Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Snowmagedagain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭cycle4fun

Heard that dole offices will not be open tomorrow unless staff are paid treble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

I heard they're getting in some mild mannered polar bears to give out the dole money tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

namloc1980 wrote: »
    I heard they're getting in some mild mannered polar bears to give out the dole money tomorrow.

Should draw the usual arctic response.

(There was draw and arctic, ah jesus people)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

doylefe wrote: »
    People collecting the dole wouldn't know how to use a shovel :pac:

You speaking from experience eh!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Red warning for the entire country. Just like for ophelia - Scaremongering is all that's going on here. Like we've never had a bit of snow before.

Yeah, not a patch on those yellows and reds you dish out! :)

joking mate, congrats on the mod thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Yeah, not a patch on those yellows and reds you dish out! :)

joking mate, congrats on the mod thing

errr... Wrong buford....................

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭ikeano29

gozunda wrote: »
    Could ye get over the whole bread thing ;)

The majority of people around here would buy fresh bread and milk daily. With the bad weather and forecasts many have opted to buy what they usually do plus sone extra in case the roads are bad and it means they do not have to go out if needs be. Remember bread will freeze quite well. So it's possible people are bunging it in their freezer.

I'm not a fan of white bread either but I presume many are buying wholemeal brown etc etc as well. Not really as big a deal as its made out to be tbh...

Won't be much good in the freezer if there is a power outage which is a good possibility.

Maybe they could stack the bread outside in the snow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

no snow in Donegal so far, at least where I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It's a bit nippy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

Been informed that our office is now closed til Monday due to the weather situation.... the wine is tasting better and I'm staying up later as a result!

Selik wrote: »
    Been informed that our office is now closed til Monday due to the weather situation.... the wine is tasting better and I'm staying up later as a result!

Whole feckin country will be hungover tomorrow. 9 months from now there will be little Emmas everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭gluppers

Whole feckin country will be hungover tomorrow. 9 months from now there will be little Emmas everywhere

...and beasts

gluppers wrote: »
    ...and beasts

Control the beast and there will be fewer Emmas.

Ah here, we're both gettin banned the morrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

How many Emma’s and Emmett’s will be born in 9 months I wonder...

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭James 007

No water in our apartment, pipes must have frozen, i have no other choice but to melt down snow to use as drinking water.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Try_harder wrote: »

Try harder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Well last laugh was on me. Had to work (barman) as the pub was hopping and damaged the front of the car going into work so yay I lost out on my earnings tonight that I didn't want plus probably the rest of the weeks and refused to go in at 6 pm tomorrow so probably not going to be getting a lot more earnings there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Try_harder wrote: »

Be all Brennan's, Pat's, and the odd Hovis. Anyone with OBrien for a surname would have to be called Johnson Mooney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

In Portmarnock, and ours bloody has!
    Better be back by morning!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Nearly all men can stand adversity. If you want to test a
    man's character give him power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,859 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Well all you can do is report the fault. I think it's down already and it will keep you up to date about the issue.

https://www.esb.ie/esb-networks/powercheck/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

murpho999 wrote: »
    Can you not check?

40cm snow forecast by Friday Tomorrow and Friday s going to see a lot of snow.

I'm in the US so just wondering how things are on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

F*ck your Red Alert, the people need their ice creams dammit.

njurb3bq4ti01.jpg

Thread of the year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

not y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,529 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Baseball bat to probe the snowdrifts, be grand.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

"There's more Power" said old Power when young Power was born.

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Cutie 3.14

The one I have is more like this so not exactly fancy material...

s-l300.jpg

Kinky..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,750 ✭✭✭degsie

Omackeral wrote: »
    F*ck your Red Alert, the people need their ice creams dammit.

njurb3bq4ti01.jpg

Ah Jebus, clean up yer garden will ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,750 ✭✭✭degsie

The power in me legs is gone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I tried going to work this morning and had to turn back.

I would like to give a MASSIVE shout out to the taxi man going the other way. Left his house at 4am to get to Newbridge for 6am. (Distance of about 10-12 kms.) He had to get there because he was bringing 2 people to Dublin for their kidney Dialysis. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

I drive a motorbike and wear a balaclava under my helmet, I usually don't take my balaclava off until I get inside and I've never had a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,551 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

MadYaker wrote: »
    There is a lot in some places, over a foot. I'm working from home tomorrow and friday.
    Bread?

baguette/baˈɡɛt/
    noun
    a long, narrow French loaf.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Another good dusting overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

That's enough snow now come back in 20 years please, please,PLEASE

Oh no it just won't stop make it go away.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭mikemac2

no snow in Donegal so far, at least where I am.

Well it’s known as the forgotten county ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Gone to his head, that's where it is

take the power back

ah no seriously i hope people's power isn't gone for long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

FatherTed wrote: »
    I'm in the US so just wondering how things are on the ground.

Snowy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,549 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Your power will be restored at 3.15, hard times as it will mean no shops in the area open either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,759 ✭✭✭Inviere

Not yet. But then again, I don't expect it to

th?id=OIP.mrGMJHhsacf6s3QGpIJNigHaDJ

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Well it’s known as the forgotten county ;)

It wasn't forgotten overnight, sadly.
    There's about four inches lying where I am, and it looks like there's plenty more to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

We have gotten away quite lightly in Sligo, bit of a dusting yesterday afternoon, which still remained in sheltered areas at about 7am this morning.

8am, everything is white, seen neighbour clearing car, 15 minutes later, he is out to clear it again. Glad I am not going to far today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

razorblunt wrote: »

Give that driver day off, full pay! Great save.

Scotland have got an absolute battering. There have been people stuck in cars on the M80 since yesterday evening. Some up to 17 hours!

degsie wrote: »
    Ah Jebus, clean up yer garden will ya

Man I'd live in this snow for a lifetime rather than live in Tallaght for a week.

Posted from my iPhone in Crumlin

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Don't say that you'll bloody jinx it.