Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

sledge for the snow

• 24-02-2018 2:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭

Busy forum, so where will i get a couple of sledges off the shelf preferably. In prep for the mass of snowfall we are definitely getting over the next few days.
    Leixlip or drogheda or dundalk areas or fast online delivery.
    Thank you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Seen that in the news.

Im expecting record sun and heat.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

Im expecting record sun and heat.

In that case, same question only im looking for a hanky for my head and some sandals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

Drill a hole in an election poster and tie a string in it.

You won’t even need snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Busy forum, so where will i get a couple of sledges off the shelf preferably. In prep for the mass of snowfall we are definitely getting over the next few days.
    Thank you

Walk into any motor factors that also do truck stuff and get yourself a mudwing to suit a super single - something like this

Perfect sledge for about 25euro.

Walk into any motor factors that also do truck stuff and get yourself a mudwing to suit a super single - something like

Also works for both sun or snow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I have a couple in the shed. Bought after the last big freeze in 2010. Never used.
    Biggest waste of money.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,927 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I got one in Smyths a couple of years ago - cheap and cheerful. Never used it though because we haven't had decent snow since. Although given that a big freeze is forecast for next week I'd better go and root out my swimsuit from the back of the wardrobe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

sledge-hammer-500x500.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

In that case, same question only im looking for a hanky for my head and some sandals.

Aldi or Lidl, middle aisle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Ajsoprano wrote: »

The ones made out of coryboard will be ideal and as you said they dont even need snow as they come with their own dose of hot air ... :D

I've some down the back that will do the job nicely ....

gozunda wrote: »
    The ones made out of coryboard will be ideal and as you said they dont even need snow as they come with their own dose of hot air ... :D

I've some down the back that will do the job nicely ....

I used to love a good election when I was too young to vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Car bonnet makes a decent skanger sled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

I live in Drogheda and have a Swiss made sled that I can give to you for free.

It’s made out of cheese?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Thank you

If there is a load of snow and things presumably come to a standstill you'll need Santa Claus to deliver it.

Get a few fertilizer bags and newspapers. Nothing moves faster over snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Our dad bought us a lovely swiss sled for christmas 2010. We never got to use it
    and we are all adults now,I was 13 or so at the time and now the youngest is 16
    Sad :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Rosebud!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Woodies !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

sledge-hammer-500x500.jpg

That's a lump hammer not a sledge!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

That's a lump hammer not a sledge!
    trust-me-i-know-what-im-doing.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

Car bonnet makes a decent skanger sled.
    beat me to it , would not consider myself a skanger , but when i was a kid half the street could fit on the bonnet of an old morris minor . Although there were an awful yoke to go sideways and dump everyone out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭dmc17

beat me to it , would not consider myself a skanger , but when i was a kid half the street could fit on the bonnet of an old morris minor . Although there were an awful yoke to go sideways and dump everyone out

The bonnet or the car?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

dmc17 wrote: »
    The bonnet or the car?
    don't know about the cars . dont know how we weren't all maimed or killed on the bonnets i cant actually remember if the same amount of lads ever got to the bottom as started at he top

Ordered two to arrive on tuesday and since a friend picked up two for my so im all set for the sun no thanks all.
    Roll on the sleet

Ordered two to arrive on tuesday and since a friend picked up two for my so im all set for the sun no thanks all.
    Roll on the sleet

Start another thread looking for a stairlift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It might have been mentioned before... Mr Price has the little saddle shaped sledges with the handle you hold up between your legs. They’re €4 each.

I got a proper big sledge in Smyths just after Christmas for €1 (thanks Bargain Alerts)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Ajsoprano wrote: »

Always preferred a Property Sale sign my self.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Aren't ye all fierce fancy? 10-10-20 bag with some snow inside to cushion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,494 ✭✭✭✭Victor

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

Empty take out Pizza box. Greasy side down. Be grand.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Always preferred a Property Sale sign my self.

No recession in your house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Thank you
    Watch how you go lad, there was a girl around 16 killed during the last big snow doing that.

No recession in your house!

Never said my own!

buried wrote: »
    Empty take out Pizza box. Greasy side down. Be grand.

Either you are a VERY small child, or your going for a pretty big pizza.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Either you are a VERY small child, or your going for a pretty big pizza.

BIG Pizza eater, BIG cheapskate, BIG eegit and very bigly drunk!

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Cut the lid off your neighbours wheelie bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

When did we become too fancy for turf bags?