Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Severe Winter Weather, Snow/Ice - Sun 25th Feb (Onwards) ** READ MOD NOTE POST #1 **

• Registered Users Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭madds

madds wrote: »
    Has been sunny in North Kildare all day. Dark clouds now approaching from the east. Sun will disappear in ~5 minutes and then......?

And it's begun. Heavy snow & hail has started in Leixlip. Paths & roads white within 2-3 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭Pique

2deg C (and falling) in Roscommon and the first light flurry of snow just falling.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Eoineo

In Balbriggan area (North Dublin). Have been getting a pasting for the past 20 minutes & it's sticking. I suspect it's more due to the volume than the ground temps and we might get a slight thaw ahead of the real deal later.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 UMOT

Proper white stuff falling in navan

• Registered Users Posts: 23,763 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

madds wrote: »
    And it's begun. Heavy snow & hail has started in Leixlip. Paths & roads white within 2-3 minutes.

As temperatures fall toward freezing this evening it won't take much for graupel and snow to settle.

There will be heavy showers but you won't actually need them to be particularly heavy to give accumulations.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭Pangea

You know it's busy when you press 'post' and immediately your post is on the previous page..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭Snowbie

Broken clouds here atm but shower incoming off the sea soon. Can see decent height to the cloud too. I dont see things getting going proper over the Irish sea until later this evening.

Temp falling away with Dp way in the comfort zone.
    1.3C
    Dp -3.0C

• Registered Users Posts: 23,763 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Temp falling away at Howth 0.8

vws742.jpg

Deep cold air now starting to arrive.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

Hailstones now in south Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

As we seem to be giving out thanks, could we say thanks to other regular posters such as MT, Kermit, JCX BCX, Gaoth Laidir, Sryan, MJohnston, Weathercheck and everybody else who has been giving regular updates in both the technical thread and been posting in here and helping people like me learn so much about reading weather charts over the week or two.

Also thanks to the mods so far for working overtime on keeping threads in check as best as they can and keeping everything running as smoothly as they are! Busy time!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shlippery

A light peppering of dust in Citywest again.

Starting/Stopping.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

My go to place for weather info. Fair play guys.

First proper snow shower of the day in Dundalk. Lasted around 15 minutes. Covered car tops pretty quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

The media seem to be totally confusing the public with regards to storm emma, with the Irish Independant stating the 'Beast from the East' has been named storm emma, and twitter latest now shows 'Storm emma is already raging over europe why isnt anything here'. *Sigh*

Are you surprised? Storm emma raging in europe and seeing exceptional pictures of rome covered in snow sounds cool, its why they made it their headline, doubt they thought about it very much beyond that:P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Temp falling away at Howth 0.8

Deep cold air now starting to arrive.

Was just about to ask you that question!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭John.Icy

Watching the satellite loop for the last half an hour - even in just those 30 minutes there's been plenty of cloud bubbling up South of the IOM - also can see a 'shadow' forming with more clouds bubbling up to the North of the IOM and the dreaded clear slot forming in between. Wonder will we see any radar returns start cropping up in the next while as a result.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,185 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Can see some quite white fields in North Kerry.

Was not expecting this today whatsoever.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,313 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Looks like rain...

Friend of mine in Uk spotted this

75_D0_D318-47_E6-4_EB5-_BA80-3_D742_AB9_E58_C.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

No sign of snow at all in North Wicklow area, hopefully this continues and misses us all together!

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭the2hurdys

Here we go again in Tipp windy too!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,418 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Pangea wrote: »
    Evelyn just now on newstalk "they won't know what we are talking about in the North West"

That hurt Evelyn, That hurt....

we will its a beautiful day, few clouds blue skies,

• Registered Users Posts: 24,404 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Still not even a flake in Portmarnock

• Registered Users Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Calibos

AVuUijQ.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

Starting in sandyford. Very weird tone to the light

• Registered Users Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭Artane2002

I know it hasn't exactly started yet but a bit frustrating to see the good showers going north and south of here

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭vapor trails

Just like a wall of darkness hitting Dunshaughlin now

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭bazzz

Snowing heavy here in Dunmore East the last 20 minutes and sticking.

SEE Here.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭jay28

Very heavy snow in gorey at the moment

• Registered Users Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭200motels

Snowing here on and off but it’s not sticking as it’s more like sleet.