Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

10 month old low muscle tone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭volchitsa

I have to say upfront that I dont know about genuine problems to have anything useful to say, fits, but like Businesscat said, I do want to tell you not to beat yourself over it, it's almost certainly not something that you could really have seen any earlier.

That may sound a bit contradictory to what I was saying earlier, but it's not really - I was thinking of a friend of mine who is deaf, whose mother was being told by the specialists that her daughter was basically subnormal intelligence, when she was saying, are you sure she can hear properly?

My friend's mum was entirely correct, she was of perfectly normal intelligence but her hearing loss hadnt been spotted by a number of tests. In fact they then decided it was because she was very bright that she was already compensating and looked like she could hear.

So what I mean is, there can be issues, and the experts do know milestones and things that parents may not, but you know your child best of all, so your feelings and observations are still really important.

Don't write those out of the picture because you feel you should have done more - you probablycouldnt have, and you are doing what is needed now. And one of the things that is needed is for you to keep your own role as a parent, don't be taken over by the "experts".

(I'm not too sure if it's clear what I mean, but basically everyone has a dofferent role to play when thee are problems, and parents can feel too "unexpert" to bring what are important things to the discussion.)

Reem Alsalem UNSR Violence Against Women and Girls@UNSRVAW "Very concerned about these statements by the IOC at Paris2024 There are multiple international treaties and national constitutions that specifically refer to#women and their fundamental rights to equality and non-discrimination, so the world has a pretty good idea of what women -and men for that matter- are. Also, how can one assess whether fairness and justice has been reached if we do not know who we are being fair and just to?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,635 ✭✭✭✭fits

bp wrote: »
    Can confirm the above it true, neither myself nor one of my kids crawled. Went from army drag (me) and bum shuffle (child) to walking and we were both late walkers. Can confirm we both walk perfectly fine now.

Kids develop at different rates. One of mine talked early and a lot, the other was a lot slower to talk and would still be slightly behind peers but catching up

My twin 2 has been consistently behind on the latest he should be doing things by though. He was late to roll, sit, pull to standing. I knew there was a motor delay and thought I was doing enough as he was waiting to get physio since last September. I returned to work in January and was so caught up in that transition it’s like I forgot to check he was progressing ok in other areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭catrionanic

fits wrote: »
    My twin 2 has been consistently behind on the latest he should be doing things by though. He was late to roll, sit, pull to standing. I knew there was a motor delay and thought I was doing enough as he was waiting to get physio since last September. I returned to work in January and was so caught up in that transition it’s like I forgot to check he was progressing ok in other areas.

Fits, you’re a wonderful mum - it couldn’t be more apparent from all the things I’ve seen you say over the last couple of years. You’re obviously very dedicated to your boys and devote everything to them.

You also have your hands full!!! You have two little babas to care for at the same time, you’re back at work, and I think you are also building a house?? I have just the one, I only work part-time, and there are plenty of things I don’t pick up on. We are only doing our best. You didn’t take your eye off the ball - you’re just getting on with life, and a busy one at that. And at any rate, he’s been referred and being seen to so what more can you be doing anyway?

Please don’t be so hard on yourself. You love those boys so much and care for them so well and should be very very proud indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭bp

As was said above you are going a great job, and with twins...wow hats off. It is so hard being a parent and trying to juggle everything at once

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

OP, not sure if you hv health insurance, but if not get some now and get the kid on it asap, hopefully turns out to be nothing but if it ain't you'll be thankful of the private insurance.

judeboy101 wrote: »
    OP, not sure if you hv health insurance, but if not get some now and get the kid on it asap, hopefully turns out to be nothing but if it ain't you'll be thankful of the private insurance.

My two are on a policy. But why do you say that?

Way quicker access to wider range of specialists not all the best paeds workin public system. We had a false positive for hypothyroidisms in public system with baby was told we would hv 6 week wait for paed endrocronologist, got one next day through private. God forbid but had she had that disease those 6 weeks with no treatment might hv made the difference tween going to trinity or IT blannchardstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭catrionanic

God forbid but had she had that disease those 6 weeks with no treatment might hv made the difference tween going to trinity or IT blannchardstown.

Did you seriously just come out with that?

Ugh!!!

God forbid but had she had that disease those 6 weeks with no treatment might hv made the difference tween going to trinity or IT blannchardstown.

Did you seriously just come out with that?

Ugh!!!
    Early intervention in hypothyroidism ameliorates the possible onset of cretinism. Cretinism significantly lowers IQ potential and IQ has a direct correlation with LC points. Points in Trinity are vastly higher than those for IT Blanchardstown. The logic is sound, scruples aren't a luxury when you have a potentially sick child.

Fits, you’re a wonderful mum - ed.

Thanks. This set me off earlier. I wish I could stop freaking googling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭yellow hen

I hadn’t seen this post before today. I’m a good bit further on than some of you here. My son is almost 5 and was referred to early intervention at around 3 because he only had 4-5 words, wasn’t great at pointing, answering his name etc. He also intoes quite a bit and has low muscle tone. He reached all his gross motor milestones on time so the muscle tone didn’t have a huge impact. He’s had an MRI and it came back clear. He has regular SLT and OT now (mostly at home with us) and he’s making great progress. He may have dyspraxia but not so bad that it’s very evident as of yet. It’s been a very emotional 2 years and most days I can’t see how a bit of OT can make a big impact but it is absolutely apparent now that small and constant efforts are resulting in great progress. He swims and horse rides once a week and his muscle tone is like 100% better. He just seems to be one of those kids who is late to the party but is getting there in his own time. We’re not out of the words yet but I just wanted to say that so many kids have little struggles but if you find a therapy and stick with it you will see the results. Good luck OP and try not to worry. And most importantly, don’t let the stress impact on the enjoyment you should be getting from your child. Enjoy the current day and try not to think too far forward. Best advice I ever got was from a paediatrician who told me ‘life is a marathon, not a sprint, X has his whole life in front of him and he’s pacing himself’.

Thanks yellow hen. I’ve been called for an appoinyment next week which is very quick. I’m not sure what to expect at it as there’s no more information in the letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭yellow hen

Thanks yellow hen. I’ve been called for an appoinyment next week which is very quick. I’m not sure what to expect at it as there’s no more information in the letter.

Is this for an mri?

yellow hen wrote: »
    Is this for an mri?

I don’t think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Hani Kosti

Fits as mentioned many times, try not to worry too much (is that even possible when it comes to your baba?)
    My LO has been seen by a physio since she was born. Prognosis was not great at the beginning but she is beating all odds, little trooper she is.
    Consistency is the key, little by little, loads of small steps will get you there.
    You're doing the best you can!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Is that for the EAT?

We filled out and sent back the referral form over a month ago and have not heard a dickie bird from them as yet.

Is that for the EAT?

We filled out and sent back the referral form over a month ago and have not heard a dickie bird from them as yet.

I think it’s an initial assessment to decide if we need referral to EIT. But I’m not sure.

I rang them this morning to follow up on juniors referral.

Spoke to a lovely lady (administration) and she told me that the way it works is that the therapists sit down together every 4 to 6 weeks, review all the referral forms and then decide if they are going to bring the child in or if another area/department would suit them better. Our lads file will be reviewed at the next meeting but she couldn't say when that would occur but it will be in the next few weeks.

The thing is, it was us that filled out the form based on what the paed had told us and I don't know if she also sent her thoughts in as well. I'd hate to think that we didn't fill in the form correctly or give the right information and that he may be overlooked because of that.

It's a terribly confusing system.

We aren't nearly as worried as we were though. He said his first proper word today (We don't really consider mama, dada and baba to be proper words) I was giving him his breakfast yesterday morning and I thought he had said it but wasn't 100% sure. Then this evening the missus was showing him the pattern on our farmyard table mats and naming the animals, when she said duck he repeated it, clear as day. Then of course he wouldn't say it again when we tried to get him to. We think he is also saying quack and all gone, too. He has a little comforter that we call duckie which he loves so it makes sense that that duck would be his first word. Really weird hearing him speak!. Like he has been constantly jibber jabbering for months but to hear a proper human word is kind of surreal.

It's little things like that that makes us believe that if there is something that needs work that it isn't anything that can't be remedied.

The physio gave us some additional exercises for him to get him to stand from a seated position. When I say seated I mean we sit him on a little step and he places his hands on the armchair or bedbox and pulls himself up.

He's still quite wobbly and we wouldnt leave him standing without one of us behind him but there is definite improvement there.

He still doesn't crawl on his hands and knees but tbh, we aren't worried about that all anymore.

From what you have posted I wouldn’t be worried at all either. He doesn’t sound as though he is delayed at all.

Apparently it’s the area medical officer we are seeing next week. My lad is progressing well but nothing like a word yet from either of mine. Just the mana dada stuff.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

But fits they are only....what...14 months?honestly I would expect very little by way of words from them at this stage.Babble mostly, noises.And you are in the position of having two, one to compare against the other.I only realised that can be a bit of drawback when my second arrived and I was mentally comparing her development to the first at the same age.They genuinely do all develop so differently, at their own time.Even now I am looking out at no.2 (age2) digging in flower beds and transporting earth around the garden, while no.1.(now age 3) would never ever have done that, and they are both girls.Their language has developed so differently too and how and when they each started to walk/crawl , it was an eye opener to me.No.1 crawled at 10/11mths, walked at 14mths, no.
    2 crawled at 7 mths, walked at 16/17 mths (but climbed on effing everything....).It happens in their own time.

Funnily enough we got a letter from enable Ireland today. They are coming to the house Thursday to meet us and it seems have a chat. Then on the 30th we have a screening assessment with the multi disciplinary team.

Wow. That’s quite fast then!

Shesty they are 16 months now. Honestly I read so much stuff and some would lead you to panic while other articles would reassure. We will see what the experts think. Generally he is a happy interactive boy so I’m not too concerned at the moment.

Wow. That’s quite fast then!

Shesty they are 16 months now. Honestly I read so much stuff and some would lead you to panic while other articles would reassure. We will see what the experts think. Generally he is a happy interactive boy so I’m not too concerned at the moment.

I'm thinking it could because I rang them, maybe his file hadn't been looked at til I called.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

He sounds like he's doing well fits, if he's happy and interactive he might just need a little extra help.
    Don't beat yourself up, being a mother is hard enough.I realised when my second came along that I couldn't be 110% for both of them all the time, all I could do was my best, and that's ok....because I'm only one person.And so are you, and that's ok too

So we had our appointment yesterday. Doctor was quite happy with him. Twin 2 waved at him ( I think it might have been accidental :D) But Doctor did his measurements and he has a large head for his age so we have been referred on to paediatrician.

Just an update here.

Junior is now 15.5 months old and flying.

He has had a 5 or 6 physio sessions most recent being yesterday and yer wan told us she isn't at all concerned.

He is flying around the place crawling on his hands and knees, has been pulling himself up on everything for the last month or so, is cruising around everything and in the last week has been letting go of what he is holding and is standing up unsupported for a few seconds. The physio said that he is doing everything right and is probably only about a month behind what would be expected at this stage of his life.

We had 4 or 5 sessions with a speech and language therapist and he has really come on in terms of his interaction and play with us and others. He has probably 15 to 20 words and can contextualize most of them. E.g. he will point at a car, a clock, a ball, light's, a photo of his mam or I and say car, clock, ball, light, mama, dada etc. The method that was used was the Hannon method and is more geared towards the parents than the child. Its fascinating stuff.

We are going to have a check up with the S & L therapist in October and with the developmental specialist in December but all of our concerns have been alleviated.

We were fortunate in that we are in a position that we could afford to go privately because the wait list for public was up to 12 months. Its an utterly depressing system and it breaks my heart that there are some kids being left unseen due to lack of funding in our post health care system.

Just an update here.

Junior is now 15.5 months old and flying.

He has had a 5 or 6 physio sessions most recent being yesterday and yer wan told us she isn't at all concerned.

He is flying around the place crawling on his hands and knees, has been pulling himself up on everything for the last month or so, is cruising around everything and in the last week has been letting go of what he is holding and is standing up unsupported for a few seconds. The physio said that he is doing everything right and is probably only about a month behind what would be expected at this stage of his life.

We had 4 or 5 sessions with a speech and language therapist and he has really come on in terms of his interaction and play with us and others. He has probably 15 to 20 words and can contextualize most of them. E.g. he will point at a car, a clock, a ball, light's, a photo of his mam or I and say car, clock, ball, light, mama, dada etc. The method that was used was the Hannon method and is more geared towards the parents than the child. Its fascinating stuff.

We are going to have a check up with the S & L therapist in October and with the developmental specialist in December but all of our concerns have been alleviated.

We were fortunate in that we are in a position that we could afford to go privately because the wait list for public was up to 12 months. Its an utterly depressing system and it breaks my heart that there are some kids being left unseen due to lack of funding in our post health care system.

It has made my day to hear such a good outcome. Early intervention is key and you were very on the ball to take action ASAP. Well done and I know exactly what you mean about the financial side of things but thank god it worked out well for your child. Enjoy all the little moments.

Oh that's fantastic to hear, BC. Did the physiotherapy and the rest really change things IYO or did it mostly help to reassure you that there was nothing major wrong and that it would have sorted itself out gradually anyway?

(If the latter, which is the impression I'm getting TBH, I'm wondering - hoping! - that maybe the system is not as banjaxed as it might appear, and that maybe more urgent problems would get earlier attention and in fact maybe that's why your case was pushed down the line? Or am I being naive here?)

Reem Alsalem UNSR Violence Against Women and Girls@UNSRVAW "Very concerned about these statements by the IOC at Paris2024 There are multiple international treaties and national constitutions that specifically refer to#women and their fundamental rights to equality and non-discrimination, so the world has a pretty good idea of what women -and men for that matter- are. Also, how can one assess whether fairness and justice has been reached if we do not know who we are being fair and just to?"

volchitsa wrote: »
    Oh that's fantastic to hear, BC. Did the physiotherapy and the rest really change things IYO or did it mostly help to reassure you that there was nothing major wrong and that it would have sorted itself out gradually anyway?

(If the latter, which is the impression I'm getting TBH, I'm wondering - hoping! - that maybe the system is not as banjaxed as it might appear, and that maybe more urgent problems would get earlier attention and in fact maybe that's why your case was pushed down the line? Or am I being naive here?)

I think the physio certainly helped. Now he may well have reached where he is naturally but we'll never know I guess. When we had the assessment with Enable Ireland they concluded he didn't need intervention from them so perhaps if he did, the public side of things may have been quicker. I personally wouldn't want to rely on it though.

Thanks for that, BC.

Re Enable Ireland, I suppose it's likely that they are busy dealing with such major cases of disability that they don't bother with a minor delay, which of course doesn't mean that the baby concerned would necessarily catch up completely without help.

But if you have a child with a slight developmental delay and don't have the means to go privately it's still concerning. You want your child to be able to develop to the best of his abilities, and "sure it's not too bad" is not ideal.

Anyway, I'm delighted it's worked out so well for you and your little one. I was a bit worried when I saw this thread coming back up, so I'm relieved it was such good news.

Make the most of him!