Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Severe Weather Snow / Ice Weds 28 FEB ( Onwards ) ** READ MOD NOTE POST#1**

• 28-02-2018 9:27pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,977 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

MOD NOTE

This is a busy thread and as a result the Mod Team will be taking a zero Tolerance approach to trolling, flaming and personal abuse.

Don’t say you weren’t warned!!

And please don’t feed - report & let the Mod team deal with Troublesome Posters/Trolls

Time to start a new thread as the other one reaches its capacity!

I'm sure kermit.de.frog will add a forecast and keep it updated for us.

So to kick it off a few mouth watering charts of the snow and cold potential over the coming days, stay safe.

Looking very windy going into Thurs night and look at those windchill readings!

tempresult_bhk0.gif

tempresult_dir2.gif

nmm_uk1-45-35-4_djj8.png

nmm_uk1-32-18-4_zby1.png

nmm_uk1-32-30-4_vtx3.png

nmm_uk1-43-17-4_wgd8.png

tempresult_oxn9.gif

arpegeuk-45-57-0_lkt5.png

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Biblical snowfall here in Cork the last 3 hours. With all the concentration on Storm Emma this has been overlooked.
    An immediate red is warranted

Cork was added to the red warning at 8pm per Met Eireann.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭twinkletoes

Oneiric 3 wrote: »
    Just watching the 9 news here, and I have to say the panic they are promoting is incredible. 'Stay indoors from 4pm tomorrow'. 'Dangerous blizzard' etc. Have we moved to North Korea?

We are not used to blizzards in this country but as far as I know they are extremely dangerous to be out in as you literally can't see a thing and could easily get lost/hurt/in serious accident etc- they are right to warn people - its actually genuinely serious.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,718 Mod ✭✭✭✭star gazer

Biblical snowfall here in Cork the last 3 hours. With all the concentration on Storm Emma this has been overlooked.
    An immediate red is warranted
    Warnings
    STATUS RED

Snow-ice Warning for Dublin, Kildare, Louth, Wexford, Wicklow, Meath, Cork and Waterford

Update
    Further disruptive heavy snow showers are expected overnight with significant accumulations.
    Issued:
    Wednesday 28 February 2018 20:00
    Valid:
    Wednesday 28 February 2018 20:00 to Thursday 01 March 2018 12:00

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Looking good for the return of the beast to south Dublin!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

awww poor pascal being made do a live report out in that freezing cold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

New thread? Sweet :) We've had snow fairly consistently in Kilcock since before 6pm now

poor pascal being made do a weather report out in that freezing cold

How does Pascal in Cork not know that Cork has been put in a red warning since 8pm tonight?!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

New thread hype! Netweather showing quite a few heavy bands of snow heading towards cork city. This is great!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Just watching Pascal live on RTÉ News - the real capital covered in snow looks spectacular :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭Saganist

South Dublin could be up in the next half hour / hour.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Tenner bet this new thread is going to cause 20 minutes of confusion :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,748 ✭✭✭degsie

Full moon out, looking good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

DOCARCH wrote: »

Beautifully specific

May north dublin bathe in a drizzly gloom for the rest of time

• Registered Users Posts: 847 ✭✭✭wicklowdub

Streamers finally setting up nicely for Wicklow/South Dublin in the next hour or so

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭nimrod86

Finally! Migrated from Wicklow this morning to family in Sandyford to hopefully get more snow! Got to play in the stuff from last night, but need more for an igloo!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

What are those feckin flying yokes on the weather supposed to be?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Absolutely hammering it down in East Galway, that streamer all the way from Wales has really delivered here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭thomil

Speaking of cold. Snowing pretty nicely again out here in Ballincollig. Temperature now -2.6°C, with a dew point of -4°C. And that big blob on the radar has yet to reach us.

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Looks like Cork City is about to be hammered:

2695fad0b17afa34d4ceee5f56773d66.png

Irish Sea lighting up like a christmas tree again:

526ddb922c5b5a3cc327060deac1d307.png

Hang on to your snowmen!

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭AAAAAAAAA

antodeco wrote: »
    Tenner bet this new thread is going to cause 20 minutes of confusion :D

we bet loaves of bread round these parts

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Stephen Hawkins football boots

Great, Dundrum- sandyford or is that too specific

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Been waiting for this shower in South Dublin for sooooo long... think I'll have a nice bubble bath instead while listening to The Blizzards.

Slight downgrade on the update after the 9.00pm news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

This can be the #StormEmma Blizzard thread!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Hi Mod, will there be a link to the former thread, some great pics and info there. Hope you don't mind me asking as that is all I am doing!

nmm_uk1-32-18-4_zby1.png

Jaysus. -78 in Kerry!

So how long will it be before the usual suspects blame the government for this coming events?

Its already started.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

wicklowdub wrote: »
    Slight downgrade on the update after the 9.00pm news?

None at all , all systems go

Thursday 28th???

Wednesday 28th or Thursday 1st Surely!

sdanseo wrote: »
    Looks like Cork City is about to be hammered:

Irish Sea lighting up like a christmas tree again:

Hang on to your snowmen!

I hope I have put enough snow around mine to keep it standing! Back to lamppost watching it is!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

a snizzle shower here now, first one since 5pm.

Radar is looking promising for South Meath to get hopefully a decent snow shower later.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,716 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Bones of a foot of snow, third powercut in two days. Clonakilty, Cork. Snow here is very fluffy not easy to build a snowman

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

Wicklow waits for the beast. All we've gotten so far is wind

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Hi Mod, will there be a link to the former thread, some great pics and info there. Hope you don't mind me asking as that is all I am doing!

It will always be there.

At the end of this event we will merge or link all the threads.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,948 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Jesus the footpaths in Bray and probably everywhere else are absolutely lethal, pure ice rinks where its been compacted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

Waiting for the Beast to hit Naas again

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Thargor wrote: »
    Jesus the footpaths in Bray and probably everywhere else are absolutely lethal, pure ice rinks where its been compacted.

It's like an ice rink around the boghall

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭grenouille1966

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Bones of a foot of snow, third powercut in two days. Clonakilty, Cork. Snow here is very fluffy not easy to build a snowman

Good stuff! Normally south Cork gets nothing as it is too mild. Most unusual to have snow down there.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,954 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Orange warning reaching a far as Galway now! Is that for wind or snow associated with Emma?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

DeafeningUnhappyGhostshrimp-max-1mb.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

The 4th graphic in the OP looks like bantry is goin to be -78 :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭adox

Still all quite hear in Rush North County Dublin(apart from the howling wind). Haven’t had any snowfall in hours.

Everything seems to be hitting slightly south of us(although we did get a hammering here overnight).

Another huge shower in Cork City. The wind picks up in the showers and it's real blizzard conditions. The city will be totally shut down in the morning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

-2 in Sherkin but only rain. Poor langers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

Thargor wrote:

Walked to work today because the roads in the estate were like an ice rink. It was fine early on when the snow was fresh but on the way home through the town it was so dangerous. Probably safer in the car!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

The small amount of snow we did have has blown away lol
    Fukin first world problem
    North wex

I bought yak-trax last week and I would highly recommend them.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,474 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

i got a pair of those grips you can get for shoes, worth every penny, can basically ignore the ice effect

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Wind really picked up here , snow has stopped though at present!

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭MiaMaria

As this thread and the Tech threads are the most popular threads,could i be cheeky and ask people to pop over to the Essential preparation thread and have a look at my last post.Asking advice for frozen gas bottle..Thanks

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,977 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭miseagustusa

Arklow
    the town with no BREAD, MILK OR SNOW 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Any snow in Galway?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Zambian wrote: »
    As this thread and the Tech threads are the most popular threads,could i be cheeky and ask people to pop over to the Essential preparation thread and have a look at my last post.Asking advice for frozen gas bottle..Thanks

Heating and plumbing might be the best for you ?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,533 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Arklow
    the town with no BREAD, MILK OR SNOW ��������������

At least bread will be on special offer on Saturday

• Registered Users Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

That wind out there now, Jesus. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭MidMan25

Need to drive home from Kilkenny City to Cork City tomorrow morning. Debating whether to take the M9 or M8!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Brae100

At this point, looking at the latest runs, you'd have to really question the Eagle's forecast on TV3 on Monday. He said that this was all hype and that it would wash away by the weekend. He gave that forecast as pretty much written in stone. Didn't mention any possibility of the now likely outcomes. Very unprofessional. I wonder if there is a bit of a power struggle going on in Glasnevin and if the wimmins were getting too big for their boots? Evelyn, Johanna and Michelle have been very bullish about this outcome and they look like being proven correct.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭MiaMaria

Heating and plumbing might be the best for you ?
    Thanks didn't even think of that.

Visibility just dropped massively in cork, can see a lot of snow drifts too with the wind strengthing. This is gonna be a heavy shower me thinks.

yikes the east coast is gonna get hammered tonight

If south Dublin doesn't get one almighty dump from that big blob incoming it will be unbelievable (using technical terms there)

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭Jollyman

Zambian wrote: »

Kettle of boiling hot water over the hose pipe and cylinder and valve should free it right up

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭sean555

downwesht wrote: »
    Any snow in Galway?
    Plenty of showers all evening, none really that heavy but not too bad, one of the heaviest all day just started.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,178 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Any snow in Galway?

Nice little dusting east side of the city. A fair bit more in the easy of the county.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

d'Oracle wrote: »
    I bought yak-trax last week and I would highly recommend them.

Had them in 2010. They were brilliant. I used them to walk the 5km into work, didn't even have to slow down.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

fritzelly wrote: »
    If south Dublin doesn't get one almighty dump from that big blob incoming it will be unbelievable (using technical terms there)

Pray for south Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Daniel2590

Here we go in the next ~45 minutes!

7GuArzx.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

Brae100 wrote: »
    you'd have to really question the Eagle's forecast on TV3 on Monday.

I've heard the name a bit recently, but who's 'the Eagle'?

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭sumtings

Will there technically be no Met Eireann warning for Dublin tomorrow from 12:00 to 16:00?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,192 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

MidMan25 wrote: »
    Need to drive home from Kilkenny City to Cork City tomorrow morning. Debating whether to take the M9 or M8!?

Best wait for the morning reports, its impossible to tell right now which will get hit worse. But have it behind you by 1pm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Any snow in Galway?

Only a bit. Fine misty stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

id take the M0 if i were you

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,977 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

-2.8C in Tralee

temp_uk_wnq7.png

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Best wait for the morning reports, its impossible to tell right now which will get hit worse. But have it behind you by 1pm.

Currently thinking M8 as the N25 from Waterford to Cork is very hilly and both counties with a red warning now. Tipp and North Cork seemed to have gotten off lightly so far.

gi32n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 24,192 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Achasanai wrote: »
    I've heard the name a bit recently, but who's 'the Eagle'?

John Eagleton, a senior forecaster in Met Eireann that used to present on TV and radio, but hasnt for some time. Cool as a cucumber and conservative by nature.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭ellieh1

Daniel2590 wrote:

What map is that?

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭P.lane78

Jeez bad conditions in cork city now ... blizzard conditions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭q85dw7osi4lebg

Coming down heavy at coastal Meath. Finally!

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭grenouille1966

South Dublin has been getting snow today but not all parts perhaps. These new streamers have to hit all of South Dublin. The North side of Dublin and the CC has been pulverised.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

I bought yak-trax last week

Apt username

ellieh1 wrote: »
    What map is that?

https://www.netweather.tv/live-weather/radar

Put Weather Type On and enjoy the fuzziness of watching hell approach you

https://www.netweather.tv/live-weather/radar

Put Weather Type On and enjoy the fuzziness of watching hell approach you

Also enjoy wasting your life away staring at it in hope of a streamer coming for you :o:o

• Registered Users Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Coming down heavy at coastal Meath. Finally!

Its been like that all day here, and its still coming down, im around Rathkenny, near slane

• Registered Users Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

The M8 is the only logical option.

It's really hotting up over the Irish Sea or should I say cooling down

South Dublin has been getting snow today but not all parts perhaps. These new streamers have to hit all of South Dublin. The North side of Dublin and the CC has been pulverised.

I'll never forget your post from the other day predicting Cork will get no snow "Too mild and too far south" :pac: I remember reading it at the time and thinking this person is going to be so wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Rougies

Daniel2590 wrote: »

Looks good for Dun Laoghaire to Bray. Plenty of stuff coming behind it, everywhere north of Wicklow town is in the running really.

colm18 wrote: »
    Apt username

Saturday like!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭AllForIt

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    poor pascal being made do a weather report out in that freezing cold
    I thought the RTE mic covered in snow was cute.

g7mcvzid.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3 licklelee5

My only use of boards up until recently has been to look for dominos pizza codes!!
    Have been following this thread since last week. Decided to register this evening!

Thanks to boards and the posters I was able to stock up on essentials and had everything in place for the kids to enjoy the weather.

We lasted outdoors for a good bit today before little hands got too numb!

In South Dublin and our estate is lethal out there this evening, iced up. Kids snowman still going strong!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Lucreto

Christmas FM will be back on tomorrow with weather updates and snow and Winter songs

• Registered Users Posts: 3,853 ✭✭✭Pentecost

I’m in south side of the city (Kimmage) and we’ve been getting a bit on and off on top of last night’s dump, a few heavy showers but nothing really spectacular. Hopefully that’ll come at some stage.

AllForIt wrote: »
    I thought the RTE mic covered in snow was cute.

g7mcvzid.jpg

yeah, nice touch

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Kingrosie

For the rest of the week.

So storm Emma won’t be as bad as this evening?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭John.Icy

The radar returns on the activity down in Cork is mighty impressive. More intense than anything incoming in the East. Could be serious accumulations by morning - one poster already has nearly a foot in Clonakilty already??

Think the incoming new stuff for Dublin will slide just to my south. Had plenty of snow this evening but still only around 10-15cm...so far!! More to come I'm sure.

Work cancelled, beers out movie on blinds up , ready to stay up all night watching these streamers hit Dublin
    Life is good 😎

Coming down hard in Ballincollig now. It's unusually bright outside...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Ffarrell is back it seems

South Dublin are you ready? Its starting!

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Aruba08

Nothing in Waterford city for hours now

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭Deaf student

bit blizzard conditions now in Cork City. It's piling up and accumulating snow. Wind chill factor got v cold much colder than yesterday.

Really coming down in bishopstown cork city now visibility is at about 700m or less I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

I've just watched the BBC News 24 forecast at 2155 and the further outlook for next week is rather vague as you would expect but it finished with
    "... the beast from the east is in no hurry to go home"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭patneve2

Coming down well now...finally

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Really coming down in bishopstown cork city now visibility is at about 700m or less I'd say.

It's unreal and being blown in every direction.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

View from space today,

DXJ5BHKWsAA_hie.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

Rougies wrote: »
    Looks good for Dun Laoghaire to Bray. Plenty of stuff coming behind it, everywhere north of Wicklow town is in the running really.

Arrrggghhh

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,421 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

N76/N24/M8 or N77/M8

M9 is a bad option because of snow on N25 both sides of Dungarvan

• Registered Users Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭scarepanda

My apologies if this has been asked already/is a stupid question, but, with storm Emma, what are we to expect wind wise? Is it normal storm winds with snow added into the mix? Or will the snow affect the wind?

I'm in south Roscommon and it's pelting down the last 20 minutes!

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Lepidoptera

What has caused the change in conditions from the predictions earlier about the blizzard like snow tomorrow?

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭brookers

For the rest of the week.

huh!! met eireann saying dublin going to get plastered....

Heavy falls of snow in cork city, Living on College road. Blizzard like at times.

Can barely see the Cork area names it's that covered on the snow map lol

7qZ0ecg.jpg

Same in Arklow

• Registered Users Posts: 27,340 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Starting in Shankill, first we’ve seen on falling snow since the early morning. There was a good thaw on the roads but they look lethal now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Colser wrote: »
    It's unreal and being blown in every direction.

Absolutely nuts outside now ( Cork City Southside ) -4.9 and dropping !

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Juppie

Pelting down in Trim. Finally! Thank you streamers.

scarepanda wrote: »
    My apologies if this has been asked already/is a stupid question, but, with storm Emma, what are we to expect wind wise? Is it normal storm winds with snow added into the mix? Or will the snow affect the wind?

I'm in south Roscommon and it's pelting down the last 20 minutes!

I think wind blown snow is the general effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

On the local radio down here, emergency services enroute to Portarlington. 2 brass monkeys in a bad way it seems. Sever frost #theworst and Artic wind (they'd been thumbing).

Apologies for me spelling. I used to work for RTE

patneve2 wrote: »
    Coming down well now...finally

Where?

Blowing a gale here (East Meath). Heavy graupel shower just now. Layer upon layer of graupel today but it's all piling up.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,672 ✭✭✭Speak Now

In Waterford myself but great to see Cork getting hammered off an Easterly.

Stargate wrote: »
    Absolutely nuts outside now ( Cork City Southside ) -4.9 and dropping !

Is it -8 that it will drop to tonight?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

What has caused the change in conditions from the predictions earlier about the blizzard like snow tomorrow?

What?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,032 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

443557.JPG

Snow on the bin outside the back door in cork city.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭teddybones

Arklow
    the town with no BREAD, MILK OR SNOW 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

Wicklow is the same. The angst on social media would put me off weather watching. However i will persevere as i see a streamer making its way towards me on the radar...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Skedaddle

There's been a serious sump of snow over Cork City in the last while. My street is now officially inaccessible to cars the road has about 1ft of snow on the surface.

Streamer has finally arrived in D18! :D

marno21 wrote: »
    N76/N24/M8 or N77/M8

M9 is a bad option because of snow on N25 both sides of Dungarvan

Why would anyone ever take the M9 to Cork from Kilkenny? It's nowhere near the most direct. Clonmel route isn't great either. Go to Urlingford via Freshford and take the M8. When the roads are clear it's just under 2 hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

7GuArzx.png

Can you explain that to a weather rookie?

Actually looking out it's started again

Itssoeasy wrote: »

Is that Cork in Australia? Very unusual for snow

• Registered Users Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

I don't understand how I'm getting away so lightly (so far). I'm 15k north of Cork city and 200m above sea level. We'd get snow a couple of times a year when the city would be bone dry.

Irish sea very much alive..perfect conditions bar the wind

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Lepidoptera

BLIZZARD7 wrote: »
    What?

I originally posted that in the technical thread but it was moved here. A knowledgeable poster is saying that we've seen the last of the intense showers for the rest of the week and I was curious what has caused the sudden change in weather conditions.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,269 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Very very light in bray but hopefully a sign of things to come

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

teddybones wrote: »
    Wicklow is the same. The angst on social media would put me off weather watching. However i will persevere as i see a streamer making its way towards me on the radar...
    It's pretty bizarre . Nothing , the whole day has been sitting around waiting and..... Nothing. So maybe In the next 24hours

443557.JPG

On the underside? 'mazeballs

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭Halpenny

443557.JPG

What hemisphere you in ? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭moneymad

Thunder and lightning in cobh along with heavy snow

Bit of dusty stuff falling in Sandyford village area.

Chrongen wrote: »

7GuArzx.png

Pink is snow

A fog of light snow in Dublin 16 now. Windy too!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,181 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Nice heavy shower had made it all the way across Ireland and was about 20km away from West Clare, when it just died a very sudden death.

The joys of this weather :)

Still a scattered accumulation, the wind here has removed alot of cover from some areas and deposited it in other areas, so depths are all over the place, ranging from 6cm to near nothing. Still alot more than I expected!

Currently -3.4c now and no more drifting because everything's absoultely frozen solid.

Irish Sea also looking very tasty for the next while, looks like a snow train heading straight for Cabinteely / Loughlinstown / Bray!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

8 miles outside Cork City, very heavy snow. Can’t imagine what it’s going to be like in the Morning.

Oh she be looking lively

443559.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Heckler

absolutely covered here in cork (the Lough). Looks beautiful and no work till monday because of it !

PaulKK wrote: »
    Why would anyone ever take the M9 to Cork from Kilkenny? It's nowhere near the most direct. Clonmel route isn't great either. Go to Urlingford via Freshford and take the M8. When the roads are clear it's just under 2 hours.

I live in East Cork so it's much of a muchness which route I take. U'd be sick of the M8 anyway driving on it all the time to Dubin!

I considered it but would the R693 not be a bit risky?

I don't understand how I'm getting away so lightly (so far). I'm 15k north of Cork city and 200m above sea level. We'd get snow a couple of times a year when the city would be bone dry.

You'll likely get some later on by the looks of the systems off the coast.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,760 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Going to bed.* Still nothing fresh doing in Firhouse.

*For another night of sleeping with my blinds tipped and one eye open.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭bosco12345

Remarkable times, probably will not see the likes of this weather for another couple of decades. Jealous of you cork folk right now. Here in east Cavan last snow shower half an hour ago dumped another few cm' s. About 4-5 inches of a blanket. Currently -5, brrrrrrrr stay safe people!

We asked for snow in cork and we are getting it! Car just drove into my estate and the back wheens stopped turning all together only front driving. Crazy that epolle are still attempting to drive right now!

Chrongen wrote: »

Shows bands of precipitation (snow) forming over the Irish Sea and heading towards Dublin, deeper red/pink means more intense.

brookers wrote: »
    huh!! met eireann saying dublin going to get plastered....

He's only talking about Irish Sea showers, tomorrow afternoon onwards is a frontal event and won't be effected by the decrease in Irish Sea convective potential

I heard somebody say the steamer was good for dub laoghaire to Wicklow, does that mean Dublin areas like rathmines rathgar milltown willl miss it ? Thought the streamer looked like it'd hit me :(

• Administrators Posts: 53,848 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Streamer has finally arrived in D18! :D
    Still nothing at all in the racecourse area. :(

Bit of dusty stuff falling in Sandyford village area.

Still a big lot incoming but a few hours away if it maintains

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭R.F.

Is there something wrong with Gorey. Every one of these maps have that red ****e going over and under it. What about us?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

Bucketing is an understatement on what's happening in Cork City now. Holy god

Just looked at the radar. Are those showers dying out on the way over towards South Dublin and North Wicklow

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭Pangea

Hows things looking for South Donegal lads?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

That real feel!

Smart_Select_Image_2018_02_28_22_17_51.png

Lightening in Cork City.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭Aimsir

thunder in cork city couth now

• Registered Users Posts: 22,427 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Almost -5 outside ennis now and getting windy, but there's no snow to blow around.
    Hopefully we'll get a few cms by morning.

Edit: just had to change the audio, youtube thought the camera recorded quality was too good! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Goose81

Nothing in blackrock , Dublin. According to the live map it should be half way across south Dublin now

Delighted for Cork, they were well overdue a good pasting!

awec wrote: »
    Still nothing at all in the racecourse area. :(

Jesus it's very localised then, I'm by Cabinteely park, so only <2km away?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Thunder now in East Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭bosco12345

Message to cork people, post up a few pictures please want to see this madness :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,189 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

One of the guys on the tech thread says that's the last of the heavy stuff for the week. Hope he's wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

wakka12 wrote: »
    I heard somebody say the steamer was good for dub laoghaire to Wicklow, does that mean Dublin areas like rathmines rathgar milltown willl miss it ? Thought the streamer looked like it'd hit me :(

Yes looks like ye will be lucky and get away with it. Seems more southerly than were you are

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭jdcv94

I've just noticed Wexford has been being upgraded to Red alert for overnight snow/ice. Does ME see something I don't? There's literally no streamer action south of Angelsey in the Irish sea on their radar.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Just went out for a stroll around in Santry after it calmed down. Hadn't been watching outside much today but this evening when there was a blizzard, it didn't drop much snow, just enough to cover the footpaths which was kinda disappointing but ah well, more to come tonight and tomorrow!

Just looked at the radar. Are those showers dying out on the way over towards South Dublin and North Wicklow

Yep

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭jarvis

I heard there’s lots of Steamers in Rathgar 🀣😂🀣

#Typo
    #ShamelessPostToFollowThread

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

Flash of lightning and rumble of thunder in Douglas, cork

Skedaddle wrote: »
    Lightening in Cork City.
    You added the critical 'e' there...

It's pretty bizarre . Nothing , the whole day has been sitting around waiting and..... Nothing. So maybe In the next 24hours

The wind just wasnt blowing in the right direction for us and we had the Anglesey shadow i think. Shockingly disappointed after following for.weeks. i sent my first excited email to my friend on 6th of february. Ah well hopefully emma will provide tomorrow night.

I live in East Cork so it's much of a muchness which route I take. U'd be sick of the M8 anyway driving on it all the time to Dubin!

I considered it but would the R693 not be a bit risky?

Ok, the original question was to Cork city.

R693 is fine. I travelled that road for quite a few years going up and down to Cork. With clear roads you would be in Urlingford in 20-25 min from Kilkenny easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭pad199207

Naas in the clear at the moment. That wind is very strong. Blowing Snow affecting visibility

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Hyblaeus

I can’t believe I finally hear THUNDERSNOW :D (In Douglas Cork)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭bloopy

One of the posters in the technical thread mentioned that the heavy snow is finished for the week. Has Storm Emma changed or is the poster mistaken?

• Registered Users Posts: 5 LongfordSligo

😡😡 sitting here in Enniscrone (West Sligo)... no snow here

No I think it's Belfast radar acting up, the view being impeded by the showers in between. Netweather radar doesn't use the Dublin radar, well the free version at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

My apartment is ‘fresh’ at the best of times to say the least! I know it’s really cold when I come home and it’s warmer inside than outside! :)

Goose81 wrote: »
    Nothing in blackrock , Dublin. According to the live map it should be half way across south Dublin now

Somehow it feels like south east Dublin is the worst place to be in the main snow zone during this spell , I still haven't witnessed heavy snow ! It happened while I was asleep last night but that's it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

Lots of thunder in Cobh, Co. Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

Kiith wrote: »
    One of the guys on the tech thread says that's the last of the heavy stuff for the week. Hope he's wrong.

Yet most semistate businesses are closing shop tomorrow and Friday

Snowy fog here dalkey..tiny flakes moderate intensity

Kiith wrote: »

That makes no sense for him to say that, if tomorrow is red alert

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Daz9718

So cold in rathfarnham, temperature -4.3 and it's just partly cloudy , come on steamers , the Irish sea always seems to come to life after midnight

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭NeonCookies

Kiith wrote:

He means in terms of the streamers coming from the Irish sea which is where our snow has been coming from so far. Nothing to do with the frontal event being caused by Storm Emma starting tomorrow afternoon - large snow amounts and dangerous conditions still very much on from this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

My street in Turners Cross Cork is now completely unaccessable to cars. Im 28 and living in Cork City all my life and can only remember a proper snow maybe twice in my life, but this blows it completely out of the water, fierce exciting altoghether biy.

northgirl wrote: »
    Lots of thunder in Cobh, Co. Cork.

And Passage..unreal😱

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭aidanodr

https://twitter.com/CorkSafetyAlert/status/968972257660940288

And I can vouch for this ..

Man we are getting EVERYTHING

I wonder did we get upgraded to RED from tonight because Emma is rolling in faster than thought??

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭sean555

That makes no sense for him to say that, if tomorrow is red alert
    He meant the last of the heavy streamers for now, nothing to do with the red warning for tomorrow afternoon.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

There will be light showers nationwide tonight. Tomorrow morning there will be a lull but showers will pep up before the 4pm event, where things turn up to 11

Somehow it feels like south east Dublin is the worst place to be in the main snow zone during this spell , I still haven't witnessed heavy snow ! It happened while I was asleep last night but that's it

We got a serious snow overnight but i thought Kildare and others were hit worse?

Watching the dog in snow for the first time realising he could eat snow and then getting brain freezes was the highlight

Has I missed a joke with my picture of the bin ?

Proper white out..crazy

aidanodr wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/CorkSafetyAlert/status/968972257660940288

And I can vouch for this ..

Man we are getting EVERYTHING

I wonder did we get upgraded to RED from tonight because Emma is rolling in faster than thought??

No

Oh she be looking lively

Oh please god let the Wicklow Town snow famine be nearing its end. The inlaws are driving me mad with their gloominess. They all bought sledges.

Omg I'm so jealous of cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭aurora 527

Heavy snow shower in Waterford and wind picking up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Been living in this part of North Offaly near Clara for twenty years, no question the most snow we've had. December 2000 was epic, a polar low, but this is a different level. I cannot believe we will have a repeat tomorrow evening. Nature doesn't work like that...

Less than 2 hours of meteorological winter left and every single ME station below freezing from Malin at -1 to Knock at -5.
    Now that's what I call winter going out in style!
    In like a lion, out like a lamb...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Calibos

No thats a radar glitch. That said, it should be over us right about now though and I don't hear anything on my attic bedroom roof or Velux yet.

I'm feeling very pessimistic myself at the moment. I've a bad feeling about Emma too. :(

bosco12345 wrote: »
    Message to cork people, post up a few pictures please want to see this madness :)

Ha!!! We about 25 miles north of Cork city and there is absolutely no snow...

Wanted upload pictures of Cork City from my mobile but it doesn't seem to work in Boards- advice pls?

Thanks.

CHealy wrote: »
    My street in Turners Cross Cork is now completely unaccessable to cars. Im 28 and living in Cork City all my life and can only remember a proper snow maybe twice in my life, but this blows it completely out of the water, fierce exciting altoghether biy.

I've a decade on you and have never seen anything like it. And all in two hour long bursts from about 6-7 and now in the last hour. The combination of the cold and the intensity of the wind and snow makes it amazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I'm in Dublin 12 and hasn't been much going on tonight :( showers seem to be moving north and south of us. Have been in bed for the last hour cos I'm wrecked, but I keep checking this thread and then getting up to look out the window >.< working from home tomorrow (and have actual work to do and have to be logged in from 9am) but wish I could stay up all night!!

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Daz9718

Omg I'm so jealous of cork.

Same but hopefully Dublin gets some soon

Calibos wrote: »
    No thats a radar glitch. That said, it should be over us right about now though and I don't hear anything on my attic bedroom roof or Velux yet.

I'm feeling very pessimistic myself at the moment. I've a bad feeling about Emma too. :(

I have a good feeling about Emma. Met seem to be very bullish about it

• Registered Users Posts: 14,287 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Reports of thunder in Cork, can’t say I’ve heard it myself

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭now online

It's like a scene from the day after tomorrow here in cork. Loud clap of thunder, followed by lightning. I can barely make out the lampost viability is so bad. I've never seen anything like this.

Consistant but light snow here now (the Lough).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Rochestown, Cork now...

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Light snow in Firhouse ATM.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

Just to clarify, in the tech thread I said that we're past the heaviest of the showers. We should see a gradual decline in intensity in the next few hours. This is separate to Emma, which will be a dynamic-snow event, not relying on sea convection.

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

CHealy wrote: »

What will it be like by Friday?

Could be very serious at that stage.

The upside down pic?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

We asked for snow in cork and we are getting it! Car just drove into my estate and the back wheens stopped turning all together only front driving. Crazy that epolle are still attempting to drive right now!

Few beers down :p

Wanted upload pictures of Cork City from my mobile but it doesn't seem to work in Boards- advice pls?

Thanks.

Try using imgur and link it here.

now online wrote: »
    It's like a scene from the day after tomorrow here in cork. Loud clap of thunder, followed by lightning. I can barely make out the lampost viability is so bad. I've never seen anything like this.

Whereabouts ? heard no thunder ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Gee_G

It's upside down! :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,998 ✭✭✭xabi

Cork City getting pasted, thunder and lightning too.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭easyvision

seems very light tho

bloopy wrote: »
    One of the posters in the technical thread mentioned that the heavy snow is finished for the week. Has Storm Emma changed or is the poster mistaken?

He said heavy intensity streamer snow would be finished .......

Just to clarify, in the tech thread I said that we're past the heaviest of the showers. We should see a gradual decline in intensity in the next few hours. This is separate to Emma, which will a dynamic-snow event, not relying on sea convection.

Oh sweet jesus

you had me there for about 5mins

In all my 34 years living in cork I've never seen snow like this 😲

• Registered Users Posts: 18,302 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Thunder & lightning. East Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

You turned the joke on its head

• Registered Users Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Been living in this part of North Offaly near Clara for twenty years, no question the most snow we've had. December 2000 was epic, a polar low, but this is a different level. I cannot believe we will have a repeat tomorrow evening. Nature doesn't work like that...

I'm in Kilbeggan and I was expecting more. Only a few inches on the ground here outside the house

irishfeen wrote: »
    Ha!!! We about 25 miles north of Cork city and there is absolutely no snow...

It's crazy! Can see it on the radar and we're just on the edge of it. Hopefully tomorrow we see some snow chaos.

Give me a sec will post up one or two

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭FastFullBack

This snow is coming from the east whereas most normal weather fronts come from the west. Take a look at this https://www.netweather.tv/live-weather/radar and see the weather fronts coming in along from Waterford. This is what’s hitting Cork. Mainly south coast; Yoghual, Midleton, Garryvoe, Carrigaline, Kinsale, Clonakilty all probably getting the worse, which is never the norm for snow in Cork. It’s usually northwest Cork that gets the most

Roads all white again. Light intensity now

adam240610 wrote: »
    Not good news for north Wicklow and south Dublin then, just as a few are slowly lining up from Wales now. What kind of reduction are we talking about?

When you say not good news do you mean they will get no snow or loads of sbow in South Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

leahyl wrote: »

Hearing it over the last 45 mins due south of me down towards the coast. Midleton area.

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭harvester of sorrow

Living near Fermoy, and no snow all day.
    Didn't even need to defrost the car this morning.

I was looking forward to some snow. :-/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,853 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Coming down again in D6w but nothing major. Might pick up maybe.

And it’s stopped again..

Yip heard and seen in Carrigaline, Crosshaven, Myrtleville, Monkstown, Blackrock

Is their anything more we can get at this stage ... Its pumilling down snow too and winds in Carrigaline

At this rate and after yesterday, last night, today and tonight they will have to do an archaeological dig to find the town :D

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭kerrycork13

Heckler wrote: »
    absolutely covered here in cork (the Lough). Looks beautiful and no work till monday because of it !

Pictures from cork please

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭now online

Whereabouts ? heard no thunder ?

Sorry! Douglas. I just opened the blinds to look out again and the whole sky lit up

My God looking at the netweather radar it looks like there is even more to come in cork. I'll be up all night!

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭Steopo

Snow Lovers Winter Olympics

Streamer Irish Sea Dash: as expected the Eastern counties have dominated this event with strong showing so far from Dublin, Meath & Kildare but Cork are putting in a very late charge and could cause a surprise. Kildare & Dublin still look favourites to fight it out for the gold.

Emma blitz: the main event that everyone is looking forward to starts tomorrow evening with a real battle between Cork, Waterford, Wexford, Carlow, Kilkenny, Dublin, Kildare but every county in Munster & Leinster will fancy their chances. This could be the battle of the decade and could be a few records broken with this one providing some last minute jitters don't result in a complete flop which we know has happened before

Technical marathon - final event will start on late Fri/Sat and could be over very quickly or go on for a number of days. Very difficult to pick any winners for this as there's no previous form but the North & North west who dominated pre-qualifying over the winter might still have a surprise in store as they'll be disappointed with their showing so far

Note: Once again Wicklow have been disqualified from all events for breaching the >250asl limit

Roads all white again. Light intensity now

Had one brief burst of huge graupel and snow here (under 5 mins) now back to just the odd flake...

Cork the snow capital of Ireland, would you ever

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

I've just watched the BBC News 24 forecast at 2155 and the further outlook for next week is rather vague as you would expect but it finished with
    "... the beast from the east is in no hurry to go home"

Blame Putin

The snow in cork,is that early start of Emma? Or part of the easterly

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭snowstorm445

Peeps in Cork, put up pictures! Need to see what the place looks like! :D

largepants wrote: »
    Hearing it over the last 45 mins due south of me down towards the coast. Midleton area.

Nothing here. I'd rather thunder than snow. And I used to live in Midelton. Thunder is awesome ! Swap ya.

Visibility <200m in D18 with blowing grauple

Living near Fermoy, and no snow all day.
    Didn't even need to defrost the car this morning.

I was looking forward to some snow. :-/

You'll see plenty tomorrow!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭jo06555

How has none of that landed in Waterford city it looked like it passed right over us

Alright who found the snow shield generator and where is there an incinerator for is to burn it?

My daughter lives in Cork city. She is over the moon. Wicklow was to get plastered and nothing and she is basking in a winter wonderland and very happy to have outdone her ma in the snowstakes. And tbh i am delighted for all ye Cork people. The snowshield died a slow and arduous death and not before time!

Much more consistent and heavy here tonight than last night ( East Meath)

Part of the easterly streamers

Yip heard and seen in Carrigaline, Crosshaven, Myrtleville, Monkstown, Blackrock

Is their anything more we can get at this stage ... Its pumilling down snow too and winds in Carrigaline

At this rate and after yesterday, last night, today and tonight they will have to do an archaeological dig to find the town :D
    I've never seen anything like this...if Carlsberg did snow 😀

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Snow, Co. Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭MrDerp

Cork city! Never thought I’d see this kind of snow here

iaiPFx

• Registered Users Posts: 2,998 ✭✭✭xabi

Blackrock Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

Nothing here. I'd rather thunder than snow. And I used to live in Midelton. Thunder is awesome ! Swap ya.

I have both.:P

The upside down pic?

Oh right it was right way up when I posted it.

Had one brief burst of huge graupel and snow here (under 5 mins) now back to just the odd flake...

Decent intensity here. Already accumulated a cm. Tiny flakes

Lots up on twitter .. search cork snow pic

https://twitter.com/cork_daily/status/968975577993670656

https://twitter.com/CecileMLeblanc/status/968975838510223360

I learned a new word grauple!

My iPhone dictionary doesn’t even know it!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭FastFullBack

I think it’s still the easterly.

If I hadn't slid into a wall and written off my car this morning I'd be happier about this snow event. Now snowed in. Will post some pics tomorrow :)

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Aruba08

jo06555 wrote: »
    How has none of that landed in Waterford city it looked like it passed right over us

stuck to the window here and nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭Panrich

We've had nothing to speak of in Trim :(

• Registered Users Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Snowing again here in meath, no let up all day, constant streamers, has to be over a foot now since last night

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

Try_harder wrote: »
    I learned a new word graupel!

Me too

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Sky News just reported that this is the first time they have ever issued a red warning for snow.

Not sure how reliable that gem is, but if true, makes this exceptional.

Oh she be looking lively

443559.jpg
    Again Arklow misses out 😭

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭Steopo

Holy ****, you can barely stand outside in Donabate. Wind, snow & cold would cut you in half

adam240610 wrote: »
    Not good news for north Wicklow and south Dublin then, just as a few are slowly lining up from Wales now. What kind of reduction are we talking about?

When you say not good news for south Dublin do you mean we will get more or less snow than expected?

If I hadn't slid into a wall and written off my car this morning
    Women drivers :rolleyes::p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

Really? Where are you. Haven't seen so much as a snowflake in Bettystown for the last 8 hours :(

sdanseo wrote: »
    Sky News just reported that this is the first time they have ever issued a red warning for snow.

Not sure how reliable that gem is, but if true, makes this exceptional.

They said earlier the last time was 5 years ago they issued one

Visibility <200m in D18 with blowing grauple

For the first time today we've had it continuous for more than 2 minutes! Lying snow is blowing everywhere now

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Big blizzard in Thurles just now topped up the bit that melted in the sun earlier . Very cold.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,427 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Has there been a serious downgrade since the 12z runs?

It's been a rollercoaster with mad swings every 6 hours. I don't know what to expect for tomorrow anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭otherfrog

Looking online, it appears that there's a mass of lightning associated with the Storm Emma system off Portugal at the moment - will that continue when it hits us tomorrow evening?

Combined with snow and high winds, potential for disruption to electrical grid.

I think it’s still the easterly.

If that's the case then when Emma(named by the Portuguese met) does arrive. We will never leave the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭moneymad

Looking at the lighting out the window, ESB truck drove into my estate , lights flashing, he looked out his door window and Shone his torch up at me. Turned around and drives away.
    Hilarious

• Registered Users Posts: 27,340 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Absolutely whoring it down in Shankill now, makes up for a sunny day today really.

Time for a hot whiskey and some Call Of Duty.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭lobbylad

Starting to come down now here in Glenageary/Dun Laoghaire.

Wife in Rome, due back on the 19.45 from FCO tomorrow night, now cancelled. So booked her on the 11.15 in the morning instead.

Either, it gets cancelled (and next seat out of Rome isn't till Sunday) or it goes ahead and my suggestion of "ahh leave the car, get the bus to the airport" will come back to bite me. Nothing like arriving in DUB at 2pm and find there's no public transport.

If I go and collect her, and don't get back by 4pm, will the Gov have snipers out?

Few light flakes in Greystones now

When you say not good news for south Dublin do you mean we will get more or less snow than expected?

He was misunderstanding another user's post. It's all good, there is no change to the amount of snow expected. :)

My drive - look at the snow climbing up the wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

There will be light showers nationwide tonight. Tomorrow morning there will be a lull but showers will pep up before the 4pm event, where things turn up to 11

tumblr_lui074CBzp1qdl86po1_500.jpg

I know I'm being pedantic but the Red warning is in place for many areas atm 'til 12 pm tomorrow then reinstated at 4pm. Why the 4 hour gap?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Grange,
    South Side Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭SQLDBA

Cork on Snapchat maps looking class

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

The beast is in cobh, counted bout 10 blasts of lightning one which lit up everything

Ardmore at 2:30 today, have approx 10inches currently some violent gusts of wind shaking the house.

That looks more like something you would see in Canada lol

damn it i want thunder snow

College road cork :D

poGVGeclj

Ardmore at 2:30 today, have approx 10inches currently some violent gusts of wind shaking the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Calibos

Snowing quite heavy in Bray thanks be to jaysus!

[EDIT] Scratch that. it lasts about a pxy 30 seconds! :mad:

lobbylad wrote: »
    If I go and collect her, and don't get back by 4pm, will the Gov have snipers out?

Should be more worried about if you don't collect her!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

It's back, after many long hours of Snow drought, Swords is back in the crosshairs!

https://imgur.com/a/CYcMd

It's in Mc Curtain street Cork City at 21.30 re new Imgur account.

Will post later photos as i will photo more tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭RuthieRose

Another funny one!

I can’t believe this is really happening

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

Again Arklow misses out &#55357;&#56877;

same here in Dunshaughlin, snow bands to my north and south all evening.

Still only 6 to 7cm of snow here.

Even when the radar has shown heavy snow showers it's just been light snizzle. Majority of the snow on the ground here fell last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Edit. Cant attach for whatever reason.

I can’t believe this is really happening

I did tell you two or three days ago that a special delivery was on its way to you leahyl, I did not lie :).

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭Sparkles27

Douglas, Cork.
    Pics don't really do it justice!

Made it home safe, though some of the footpaths in town are lethal right now. Counted 6 hotels/buildings on Gardiner Street that have tried to clear the snow on their steps & path by pouring water all over them :/

Also, was walking along the Liffey and at distance was wondering what these stripey poles were, turns out they're trees, must've been some sideways snow earlier :D

Cork is crashing the internet again

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Any snow in Galway?

Galway is a big place. Ballinasloe, Loughrea, Athenry have plently of snow, upwards of 3cm.
    Further west you go the lighter it is.

My drive - look at the snow climbing up the wall

The beast doesn't stop for walls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

Light snow in Naas again

Here in Cork I am now officially changing the name of the 'Beast from the East' to the 'Munster Monster'!

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Juppie

Panrich wrote: »
    We've had nothing to speak of in Trim :(

We have had a few showers.

Yikes boards is breaking under the pressure of it all

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭abacus120

Blizzard in greystones co wicklow with the wind

Cork is crashing the internet again

Yeah it did:eek:

Calibos wrote: »
    Snowing quite heavy in Bray thanks be to jaysus!

[EDIT] Scratch that. it lasts about a pxy 30 seconds! :mad:

This better not be it for the night

• Registered Users Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

View from house! And my doormat..

Cork city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Yikes boards is breaking under the pressure of it all

We need more gerbils at the core :D

Ahhhh the power of cork people 😈

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 actaphobia

It froze

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Here in Cork I am now officially changing the name of the 'Beast from the East' to the 'Munster Monster'!

Hahaha class :-D

Text from supervisor just now. Red alert for my area. No work till Monday but still paid woohoo.

Light snow after a few bursts of mod to heavy driving snow. 2cm in about 20 minutes should be more on the way

Not to be a joykill, but I honestly thought with all the posts that Cork was going through an Antarctica phase. Looking at he photos, it just looks the same as here (Dublin 10 - which is by no means he worst hot spot!).

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭spoonerhead

The Rebels are taking over

This is 10 miles away ... absolutely nothing here but look at this - just shows what a few miles does...

https://twitter.com/osullivaneoghan/status/968979770942918667

Not to be a joykill, but I honestly thought with all the posts that Cork was going through an Antarctica phase. Looking at he photos, it just looks the same as here (Dublin 10 - which is by no means he worst hot spot!).

Yeah...but it’s Cork!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Ok, it’s been solidly snowing down for a few hours now but in the last 2 minutes it’s full on blizzard in cork city’s south side. Never seen the like in my 38 years. Loving it!

Light snow after a few bursts of mod to heavy driving snow. 2cm in about 20 minutes should be more on the way

Finally picking up here now, proper stuff -3.0c and heavy heavy snow :)

UwP0flS.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Heavy snow now in Kilpedder, North Wicklow. First major fall since first thing this morning. :)

Yeah...but it’s Cork!

the snow shield is broken!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭Liffey4A

Wexford Town has had hardly any. The steamers coming off the Irish sea have dodged it by and large.
    They will get a shock if Emma comes to dump snow there to the amounts that chart show.

the snow shield is broken!!!!!

I think we can consign the snow shield myth to the bin at this stage!

Made it home safely! Some of the footpaths in the city centre are lethal right now. I counted 6 hotels/buildings on Gardiner Street that have tried to clear the snow by pouring water all over the steps and path :/

I was walking along the Liffey and at distance was wondering what the stripey poles were...turned out they were trees with perfectly formed snow stripes on their East side! Bit of sideways snow must have been blowing earlier :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Happy for the Corkies. They always seemed to miss out on other events.

But I'm getting worried about Boards servers coping with the traffic of Emma/Beast/Red Alert tomorrow and Friday (and maybe beyond, who knows).

Cool the jets and limit the refresh, or maybe put pics on the picture thread or something? I sound like an oul killjoy but we need this thread to stay active and live through this. That's why it's here!

Decent bit of snow now in Dublin 16. -3.2c atm.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭LeeroyJ.

Very windy and heavy thick snow down at dublin port. Does anyone know when we are expecting more mild weather again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Here in Cork, I am now officially changing the name of the 'Beast from the East' to the 'Munster Monster'!

Fan her up to the Banner

headache_puppy.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭revelman

Whatever about Cork city, the south Cork coast from Roches point along to Kinsale and Clonakilty took a hammering today. We are starting this storm from a very different base to most of the country. On my last measurement there was 18cm of snow outside my house in rural Kinsale. The accumulations tomorrow and Friday will make this a record-beating event for where we are, that is for sure. I know Dublin had snow today and it was given extensive coverage on the news :) but we have almost 20cm of snow already on the ground going into tomorrow!:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭md323

Nothing in limerick...very disappointing

Onto my 4th slice of white sliced pan today...

Gonzo wrote: »
    same here in Dunshaughlin, snow bands to my north and south all evening.

Still only 6 to 7cm of snow here.

Even when the radar has shown heavy snow showers it's just been light snizzle. Majority of the snow on the ground here fell last night.
    We got nothing

• Registered Users Posts: 39 HelloMrSnowman

None at all , all systems go

Sorry if this is a bit random but I know you’re in newbridge too so might be the best person to ask, how we looking for tonight/tomorrow? I know we got a great fall last night but been very little since then, how we fairing for tomorrow?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Mad how little a main road like the N3 Cabra Road appears to have been gritted, took this earlier on a trek around the area:

40501377752_aeb03dc368_b.jpg20180228_203625 by Matthew Johnston, on Flickr

Phibsboro Luas stop looking good in the snow:

40501380372_cf79872d1f_b.jpg20180228_204037 by Matthew Johnston, on Flickr

When I got to Doyle's Corner there was an absolute blizzard going:

40544214381_bf65f1725e_b.jpg20180228_204850 by Matthew Johnston, on Flickr

Look at this Nice Guy Taxi Driver:

Here's the Blizzard At Doyle's Corner:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭morgana

It's crazy! Can see it on the radar and we're just on the edge of it. Hopefully tomorrow we see some snow chaos.

Same here, apart from a measly flurry this afternoon nada in the snow department. Near Mallow, -1.4c.

Been following this thread from nearly the start and wanna thank Kermit, MT and all the rest. Learnt a lot and to all the naysayers over the past 5 days

giphy.gif

Onto my 4th slice of white sliced pan today...

You should be on your 4th loaf!

Fan her up to the Banner

On the way bai!

Well this is crazy was just about to post saying the sky looks weird and two toned. Turns out it was just the snow above slowly beginning to fall down and I saw it change! Back to heavy snow now again in cork city :D

oh its stop snowing here in cork.

Eh I’m rationing!

Sorry if this is a bit random but I know you’re in newbridge too so might be the best person to ask, how we looking for tonight/tomorrow? I know we got a great fall last night but been very little since then, how we fairing for tomorrow?
    If we get stuck under a streamer like last night we do well , I think we will get another few CM's tonight but tomorrow I think we are in one of the sweet spots and expect a good pasting ,

Actually as I look out to my trusty lamppost from my couch I see its coming down now moderately in Newbridge

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebeve

Its like daytime in ballintemple Cork .

https://imgur.com/KRlFRDf

Eh I’m rationing!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭typhoony

met eireann must be about to up date the red warning as it's gone missing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

A lot of snowfdall here in the last hour or so but is easing now.

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭stevenup7002

Heaviest snow shower I've ever seen just passed over Clonmel. Visibility went down to just ~10m for a few minutes! At about 4-5cm now. (this is just from the last two showers. There was no lying snow earlier)

Also looks like Met Eireann just updated their red alert to cover the entire country: https://www.met.ie/nationalwarnings/default.asp

It's stopped snowing in the city now. Good opp for me to take more photos.

Entire country red alert!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,160 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

STATUS RED

Snow-ice Warning for Ireland

Further heavy snow showers will bring accumulations of significant levels with all areas at risk.

Blizzard conditions will develop from the south Thursday afternoon and evening as heavy snow and strong easterly winds bring snow drifts northwards over the country. Eastern and southern coastal counties will be worst affected.

Issued:Wednesday 28 February 2018 23:00
    Valid:Wednesday 28 February 2018 23:00 to Friday 02 March 2018 15:00

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭typhoony

met eireann just updated the warning, nationwide red warning valid from now till 3pm Friday.

It's stopped snowing in the city now. Good opp for me to take more photos.

Still heavy snow in bishopstown

oh its stop snowing here in cork.

Hasn't snowed here in the Lough for an hour or so. Seems very localised.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,718 Mod ✭✭✭✭star gazer

All of Ireland, Met Eireann.
    STATUS RED

Further heavy snow showers will bring accumulations of significant levels with all areas at risk.

Blizzard conditions will develop from the south Thursday afternoon and evening as heavy snow and strong easterly winds bring snow drifts northwards over the country. Eastern and southern coastal counties will be worst affected.
    Issued:
    Wednesday 28 February 2018 23:00
    Valid:
    Wednesday 28 February 2018 23:00 to Friday 02 March 2018 15:00

Okay I'm definitely only on the edge of any showers, not adding much and heavy bursts appear for maybe 2 minutes before it stopping completely... Come on wind change direction just slightly

typhoony wrote: »
    met eireann must be about to up date the red warning as it's gone missing

Still on the website?

Women drivers :rolleyes::p

original...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

morgana wrote: »
    Same here, apart from a measly flurry this afternoon nada in the snow department. Near Mallow, -1.4c.

feel for you guys in north cork but this time tomorrow night.......

holy mother of mercy the entire country is on red alert and its gone from 12 to 3:eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭snowstorm445

Started snowing again in Ringsend.

Great to see Cork getting so much, amounts must be on a par with Dublin at this stage. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Aruba08 wrote: »
    stuck to the window here and nothing.

Well it wont be nothing come 8am. And it'll be coming from a different direction and like nothing you have seen before.

Right click on the valid for and moves it by the hour. It'll give you an idea of what is coming your way!

https://weather.us/model-charts/swisshd-eu/ireland/significant-weather/20180301-1400z.html

holy mother of mercy the entire country is on red alert and its gone from 12 to 3:eek::eek:

12 what?

I thought that too, I think snow is just more rare in cork and maybe that's why the huge amount of excitement ? Sorry to talk about ye so patrionisngly hehe

Decent bit of snow now in Dublin 16. -3.2c atm.

Should we get more?

Okay I'm definitely only on the edge of any showers, not adding much and heavy bursts appear for maybe 2 minutes before it stopping completely... Come on wind change direction just slightly

Same, in bray and not getting much bar the odd flurry

12 what?

It has been extended from Noon on Friday to 3 in the afternoon. Looks as if this event just keeps on growing...

Any guess as to where the first glaciers will form? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 23,760 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

STATUS RED

Issued:Wednesday 28 February 2018 23:00
    Valid:Wednesday 28 February 2018 23:00 to Friday 02 March 2018 15:00

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

Crazy gusts in Galway city! I'm up on a hill and used to them but that came out of nowhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Cormac2791

Coming down thick and heavy in Kilcullen, Kildare now again. Roads back covered.

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebeve

Bread just passed Bitcoin in value .

This, is after getting very intense, very fast. Harmonie must be showing something