Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Illegal immigrant followed student home and raped her

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Better get used to it. This is the future if our Government and it's EU masters get their way. Latest settlement centre for the 'refugees' is Lisdoonvarna. Will make the Bachelor's Festival a different prospect altogether. Still no 'refugees' in Dublin 4 etc. Don't hold your breath.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,605 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Pepefrogok wrote: »
    https://youtu.be/re7kcheSvYY

#believewomen
    #120db
    #notjusthollywood

Does believe women include those who've accused Donald Trump of sexual harassment or just those who have been attacked by foreigners?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I'm pro-immigration, but I do think that anyone who applies to live and work here should be law-abiding. If they are convicted of a serious crime they should have that privilege of living and working here revoked, regardless of what they say awaits them at home.

I'd like to see them barred from applying for citizenship or refugee status while serving their sentence here, and deported on release as well. As far as I'm concerned, they were given a fair chance at a new life here and if they abuse that chance, out they go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Any serious crime should result in deportation for anyone who isn't a citizen.

I know a guy who committed a stupid crime in the US, he was heavily fined, thrown in a deportation center for 3 weeks, then ****ed out. Proper job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭ForstalDave

So your saying he wasn't represented in court. I read he was a productive member of society and got a reduced sentence because he was a migrant. What do you think of this.

Everyone is entitled to a defence in court, part of the whole inocent till proven guilty thing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,605 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Neyite wrote: »
    I'm pro-immigration, but I do think that anyone who applies to live and work here should be law-abiding. If they are convicted of a serious crime they should have that privilege of living and working here revoked, regardless of what they say awaits them at home.

I'd like to see them barred from applying for citizenship or refugee status while serving their sentence here, and deported on release as well. As far as I'm concerned, they were given a fair chance at a new life here and if they abuse that chance, out they go.

This is just basic common sense though. The far right like to pretend that liberals somehow support rapists but I'm all for deporting this fella to whatever place he's from regardless of whatever threats to his safety may/may not exist.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Neyite wrote: »

I'd agree but I don't see why such standards shouldn't be expected of our own home grown thugs and law breakers..

Citizenship should be a reward not a right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

So your saying he wasn't represented in court. I read he was a productive member of society and got a reduced sentence because he was a migrant. What do you think of this.

Now now, no moving the goalposts, I asked you to link to a post where a poster defended the rapist.
    As to him having a lawyer in court , that is due process, or are you suggesting that we set up kangaroo courts where the accused is denied the right to due process?

• Site Banned Posts: 406 ✭✭Pepefrogok

I would ask people to not listen to me or others about the #120db movement, just go and watch the videos of the actual women who have been actually attacked literally begging for a fraction of the media attention the holywood loves have got, they are simply trying to highlight a massive problem in Europe that is only going to get worse, women are being murdered, raped even disembowled! then you have people in this very thread calling these women nazies??? How amazing is that? It shows me certain people are worried! Just spend 10 mins and research it yourself, listen to the words straight from the mouths of the victims.

Nobody is calling rape victims Nazis
    But #120 is a Nazi movement whose sole reason for existence is to incite hatred and which no scruples about exaggerating issues and climbing on the coat tails of genuine movements in order to achieve its hate inspired ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,272 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Does believe women include those who've accused Donald Trump of sexual harassment or just those who have been attacked by foreigners?

#fakenews

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I would ask people to not listen to me

Most sensible thing this account has ever posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I would ask people to not listen to me or others about the #120db movement...
    No shock that you'd not want people to listen to others calling them for what they are, which is a Nazi movement.

Don't pretend you care about anything other than having a go at foreigners in this, here's your only post on the matter before fervently trying to spread this Nazi movement over the last 24 hours. To no surprise, it again was just a chance to have a go at foreigners with zero care for the victims.
    # Metoo-feminist refused to report when the refugee sex passed her 12-year-old daughter: "He may be expelled"

Middle-aged HVB mother initiated a sexual relationship with an 18-year-old refugee child at her workplaceIs self-active against sexual abuse in the feminist network #MetooBut when the refugee child sexually attacked her own daughter, she refused to report: "Otherwise, he may be expelled"Now the refugee child is judged - but not the mother - for social services

https://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?depth=2&hl=en&ie=UTF8&nv=1&prev=_t&rurl=translate.google.com&sl=auto&sp=nmt4&tl=en&u=http://www.friatider.se/mamma-v-grade-anm-la-flyktingbarn-som-sexangrep-hennes-12-riga-dotter&usg=ALkJrhh2akua0DshpyAR8KPiaTfGj8bPcw

It's a movement pretending to care about women that's just a front for Neo Nazis... and it's clearly not the women aspect of it that made you support it.

You only care about white European women being assaulted by black, ie non-Aryan foreigners. Forgive me if I doubt your sincerity.

Just look at the last few posts, what has them so worried? Just look into it yourself, I'll say one thing, nomatter what platform or movement the women of Europe use to highlight their plight will be called racist or Nazi! Afterall a movement about women being attacked by migrants disproportionate to per capita levels is not going to be formed by the "right on" now is it?

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

lawred2 wrote: »
    I'd agree but I don't see why such standards shouldn't be expected of our own home grown thugs and law breakers..

Citizenship should be a reward not a right.

It would be lovely to deport our own thugs - especially the ones that have like 77 previous convictions and get a suspended sentence but I can't see other countries lining up to take them off our hands. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

baylah17 wrote: »
    The no go zones are all in the heads of the demented, they dont exist in real life, but sure never let the facts get in the way of a hate filled lie.

I know where you are coming from, right wing news sites will exaggerate the issue - but it doesn't make it a complete lie.

It might not be as bad as the right say, but no way is it nearly as OK as the left say either.

It seems a lot of people are in denial -
    I didn't wanna post this video https://youtu.be/iERLyAxddVE
    cos it's infowars, and they can be bat**** crazy, but he's not just completely making this up either - otherwise he'd be in a lot of trouble.

I personally would include those women - also the many many many more women that have accused Bill Clinton ?

nah .. not Bill he's a "progressive" isn't he ?

Just look at the last few posts, what has them so worried? Just look into it yourself, I'll say one thing, nomatter what platform or movement the women of Europe use to highlight their plight will be called racist or Nazi! Afterall a movement about women being attacked by migrants disproportionate to per capita levels is not going to be formed by the "right on" now is it?

The above mentioned posters and the 'right on' you mention are effectively supporting a war against women, just to make a political point and to show how virtuous they are to their ideological fellow travellers. Sad and dangerous.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Should of been deported straight away in 2013. This is the whole problem our system is far to soft

More bullshit.

Ireland's immigration is one of the toughest in Europe if not the world.

That post could have been taken by a rant by Hitler and Geobells about the Jews in the 1930s.
    Hate inspiring bile masquerading as a defence of European values.
    Vile, disgusting and dangerous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Gatling wrote: »
    Doubt it , it was reported last week he was seeking asylum protection here ,

The last time we had a similar case a young man came here from Africa on a student visa and within weeks violently raped a girl ,went to court and on the day of his sentence it was announced he was now seeking full asylum ,

Which he got while in prison despite a deportation order issued during his conviction
    This is just basic common sense though. The far right like to pretend that liberals somehow support rapists but I'm all for deporting this fella to whatever place he's from regardless of whatever threats to his safety may/may not exist.

So what do you make of that then?

If it's true the system is completely fooked up and the person who granted this POS asylum should be fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I don't understand people who want him deported instead of imprisoned. If you believe his asylum application is bogus then you are advocating for a sex offender to be sent back to his own country with no repercussions for his crime.

Not what im saying or suggesting ,

The rapist should be deported immediately when his sentence is complete as in straight from mountjoy or whatever prison to the airport and on to a flight ,
    But what will happen is he will apply for asylum and get a specialist barrister , human rights specialist and numerous others all fighting for his right to stay here all at the expense of tax payers ,

I think the point people are making is we all know we have scumbag rapists and paedos who are Irish but we don't need foreign ones illegally slipping in past our borders and doing what this guy did.

There's no 'agenda' despite what lefties on the thread think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

The OPs total lack of sympathy for the victim is startling!
    I doubt that she cares about his immigration status.
    Rape is a horrendous crime, sad to see one incident being used to push a particular political agenda.

Ah one of the usual rebuttals I see.

The thing is nobody would need to be sympathetic to this poor victim if the right thing was done in the first place.
    Just like nobody would need to have sympathy for a Japanese family a while back if the right thing was done in the first place.

It reminds me of the all the facebook pages and the candlelit vigils usually attended by the same fooking morons that refuse to do anything pre the crime about the ones that are most likely to carry out the crimes.

And the right thing is to arrest immediately on detection and then deport illegal immigrants that have appeared here, especially those that have no identification.
    Also end the taxi service across the Med.

But no we can't do that, we have to give every unknown the right to fight to stay in this country, all funded by taxpayers money.
    Nobody gives a fcuk about his rights, it's exploiting someone's deeply traumatic and harrowing experience to further your own pathetic whiny agenda that people are calling out.

As opposed to your agenda which has been shown throughout Europe to just create more deeply traumatic and harrowing experiences for other women and children.
    Pure deflection. 'If' 'if' 'if'.

The lady was raped, she was not the victim of an immigration debate.

She was another victim of this country's and the EU's lax immigration rules and policies.

Just like the children in Germany and Austria raped by "refugees", just like the medical student raped and killed in Germany by a "refugee", just those slaughtered in the Berlin Christmas market by a "refugee", just like the girl killed whilst working with young "refugees" in Sweden, just like those slaughtered in Stockholm by a "refugee", just like a Japanese immigrant to our shores slaughtered on the streets of Dundalk.

All are victims of an immigration system that does not protect the citizens and valid immigrants to EU.

People like you have continously supported an immigration system that allows anybody and everybody to remain in the state and the EU, despite us having no freaking idea about the backgrounds of the people seeking asylum.

And you always do your best to actually label anyone that wants tightened immigration controls as fascist, nazi, racist, etc.

Someone mentioned Irish rapists.
    Well we have more than enough of them without inviting in more from every misogynistic sh**hole under the sun.

I am not allowed discuss …

I think the point people are making is we all know we have scumbag rapists and paedos who are Irish but we don't need foreign ones illegally slipping in past our borders and doing what this guy did.

There's no 'agenda' despite what lefties on the thread think.
    Who has endorsed allowing or keeping this guy or foreign rapists in the country in the thread?

I personally would include those women - also the many many many more women that have accused Bill Clinton ?

nah .. not Bill he's a "progressive" isn't he ?

Please link to the post where I said this.

That post could have been taken by a rant by Hitler and Geobells about the Jews in the 1930s.
    Hate inspiring bile masquerading as a defence of European values.
    Vile, disgusting and dangerous!

Good. Godwin's law again. The comparison is false. Whataboutery is not an argument. How does the legitimate calling out of the mass sexual abuse of women by a newly imported element compare to the Nazis attitude to the Jews?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

I don’t get the anger at the OP for highlighting a serious flaw in this countries laws. If the illegal immigrant had been deported and out of the country then the poor girl wouldn’t have been raped and we as the tax payers wouldn’t have to pay for his legal representative or prison custody. The immigration laws in this country are a joke and those coming here illegally know that they will be afforded every opportunity to counter those laws at zero expense to them. We needs laws and enforcement like Australia. Put them on the first flight out of the country and they can appeal that decision from elsewhere.

OK, can you expand on this? What is the "joke" part of the immigration laws?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Chrongen wrote: »
    More bullshit.

Ireland's immigration is one of the toughest in Europe if not the world.

Are you serious or just dillusional.

quintana76 wrote: »
    The above mentioned posters and the 'right on' you mention are effectively supporting a war against women, just to make a political point and to show how virtuous they are to their ideological fellow travellers. Sad and dangerous.
    No actually, it's because most people don't like Nazis. Or Nazis using something like rape for their own agenda.

The poster trying to promote it in this thread is no different, if they were they would have posts about this issue that were something other than trying to push their agenda with it or that were not mocking the whole thing. That's as 'right on' as you can get, so long as what is 'right on' is not caring about the rape victims whatsoever and instead using it as an excuse to give out about foreigners and non white people.

Billy86 wrote: »
    Who has endorsed allowing or keeping this guy or foreign rapists in the country in the thread?

Well it's your lot that accused people on the right of having an agenda.

quintana76 wrote: »
    Good. Godwin's law again. The comparison is false. Whataboutery is not an argument. How does the legitimate calling out of the mass sexual abuse of women by a newly imported element compare to the Nazis attitude to the Jews?
    Goodwins law does not apply when the poster is by definition a Nazi!

#120 has an agenda, the spread of Nazism and hatred of non white Europeans, thats just a fact.

Including the women members of #120db who are speaking as actual victims? Or have they just been tricked by the evil Nazis?

No, in this thread Nazis pretending to care about something they don't have been accused of being Nazis pretending to care about something they don't. Because that's what this 120db movement is about, and Glenn Beck who is staunchly to "the right" has also said as much, which is exactly why I referenced him of all people and not someone to 'the left' or even centrist.

This isn't a "our sports team vs your sports team" argument.

#120 ???

Your post I'm quoting is only #85

I think our wires are crossed here, I thought you were talking about the post number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,057 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Nobody is calling rape victims Nazis
    But #120 is a Nazi movement whose sole reason for existence is to incite hatred and which no scruples about exaggerating issues and climbing on the coat tails of genuine movements in order to achieve its hate inspired ends.

really I think they are real feminists standing up to the attacks carried out by 3rd world country immigrants tthat have flooded into Europe!
    Fair play to them #120DB

Lots of people calling me a Nazi, a term wildly thrown out these days, can anyone that has called me a Nazi find one single post that makes me a Nazi? Just one? Yous have devalued the term Nazi Now, it used to be a good way of stiffening debate and shouting people up but it's done now lads, argue the topic and stop the silly name calling.

#120 ???

I think our wires are crossed here, I thought you were talking about the post number.
    They are referring to the 120db movement, which is a Nazi movement hiding in the sheeps clothing of pretending to care about rape victims they otherwise mock (see: the poster trying to promote it here). That is why that poster (baylah17) brought up Nazis a few pages back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Am I the only one who sees a problem with these headlines by the journal.ie

Man followed foreign student home on bus and raped her in her hallway, court hears

Man who followed student home from bus and raped her is jailed for ten years

There’s the two headings by thejournal.ie

What’s only briefly mentioned further down the article is the man is an illegal immigrant who shouldn’t be in the country and has wasted state resources trying to stop deportation. Questions need to be raised as to why he was not detained/deported following his first conviction

So they label the victim as a foreigner yet she actually has a legal obtained right to study here whereas this guy illegally entered our country and has a history of sexual offences.

Here’s a better title Illegal immigrant followed student home and raped her.

http://www.thejournal.ie/man-rape-followed-home-3848981-Feb2018/

http://www.thejournal.ie/man-who-followed-student-home-from-bus-and-raped-her-is-jailed-for-ten-years-3864740-Feb2018/

The Journal has agendas to push. It is an awful news source.

They are referring to the 120db movement, which is a Nazi movement hiding in the sheeps clothing of pretending to care about rape victims they otherwise mock (see: the poster trying to promote it here). That is why that poster (baylah17) brought up Nazis a few pages back.

Are the female rape victim members of #120db Nazis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,057 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Lots of people calling me a Nazi, a term wildly thrown out these days, can anyone that has called me a Nazi find one single post that makes me a Nazi? Just one? Yous have devalued the term Nazi Now, it used to be a good way of stiffening debate and shouting people up but it's done now lads, argue the topic and stop the silly name calling.

Wouldn’t worry about it their tactics are to rile you up until they get you to post something out of sheer frustration that they can report you on and then you get banned. Best thing to do with these is report anyone suggesting you are a nazi.

So what do you make of that then?

If it's true the system is completely fooked up and the person who granted this POS asylum should be fired.

Depends on why he was let in. If red flags were ignored then definitely.

#120 ???

#120db is a movement started by female victims of attacks/rapes due to the wave of migrants from mostly third world/misogynist societies, actual victims are now speaking up motivated by movements like #metoo #timesup etc but they are meeting stiff opposition because the men they are protesting about are not white males. You can see the people in this thread labelling these brave women of #120db as Nazis, the same people who also tried to convince people there was no problem in Rotherham and many other English town's, the same people who downplay every terrorist attack, you know the "more people die from car crashes" crowd. Their agenda is obvious but people are waking up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Here you are Billy.

A case of a vicious convicted rapist being allowed stay in this jurisdiction.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/violent-rapist-has-visa-renewed-as-he-cannot-be-deported-30336581.html
    A VIOLENT rapist who brutally attacked a woman in St Stephen’s Green has had his visa renewed because authorities are not allowed to deport him.

Bereket Mekonnen (25) received a seven-year jail term after being found guilty in 2007 of raping a 42-year-old woman in the city centre park in August 2005.

However, following his release, the Eritrean national cannot be deported home under EU and UN conventions as he is from a war-torn country.

He is understood to be living in the Dublin 8 area after his visa was extended to an unspecified date....

The sentencing of the Eritrean national for the rape was delayed several times because Mekonnen would either become very violent in court, drunk, or would remove his clothes.

On one occasion he had to be carried kicking and screaming by prison officers across the Four Courts because he was deemed too dangerous to be left in court.

He had become so aggressive that it took six prison officers to subdue him before he was forcefully restrained and carried across back to his waiting cell.

During one of his court appearances, Mekonnen was brought to the building barefoot and dressed only in his underwear.

Simple question for you and all the other pro immigration posters here.

Do you support the EU and UN conventions that allow a non EU convicted rapist stay in this country ?

I am not allowed discuss …

Are the female rape victim members of #120db Nazis?
    These women?
    Harika wrote: »
    Here are pictures of the "Womans March" of 120db in Berlin this weekend

https://twitter.com/ShahakShapira/status/965235846935994368

You might thing something is missing and you are right, also one of the organization on facebook:

https://twitter.com/ruhig_brauner/status/965590382233968640

for non german speakers he says
    "Ukraine, cheap and good"

"You can bring home some girls if there are that many, doesn't matter plus or minus some of them"
    "Girls, prices negotiable ;) bringing home is bad because of visa. But it is a poor country and everything very cheap"

"Also the action?"
    "All negotiable, and there is enough choice of them"

The march had a number of issues arise thanks to the far right showing up to try and turn it into a march about immigrants and refugees. This is all as painfully transparent as someone trying to claim Richard Spencer is not a racist.

Please link to the post where I said this.

You didn't, not saying that you did ! my point is whatever way you look at things there always will be an angle.

That's all all sides!

#120db is a movement started by female victims of attacks/rapes due to the wave of migrants from mostly third world/misogynist societies, actual victims are now speaking up motivated by movements like #metoo #timesup etc but they are meeting stiff opposition because the men they are protesting about are not white males. You can see the people in this thread labelling these brave women of #120db as Nazis, the same people who also tried to convince people there was no problem in Rotherham and many other English town's, the same people who downplay every terrorist attack, you know the "more people die from car crashes" crowd. Their agenda is obvious but people are waking up!

You're lying. Nobody has called these women Nazis. People are saying that the alt-right wingers who are behind this are Nazis. If you keep lying, you can't be surprised when people don't believe you.

Women meeting opposition over #metoo are facing sexism, plain and simple because it threatens the order of things where powerful white men can do as they please. You're just hijacking this to have a go at foreigners.

jmayo wrote: »
    Here you are Billy.

A case of a vicious convicted rapist being allowed stay in this jurisdiction.
    You've not even attempted to answer my question so I'll ask again.