Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being punished for being sick?

Options
  • 14-02-2018 1:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey all,

I work as a project manager. I was sick for 2 and a half weeks, today was my first day back. My boss, at the end of the day, sent me an IM asking me if I was going to be sick again, or if it was a one off episode. He then advised me that he wants me to hand over a number of my projects to colleagues (as yet unnamed) in our UK office, to concentrate on just Irish projects (we're multi-sited). He then went on to tell me how the 3 projects are way behind on work, and implied strongly that we as a company did not bid for a tender of work due to my absence.

It strongly feels to me that I'm being viewed in a complete negative light as a result of me being sick. It was a very busy time, but equally it could not be avoided.

My boss has form on this, and it does feel like he's coming down on me. He's arranged a follow up meeting tomorrow to discuss further.

Just wondering what people think. Am I being paranoid? Or is it totally unfair to ask someone about their absences and whether or not I was planning on being sick again. Any suggestions on how to deal with this?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dennyk

It's not unreasonable for your boss to want to know in a general sense if the company may need to plan for additional absences if you anticipate needing them due to an ongoing medical issue (though trying to pry into specific details would not be appropriate, of course).