Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs Wales 24th Feb 2:15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

Whip it out wide to the right .... fast!!

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Gidea

Wales collapse the maul and no penalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

Bundee!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Bloody brilliant. Great patience!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭A-Train

Yes get over

YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,768 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Wales have conceded a penalty every time Ireland have been within 5 yards. Surely the Ref should be having a word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,107 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

go on the galway man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Aki. You legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Christ I thought that ball would never be passed beyond first receiver. Great comeback from Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,488 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Nice finish from Aki

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,143 ✭✭✭fitz

Wales incredibly cynical in defense... Yellow inevitable if we can we can spend more time in the 22.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭C__MC

Ireland by 10 wales have shown nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

You happy bro?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Kearney beaten in the air and tries to make amends by giving away that penalty. Sexton can't kick snow off a rope. We're getting turned over in contact a load, Aki has given away two idiotic penalties, just dreadful for the most part. So much avoidable too.

Idiotic nuts, ref in the way.

Good man Aki! Now Johnny.....please!

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Gidea

Another penalty given away by wales on their lines, has to be a card next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,631 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Good job Aki. Earls will get his chance later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Bundee having a poor game by his high standards and still scores a massive try :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 393 ✭✭Didactic Ninja

Double movement ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

Jackson is one of the worst international referees very poor

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Our pack are definitely superior in the physical exchanges but Jesus give the ball some width when they commit around the ruck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,452 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Fair play the Bundee, his heads in the game now.

A sickener for Wales to go 9 point reversed. And a whistle never came at a better time...

He always dreamed of scoring in the Aviva against wales

Well fair play. That was a huge effort. Brilliant to go in at half time in the lead.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Going in 2 points up? I’ll take it.

You’re all a bunch of overreacting Jessies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Has Rory been having a word with Jackson about all the offsides at all? AWJ is in his ear a lot.

kilns wrote: »
    Jackson is one of the worst international referees very poor
    He is having a bad one. Missed a dangerous charge by green 6 into a ruck .

• Registered Users Posts: 10,670 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Missed all 3 tries thanks to the ****ty 3Player now. Buffers forever, crashes, then you've to sit through 3 pre roll add before it comes back. Abysmal.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Double movement ?

Your allowed place the ball

Aki having a good game but I can't get over how wrong I was about Chris Farrell. No hint of this kind of a performance in his first bunch of games but it's absolutely critical for Ireland that we've another top international centre putting his hand up before the World Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭duskyjoe

Porter - fair play to u kiddo. Doing a great job and more than holding ur own

gally74 wrote: »
    Idiotic nuts, ref in the way.

No. The offside that gave them their first penalty and the off the ball tackle that might have been the one they missed. The ref in the way wasn't really his fault nor was it a penalty.

Anyway we can't be that bad again in the second half, we just can't. The young/new lads showing a few of the more experienced guys how it's done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,541 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Didn't think would be winning at HT. Ref has to be warning Wales about penalties within their 5m, some amount of them

Aki having a good game but I can't get over how wrong I was about Chris Farrell. No hint of this kind of a performance in his first bunch of games but it's absolutely critical for Ireland that we've another top international centre putting his hand up before the World Cup.

I thought his first name was Wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Wales put us under big pressure there, we were attacking from inside our half there then two simple Welsh mistakes changed the game. Huge gap for Earls’ line break and offside penalty. If those done happen we’d be in big trouble. Fine margins.

Still putting ourselves under pressure with poor attacking play, although some of it has been much better.

Farrell has been Ireland’s best player. Fabulous performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

The young lads have been impressive. Ryan and Porter making those small gains every time they pick the ball. Stockdale will be an Irish winger for many many years to come. The guy has serious class.

My man of the first half has been Healy though. He has gotten through a serious amount of work.

Mushy wrote: »
    Didn't think would be winning at HT. Ref has to be warning Wales about penalties within their 5m, some amount of them

Odds on first penalty Ireland give away in our 22 being a yellow??

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Double movement ?

Your allowed place the ball
    I think people take a lot of liberties and it has gained an artistic license over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

So much space out wide not being taken advantage of in those situations, hopefully this is sorted at half time. Even a little bit of width to Bundee there made the difference. Wales will happily eat up two yard passes to static forwards all day, just as France did. You wonder what they're looking at in video analysis sessions sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Farrell with an immense first half

Yes, Farrell has been fantastic. Making yards every time. Stockdale much better this week. Healy working his socks off. Dan Leavy making yards. Everyone working very hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

We need to keep our discipline, the only way Wales will edge this game out with the way they're playing is through Halfpenny's boot.

Farrell has been outstanding and is really stepping up the plate. Porter is going well too, hasn't been challenged too much at scrum time and is carrying well. Ryan as always has shown that extra yard or two with carries.

It's been a good performance so far, hopefully Sexton can keep his head and capitalise on any further kicks to keep the board ticking over. Stockdale has been very strong in the air too which helps.

I think people take a lot of liberties and it has gained an artistic license over the years.

Aki made no attempt to get back up.

vienne86 wrote: »
    Yes, Farrell has been fantastic. Making yards every time. Stockdale much better this week. Healy working his socks off. Dan Leavy making yards. Everyone working very hard.

And Stander is rucking like Stander

• Registered Users Posts: 3,171 ✭✭✭letowski

Wales blatantly not releasing in the tackle. Another infringement like this in the 22 should see someone binned. Sexton despite the misses is running the backline well, releasing players like Stockdale for the try and Earls. Farrell is doing really good, using his size well in defense and attack.

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Aki made no attempt to get back up.

Yeah he just moved his arm

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Chex LeMeneux

It always seems that if a team scores some refs seem to disregard any penalties conceded during that phase and the threshold for YC is reset. Best well within his rights to remind Jackson. Think we are playing reasonably well. Sexton mixed bag from tee but otherwise playing well. Farrell was fantastic that half and repeatedly got us over the gain line.
    One frustration which seems to recur is Ireland's apparent tunnel vision when were 5 metres from try line. Happened twice that half. Last phase you could see Biggar screaming numbers right but it barely went past first receiver. Not sure if Sexton is carrying a knock but the lack of distributors here is a slight worry

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭mangobob

I am absolutely delighted to be ahead at half time. I think there are a lot of positives about our play. Sexton having a mare off the tee but superb in all other aspects of his game. Real Jekyll and Hyde performance from him. Farrell is having a stormer.

On the downside, Wales have done absolutely feck all and are still within 2 points. You have to think they will have their purple patch at some point. Still very nervous.