Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Threatening customers

• 15-02-2018 9:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4

I work in a Dublin city centre bar during the day. This week some total waste of space of a customer showed up at the bar. After about 20 minutes of very rude comments and general bad behavior, he became racially abusive to me and threatened to attack me. My usual reaction to these things is not exactly passive. However, I didn't want to lose my job, on my 2nd day there, so I somehow bit my tongue and asked my manager to get rid of him, as I didn't trust myself not to keep my temper. He finished his drink and left.

He's now barred, but I don't think he's been made aware that he is. Assuming he comes back, how am I supposed to handle the situation without ending up getting fired for fighting with customers? I mean, if he refuses to leave, and me having to escort him from the premises would surely end in him trying to attack me, I don't see how I can avoid a situation in which I have to hit back? I work there alone much of the time too so it would probably be my problem alone to deal with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

If you make a living from slanging booze you can’t complain when the odd fella turns into a drunk asshole.

Refuse to serve them. Ignore them until they leave get a new job if it’s upsetting you out of work.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

You're in the driving seat.
    "Sorry Sir, we can't serve you here"

He can gripe and cry about it but there's nothing he can do. And he'll fcku off quick enough and get a drink where he will be served.

Your only problem would have been if your boss didn't back you. With this ex customer you just need to be polite and smile. You win.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    If you make a living from slanging booze you can’t complain when the odd fella turns into a drunk asshole.

Nonsense.

Goodshape wrote: »
    Nonsense.

As sure as night follows day an angry alcoholic will show up every so often. It’d be like a plumber complaint about leaks.

Occupational hazard I believe it’s called.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 jwest439

It's an inevitability to deal with such people eventually in this trade. However, that doesn't make it in any way acceptable.

Sticking to the point... If some one won't leave and gives you no option but to physically escort them from the premises, but doing so will result in a physical clash, which you will get fired for, what can you do...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,952 ✭✭✭duffman13

jwest439 wrote: »
    It's an inevitability to deal with such people eventually in this trade. However, that doesn't make it in any way acceptable.

Sticking to the point... If some one won't leave and gives you no option but to physically escort them from the premises, but doing so will result in a physical clash, which you will get fired for, what can you do...

You never physically get involved.

"Sir, your barred please leave as you won't be served"

Customer refuses to leave/ gets aggressive then call the cops. If he gets physical defend yourself but where possible then let the Gardai deal with it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

jwest439 wrote:

You're presuming he won't leave though. If he can't have drink he most likely will leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,510 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

No security to handle it?
    Regardless best to keep out of it yourself and get someone else to do the eviction

• Registered Users Posts: 4 jwest439

No security during day times unfortunately. I assumed the Garda wouldn't even show up if they were asked to make an aggressive punter leave...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

That's part of the job. Might not be the most pleasant one, but it is there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

No security during day times unfortunately. I assumed the Garda wouldn't even show up if they were asked to make an aggressive punter leave...

They will, but they won't remove him. They will stand by while you demand he leaves. If he refuses then they will remove him.

You have to take offense sparingly. Your boss won't be happy if every punter who gets lippy - you end up calling the law, or making a scene. As alluded to above it comes with the territory that those who get aggressive or nasty with booze on board may have a go at you. By and large you need to be able to smile and keep calm. Don't take offense. If someone goes overboard you need to be able to put them out.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    They will, but they won't remove him. They will stand by while you demand he leaves. If he refuses then they will remove him.

You have to take offense sparingly. Your boss won't be happy if every punter who gets lippy - you end up calling the law, or making a scene. As alluded to above it comes with the territory that those who get aggressive or nasty with booze on board may have a go at you. By and large you need to be able to smile and keep calm. Don't take offense. If someone goes overboard you need to be able to knock put them out.

There ya go, sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭minikin

Tell him you have given up selling drink for lent.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Wanton

As sure as night follows day an angry alcoholic will show up every so often. It’d be like a plumber complaint about leaks.

Occupational hazard I believe it’s called.

As someone else already said, nonsense.....

I can only that as anything else I might say might get me banned.

To the OP, if he actually barred, fair play to your manager, I know many who wouldnt do it.

But to me that always meant the gloves are off, be polite the first time the tell him to f off right out the door if he doesnt listen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Tell your manager your concerns.

I would absolutely be ready to call the guards. It would be likely to get the guy to leave. If it did come to something they would be quicker to believe your side.

See if there's a way to record any incidents to avoid getting in trouble for self defence. If setting up a little camera is no go then just be ready to record using a cam or smartphone in your pocket.

If you're able to defend yourself without hurting him then do it that way. Most drunk idiots are more aggravating than dangerous and being attacked is not necessarily licence to injure him.

Wanton wrote: »
    As someone else already said, nonsense.....

I can only that as anything else I might say might get me banned.

To the OP, if he actually barred, fair play to your manager, I know many who wouldnt do it.

But to me that always meant the gloves are off, be polite the first time the tell him to f off right out the door if he doesnt listen.

What part is nonsense. Honestly are you saying barmen don’t deal with angry drunks from time to time? That’s mad. What would you say that’d get you banned?
    If you had a few soups on you would you say it?

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Wanton

What part is nonsense. Honestly are you saying barmen don’t deal with angry drunks from time to time? That’s mad. What would you say that’d get you banned?
    If you had a few soups on you would you say it?

I take some exception to your first comment about complaining about someone turning into a drunk asshole, but primarily it was in respect to you second comment.

It is not an occupational hazard. A plumber would have little right to complain about a leak for sure, but he would most certainly have every right to complain about any customer who became "racially abusive to me and threatened to attack me". So why does the OP have no right to be concerned just because the customer was drunk (or otherwise), just because he works behind a bar??

It’s not a great situation but it’s something the average barman deals with atleast a few times a year.
    I’ve seen people throw glasses at bar men a few times and I don’t get out all that much.
    I’m not saying he should hug him and thank him for the abuse but surely he should be able to leave work and forget about it.
    As a young lad I drank in sidewalks a few times and the Garda would hang around there at closing time. That’s pretty much the only pub I remember the police being on standby for a barman getting abused.
    I worked security for a while in a car park and got constant abuse just for asking people to not block up the entrance route. Most of them were sober.
    It’d be great to live in a world where people weren’t assholes but we don’t.
    This weekend hospitals and cells will be full of drunk assholes. Some of them may be in the ops pub. If the op can’t enjoy his time off he should try get a non customer facing job.
    The police should arrest racist or violent drunks but they will be out and being violent drunks again soon after.
    Do you think there is another solution to this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Call for security, failing that call the guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

Best to keep one these behind the counter for when things kick off.

Breakaway_Balsa_Baseball_Bat_grande.jpg?v=1460419252

• Registered Users Posts: 21 p17s82

I've seen those kind of customer leaving my local pub after getting told 'Sorry, you're too drunk and won't be served any drinks here'. No security either.