Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

GAA have banned all sponsorship from betting companies

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

It's the ordinary betting shop workers who will suffer

No they won’t. They suffered a hell of a lot worse with the introduction of online gambling & hey look, they’re still standing.

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Patww79 wrote: »
    Everything has to be proclaimed a massive cultural problem these days. It's unfortunately just the world we live in now.

Some people just need a good kick in the hole and told to sort themselves out. I need it for smoking but I'm too weak, but it's my problem then. These people hooked to drink or betting or whatever need exactly the same and if they're too weak then it's their own problem.

You don't have a clue on the psychology of addiction then i take it. For some people a kick in the hole will do it, sometimes it takes a battering from a loan shark, but it's just not as simple as you claim. Not everything is black and white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

gstack166 wrote: »
    Did you not say it was ‘stupid’ people who have a problem with gambling?
    Emmmm...

You did.

It was in reference to that poster claiming people are stupid when it comes to talking about people in addiction.

To clarify everyone who gambles more than they can afford may not be completely stupid but have made some very very stupid decisions.

That better?

mdwexford wrote: »
    It was in reference to that poster claiming people are stupid when it comes to talking about people in addiction.

To clarify everyone who gambles more than they can afford may not be completely stupid but have made some very very stupid decisions.

That better?

The difference being stupid & making stupid decisions is absolutely enormous. Every single living been makes stupid decisions fortnightly if not weekly. Thinking I had enough milk Thursday evening at 7pm for the kids till I went shopping Friday afternoon so left off getting some on the way home & being wrong about i would class as a stupid decision on my part, no way makes me stupid though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Well done the GAA. Hopefully others follow their lead.

The difference being stupid & making stupid decisions is absolutely enormous. Every single living been makes stupid decisions fortnightly if not weekly. Thinking I had enough milk Thursday evening at 7pm for the kids till I went shopping Friday afternoon so left off getting some on the way home & being wrong about i would class as a stupid decision on my part, no way makes me stupid though.

You can't compare overestimating how much milk you need to a person losing their spare cash every weekend, to losing their wages, to losing loans they have gotten and eventually losing everything they own over a period of months and years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

There was a time when there'd be people like yourself who'd swear smoking was healthy, made you cooler like Hollywood stars and anyone who was addicted to it, like you are now...was a fool. Then they cracked down on advertising and sponsorship to normalise it, then they spread awareness so even lads like you who don't understand addiction would know "smoking = bad".

That's what's happening now with gambling because there are slow people out there sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

leggo wrote: »
    There was a time when there'd be people like yourself who'd swear smoking was healthy, made you cooler like Hollywood stars and anyone who was addicted to it, like you are now...was a fool. Then they cracked down on advertising and sponsorship to normalise it, then they spread awareness so even lads like you who don't understand addiction would know "smoking = bad".

That's what's happening now with gambling because there are slow people out there sadly.

Don't understand addition. Give it a rest will you.

Gambling isn't bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Has this made any difference to alcohol consumption?

I don’t know but I do know that alcohol consumption levels have been falling in Ireland for quite a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

We could do more to tackle the cynicism. What will you see beside every pub practically in the country?

A gambling joint.

Why? They prey on the vulnerable (in this case drunks).

I hate the ads, I hate the negligence and I hate the life changing damage done by this industry to countless people and families all over this country.

The more restrictions the better.
    Agreed & please ban "casinos" in every town in the country. One of the 3 or 4 in Navan is going 24 hour...f sake i know the manager of one, they think they are Vegas comping the customers, cups of tea, sandwiches and chips in a ruse to keep them there as long as possible

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Well done to the GAA.

How these gambling sites advertise is shady and I'm astounded how they're allowed to get away with it. You've got ads on all the time, portraying how cool it is to bet on the football and how easy it is to cash out. Then you've got ads for 'bingo' sites, trying to prey on the stay at home Mother and trying to get across how normal it is. PaddyPower annoy me the most, with their 'Irish craic' persona. **** them. I'm sure it's not great craic for the person who's lost their weeks wages (again) after five minutes on their smartphone.

If people want to have a bet, that's fine but don't try and normalise it - it's a dangerous game if you get in deep. We're talking financial ruin for people.

No idea what you're on about.

You mentioned Chris Kamaras advertising gambling, so I assumed that you’d be familiar with the actual advert?

Nothing.

I'm not the one calling people stupid.

You literally said that having a gambling addiction only happens to stupid people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Don't understand addition. Give it a rest will you.

Gambling isn't bad.

Says you.

And the fact your location says "Waiting for Cheltanham 2018" points to the fact that you are talking through your hoop.

You going to put money on the geegee's in March?

Therefore they cannot drink legally either. I suppose we don’t have an issue with underage drinking in this country also? It’s cooments like that grinds my gears.

Are you saying that kids ie under the age of 18 can gamble online or in betting shops?

Yeah, I got the point he was making. Did you not understand it? It was pretty straightforward. :confused:

Says you.

And the fact your location says "Waiting for Cheltanham 2018" points to the fact that you are talking through your hoop.

You going to put money on the geegee's in March?

What's bad about it.
    It's great fun and can be very exciting.

Just because some people can't control their bet sizes doesn't make it bad.

Yes because I love horse racing and Cheltenham is one of my sporting yearly highlights.

How does that "point to the fact that I am talking though my hoop" as you so eloquently put it?

Eh yes I will be backing horses during the festival.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Pete Tong wrote: »
    Yes. I do. At least it will stop new people from starting gambling.
    Paddy power only sponsor GAA to make more money. This is the only reason.

It is advertising. If the advertising didn't work, then Paddy Power wouldn't do it.

1. This will not stop people gambling.

2. Of course bookies sponsor teams to advertise and make money. Exactly the same as any other kind of business.

InfoSponge wrote: »
    Fair play to the GAA. Gambling addiction is ruining so many lives and the lives of so many families of the Gambling addict. I'm a compulsive gambler in recovery myself and I am astounded by the stupidity of some people when it comes to talking about people in addiction.

Well done. You’ll be fully recovered now that the GAA won’t be advertising it now. :rollseyes:

Same as usual, the majority suffer because of the weak willed minority.

We're nearly there guys!! Only a few more things left to ban now 🀗

There’ll be a ban on cars etc next. All that carbon monoxide can’t be good for the players. Any team playing an away game will have to travel by horse and cart.

What's bad about it.

Yes because I love horse racing and Cheltenham is one of my sporting yearly highlights.

How does that "point to the fact that I am talking though my hoop" as you so eloquently put it?

You wound me up earlier, but I'm actually not going to have a go at you. I think with how defensive you've gotten over this and stuff like your boards location being "Waiting for Cheltenham", addiction is something you might want to look at a bit further.

So, for the show we do, we had to study up on the nature of gambling addiction to speak about it. The one thing that keeps cropping up is if gambling starts to impinge on your normal, day-to-day life in places it's completely irrelevant. So this week the bit we went over was "Do you constantly find yourself talking about gambling?" and I gave examples of relating stuff that has nothing to do with it, like one bloke I know tweeted Paddy Power on Valentine's asking for a free bet because he was single. Now horse racing in particular exists solely for the purposes of gambling. And you've chosen to make your boards.ie location, which isn't even the slightest bit related to sports OR gambling, about that. Like, "Waiting for Cheltenham" isn't an answer to "Where are you?"...that sentence doesn't make any sense. But THAT'S what your mind jumped to when you wanted to fill in that box. That's exactly the kind of flashpoint people should look out for.

I'm not trying to call you out publicly. I'm just saying it makes a lot of sense with how touchy you've got, and you're also deflecting a lot talking about how it's only for "fools" (it's like alcos will hang out with alcos who are worse than them so they can say "Well I'm not like him so I don't have a problem") which is another textbook trait. So I won't have a go at you any further and just say...take a look at Gambleaware.ie and maybe ask yourself some hard questions.

Everything has to be proclaimed a massive cultural problem these days. It's unfortunately just the world we live in now.

Some people just need a good kick in the hole and told to sort themselves out. I need it for smoking but I'm too weak, but it's my problem then. These people hooked to drink or betting or whatever need exactly the same and if they're too weak then it's their own problem.

You can’t expect people to take personal responsibility!! It’s a massive cultural problem :rollseyes:

It’s pathetic, when did Ireland become a hive mind? People need to take control of their own lives and problems and stop blaming “society” and other external things.

You can’t expect people to take personal responsibility!! It’s a massive cultural problem :rollseyes:

It’s pathetic, when did Ireland become a hive mind? People need to take control of their own lives and problems and stop blaming “society” and other external things.

Are you brain dead? The constant marketing & advertisement of gambling is bad for kids. Competitions that kids play in sponsored by gambling sites is bad for kids. Nothing to do with people unable to control their lives &/or blaming society. It’s a safety measure to begin to keep kids away from the promotions of gambling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

2. Of course bookies sponsor teams to advertise and make money. Exactly the same as any other kind of business.

But it might stop younger people taking up gambling.

I always look at the change it attitudes to smoking in this country over the past thirty years.

Wen I was growing up in the mid '80s cigratte advertising was very prevelant.

In the printed media, on the back of the RTE Guide, Ireland's biggest selling magazine, there was a full page cigratte ad.
    One quarter of the front page of The Sunday Independent had a cigratte ad.

Both the outside and inside of shops we're plastered with tobacco brands.

Sports events like the Carroll's Irish Open Golf, Rothmans Circuit of Ireland Rally, Carroll's GAA All Stars, etc etc.

As a kid from a non smoking house it was very easy to recognise the brands and know the brands.

Loasof people in school smoked.

Take a look now.
    Tobacco brands are nowhere to be seen, as a young teenager from a non smoking house to name a brand and they would not be able to.

And feck all school going kids now smoke, I see it myself, the kids from my old school going down town at lunchtime, none are smoking.

So take away the visibility and you reduce the awarness.

If I asked my teen kids what Benson and Hedges were they would be hard pushed to give an answer, I knew well what Benson and Hedges were back when I was there age.

You wound me up earlier, but I'm actually not going to have a go at you. I think with how defensive you've gotten over this and stuff like your boards location being "Waiting for Cheltenham", addiction is something you might want to look at a bit further.

So, for the show we do, we had to study up on the nature of gambling addiction to speak about it. The one thing that keeps cropping up is if gambling starts to impinge on your normal, day-to-day life in places it's completely irrelevant. So this week the bit we went over was "Do you constantly find yourself talking about gambling?" and I gave examples of relating stuff that has nothing to do with it, like one bloke I know tweeted Paddy Power on Valentine's asking for a free bet because he was single. Now horse racing in particular exists solely for the purposes of gambling. And you've chosen to make your boards.ie location, which isn't even the slightest bit related to sports OR gambling, about that. Like, "Waiting for Cheltenham" isn't an answer to "Where are you?"...that sentence doesn't make any sense. But THAT'S what your mind jumped to when you wanted to fill in that box. That's exactly the kind of flashpoint people should look out for.

I'm not trying to call you out publicly. I'm just saying it makes a lot of sense with how touchy you've got, and you're also deflecting a lot talking about how it's only for "fools" (it's like alcos will hang out with alcos who are worse than them so they can say "Well I'm not like him so I don't have a problem") which is another textbook trait. So I won't have a go at you any further and just say...take a look at Gambleaware.ie and maybe ask yourself some hard questions.

Jesus, what a leap. I’ve 2 days booked off work for the Thurs and Friday of Cheltenham. Any bets I do will be 95% of all my horse racing gambling for the year. Am I addicted?? Hahaha. Armchair psychology 101. Laughable.

Are you brain dead? The constant marketing & advertisement of gambling is bad for kids. Competitions that kids play in sponsored by gambling sites is bad for kids. Nothing to do with people unable to control their lives &/or blaming society. It’s a safety measure to begin to keep kids away from the promotions of gambling.

Insert Helen Lovejoy gif.

:rollseyes:

Jesus, what a leap. I’ve 2 days booked off work for the Thurs and Friday of Cheltenham. Any bets I do will be 95% of all my horse racing gambling for the year. Am I addicted?? Hahaha. Armchair psychology 101. Laughable.

Why are you getting so confrontational about the subject of sports gambling? None of this affects you personally and yet you're so, SO angry.

I’d expect to see a reduction. Advertising works or else companies wouldn’t bother. So less advertising should correspond to less people betting.

I didn't try to wind you up at all. If you did that's on you.

Are you in the twilight zone. How am I being defensive. I am not the one calling posters names when they disagree with me. I am amused reading people's ridiculous views on gambling.

The rest of your attempt to analyse me is embarrassing. Just because you have a podcast doesn't make you an expert on anything. Cats have podcasts these days.

Horse racing exists for a lot more than gambling.

I used to post on the horse racing forum on boards.ie a lot so perhaps that is how the site is relatable to my location. There is also a gambling forum and multiple sports betting threads across other forums for people to discuss bets. So you are completely wrong that boards doesn't relate to sports or gambling.

I rarely place a bet so thanks for your "advice" which is obviously an attempt at a jibe. Surely someone who has a gambling podcast seems more at risk of having underlying issues though.

Something to mull over maybe.

Why are you getting so confrontational about the subject of sports gambling? None of this affects you personally and yet you're so, SO angry.

I’m far from angry. I’m actually here laughing at your leap. It’s actually hilarious that you seem to believe it too.

Any man who books 2 days off work for gambling, gambles less than 95% of their gambling for the year at Cheltenham. Don’t try & kid you or me, I love a flutter, I can keep it under control I don’t gamble what I can’t afford to lose but I gamble frequently. I see the lads in the bookies, I hear the lads in the pub who suffer from gambling addiction. I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy. It’s not a laughing matter to insult abuse & mock people that rightly think this is a massive step in a good direction to begin to learn more about how we can help people suffering from it. Keep your smart comments to yourself if you have nothing helpful to add thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I take an odd drink, but alcoholism is something that happens to lesser people.
    I bet on an odd horse, but gambling addictions only afflict those stupider than me.
    I don't do heroin, but if I did I'd be able to keep it under control no problem.

Look at how great I am.

Any man who books 2 days off work for gambling, gambles less than 95% of their gambling for the year at Cheltenham. Don’t try & kid you or me, I love a flutter, I can keep it under control I don’t gamble what I can’t afford to lose but I gamble frequently. I see the lads in the bookies, I hear the lads in the pub who suffer from gambling addiction. I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy. It’s not a laughing matter to insult abuse & mock people that rightly think this is a massive step in a good direction to begin to learn more about how we can help people suffering from it. Keep your smart comments to yourself if you have nothing helpful to add thank you.

Hahaha, another armchair psychologist. They must be firing the oul degrees out in DFS.

mdwexford your argument is all over the place.
    Are you in the twilight zone. How am I being defensive. I am not the one calling posters names when they disagree with me.

You were literally calling people stupid earlier. We all saw it, it's in writing. The denial is strong in you.
    Just because you have a podcast doesn't make you an expert on anything. Cats have podcasts these days.

Who said anything about having a podcast making you an expert? You're making up stuff I said then arguing with yourself. I said I had to read up on stuff and you might benefit from it too.
    Horse racing exists for a lot more than gambling.

Right. Sure. But you said YOU will be gambling a lot on it. So that's what's relevant to you.
    I used to post on the horse racing forum on boards.ie a lot so perhaps that is how the site is relatable to my location. There is also a gambling forum and multiple sports betting threads across other forums for people to discuss bets. So you are completely wrong that boards doesn't relate to sports or gambling.

Yeah that still doesn't make "Waiting for Cheltenham" an answer to "Where are you?"

Also, another interesting tidbit that might lead me to think this is something you'd want to take a look at closer:

Sizes? Who brought up sizes? Why did you bring up sizes?? That hasn't been a discussion point on here at all. You can make 1,000 €1 bets or 1 €1,000 bet and you're still down the same amount.

Yet you chose to differentiate the two even though nobody asked. Almost like you know that, if challenged on size of bets, you can point to only betting small amounts. But if challenged on frequency? Well you don't want that to come up so you're steering away from it.

Hmm.

It's your life. I honestly don't care if you argue all day with me then piss it all away, that doesn't affect me one bit. All I'm saying is have a look and ask yourself questions honestly and in private, no need to post results here and feel free to continue arguing here to keep up appearances if that means a lot to you. Gambleaware.ie. If you don't have a problem, you've nothing to worry about in doing so.

Hahaha, another armchair psychologist. They must be firing the oul degrees out in DFS.

Do you not think it's weird that the people most angry about this also appear to be the people in the thread most committed to gambling, taking days off work especially to do so and everything?

What's bad about it.

Gambling can turn into problem gambling. And it's problem gambling that is the issue.

Gambling is everywhere now. Even computer games, heard about loot boxes? It's when you have a game, in some you can pay money for extra items, to make you better, faster, stronger, or just make things look different. However, there's a growing trend of not letting people buy the items they want, but buy a chance to maybe get the item you want.

Look, I play a bit of poker with the lads, so I'm not anti-gambling, as such, but **** me, it's not hard to see how badly it can affect people, and society taking action to reduce instances of problem gambling is no bad thing, imho.

Some people can't control how much codeine they take, it doesn't make codeine bad, but the overall good, we (society) try to reduce harm.

Fair enough, people like different things, I won't begrudge you that.

Can I ask though, what is it about horse racing you like?

When the bandwagon rolls into town, for the majority, Cheltanham exists to put money on horses. Same as Galway Race Week. Go get dressed up, get balloobas, and gamble.

It's possible that you are a touch to close to it to recognise issues with it.

Are you going to it, or will you be watching it on TV? Could you go to it, and not put money on? Would it be as enjoyable watching the horses and jockeys do their thing, without that bet slip?

I wonder if the ban will extend to fundraising nights like race nights in pubs or dog racing? I seem to remember JP McManus sponsoring a stake at Limerick greyhound stadium that tied in with Limerick GAA clubs.

mdwexford your argument is all over the place.

You were literally calling people stupid earlier. We all saw it, it's in writing. The denial is strong in you.

Who said anything about having a podcast making you an expert? You're making up stuff I said then arguing with yourself. I said I had to read up on stuff and you might benefit from it too.

Right. Sure. But you said YOU will be gambling a lot on it. So that's what's relevant to you.

Yeah that still doesn't make "Waiting for Cheltenham" an answer to "Where are you?"

Also, another interesting tidbit that might lead me to think this is something you'd want to take a look at closer:

Sizes? Who brought up sizes? Why did you bring up sizes?? That hasn't been a discussion point on here at all. You can make 1,000 €1 bets or 1 €1,000 bet and you're still down the same amount.

Yet you chose to differentiate the two even though nobody asked. Almost like you know that, if challenged on size of bets, you can point to only betting small amounts. But if challenged on frequency? Well you don't want that to come up so you're steering away from it.

Hmm.

It's your life. I honestly don't care if you argue all day with me then piss it all away, that doesn't affect me one bit. All I'm saying is have a look and ask yourself questions honestly and in private, no need to post results here and feel free to continue arguing here to keep up appearances if that means a lot to you. Gambleaware.ie. If you don't have a problem, you've nothing to worry about in doing so.

I have since clarified that comment. Yet you keep harping back to it. Desperation.

I said it. Me. You seem to think you have a clue and know about people, you don't.

When did I say I would be gambling a lot on it?

You are putting a lot of effort into analysing my location tagline. A lot more than I did while typing it. Whatever you're into sure.

I brought up sizes. In my post. That's allowed you know.
    It's a lot faster to lose one €1000 bet than one thousand €1 bets, that's pretty obvious. Most people losing huge amounts are betting to large stakes.

Why would I be challenged on anything or by who?
    What in gods name are you on about.

I rarely bet and am happy with my knowledge on gambling but thanks for the faux concern.

It's almost as if the words you use are supposed to convey what you think. But I guess that's more notions for stupid people.

Gambling can turn into problem gambling. And it's problem gambling that is the issue.

Gambling is everywhere now. Even computer games, heard about loot boxes? It's when you have a game, in some you can pay money for extra items, to make you better, faster, stronger, or just make things look different. However, there's a growing trend of not letting people buy the items they want, but buy a chance to maybe get the item you want.

Look, I play a bit of poker with the lads, so I'm not anti-gambling, as such, but **** me, it's not hard to see how badly it can affect people, and society taking action to reduce instances of problem gambling is no bad thing, imho.

Some people can't control how much codeine they take, it doesn't make codeine bad, but the overall good, we (society) try to reduce harm.

Fair enough, people like different things, I won't begrudge you that.

Can I ask though, what is it about horse racing you like?

When the bandwagon rolls into town, for the majority, Cheltanham exists to put money on horses. Same as Galway Race Week. Go get dressed up, get balloobas, and gamble.

It's possible that you are a touch to close to it to recognise issues with it.

Are you going to it, or will you be watching it on TV? Could you go to it, and not put money on? Would it be as enjoyable watching the horses and jockeys do their thing, without that bet slip?

Of course, I know people that gamble what they can't afford to lose and have had to give people loans when they got cleaned. I realise it's a major problem for a lot of people. That's on them though.

Ideally people would just bet for fun and never above their means. But some will always go too far.

I've watched jumps racing since 2000. I love watching horses progress as their career goes along. The build up to Cheltenham. Trying to work out the if the Irish form is better than the English form and who will come out on on top on the day. Etc.

It's the same as any big sporting event though. Darts, UFC, some people go there to have a few drinks and roar their head off. They won't all be hardcore knowledgable fans.

Watching on tv this year. I have been to the festival several times though. I am one of the very few people I know who can watch horse racing all day and not place a single bet. At Cheltenham I will back every race because I enjoy it. Some races I might only bet €2. Some it could be €50. Max I would allow myself to lose would be around €200 or so. Then I may not back another horse until Christmas.

Max I would allow myself to lose would be around €200 or so.

€200 on a day, or even over a few days during a festival if that's what you meant, is a lot. That's nearly my gambling budget for the year like.

€200 between the four days.

That's my favourite racing week of the year so I back a horse every race and if I lose €200 I'll be disappointed but it's not the end of the world.

It's all relative. Someone earning 100k a year might put aside a couple of grand for Cheltenham and it's the same as me losing 200.

A lad on the dole might lose 50 over the festival and it would be a big amount to him.

As long as you can afford it and it's not a daily occurrence it's fine in my view.

Of course, I know people that gamble what they can't afford to lose and have had to give people loans when they got cleaned. I realise it's a major problem for a lot of people. That's on them though.

So if it's a major problem, for a lot of people, why should we not take any action to reduce it? Bear in mind, OT was GAA sponsorship. An organisation that inhabits all regions of Ireland, which has access to children of all ages. This isn't about taking Paddy Power of the billboards around Croker, and suddenly Seamie, a 57 year old labourer who spends his paycheck on a Friday in the bookies, will suddenly stop gambling. It's about reducing the correlation between GAA and gambling, so that future Seamies don't get trapped in the same mindset.

Ideally people would just bet for fun and never above their means. But some will always go too far.

True. But no harm to reduce the amount of "some."
    I've watched jumps racing since 2000. I love watching horses progress as their career goes along. The build up to Cheltenham. Trying to work out the if the Irish form is better than the English form and who will come out on on top on the day. Etc.

Ah gotcha. I figured it was something like that. As I mentioned before, I have no interest in it, but I can get why people like it.

It's the same as any big sporting event though. Darts, UFC, some people go there to have a few drinks and roar their head off. They won't all be hardcore knowledgable fans.

True.

Watching on tv this year. I have been to the festival several times though. I am one of the very few people I know who can watch horse racing all day and not place a single bet. At Cheltenham I will back every race because I enjoy it. Some races I might only bet €2. Some it could be €50. Max I would allow myself to lose would be around €200 or so. Then I may not back another horse until Christmas.

Do you not think that this signifies a bit of an issue that could be addressed? And that's kinda the issue I was trying to highlight about pointing out your Waiting for Cheltanham location. For the majority, horseracing = bookies. I doubt the GAA want their organisation and/or sport to be synonymous with gambling. Which do you think is better, "Jaysis, did you see that last minute point in the Castlerahan and Gowna match? *Insert whatever sporting terms here, and something about heart and conviction*" or "11/2, **** let me down."

You mentioned Chris Kamaras advertising gambling, so I assumed that you’d be familiar with the actual advert?

I see very few ads and pay as little attention as possible so I only think of him in the box in the top of the screen and don't notice the rest. :P

€200 between the four days.

That's my favourite racing week of the year so I back a horse every race and if I lose €200 I'll be disappointed but it's not the end of the world.

It's all relative. Someone earning 100k a year might put aside a couple of grand for Cheltenham and it's the same as me losing 200.

A lad on the dole might lose 50 over the festival and it would be a big amount to him.

As long as you can afford it and it's not a daily occurrence it's fine in my view.

I'd flip that relativity back and say that €200 in a week is equivalent to a chunk of, say, someone's mortgage/rent, or more than a lot of people's electricity, or phone bill, or TV bill for the month. More than many would spend on the weekly shop to feed themselves. These are all essentials. Personally I'd earn a normal wage and be doing grand financially, but still €5 per week would tend to be my max (aside from the odd same few outrights I'd do every year) because it's loose change in my pocket and ticks the box of keeping me interested in the sports I like. But look, I'm not going to harp onto you. Whether or not this is something this is relevant to you is your business and it's your life ultimately. Again, I just find it interesting that the people who seem most dedicated to sports gambling are the people who get defensive when people talk about the negatives that very much exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,797 ✭✭✭✭kippy

If someone can't figure out gambling is bad after they can't pay their rent or lose their Mrs or something then they should hardly need it banned to realise. A bit of cop on like.

It's not about that. It's about normalising gambling and presenting it as a perfectly acceptable thing for kids to do when they get older. This move doesn't stop people gambling or make it any more difficult for adults to gamble. It's just reduces the chances of normalising the practice and associating it with sport. Don't know what your problem is to be honest.

Do you not think it's weird that the people most angry about this also appear to be the people in the thread most committed to gambling, taking days off work especially to do so and everything?

I’ve annual leave to take before the end of March. I get 6 days off by using 2 annual leave days and I get to go to the pub, have a bit of craic and hopefully win some cash. How ****ing terrible.

At least I’m not as bad as those people that take 2 weeks off to go foreign!! They must really hate Ireland considering they take 2 weeks off work to leave the place. Eh?

I'd flip that relativity back and say that €200 in a week is equivalent to a chunk of, say, someone's mortgage/rent, or more than a lot of people's electricity, or phone bill, or TV bill for the month. More than many would spend on the weekly shop to feed themselves. These are all essentials. Personally I'd earn a normal wage and be doing grand financially, but still €5 per week would tend to be my max (aside from the odd same few outrights I'd do every year) because it's loose change in my pocket and ticks the box of keeping me interested in the sports I like. But look, I'm not going to harp onto you. Whether or not this is something this is relevant to you is your business and it's your life ultimately. Again, I just find it interesting that the people who seem most dedicated to sports gambling are the people who get defensive when people talk about the negatives that very much exist.

So, because you and others couldn’t afford to lose €200, people that can shouldn’t gamble?? Head. In. The. Clouds.