Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stick or twist in Civil Service?

• 23-02-2018 11:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Evening,

I am working in the civil service and finished my probation. I still don’t know if I am in for the long game or if it the culture is something I can live with happily. I am looking at what friends are getting in the private sector and some job advertisements. I am probably in the same boat as a lot of people who joined after the last recruitment embargo in that regard. The pay isn’t anything to write home about and the pension isn’t as gold plated as it once was (if it ever was).

That said it has a lot of benefits such as job security, flexible working hours and holidays. I really like that my in my current role instead of making money for a corporation I get the chance to contribute something to society on a daily basis. That is not to put down people who work in the private sector and contribute taxes. For the most part I like my colleagues and get on with them.

Down the line the civil service can provide continued training/education and whilst the pension isn’t as good as a lot of my older colleagues, it is a secure pension.

I dislike the bureaucracy (who doesn’t?!) and culture. The first I am coming to terms with and I can live with. The culture I don’t know about. Some of my colleagues are very hard workers, some are okay and finally their is a cohort of individuals who clocked out mentally sometime ago and/or wouldn’t hold down a job elsewhere for various reasons. My issue wouldn’t be so much the individuals but that the culture despite lip service to change appears to be a don’t rock the boat and instead of managing the issues, let others pick up the slack and transfer the more difficult workers to elsewhere.

Their is no carrot for good workers and no stick for underperformance. I don’t know if I can work within that culture for 40 years as someone who is hard working and wants to be rewarded/recognized for that effort. A lot of the bad apples/poor workers are upon retirement going to have a better deal then me in all likelihood. That can be hard to put aside for me on a daily basis, despite all the other great things going for my current job!

For those who have faced this same dilemma before and left or stayed in the service, did yous regret it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

I'm you ten years on. Pretty much exact same issues bother me. On the one hand the flexibility is great but otoh the issues around bureaucracy, management, lack of autonomy etc are very frustrating.
    It depends on your skillset and field you want to move into. If it would be more beneficial in the long term, in your situation, I'd go. If it's a case that the grass is greener and the job potential in the private sector would be more volatile and not a whole lot better paid, I'd stay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Evening,

I am working in the civil service and finished my probation. I still don’t know if I am in for the long game or if it the culture is something I can live with happily. I am looking at what friends are getting in the private sector and some job advertisements. I am probably in the same boat as a lot of people who joined after the last recruitment embargo in that regard. The pay isn’t anything to write home about and the pension isn’t as gold plated as it once was (if it ever was).

That said it has a lot of benefits such as job security, flexible working hours and holidays. I really like that my in my current role instead of making money for a corporation I get the chance to contribute something to society on a daily basis. That is not to put down people who work in the private sector and contribute taxes. For the most part I like my colleagues and get on with them.

Down the line the civil service can provide continued training/education and whilst the pension isn’t as good as a lot of my older colleagues, it is a secure pension.

I dislike the bureaucracy (who doesn’t?!) and culture. The first I am coming to terms with and I can live with. The culture I don’t know about. Some of my colleagues are very hard workers, some are okay and finally their is a cohort of individuals who clocked out mentally sometime ago and/or wouldn’t hold down a job elsewhere for various reasons. My issue wouldn’t be so much the individuals but that the culture despite lip service to change appears to be a don’t rock the boat and instead of managing the issues, let others pick up the slack and transfer the more difficult workers to elsewhere.

Their is no carrot for good workers and no stick for underperformance. I don’t know if I can work within that culture for 40 years as someone who is hard working and wants to be rewarded/recognized for that effort. A lot of the bad apples/poor workers are upon retirement going to have a better deal then me in all likelihood. That can be hard to put aside for me on a daily basis, despite all the other great things going for my current job!

For those who have faced this same dilemma before and left or stayed in the service, did yous regret it?

That feeling of contributing to society will fade. You will realise that despite you coming in every day and contributing, a good few of your colleagues could be on the dole and they would be contributing the same and costing the state less.

use the civil service to get a degree or two and a couple of bike to works and then ditch it.

You are 1 year in the door and you're talking about a pension that you won't get for another 39 years as one of the main benefits of the job!! Give yourself a slap.

I spent 10 years in the civil service trying to bury my doubts about wasting my life.

Leave. I got institutionalised. When I left, I was shocked at the competence, ability, independence and enthusiasm that very junior staff in the (semi) private sector have compared to senior staff in the civil service.

Believe me if you don't leave now in 7-8-9 years you'll be sitting in a break room listening to people ****e on about how busy they are while they drink their third cup of coffee on their second break of the day and wonder what happened to your 20's.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭qwerty13

Also, unless you’re in a specialised area that provides you with great experience, the longer you stay it will not be an advantage on your CV. You will likely be viewed as institutionalised, less flexible etc when compared to someone in the private sector in a comparable role.

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

Op, It is a difficult decision. I had that dilemma back at the start of my career roughly 2002. If you are ambitious and hard working you will be promoted and have a worthy career, however big caveat, a lot of it stems down to being in the right Department at the right time. I spent most of my 20's living at home looking at my private sector friends on double the salary and purchasing their own homes. Despite having two degrees and working way above my grade there was little or no openings for promotion.

The culture really got to me in the early days - still does to be honest but I realised not to worry about other people and look to the management that were motivational and hard working. I put my head down and focused on MY work. My first week in the C.S. I was told "slow down you are taking our overtime". I noticed as the years went on ppl were starting to comment on my work and my attitude instead of the other way around. Comments like, "why are you not taking a break in the afternoon", "you know it's against the rules to work beyond your required hours" and "why do you use flexi for medical appointments". I just smiled and remained positive. I am now at senior management level and a lot of those people are still in the same roles.

I would suggest speaking to someone senior in your office, AP or PO and ask their advice, someone you respect. Also, take on any additonal roles that will add value to your current position. Such as membership of a committee, secretary to a committee, etc. ask your AP can you attend events or meetings that they attend. Sign up to any relevant training rolled out by your Dept. Take on extra areas of responsibility if the job allows.

One final note, a no of those private sector friends are now desperately trying to join the Civil Service due to the family-friendly benefits the service can offer you as your priorities change in your 30's!

Good luck OP. Give it some time and if it's not for you then look elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

That feeling of contributing to society will fade. You will realise that despite you coming in every day and contributing, a good few of your colleagues could be on the dole and they would be contributing the same and costing the state less.

use the civil service to get a degree or two and a couple of bike to works and then ditch it.

You are 1 year in the door and you're talking about a pension that you won't get for another 39 years as one of the main benefits of the job!! Give yourself a slap.

I spent 10 years in the civil service trying to bury my doubts about wasting my life.

Leave. I got institutionalised. When I left, I was shocked at the competence, ability, independence and enthusiasm that very junior staff in the (semi) private sector have compared to senior staff in the civil service.

Believe me if you don't leave now in 7-8-9 years you'll be sitting in a break room listening to people ****e on about how busy they are while they drink their third cup of coffee on their second break of the day and wonder what happened to your 20's.

The above is all true - frighteningly familiar if I'm honest. Ask yourself this. In 10 years time, do you want to be working for a living? If you don't fancy doing anything productive and just clocking in/out every day then this is your dream job. Also remember that when you reach 34k more than half your income is deducted in taxes, so there is a diminishing return on your output. I've been in the public service for more than 10 years. I will be in it for the rest of my life. This country doesn't reward risk takers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Op, It is a difficult decision. I had that dilemma back at the start of my career roughly 2002. If you are ambitious and hard working you will be promoted and have a worthy career, however big caveat, a lot of it stems down to being in the right Department at the right time. I spent most of my 20's living at home looking at my private sector friends on double the salary and purchasing their own homes. Despite having two degrees and working way above my grade there was little or no openings for promotion.

The culture really got to me in the early days - still does to be honest but I realised not to worry about other people and look to the management that were motivational and hard working. I put my head down and focused on MY work. My first week in the C.S. I was told "slow down you are taking our overtime". I noticed as the years went on ppl were starting to comment on my work and my attitude instead of the other way around. Comments like, "why are you not taking a break in the afternoon", "you know it's against the rules to work beyond your required hours" and "why do you use flexi for medical appointments". I just smiled and remained positive. I am now at senior management level and a lot of those people are still in the same roles.

I would suggest speaking to someone senior in your office, AP or PO and ask their advice, someone you respect. Also, take on any additonal roles that will add value to your current position. Such as membership of a committee, secretary to a committee, etc. ask your AP can you attend events or meetings that they attend. Sign up to any relevant training rolled out by your Dept. Take on extra areas of responsibility if the job allows.

One final note, a no of those private sector friends are now desperately trying to join the Civil Service due to the family-friendly benefits the service can offer you as your priorities change in your 30's!

Good luck OP. Give it some time and if it's not for you then look elsewhere.

This is all true and it is great advice and it is certainly something that happens.

However... Getting the right department, the right AP, the right cycle of promotion/embargo... It's a lottery. And like the lottery there are far more people that don't win.

Add to that lottery, the lottery of promotion within junior grades where anonymous interview panels don't really know who you are and what you do, how hard you work and so on. How good you are on a day to day basis isn't really a factor.

How often do you hear "they done a great interview on the day" when some cabbage comes out top of a panel, and some talented, creative and diligent worker gets nothing?

The massive majority of career civil servants will end up a CO, EO or Heo sitting watching some AP or PO going over a print out of a spreadsheet with a ruler and a calculator "to make sure it adds up" and getting kudos for being diligent along with a grand and a half a week.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,385 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Jaysus. This thread is grim

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

You've a job for life with good pay and conditions. Every year you'll get your increment and there are plenty of opportunities for promotion coming on stream. You're one year into a job, concentrate on your own work and never mind the slouchers, you'll find if you can identify them already so have others, and that breed is either retiring or dying out, literally.

Prior to the crash, some family and friends earned more than me in the private sector. Post 2009, a lot of them lost their jobs, or else had pay and pensions destroyed.

Brexit is just around the corner and we don't know how that will impact the economy and the private sector exactly. What we do know is that during the last crash no PS worker were made redundant.

If I was giving advice to my son or daughter I'd be saying hang on for another 3 or 4 years and reevaluate again. One year is probably too early too jump ship imo.
    Good luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Fann Linn wrote: »
    You've a job for life with good pay and conditions. Every year you'll get your increment and there are plenty of opportunities for promotion coming on stream. You're one year into a job, concentrate on your own work and never mind the slouchers, you'll find if you can identify them already so have others, and that breed is either retiring or dying out, literally.

Is it? I think as long as you have weak managers who are unable or unwilling to tackle lazy or difficult employees then you are always, always going to get slouchers, be it the public or private sector. Once a culture like that has settled in its very hard to change. Not impossible of course but its a long process.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thanks for the feedback everyone. I knew that many civil servants had faced the same dilemma before or are currently.

To address a few points. My AP is great and I do get to do work beyond the norm of my grade from time to time. Their is support for people going for promotions and if you have a valid reason they will allow you to attend training when it is offered. The department I work in is one of the smaller ones.

I have relevant academic qualifications and I have worked in the private sector before so it isn't my first job. I really like a lot of things about my current role, but I am aware that if I want to progress in the Civil Service I can expect to move around every few years and have little say in where you go.

I don't take for granted that I get on with my colleagues and the atmosphere is generally pleasant.

As for the culture I know they are rolling out under-performance training for managers at all grades and their is lip service to it changing. I think it is very difficult to change when the majority of civil servants have served a long time in the Civil Service. I have witnessed a few things that I don't think would be acceptable in most work places and it appears that the worst get transferred around as that is easier. I don't see under-performance getting tackled and it is not an issue constrained to the old guard.

That is not to say everyone is like that and as I said in my opening post, I know some very hard working staff. When I look at some of them though I see overworked and stressed people who aren't at all the picture of a stereotypical civil servant.

I know via contacts that I could leave the civil service and walk get a job with 15% more pay and more benefits bar the pension. I intend to make a decision by the end of 2018 at the latest if my career is in the civil service.

I have not discussed it with superiors as I thought that would be unprofessional to say your thinking about leaving?

I'm in a similar position OP. I've been in the CS for a couple of years now. I work hard, and am on panels waiting for my number to come up. But its seriously demotivating working with clock watchers and wasters. Not all old either, plenty of new entrants have taken to the bad habits like a duck to water.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,922 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

My advice would be to keep an eye on publicjobs.ie if you want to stay in civil service - I have worked in it in ICT area for 12 years but I have moved role and into new areas and departments quite a lot (had about 5 roles in that time). I would say there is huge variety in work practices in all areas I have been some good some bad. I definitely agree get all the training you can, I have got a masters (which was paid for).
    I have a good role at the minute been here a few years and pay is great as is flexi and annual leave but I have a very good group in my team and I am encouraged to innovate and bring in new systems.

I do understand the frustration in the work commitment of some people in the civil service....believe me....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2 Cold Night

I think you'd be mad to throw away a cushy gig in the CS.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 Bob Cratchit

Evening,

Thanks for the post. Just curious, did you stick or twist in the end?
    I'm 3 years in and have witnessed all the crap detailed throughout this thread. I work hard, am continually frustrated by the lack of opporunity to move up in the bed. I take on extra all the time, (mostly because it's in my nature), but hard work here is rewarded with more work, not with promotion unfortunately.
    I calculated my single pension scheme entitlements today. I will get the state pension as if i had never worked a day in my life, plus 4k after 30 years service and a lump sum of €25k, which seems to be almost exactly what i put in. My problem with this, is that the money i pay in is not invested in anything. It keeps up with the CPI, roughly 2%.

(Warning, i am not anything close to an actuary :P)

Thinking about jumping ship.
    Any thoughts?

Funny how this is a current thread when I was sitting at my desk asking myself the exact same question today! I'm "new" to the civil service as in less than a year....but after the first week I was having doubts and thinking what have I done!!!

I can see the attraction for parents to work here but I'm single with no kids. The culture is such a shock to my system having been a private sector worker all my life. Redundancy, having to leave Dublin and a period of unemployment is how I ended up in the civil service. I don't like most of my team, it's disorganised, the training for the job is a joke, I don't think anyone knows what they are doing if I'm honest. It's also like being in school, no autonomy and counting the minutes until I can leave. The option of transferring depts is a lottery, I thought it would be easier but it takes forever due to the large volume of people on it.

I honest to jesus can't see myself doing this until retirement.....BUT I'm in my late 30's and I don't know if I would be considered employable now by the private sector. My brain is going to melt here due to lack of use. I feel like crying most days I feel like I've no choice.

I don't know what I'm hoping for after writing this, but it's good to know I'm not the only one having major doubts. I'm surrounded by people who absolutely LOVE the civil service and can't bear to hear it criticised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

You need to move around. Don't say in one place. Switch teams, and projects and get as much experience as you can.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

I think it depends on your personality type, what sort of skills you have, and what sort of responsibilities you have.

Personally, I could not stay in a company with a bad culture or who do not treat their staff properly.

However, I'm an IT guy, I've been doing this for 20 years, so I don't worry about job security.

I guess my advice to you is twofold:

1. Get hard and soft skills so you're always employable and you feel secure within yourself.

2. You only have one life. There's no point spending most of it in a job you dislike.

Thanks for the post. Just curious, did you stick or twist in the end?
    I'm 3 years in and have witnessed all the crap detailed throughout this thread. I work hard, am continually frustrated by the lack of opporunity to move up in the bed. I take on extra all the time, (mostly because it's in my nature), but hard work here is rewarded with more work, not with promotion unfortunately.
    I calculated my single pension scheme entitlements today. I will get the state pension as if i had never worked a day in my life, plus 4k after 30 years service and a lump sum of €25k, which seems to be almost exactly what i put in. My problem with this, is that the money i pay in is not invested in anything. It keeps up with the CPI, roughly 2%.

(Warning, i am not anything close to an actuary :P)

Thinking about jumping ship.
    Any thoughts?

Hi, I decided to give it to the end of 2018. However considering the small relative size of my department, non eligibility for internal competitions anyways for the moment (don't have two years service) and the issues already well covered about the service, I don't see myself staying outside of a change of circumstances (promotion).

Even then i'm not sure i'd be willing to commit my long term future to an institution with so many problems (pay/culture/deficient leadership/adversity to change). I know that it can be a somewhat different experience depending on your department.

Thanks Publicsector OP.
    I hope it works out for you. I'll admit, I found the first 2 years incredibly hard. There seemed to be a lot of internal things that I couldn't apply for. If you're used to speed being prized, it is a big shock to realize that you have all week to do something.
    I think you need to give it the 2 years, just so you don't end up with a mish mash CV (I have this, and it does bite you later that you don't stay places). However, don't expect to suddenly get lots of promotional opportunities the minute you have your 2 years done.
    As always, it's easier to get a job from a job, so apply for everything. A wise woman once said to me, "no decision to make, until you get offered something"

If you are doing a job that requires no qualifications despite having some then it's not so easy a choice. Many in the public service in such roles wouldn't command more than a €10/hour in the private sector. You have folk with arts degrees in history and similar stuff strutting about doing next to nothing thinking they are major contributors, the public sector facilitates that and pays them well.

If you are in that category the private sector might well facilitate you in good times but longterm unless you get lucky the public sector is best for some.

You get that everywhere public and private. I see no difference. I can rant about people I worked with in the private sector as easily as I can the public.

However you do see a lack accountability more in the Public Sector, and that means people don't take ownership of work in the same way. There is an aversion to risk. Which means change is glacial vs the private sector. But in both this is driven by the local management culture, its all about the personalities at the end of the day.

Used to be that the the % with degrees, and qualifications etc was significantly higher in the public sector. The life/work balance and their focus on qualifications for promotion etc. means that there usually a lot of opportunity to do more courses and study. So you should take advantage of this if you can.

beauf wrote: »
    You get that everywhere public and private. I see no difference. I can rant about people I worked with in the private sector as easily as I can the public.

However you do see a lack accountability more in the Public Sector, and that means people don't take ownership of work in the same way. There is an aversion to risk. Which means change is glacial vs the private sector. But in both this is driven by the local management culture, its all about the personalities at the end of the day.

Used to be that the the % with degrees, and qualifications etc was significantly higher in the public sector. The life/work balance and their focus on qualifications for promotion etc. means that there usually a lot of opportunity to do more courses and study. So you should take advantage of this if you can.

I do find it odd that there is such an aversion to risk, considering the fact that there are 0 consequences.
    I should add, there are 0 consequences for a job well done either. It's all about the interview. There are some awful muppets who can clearly pull it together to do an amazing interview

There are consequences you could be sidelined. Stalled in your progression etc.

As for interview, yes there is that. Especially considering some of the new styles interview which people can learn the techniques to pass them, as they often a points scoring exercise. Many times the people interviewing are flowing a hymn sheet, but don't know the role or the job at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Crunchymomma

Hi, I decided to give it to the end of 2018. However considering the small relative size of my department, non eligibility for internal competitions anyways for the moment (don't have two years service) and the issues already well covered about the service, I don't see myself staying outside of a change of circumstances (promotion).

Even then i'm not sure i'd be willing to commit my long term future to an institution with so many problems (pay/culture/deficient leadership/adversity to change). I know that it can be a somewhat different experience depending on your department.

I'm not sure what level you are at currently but there is an AGS crime and policing analyst (EO level) open right now, General EO should open q3/4 this year and AP I think will open in the next few months also. And HEO should open next year and you might be eligible by then. So loads of promotion opportunities if you want to move up.

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭gauchesnell

I would defo recommend giving it at least a year and hopefully making it to your 2 years. Horizons will broaden greatly once you have the 2 years experience under your belt. If you can do some courses, if departments in other areas need assistance volunteer if possible, get to know the people in the culture. Not necessarily to make friends but to learn the culture. I am public service and not civil service but I found the culture shock crazy when I first joined.

I see new staff now struggling aswell but my advice to them is the same as to you. Take the year - listen and learn. Hopefully you make the 2 years and then make an informed decision. I am in the public service 15 years now and do I think I will stay where I am until retirement. I hope not. I am always looking for new opportunities and challenges. I would definitely agree there is no autonomy - well for me at least - but I'm ok with that.

A week is not long enough. I wouldn't worry about liking people and your team being disorganised etc etc. That is the responsibility of the manager. It sounds awful but in my job and grade you learn not to suggest new ideas. It is simply not part of your grade.

The new styles of interviews are a skill in itself. In my experience they simply mean you have the skill to pass the interview - not really connected to being able to carry out the job. Unfortunately lots of new staff in my workplace might blaze through an interview but have no skills/experience relevant to the role.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I do find it odd that there is such an aversion to risk, considering the fact that there are 0 consequences.
    I should add, there are 0 consequences for a job well done either. It's all about the interview. There are some awful muppets who can clearly pull it together to do an amazing interview

The biggest dear is "freedom of information" requests.
    Some things that make sense are left undone because of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

A week is not long enough. I wouldn't worry about liking people and your team being disorganised etc etc. That is the responsibility of the manager. It sounds awful but in my job and grade you learn not to suggest new ideas. It is simply not part of your grade.

I'm fortunate. The unit I'm in in the CS gives me some autonomy and we're encouragedto improve things and make decisions (within reason)
    I got EO on the open panel and could be anywhere and it might not be the same as now.
    It took me a while to adjust to being canon fodder :)

Thanks everyone - I'm not surprised that others are considering the same. I do have some relevant qualifications and I am working above my current grade so on that side of things I am well placed.

I have built good relationships with work colleagues and learned that one of the differences between the private sector where I got promoted based on performance and the public sector is the emphasis on the competency application forms and structured interviews in the latter.

You need to be able to score the points on the wheel of competencies to get an interview, and then deliver a similar performance in person on the day. From my experience nearly everyone is getting considerable help from those around them on how to fill out the forms and coached for the interviews.

I don't personally like it as I think current job performance should play into it more. Aside from a short written recommendation on whether an applicant is suitable for a role from a line manager, I have not heard of them getting consulted by interview panels at any stage of the process.

Now I am not bad at the tests in general and can get help on the other aspects.

I am applying for a variety of things in the service at the moment that are open competitions. As per my original post I could probably move to the private sector and earn more though. It's not my primary motivation but it is a thing..

This is the weird difference from private. In the private it would be a promotion, based on productivity. (though its not always a transparent process and office politics comes into it).

In Public sector its almost a testing you on the test/interview process, (nothing to do with work or productivity), so you can get your Increment/Grade (raise/promotion). Quite often the people involved in the process no nothing about the job you do, or indeed the job/grade you are applying to. Then Office politics comes into it. Very much a box ticking exercise.

If you are in a place with good management it won't effect you that much. But can be grim if you don't But thats true of public and private.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

The above is all true - frighteningly familiar if I'm honest. Ask yourself this. In 10 years time, do you want to be working for a living? If you don't fancy doing anything productive and just clocking in/out every day then this is your dream job. Also remember that when you reach 34k more than half your income is deducted in taxes, so there is a diminishing return on your output. I've been in the public service for more than 10 years. I will be in it for the rest of my life. This country doesn't reward risk takers.

The country does reward risk takers and entrepreneurship. The civil service doesn't. That's quite common in most similar environments where you've a big bureaucracy. The culture is totally risk averse.