few famous people block me, nobody anyone here would care about I don’t think (well Hulk Hogan is one maybe), mainly from my business account where we’d wind up and troll people now and then.

Funnily enough I had one lad ‘confront’ me a while back on Twitter. He told me he hated me because he believed I had him blocked on boards like 12 years ago. I pointed out that I’ve never been a mod or had any influence with a mod so it was reaaaaaally unlikely. But he wasn’t in the mood for turning. Then I was like “Okay so you’ve finally confronted me after 12 years, what’s next? What’s the revenge you’ve been planning?” He said he hadn’t anything planned. So I blocked him. I’ll let you know the rest when he pulls me up on it in 12 more years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,236 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I'm not on facebook, but I find most complaints where someone blocks someone in an online debate, the blocker and not the blockee is the whiney/snowflake one.

And as for the comment above about being blocked by a tramp, flakey people are the worst for this blocking fiasco. I'm glad I'm not on social media... I wouldnt dare kill time on that anymore anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Blocking people who don't agree with you does seem to be a very left wing thing.

I say that as a confirmed leftist snowflake.

Very strange when people use it like the ultimate takedown. "Yeah well your an ass so you can now consider yourself BLOCKED!!"

Ooooooh what a badass!!

I'm blocked by one person on Facebook. An ex gf. I only found out because she still turns up in the chat bar and when I tried to go to her profile to delete her I couldn't because I was blocked.

Ah well at least I can read the chat history if I ever need a reminder how amazing my current GF is. Which I won't because: blowjobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Brian Cox has blocked me !
    I was really pissed off too cos Im a big fan of astronomy and did like his stuff,
    All I did was when he was moaning about brexit I responded.

Stick to the Astronomy Brian.

That was it.

And I'm not pro Brexit either ! I just think the reaction of the remainers is a bit childish.

But this is a guy who goes on about access to knowledge and education, and there he has blocked me from a slice of that said Science and Knowledge because he perceives me as someone with a different opinion!

Dope!

To be fair, I see this kind of nonsense all the time, usually aimed at Gary Lineker. Stick to football bla bla bla. Ironic that he's told by regular joe soaps with no area of professional expertise, to stick to said area of expertise, while Joe Soap continues to spout their opinion on a whole ream of areas, none of which they have expertise in.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I have you all blocked....... suckers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I was blocked on Twitter by Dominique Moceanu. She blocks a lot of people who question or disagree with her, even if you're civil.

I was blocked for a few months by my cousin on all social media platforms. It's a bit convoluted, but my father was adopted, and I'm related to this cousin through his biological father's side. It's all been proved through DNA testing. My aunt (dad's half sister) refuses to speak to or acknowledge us, so I can't really say we've done anything to her, she just dislikes the idea of us. Which I could kind of understand if Dad was the result of an affair, but he was born before my bio grandfather was married or had even met my aunt's mother. Anyway, she insisted her daughter cut off all contact with us for a few months, which led to me being blocked. But we're friends again as of this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

Would be a cool game to annoy some of the z-listers. Someone picks a celeb and everyone else has to try get blocked by them

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Was blocked on Facebook by Joe Moore, a self proclaimed anti racism campaigner in Cork. His FB page is an eye opener, he sees everything in black and white (pardon the pun). Believes there should be no border controls whatsoever, that black people cannot be racist to white people, and the Gardai should be abolished. He accused the guards of "occupying" Rathkeale recently and made a comparision between the what he sees as the mistreatment of the Rathkeale traveller's and the Black Panthers in the 60's :) Anyway he blocked me because I rightly pointed out that a picture he shared of supposed mistreatment of black people in Latin America was a still from a movie.