Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sevilla vs Manchester United-1945-Champions League-Round of 16-1st Leg Match Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

fancy pogs to score to gloss over his performance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Even though the flag went up, the Sevilla player still missed the target from 6 yards. Sums them up really.

wow was Sanchez on the pitch ??

• Tony M please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Montella should sub himself on and show these lads what a proper striker looks like.

A draw here and beat them at Old Trafford would suit me more than hoping to squeeze through on away goals and living by the seat of our pants.

Great logic there ! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

On chances this tie should be over. Quite why Yedder has not played is a mystery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Sevilla would be decent if they had a competent striker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

mada999 wrote: »
    wow was Sanchez on the pitch ??

Haha i think so not sure if that pogba lad is either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭Ardent

Jesus, Martial for Mata with 10 mins to go. I suppose Mourinho will have him pressing on the wing.

Sevilla are brutal up top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,695 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

It would be a nice thing if I never heard Ronnie Whelan's voice again for the rest of my life.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Two poor teams.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

This really is dire s***e

utd are set up now with pace for the counter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Pogba just turned his back on the ball and ran back to the the halfway line while Seville were in possession. Why not a bit of a press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Can’t remember Rico having to make one save in this 2nd half.

Brutal performance. Absolutely no control of the game at all and only for Sevilla being blunt in front of goal we are lucky to still be level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

osarusan wrote: »
    It would be a nice thing if I never heard Ronnie Whelan's voice again for the rest of my life.

God I hate the man with a passion. Such a condescending arrogant way about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

niallo27 wrote: »
    Pogba just turned his back on the ball and ran back to the the halfway line while Seville were in possession. Why not a bit of a press.

Yeah I noticed that, he's so casual and lazy.

• Dive from navas clear yellow
    **** off ref

Nice touch from Pogba. Rashford should have finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

It really is astonishing that Seville are behind. Should have 3 or 4 by now from the chances they've created.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Don’t get how any Utd fan can be happy with this.
    Boring football and playing for an away draw is simply not the Utd way.

Never seen United sides of the past play this way. They always attacked games and went for wins regardless of the opponent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Sevilla could be here all night and still wouldn't score.

diving fecker navas....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,259 ✭✭✭✭flazio

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    It really is astonishing that Seville are behind. Should have 3 or 4 by now from the chances they've created.

Erm, they're level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Ronnie Whelan is awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Come on now sevilla :) leave it late

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Auroras_encore

United really are horrible to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭Ardent

niallo27 wrote: »
    God I hate the man with a passion. Such a condescending arrogant way about him.

Not arrogance, just miserable-ness.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Umaro wrote: »
    Ronnie Whelan is awful

I couldn't echo this statement enough. The man contradicts himself and goes back on his own opinions at a frightening speed

This match must have the record for misplaced passes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

What are these two on BT on about?

"Man United in complete control" and ""prime example of how to control a European game away from home".

Not a bad result in the end but neither statement is actually reflective of how they game went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,843 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

It’s been a terrible game quality wise. I’ll take 0-0 considering how piss poor we been tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

Never great to go into a 2nd leg without an away goal.

• Good result. Controlled performance.
    We will win at OT.

I think another team drew here this year also if I can remember.

Both teams will fancy their chances 2nd leg I'd imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,465 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Seville only need a score draw now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Urindanger

Incredible result for United. Played God awful yet they're still in the driving seat to go through. Tie should be virtually all over if only Sevilla had a goal scorer.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Auroras_encore

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Good result. Controlled performance.
    We will win at OT.

Head in the sand

• Registered Users Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Brego888

Dire stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

What are these two on BT on about?

Im sitting here scratching my head listening to them.

"Sevilla have a mountain to climb in the next leg"

"Great controlled performance from United"

We were incredibly fortunate to get away with a draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Posted at 21:35
    FULL-TIME
    Sevilla 0-0 Man Utd

I hope I'm not working on the second leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Satisfactory. That's the word for it.

At half-time the narrative from the critics was that United were poor and hanging on, despite there only being a few minutes of a sustained Sevilla flurry at the end of the half. Then observe how the narrative altered...
    Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Two poor teams.

That tells you how satisfactory the performance was because even the United critics deserted Sevilla.

Jose here showed why he has two Champions League medals on his mantelpiece. It was the football equivalent of the rope-a-dope and like George Foreman, Sevilla had no answer.

A textbook European away performance.

Now with a big European night on the way at Old Trafford, United should put Sevilla to the sword; and if they can't, then they don't deserve to be in the quarter-finals anyway.

Satisfactory.

Head in the sand

Denial. Utd are poor and are being found out recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Seville will regret thier managers lack of balls. Man Utd are the proverbial unflushable turd of this season's Champions League. Horrible stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,695 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Poor enough game really, Seville tried but can't finish to save their lives. United were happy just to defend all night and not really risk anything.

It's 0-0, I wonder is Mourinho happy with it. Is he a 'draw away and then bring them back to our place and have a real go' manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Good result. Controlled performance.
    We will win at OT.

Yup, and were bloody annoyed by it.

Given the way the game panned out it was a good result for Utd though. Seville will be kicking themselves for their finishing. Should be taking something they could hold onto to Old Trafford, but as it stands, they've probably had their chance.

Crazy Ben Yedder didn't get a run out

• Head in the sand

You had best take your head out of it so.