Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To pick a team

• 12-02-2018 6:41pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 103 ✭✭

As my name suggests I’m a big Josh Rosen fan, watched every college game he has played & hes going right to the top in my opinion. I’m also a huge Penn State fan due to the fact that my Father attended University there.

Ive a big love for NFL but in all my now 8 years watching the sport I haven’t been able to nail down a team to truly root for! I have soft spots for a few teams, few too many really! Them being Giants, Jets, Bills, Dolphins & Jags.

I understand there’s conflict of interest with some of these being in the same division etc but I just love watching the game at the end of the day.

I’ve decided maybe the best thing to do is follow Rosen & that’ll be my team, it’ll help obviously if the Giants draft him.

Have any of ye done this to pick your team or how did it come about? I know there is a thread for how you picked your team I’m just curious if anyone has gone down this path!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,268 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Giants, Jets, Bills, Dolphins, Jags...........think you should probably go with the Pats looking at those teams

On a more serious note, I'm not sure I know of anybody has done that because of one player. Its a little unusual I suppose, closest a friend of mine came to was developing a soft spot for the Colts cause Luck went there.

He is still a fan of the Ravens though just had more interest in the Colts.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 103 ✭✭JoshRosen

Giants, Jets, Bills, Dolphins, Jags...........think you should probably go with the Pats looking at those teams

On a more serious note, I'm not sure I know of anybody has done that because of one player. Its a little unusual I suppose, closest a friend of mine came to was developing a soft spot for the Colts cause Luck went there.

He is still a fan of the Ravens though just had more interest in the Colts.

Definitely no soft spot for the Pats I’m afraid :) yeah, I think with it being that America is so far away & ive never been to any game makes it that little bit harder to grow close to a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

If you're going to follow Rosen then it's looks 50/50 that you're going to end up becoming a Browns fan.

Commiserations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,203 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Nothing wrong with being a Browns fan, they've got a lot of great fans and have had some great players.
    They might not be having a great time in recent years but that can turn around very quickly. Look at the Detroit Lions who had a great run and are still competitive. They were as bad as the Browns are now 15 or so years ago. All it takes is one good draft class to make good things happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

A mate of mine came back from the States with a t-shirt with the Sports Illustrated cover "Sweet Redemption" on it after we won SBXXXII\ and gavre it to be. Before that I would watch NFL late on Sundays on C4 and had a soft spot for the Packers (naturally), but the Broncos kinda stuck now that I had some merchandise. As arbitrary as that is... at least I managed to avoid that Irish curse of supporting the Providence Boston team and end up with the Pats.

I find it mad that no team has stuck with you though. As a Kerryman would you not look towards the great dynastic teams like Dallas, Steelers and 49ers? Or maybe punt on a solid likeable loser in the Browns, who will inevitably click... ONE DAY! :)

Then again the Munster SFC is a bit like the AFC East... so you would be right at home with NE. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭cosatron

i think you should use a process of elimination, answer the following questions-
    who would root for in the following-
    bills v Jets- A
    Dolphins v Jags- B
    Giants get a first round bye caused MacAdoo sucked- C
    So then-
    C v A- D
    Josh Rosen super bowl is B v D and that's your team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭TOss Sweep

Grab a large US map and blind fold yourself and throw a dart at it. Wherever it lands the closest team is your team. If it lands close to a place with multiple teams then flip a coin. Problem solved

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 103 ✭✭JoshRosen

cosatron wrote: »
    i think you should use a process of elimination, answer the following questions-
    who would root for in the following-
    bills v Jets- A
    Dolphins v Jags- B
    Giants get a first round bye caused MacAdoo sucked- C
    So then-
    C v A- D
    Josh Rosen super bowl is B v D and that's your team

That’s my answer I’d say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

To Rosen

1. Prove that you have the determination and desire to play in the NFL

2. Hope you drop to No.5 and that the Broncos haven't signed Kirk Cousins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,580 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

OP, don't pick a team.

Just watch RedZone for 7 hours on a Sunday and enjoy the drama.

That's what I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I really think the best way to pick a team is to watch as many games as possible and you’ll eventually be drawn to one. :)

OP, don't pick a team.

Just watch RedZone for 7 hours on a Sunday and enjoy the drama.

That's what I do.

[insert Mayo quip]

In fairness I would love to be able to do that, but it's nigh on impossible to not have a horse in ANY race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭yorlum11

I was the same way until I found cousins in Minneapolis through family history research. It has made it all the more interesting to have a team. I have been to London to see them and also Minneapolis. My cousins banded together and bought me a singed Peterson Jersey at an auction. Been a roller coaster. Just don't shout for the Pats. Just go with Rosen. From what you said you will watch him anyways. Problem solved.

Skol Vikings!

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Johnnyscotsman

My mate grew up in Vancouver supporting Seattle Seahawks, over the border. We went to a game at the old Kingdome whilst on holiday over there and that was me. Nearly 25yrs and one Superbowl title!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭phatkev

My mate grew up in Vancouver supporting Seattle Seahawks, over the border. We went to a game at the old Kingdome whilst on holiday over there and that was me. Nearly 25yrs and one Superbowl title!

I think there is some of us on here that would bite your hand for that record!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

I was in the same boat , only started watch football in 2012 and couldn’t decide who to follow but wanted to pick a team just to add a bit of interest.

Watched a few early season games and seen Russell Wilson play , I thought he was a brilliant athlete and great to watch . So basically started following the player before the team . Huge Seahawks fan now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭collie0708

I’m in the same pace only started watching NFL a few months ago. Cant decide between the Pats,Cowboys and Seahawks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

collie0708 wrote: »
    I’m in the same pace only started watching NFL a few months ago. Cant decide between the Pats,Cowboys and Seahawks...

Go with the Seahawks 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,503 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Do what I did.
    Rented (shows my age) Madden NFL98 on the PS1 and selected "random team" as my team. I was given the bledsoe led patriots and it's stuck since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Paully D wrote: »
    I really think the best way to pick a team is to watch as many games as possible and you’ll eventually be drawn to one. :)
    I'd say this too. The first game I saw was a 34-31 overtime thriller between GB and the falcons where favre and Michael Vick were absolutely on fire, and packers rb ahman green had 200+ total yds. I had discovered the sport a few months earlier when a friend in school gave me their copy of madden 2002 and could not stand favre to that point (you couldn't scramble with him and he had a dopey profile picture... solid reasons as you can see) but was hooked on then after that.

Or just bounce around a look for a team whose "identity" you like, e.g. Packers and passing, ravens or Steelers and "dynamics" turnover creating defenses, Giants and bears more "stop you from playing" type defenses, etc etc. Not every team has one but it's a good idea of what to expect and personnel is forever changing but these teams tend to keep the same 'identity' over several decades.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭MileHighGuy

If you like Rosen and the style he plays, I'd go ahead and support the team that drafts him no matter who they are. Things change fast in the NFL anyway, today's doormats are tomorrow Superbowl Champions (and vice versa*). No way you can pick another team and you'll just ignore Rosen's game that week. Who would you root for if Rosen's Browns (for example) were playing your adopted team? I have a hunch you'd be pulling for Rosen!

*Patriots excepted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Always Be Closing

I picked my team via Madden - girlfriend is a massive gamer, asked me to play against her on Madden one day - I hadn't a clue, but I said sure f*ck it - liked the look of the Chiefs badge - played as them - fell in love with them straight away

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Johnnyscotsman

collie0708 wrote: »

Everyone hates the Pats - Dublin of the NFL
    Cowboys - were "America's" team years ago. Stars and stripes and all that.
    Seahawks - New "bad boys" on the block (due to the hard hitting, no nonsense Legion of Boom defense over last 5yrs). Best helmet logo (but then I'm biased).

Everyone hates the Pats - Dublin Kerry of the NFL
    Cowboys - were "America's" team years ago. Stars and stripes and all that.
    Seahawks - New "bad boys" on the block (due to the hard hitting, no nonsense Legion of Boom defense over last 5yrs). Best helmet logo (but then I'm biased).

FYP

Pats the Manchester United of NFL surely?

Liverpool the Cowboys

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

Liverpool the Cowboys

Very harsh to compare them like that, Cowboys have actually won a Championship in the last 25 years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Liverpool the Cowboys
    gstack166 wrote: »
    Very harsh to compare them like that, Cowboys have actually won a Championship in the last 25 years!

Us long suffering cowboys fans also don't claim next year will be our year or celebrate winning the league/(superbowl) after four games!!!!

Cowboys fans still living off past glories though :D

Wonder who the Leeds/Millwall are?

not this cowboys fan anyways but maybe i'm an exception

anyways would've said the sheagles were the leeds/millwall (and possibly are due to their awful fans) but having one the superbowl this years its hard to give them the once mighty fallen giant...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Arsenal fans should support the Bengals

Stability, long term coach, perform superbly at times and then fail in the big games

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

I’d actually compare the 49er’s to Liverpool. Dynamic (young?) coach’s trying to return former glories Turning castoffs into superstars?? (Jimmy G & Salah)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,723 ✭✭✭✭DvB

I dont know a single cowboys fan that fits that description TBH.
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭collie0708

No idea why but I have decided that I’m gonna follow the patriots as my team......

Glory hunting would be a good "why"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,203 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Glory hunting would be a good "why"!
    It's possible that he just likes them, likes their uniform, some of the players, maybe Gronk. It doesn't mean because a player decides to follow the Pats that he is glory hunting.

eagle eye wrote: »
    It's possible that he just likes them, likes their uniform, some of the players, maybe Gronk. It doesn't mean because a player decides to follow the Pats that he is glory hunting.

But it's likely though.

---

In other news, the last year as I've been watching a lot of NFL every weekend in the missus' house she started to get into it and has actively been watching the preseason, so the conversation has turned the last couple of weeks of what team she should start following.

Anyway, the no brainer for me was that she supports the Eagles on account of her spending her formative years growing up in Philly .. but no, the SB 'celebrations' left her cold and she thinks their fans are scum. So that's them gone.

Then I suggested perhaps the Jags given her weird obsession with Bortles. But again she vetoed that.

So after much discussion last Monday night while watching MNF she came around to the idea that perhaps the Browns were the team for her. I explained why she should avoid such a thing and that even the Pats or Giants would be better for the soul but she's not for turning.

So there you have it. My GF is a Browns fan. This means I have to watch Browns games this season. On purpose That don't have the Broncos in them. FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

the no brainer for me was that she supports the Eagles
    Glory hunting? ;)

The Pats play a good, fluent, attractive form of the sport - which the better teams tend to. I started following the Packers after my first game watching the league in 2002 because of a thriller they were in, but likely would have gone for someone like them or the Colts (with Peyton Manning), Rams (GSOTurf) or Raiders (it was the year Rich Gannon won MVP) otherwise because it was easily accessible and fun. The Pats in those days were extremely effective of course, but were not much 'fun' to watch in my eyes as they were playing too patient and cautious a style of play for me to be able to appreciate having just picked up the sport and wanting to see 40 yard bombs and explosive runners.

A friend of mine who picked up the sport went with the Rams, poor fecker then had to put up with 15 odd years of awfulness once the Marc Bulger experiment failed... but he stuck with them, and now they're probably the most exciting team in the league based off last year's play and the potential for boom or bust this season.

So to my mind it's not glory hunting to jump on to a good team, so long as you put up with the bad times after.

So there you have it. My GF is a Browns fan. This means I have to watch Browns games this season. On purpose That don't have the Broncos in them. FFS.
    You need to show her these (there are a few of them)... I doubt it's intentional, but I love how this works vs Man Utd's Old Trafford being referred to at the 'Theatre of Dreams'. :p

But it's likely though.

---

In other news, the last year as I've been watching a lot of NFL every weekend in the missus' house she started to get into it and has actively been watching the preseason, so the conversation has turned the last couple of weeks of what team she should start following.

Anyway, the no brainer for me was that she supports the Eagles on account of her spending her formative years growing up in Philly .. but no, the SB 'celebrations' left her cold and she thinks their fans are scum. So that's them gone.

Then I suggested perhaps the Jags given her weird obsession with Bortles. But again she vetoed that.

So after much discussion last Monday night while watching MNF she came around to the idea that perhaps the Browns were the team for her. I explained why she should avoid such a thing and that even the Pats or Giants would be better for the soul but she's not for turning.

As a Cowboys fan I tip my hat to that young lady ;)

Glory hunting? ;)

Selectively quoting eh... :P

Yeah, I wouldn't condone it normally bit she did grow up in Philly so I think it's valid.

However... The f**king Browns!

Billy86 wrote: »
    You need to show her these (there are a few of them)... I doubt it's intentional, but I love how this works vs Man Utd's Old Trafford being referred to at the 'Theatre of Dreams'. :p

Excellent shout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Selectively quoting eh... :P
    True, it just stood out :D
    Wentz (hopefully coming back as good) is a huge reason to follow them. May have been MVP but for the injury last year, and as per Billy, that type of exciting player is a damn good reason to follow a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭L.S.F

So, the OP officially a Cardinals fan then??....

True, it just stood out :D
    Wentz (hopefully coming back as good) is a huge reason to follow them. May have been MVP but for the injury last year, and as per Billy, that type of exciting player is a damn good reason to follow a team.

None of those arguments washed with her.

She watched the Factory of Sadness and it has solidified it. Gawd.