Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Severe Weather Snow / Ice Weds 28 FEB ( Onwards ) ** READ MOD NOTE POST#1**

• Registered Users Posts: 10,495 ✭✭✭✭guil

Got a nice snow beard yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 12,181 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

I hope it misses Cork. There'd be some right craic in this thread then.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

two phones fully charged and a power bank, bring it on emma

• Registered Users Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭kingshankly

natc wrote: »
    It’s my daughter’s 10th birthday today and despite having to cancel her party plans for the weekend she is absolutely thrilled with the snow! She said herself “not many people can say they had a snow day as a birthday!

Snowing all morning, short respite for a couple of hours in the early afternoon but snowing solid for the last hour here.

Just outside Carlow town

Just told my two girls Disneyland Paris is cancelled tomorrow it didn’t go down well😭😭

• Registered Users Posts: 742 ✭✭✭smodgley

jim-mcdee wrote: »
    Well that's just your opinion. In my opinion, based on my own travels yesterday by public transport, and today by car, for Dublin, these alerts are completely unnecessary and costing the country millions. This and the storm Ophelia nonsense is costing small business that they cannot afford. This is winter in Ireland. We are getting the tail end of this weather cycle. Guess what? We live in a small cold country and we get snow sometimes. Put on thermals. Toughen up.

go to bed

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Jojo37

Been lurking on here since Storm Ophelia, finally decided to sign up. Thanks to everyone for the updates all week, and last week.👠In North Cork so disappointed with the lack of snow 🙠A couple of random flakes floating around at the moment, hopefully that's not our lot 🙈

• Registered Users Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Emma's not here yet, she is putting her makeup on for her date with Mr Beast later on :pac:

Beauty And The Beast?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,533 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Lots of nice snow in Dublin

Think pipes may be frozen despite the heating being on 24hrs, taps and shower not working upstairs but fine downstairs, I havent a clue and husband not much better! Any advice?

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭LastLagoon

Rename to The Least from the East

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Well that's just your opinion. In my opinion, based on my own travels yesterday by public transport, and today by car, for Dublin, these alerts are completely unnecessary and costing the country millions. This and the storm Ophelia nonsense is costing small business that they cannot afford. This is winter in Ireland. We are getting the tail end of this weather cycle. Guess what? We live in a small cold country and we get snow sometimes. Put on thermals. Toughen up.

Why don't you tell the families of the 3 people who died during Storm Ophelia to toughen up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Just in out of it,consistently snowing here in North Clare.

-2 here now,and there was a slight thaw around an hour ago but it's gone cold again...

Was out down by lough Inchiquinn, those robins are very intuitive, there he or she was doing a dance in front of me....following me along...

I upturned a few big rocks, he was happy out...

Slugs,worms, beetles and other insects...

Felt bad for the insects, but sure it's nature's way.

Walked down by the river and ironically there was a trout feeding by the bridge, where the lake drains into the river the water is very clear.

The River's very low at the moment....

The craziest thing I've heard all week. Trout visibly feeding on 1st of march with subzero temperatures and snow.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Just told my two girls Disneyland Paris is cancelled tomorrow it didn’t go down well😭😭

Ah no....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Cork city last night. Courtesy of @ylapajarita

IMG_20180301_161459.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭Steopo

Emma, Emma, EMMA? Sorry lads I'm a bit late as I dropped into a few friends in Devon but I'll be there shortly and don't worry I'll have lots of the white stuff for you all.

• Registered Users Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Nothing happening in Limerick. Much ado about nothing so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

Steopo wrote: »
    Emma, Emma, EMMA? Sorry lads I'm a bit late as I dropped into a few friends in Devon but I'll be there shortly and don't worry I'll have lots of the white stuff for you all.

Thanks Hun

• Registered Users Posts: 20,448 ✭✭✭✭joes girls

Can I just say, that the weather warning is NOT for just SNOW it's a cold temperature warning too.
    I'm glad of all the warnings, I know my family are safe all in their homes.
    Thanks to everyone on here that knows what they are talking about, I'm stocked up have no need to leave my home, I can sit back and enjoy what's coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

LastLagoon wrote: »
    Rename to The Least from the East

The kitten from Brittan

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

No it isn't my opinion.
    The things you are saying are demonstrably wrong.

The old "yadda yadda small business" bit doesn't make your nonsense assertions about public transport and the process of deciding on weather warnings correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 755 ✭✭✭NAGDEFI

Beauty (Emma) and the Beast :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭spookwoman

d'Oracle wrote: »
    No, you should have a look at how you interpret the warnings.
    Bit of common sense as well goes a long way, lot of people dont want to take responsibility for their own actions. If someone wants to go out tonight during a blizzard let them but I also say if they get into trouble that's their own problem and not to expect emergency services to go out after them. Its 4 pm here and people are heading out for walks etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭2013Lara

Still not a single flake in Wicklow. Its actually just funny now at this stage!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Think pipes may be frozen despite the heating being on 24hrs, taps and shower not working upstairs but fine downstairs, I havent a clue and husband not much better! Any advice?

Has the tank in the attic frozen? Open hatch in the attic and run heating to allow it to warm slightly. Not sure it will help all that much at this point... worth investigating further.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Steopo wrote: »

few 50 bags?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

2013Lara wrote: »
    Still not a single flake in Wicklow. Its actually just funny now at this stage!

Consistent light snow in Arklow the last while. Don't worry, it's coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Don't ever trust the accuweather minutecast anyway, what a ball of ****e! It actually has me agitated today :D

"Snow starting in 5 mins"
    Yay better check the window, no snow. Back to to laptop, F5.
    "Snow starting in 72 mins"
    FUUUUUUUUUUU----_!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Some light flurries here but nothing substantial as yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭2013Lara

Consistent light snow in Arklow the last while. Don't worry, it's coming.

Fingers crossed! Delighted for arklow haha

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Your opinion doesnt matter.

The decisions were made way above the self serving interests of ISME who couldnt give a shite about the welfare of their employees.

This is an unprecedented weather event in March and you must heed it. There is no public transport.

It is not winter. It is meant to be Spring.

Its attitudes like yours, that gets people killed. Get over yourself.