Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PDC UK Open 2018 02/03 - 04/03. ITV4.

• 01-03-2018 1:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13,399 ✭✭✭✭

First of the big TV events of the year, starting tomorrow from Minehead.
    The so-called FA Cup of Darts with an open draw in every round.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018_UK_Open

First round starts tomorrow.
    Cristo Reyes v Benito Van Der Pas ; Paul Nicholson v Terry Jenkins look the pick.

Could be affected by weather, Willie O'Connor already withdrew and we can expect more to follow. No replacements.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

First of the big TV events of the year, starting tomorrow from Minehead.
    The so-called FA Cup of Darts with an open draw in every round.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018_UK_Open

First round starts tomorrow.
    Cristo Reyes v Benito Van Der Pas ; Paul Nicholson v Terry Jenkins look the pick.

Could be affected by weather, Willie O'Connor already withdrew and we can expect more to follow. No replacements.

I've a day off tomorrow coz of the bread shortage so I'm looking forward to watching this

Hopefully it doesn't fall foul of the weather

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 39,546 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Love this competition. Really hope it's not banjaxed by the weather

As of Thursday evening, the following seven players have informed the PDC that they are unable to travel to Minehead this weekend:
    Rene Berndt
    Andrew Davidson
    John Goldie
    Maik Langendorf
    Mick McGowan
    William O'Connor

UK open goes ahead but without the fans

• Registered Users Posts: 13,399 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Main stage not being used (would have been a bizarre sight empty).
    The smaller stages will be used for all games.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

It's going to be a very odd tournament with no fans. Family and friends might be able to get in.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,939 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Basically going to be a televised floor tournament. Least won’t have knobhead songs or booing when player on a double

Jesus Butlins looks like the Artic, fair play putting this on!

TbL

This is completely surreal

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭MileHighGuy

Atmosphere is like watching snooker. Interesting. Will have to see if it affects enjoyment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

Nicholson bottling this one big time

Dillonb3 wrote: »
    Nicholson bottling this one big time

Terrible from him, Jenkins had given up until Nicholson handed it back to him

TbL

Some decent finishing from jenkins though, 3 100+ outs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Brilliant game! Nicholson will be furious.

I think this empty stage we will see a better standard when the big guns come in. It'll be like pro tour

Brilliant game! Nicholson will be furious.

I think this empty stage we will see a better standard when the big guns come in. It'll be like pro tour

I think he'll be relieved more than anything

Think Jenkins will be really annoyed after coming back from 5 nil down

TbL

2 double 8s to win after missing 10 match darts! Thought Jenkins was unlucky, those 3 darts at double 10 were all decent.

Burnetts throw is an aesthetic cluster****, looks like he's gonna launch himself after the dart :)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Wheety

How bad were those 2 lads? Needing 10 and 4 to finish. It's like me playing my brother!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 547 ✭✭✭iseethelight

I wonder what the pdc were thinking letting this go ahead? Terrible conditions:seems to be very cold for the players, looks horrible on tv, awful averages, no atmosphere. I’m sure ITV are pretty annoyed having to cover this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

I wonder what the pdc were thinking letting this go ahead? Terrible conditions:seems to be very cold for the players, looks horrible on tv, awful averages, no atmosphere. I’m sure ITV are pretty annoyed having to cover this.

You can be sure the PDC pushed for it to go ahead too. The venue clearly didn't want to open with no running water or heating. They would find it hard to reschedule this event without canceling something.

I'm glad it went ahead, gave me something to do instead of shovelling snow all morning :)

TbL

Barney survives

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

terrible event so far

happy for nicholson - if he lost v jenkins he was finished for good
    first tv win in 4 years
    hope he goes on a good run

Third Round

Main Stage
    Nathan Aspinall v Rob Cross
    Mervyn King v Raymond v Barneveld
    Jeffrey de Zwaan v Michael van Gerwen
    Robert Rickwood v Gary Anderson

Board Three
    David Airey v Jason Lowe
    John Part v David Evans
    David Pallett v Robert Thornton
    Ricky Evans v Luke Humphries
    Kyle Anderson v Vincent van der Voort

Board Four
    Steve Beaton v Jermaine Wattimena
    Robert Owen v Jamie Lewis
    Kim Huybrechts v Gabriel Clemens
    Steve West v Darryl Pilgrim
    Joe Cullen v Keegan Brown

Board Five
    Krzysztof Ratajski v Darren Webster
    Simon Stevenson v James Wade
    Peter Wright v Nathan Rafferty
    Chris Dobey v Harry Ward
    Michael Rasztovits v Corey Cadby

Board Six
    John Henderson v Matthew Edgar
    Paul Hogan v Paul Nicholson
    Kirk Shepherd v Michael Smith
    Ian White v Simon Whitlock

Board Seven
    Daryl Gurney v Jelle Klaasen
    Martin Schindler v Ryan Harrington
    Adrian Lewis v Dirk van Duijvenbode
    Alex Roy v Gerwyn Price

Board Eight

Justin Pipe v Stephen Bunting
    Dave Chisnall v Ryan Meikle
    Jonny Clayton v Michael Barnard
    Dave Prins v Ron Meulenkamp

Bye - Jamie Hughes

Enjoyed that Cross/Aspinal game.

Cross seems like a decent guy

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 13,399 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Actually liking getting to see the top players on a decent stage with a 'small but appreciative audience'.

Why is John McDonald announcing players, players doing walk ons with music when there are no people there watching?

Why is that plank King wearing earplugs!!!

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭BabyWillis

Why have they both still got ear plugs in?

Why is that plank King wearing earplugs!!!

TbL

Yeah. What the actual fcuk