Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Snowmagedagain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Collie D wrote: »
    A few news outlets reporting that a number of homeless people had to be sectioned to get them indoors

But its the governments fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    When is the storm and snow due to hit Laois?

What?:confused:

It hasn’t stopped snowing here for three days

This mornings photos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

gmisk wrote: »
    Even after the warnings still had some eejits going out last night in cars (snow tourists) and getting stuck! I am sorry but they should have been left stuck!

The same gob****es who were slating the red level warning or wanted their staff at work no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

A few news outlets reporting that a number of homeless people had to be sectioned to get them indoors

They were giving two fingers to the government I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

Where'd all the red warning skeptics go?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

I refuse to believe those were serious posters. I'm surprised they were humoured for so long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Billybob and beechswood probably under ten feet of snow, but once they stuck their fingers up during it its all that matters.

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭Caribs

Just heard someone from Irish water talking about leaving your attic door open to get heat into the attic space to help avoid the pipes up there freezing. We have fibreglass insulation between the ceiling and the attic but the roof itself is not insulated. Surely all you are doing to venting heat straight out of the roof by doing this. Attic space temp might come up slightly but the rest of the house will get colder or am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,307 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Billybob and beechswood probably under ten feet of snow, but once they stuck their fingers up during it its all that matters.

Nah beechwood is swimming with his neighbour across dublin bay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

VinLieger wrote: »
    Nah beechwood is swimming with his neighbour across dublin bay

His neighbour couldn't make it. Currently in A&E having two frostbitten digits amputated

He can post them to "the man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Buried under snow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

******don't drive on the roads folks**************

stay at home, have sex, ****, watch TV, bake a cake, make a snowman, have a snowball fight etc etc...

but don't go on the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Caribs wrote: »
    Just heard someone from Irish water talking about leaving your attic door open to get heat into the attic space to help avoid the pipes up there freezing. We have fibreglass insulation between the ceiling and the attic but the roof itself is not insulated. Surely all you are doing to venting heat straight out of the roof by doing this. Attic space temp might come up slightly but the rest of the house will get colder or am I missing something?

It's a price that might be worth paying in some cases to prevent pipes freezing / bursting. It got to -17 where I live in the last big freeze and I was lucky I checked the attic, there was 4 inches of ice from the fitting on the water tank to the now no longer connected water main.

Buried under snow

With two fingers up though. That's important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

mad muffin wrote: »

This mornings photos

not much there, your dog paw prints say alot...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

anybody got any good cannibal recipes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

This mornings photos

Do you own a lion? Those are some big paw prints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,840 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

This mornings photos

It’s been snowing in portlaoise alright but only little bits. Yesterday there was hardly anything. Maybe a slightly stronger breeze. Wednesdays snow was far worse. Total non event

Total non event? For you personally perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Maybe news to you but theres more to the world than your Portlaoise haven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

There is no one moving in our area today. Up over the knee in spots.

IMAG0398.jpg

IMAG0397.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

I think Mother Nature decided Portlaoise was already f*cked enough without the snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭minikin

The natural cloying depression that inhabits Portlaoise was too strong for the storm to penetrate.

minikin wrote: »
    The natural cloying depression that inhabits Portlaoise was too strong for the storm to enter the area.

Seeing as it’s pretty much populated by dubs these days....

Do you own a lion? Those are some big paw prints

Here he is, looking wistfully out the front window.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Maybe news to you but theres more to the world than your Portlaoise haven.

Did I say it was a nationwide non event or something? I was simply referring to where I was living. Pretty much nothing happened yesterday. It was worse wednesday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

The Red Alert was definitely the right call.

It’s been none stop here down the road from Portlaoise.

Seeing as it’s pretty much populated by dubs these days....

The Dubs’ knowledge of electricity probably prevented it becoming an ‘event’ down there... “bloody blow ins, coming here buying houses and shopping in our shops” :)

It’s been none stop here down the road from Portlaoise.

I live on the verge of town. Had the car cleared at 12 yesterday. There’s barely 1/2” of snow on it now. And it’s in a pretty open space

Is it in a garage? 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

The telly people keep saying "Don't leave your home!".

Eh, I'm a pedestrian, so I'm relatively grand...

*(Bring it on!!)*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,548 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The telly people keep saying "Don't leave your home!".

Eh, I'm a pedestrian, so I'm relatively grand...

Grand once an out of control car doesn't hit you :pac:

Careful now, the quality of the road surface is going down hill fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭wheresmahbombs

I might have gotten a very short power cut last night, as my microwave's clock displayed 0:00 for a short period of time.

minikin wrote: »
    Is it in a garage? 😀

Yes an outdoor garage, with no walls or roof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

The giving out of some people on social media about the "let down" of snow. Same people as storm Ophelia almost. Say they wouldn't be happy unless people died.

Grand once an out of control car doesn't hit you :pac:

I was thinking that when out for a walk yesterday on a particular stretch, i turned around and went elsewhere
    I'd say any cars out in it had enough to be worrying about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

VinLieger wrote: »
    Yup a bunch of people sleeping on the streets refused to go to emergency accomodation so they were sectioned for their own safety last night.

Idiots. Then people will be complaining how the government didn't get homeless people accomodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

It’s still pelting snow in Galway with a dirty wind driving it.havent seen a car pass all morning.working tomorrow and will have to go in.wont be fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

This mornings photos

Eh...looking at your photos...are you cloven-footed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Just woke up. I think I'm snowed in going by this pic sent to me by the neighbour....

28660950_10155102984901121_2308202947713957888_o.jpg?oh=ccdd90eac80d9dd85e4ab91eb3c647b7&oe=5B0D93D5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Just back from a brisk walk beautiful morning. Time for some coffee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Went in the middle of my movie last night, gone most of the night but back just in time for me to be able to start working from home this morning.

Definitive proof that God is middle management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

@yermandan.............where are you?

Croke Park Accountants have objected to central council’s decision to postpone all games, they are now marketing tickets for GAA ON ICE this Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I havent seen anyone blaming Leo, sure he doesnt make the weather.

He didn't bring the weather of course.

But he did issue the over-the-top misplaced warning to shut the country down when it wasn't called for.

When a career politician who so carefully budgets for and manages their PR screws up so openly, you can't begrudge people their little bit of schadenfreude can you?

He is a leader for our times perhaps. An EU proxy, consulter, deferrer. But if the chips ever come down in this country a la real catastrophe, it is not the like of him you want at the wheel.