Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lahvlahn: The "Snow Show Like a Joe Show" Edition - 01/03 two-eighteen so to speak

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭jean contente

Works professionally.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,589 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Trumpton town.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 6,591 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

trump bingo

• Registered Users Posts: 17,061 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I have a feeling that Philip does not like Trump

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Trump.... zzzzz

• Registered Users Posts: 8,192 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

She had an orange and an apple, so where did the banana come from

Must have been the magic wand that was the real problem

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I feel sorry for the US Immigration staff having to deal with Irish people telling lies and acting like they should be allowed to decide which laws apply to them.

BPKS wrote: »
    I have a feeling that Philip does not like Trump

no way!! handover to sigh man slaphead to moan some more on trump

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I go there every year. There are no hoops. You just abide by the rules and there's no problem. Irish people seem to have a problem with rules.

We're accustomed to a high-trust society where small errors or deviations from the rules are accepted by officials, and in return citizens agree not to abuse that indulgence. The US is a lower-trust society so they're less flexible

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

goose2005 wrote: »
    We're accustomed to a high-trust society where small errors or deviations from the rules are accepted by officials, and in return citizens agree not to abuse that indulgence...........

That principle didn't work out too well with the banks leading up to the crash.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

I really wasn't feeling much sympathy for the first caller today. Many may find the US border and immigration controls to be overbearing and excessive, but that is not our procedure to change or 'fix'.

If we want to go to their country, we should abide by their rules and protocols. In short, this guy blatantly didn't, got away with it for ages, eventually got caught and was shocked to have to face the consequences.

Ridiculous complaint, made more ridiculous after being given 25 minutes of national air-time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Sounds like I didnt miss much.

I turned it off as soon as I heard that boring put me to sleep permanently rather than listen to it voice.

When is Joe back.

Desperate to think that if and when Joe retires we will have to listen to boring Phil up an hour everyday with crap Hayes.

tretorn wrote: »
    Sounds like I didnt miss much.

I turned it off as soon as I heard that boring put me to sleep permanently rather than listen to it voice.

When is Joe back.

Desperate to think that if and when Joe retires we will have to listen to boring Phil up an hour everyday with crap Hayes.

2 weeks caller fateen is turning into taking teacher like/time except on 40 times the wage

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    "We're the Count, we're the Count, we're the Countryside Alliance..."

In My part of Tipp we call them a spoonerism of "Country Gents".

• Registered Users Posts: 39,976 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Should I bother to download today's offering of liveline ? Any good quips from the fill in ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Ireland has a more healthy attitude towards minor infringements of rules.

Yeah we're pretty flexible alright :pac:

http://www.thejournal.ie/brazil-illegal-jailed-3352554-Apr2017/

I wonder how his appeal went.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Should I bother to download today's offering of liveline ? Any good quips from the fill in ?

I tuned in briefly while driving on the motorway and heard a story I have heard AT LEAST 3 TIMES BEFORE from different folks at different times.

*Irish person breaks U.S. visa rules and is amazed when the are arrested/deported/Refused entry etc.* :rolleyes:

I mean when are people going to get into their heads that the border control folks are serious and you must obey the rules.

No.

It will never make any money Philip when you pay one employee €400k

I thought that was hilarious. I was hoping one of the dragons would quickly go through the numbers like they do on the show. :pac:

"What are you taking in" :cool:

"What are your overheads" :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

shouting at his oy pad in his modest villa in france

It's far from modest!
    but sure that is nothing to do with BBc or Guardian is it, where's Butters when you need him?

I'm here caller - I haven't gone away you know. :DI've cut back on my listening as it does be doin' me head in and dat, but I do try and update de Wurkday Caluclator daily and have a read-een of de auld thread, just tryin' ta get a bit of an auld buzz goin' as de great man wood say himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,976 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

So Irish people overstay their visas and are giving out that they were pulled up it years later.

Well shock horror lads and I've no sympathy for the initial caller as he overstayed and got pulled on it.

It's like the callers who were giving out a few weeks ago about the system not being sympathetic to them. Some Irish do seem to believe that the processes should be tailored to their needs individually. Now is some of the way it's carried out a bit heavy handed ? Yes but it's their pitch so to speak, so it's their rules I'm afraid.

So Irish people overstay their visas and are giving out that they were pulled up it years later.

Well shock horror lads and I've no sympathy for the initial caller as he overstayed and got pulled on it.

It's like the callers who were giving out a few weeks ago about the system not being sympathetic to them. Some Irish do seem to believe that the processes should be tailored to their needs individually. Now is some of the way it's carried out a bit heavy handed ? Yes but it's their pitch so to speak, so it's their rules I'm afraid.

I didn't hear the show....so I'm in the perfect position to comment on the subject matter (as is the MO of your average Lahv Lahn caller) :D:pac:. I only glanced at the thread today whereas normally I'd read it all but let me guess - Philip was sympathetic to the guy who broke the rules? Go and fook off. The Yanks don't take that stuff lightly. I'm surprised he got back in at all over the years which I gathered from the thread (apologies if I've misinterpreted).

Did he call the nasty immigration officers "rotters"? How many "Good Lord"s did we have today?

And I also see we had some sort of RTE/Lahv Lahn/Dragon's Den menage a trois circle jerk of mutual masturbation? Licence fee put to great use there.

BTW, Gavin is as fond of saying "and dat" in real life as Joe is on the wireless trannie - I've had the dubious pleasure of hearing him speak more than once. He says it in a posher voyis dan Joe now, but he overuses it as much as Fateen. And he's supposed to be a Media Trainer! :rolleyes:

De Indo quick out the gates again with coverage of De Lahv Lahn stories and dat.....me own comments in red so to speak:

'They made me feel like a criminal' - Irish dad imprisoned in US during family holiday over 1996 visa violation

Capture.jpg

Kathy Armstrong
    March 27 2018 9:50 PM

An Irish family's dream holiday to Disneyland Florida turned into a nightmare recently when the dad was imprisoned for overstaying his visa in 1996....which he would have known is a serious offence as all J1-ers are warned about this in advance of travelling and the repercussions for breaking this well-known rule. I'm sure PBH asked him about his knowledge of this of course? :rolleyes:

The man, who has only been identified as Darren, said that he was made to "feel like a criminal" (most people would regard breaking the law as being a criminal...no?) during his ordeal, despite having been to the US four times since 1996 without any issues arising. I have to admiot to being astonised as to how he managed to get in 4 times since but that's another story and frankly not relevant to this visit.

Darren and his wife Linda had been planning the trip to Florida since last June and when they told their kids (aged 15, 11 and 9) on Christmas Eve, he said "everyone was buzzing (just to get a bit of an auld buzz going around de place?) and it was all we could talking about from then."
    They flew to Gatwick Airport on March 22 and from there to Orlando Airport, it was when they were going through the usual immigration checks there that things started to go wrong.

Speaking on Liveline on RTE Radio One today, Darren said: "We went through a place called Primary Inspection and we spoke to a border agent and everything seemed fine, we gave another set of fingerprints and then suddenly his attitude and line of questioning changed and all the attention was focused on me.
    "He asked when was the first time I was in the United States and I kind of hesitated and fumbled my line because of a long flight (sure, sure - you knew full well I'd say) and said 2002, my wife Linda nudged me and said it was 1996.

"He asked how long I stayed for and I said three months, he took my passport and separated it from the rest, he said they would need to look into it and asked me to follow him."
    Darren was then led away from his family to be questioned by Customs and Border Police for two hours.

The officers told him he overstayed his three month visa by a month in 1996, although Darren maintains it was just two weeks. Overstaying by a day is overstaying....and again I'm sure this was pointed out, right? :rolleyes:

He was then told he would not be allowed to enter the United States.

Darren explained: "I've been there four times since and I gave her the years as best as I could remember, I asked how I got in all of those times and they said I had just been lucky." Yes, you have been very lucky. But your luck ran out and now you're bitching about it. Zero sympathy I'm afraid.

He was allowed to go out to let his wife know what was happening and to give her his wallet and cards and he said things were understandably emotional.

"The kids saw their mam crying and they started crying, my wife tried to reason with the agent and she was threatened that she would be arrested. Anyone who's ever been to a US Airport will know that US Airport Security don't tolerate any emotional displays. It won't work.

"I managed to calm Linda down, I went along each of the kids and tried to reassure them it would be okay and to go enjoy their holiday, it wasn't how we planned it but it is how it is, the kids were bawling.

"Linda said she wouldn't stay without me and the border agent said that was entirely her choice but she would have to foot the bill herself for her and the children to fly home," Darren said.
    The couple decided the best option was for Linda and the children to continue with their trip, Darren was then led away for more screening and at 1am he was handcuffed and moved via a prison van to a correctional facility 17 miles away from Orlando Airport.

He said that he felt "threatened" during his time in his cell, which he shared with other inmates. Were they rotters?

Darren recalled: "They made me feel like a criminal...technically you are.

"There were upwards of 20 people in my cell that night, I stood out like a sore thumb, they were hardened criminals.

"Listening to some of the criminals it wasn't just stealing a pint of milk from a shop but things like being caught with a load of weapons, assault and battery and domestic assaults, they were openly discussing it almost like a badge of honour.
    "I just wanted to curl up and be left alone.
    "One man in his 50s kind of befriended me, for want of a better word, he could tell i was distressed and that I wasn't the type of person you would usually in that environment.

"So he was asking me was I okay, that was a small bit of comfort I suppose, he didn't look like someone you would want to meet on the street usually but he was the best of a bad lot.
    "The room we were in was massive, with about ten bunk beds and the air conditioning was on a constant cold setting, Were you expecting a US prison to be a 5 Star Hotel? I felt threatened."
    He was collected at around 2.15pm the following day, handcuffed and brought back to Orlando Airport in the prison van.

After around 24 hours, Darren says he was relieved to be on his way back to Ireland.
    "I was escorted to the plane by two armed guards in full view of the passengers I was going to be on the plane with, I was in handcuffs until we reached the departures area.
    "I was getting some funny stares when I was sitting at the departures gate, I didn't know how it would be on the plane but it was okay, to be honest I was just relieved to be leaving the country," the father-of-three said.

He was back in London by 9.30am on Saturday and then he landed in Dublin around midday.
    His family are still in Florida and he said they are trying to make the most of their holiday.
    Darren said: "Linda is making the best of it but it is hard for her.

"I was reassured by the border agent that I will be allowed enter the US again but I will have to go in via a different means, by submitting an application to the American Embassy in Ballsbridge and applying for a ten year travel visa. IF ONLY YOU HAD DONE THAT IN ADVANCE?

"That in itself would involve a lot of hoop jumping.
    "I can't really say at the moment if I'd want to go back, my head's all over the place, I want to just get my family home and have a think about it.

"I'll have to talk to my wife when she's home, for all I know she could be against ever going back there but then again they could be having a whale of a time, I hope they are enjoying it because they deserve it."
    He said that he also wants to highlight how serious the implications of overstaying a visa in the US can be. Yes, because we're just discovering this now....:rolleyes:

Darren warned: "I just want to use my story to help make people aware of what they could potentially be dealing with if they do decide to go the US and were involved in a minor thing BUT IT'S NOT A MINOR THING DARREN UNDER US LAW - and if you want to enter their country this may be a shock to you but you have to abide by their rules. It's like touting tickets may not be a crime in Ireland but it is in Brazil. Bizarrely and to the utter amazement of the occasional host of De Lahv Lahn and most of it's callers not every country in the wurldid behaves like the Irish and their laissez faire wink wink nudge nudge attitude to trivial matters like thew law of the land. Thankfully. such as staying longer than your alloted time."

• Registered Users Posts: 21,032 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

What makes you think he was a J1er in 1996?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,061 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Maybe Joe is spending his two weeks off developing an algorithm that allows systems to be individually tailored to suit Liveline listeners and all their little faults and forgetfulness. So to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,062 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

He should be skyping them a few times every day to reassure the kids.

What makes you think he was a J1er in 1996?

That’s the only thing you took from that? Ok....

To answer your question - it said it earlier in the thread.

Maybe Joe is spending his two weeks off developing an algorithm that allows systems to be individually tailored to suit Liveline listeners and all their little faults and forgetfulness. So to speak.

You can forget about him creating an Al Gore Riddim....it’d take him two weeks to figure out how to turn on De EYEpad without one of the researchers to do it for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

That’s the only thing you took from that? Ok....

To answer your question - it said it earlier in the thread.

nah he was asked if he was a j1er (might have been me that said it on thread so to speak) and he said no, a holiday visa which in itself seems odd as most yutes back then would have been j1ers.

Ok, apologies. As I said I didn’t hear the show and only glanced at the thread so apologies for getting that detail incorrect.

Having said that, I simply don’t believe that ANYONE from these shores in the 1990s didn’t know you don’t overstay your trip/visa to the US and the consequences to same. I don’t think he “accidentally forgot” to come home on the scheduled date his visa expired; he likely was having a ball and decided to stay on longer. Now that the chickens have come home to roost he plays the victim on De Lahv Lahn. Newsflash: you are not a victim.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

I think we can safely say, that there wont be any phone ins over the verdict up north.......................