Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battlefield V

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

I moaned here at lot about my issues with BF4. I didn’t like it and I won’t drag it back up. Suffice to say for me the game felt like:

homer2.jpg

I only really got into Battlefield properly with BC2. I played a bit of 1942, BF2 and 2142 at the time but never had the time or the hardware for it proper. However BF3 is where the current trajectory the series has taken all started, all games since have iterated on its short ttk and chaotic gameplay in favour of objective focused gameplay.

I did have a lot of fun with BF3 as well as BC2, but they’re very different experiences. BF3 eliminated the clunkiness of BC2 and the gameplay shifted as a result. You could have some epic concentrated gunfights in BC2 that didn’t feel like the meat grinder you often got in BF3. That said BF3 has much better gunplay.

However it often felt that BF3 didn’t always know what to do with itself. Jets were disconnected from the rest of the game while BC2’s (and BF3’s) helicopters were generally part of the mix. Giving Assualt the medkit was a weird decision and felt like a knee jerk reaction to BC2 super medics. Also PTFO in Conquest in BF3 often just revolved around touring the map in armour while snipers did their point and click adventure games.

I loved playing Engineer in BC2, the tracer dart was a great way to balance lock-on weapons. Land mines were a lot of fun, especially frisbee throwing them over a wall or a rock where the enemy would stack and chase it up with a grenade...

Also Battlelog was great IMHO.

BF1 was alright, it didn’t really grab my attention for many of the same reasons as BF4, and I found it a bit silly.

I’m not really bothered by BFV, I just don’t have the time anymore to get anyway proficient so I’ll pick it up on sale I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,685 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

Dcully wrote: »
    So BF3 is the winner overall :)
    Id have to go with that too as a complete BF package.

I havnt gotten to 4 yet and I do want to put a bit more time into each of them.

I'd say 3 is probably the most accessible overall, it just etches out ahead of BC2 due to nicer menu system and clearer upgrade paths in battlelog.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,094 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Are most of you guys playing on PC or console? I just watched Jackfrags latest video about possibly separating the weapon balance out between the PC and console versions and I really hope they do this.

I started with Battlefield 3 on the Xbox 360 and then moved on to 4 and BF1 on the Xbox One. I never massively got into 3 or 4, I played them a bit but always struggled to not be anything other than canon fodder. Then BF1 came along and I absolutely loved it, I was almost shocked when I played the beta and I was aiming at people and actually hitting them. I love military history too so the WW1 setting was a big plus for me as it's just never really been done before.

I since started watching a few of the big YouTubers in the series and found BF1 to be deeply unpopular with the hardcore fans of the series, with it being too casual as one of the main gripes. But I found most of the criticism to be really coming from the perspective of high skilled PC players, I can't imagine the servers will be overflowing if BF5 is tweaked to cater only for these types of players. Separating the balancing out between the systems would at least take care of some of the problems there.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Ive played them all since 1942 with most of the long time users here on boards and as part of a competitive clan.
    1942,Desert combat and Vietnam are the ones with my fondest memories. Sunday night clan matches were great craic.

Battlefield 2 had some of the best clan games ever but never as good as Vietnam.

BF3 was a great jump in and play for 2-3 hours but not much use for competition play. Likewise with 4--I think BF4 killed off the PC gaming scene and battlefield as a pc franchise--well it did for me. There was too much people focussed on k/d ratios instead of playing the objectives.

BF1 was if Im to be totally honest the biggest pile of crap in the series. I upgraded my PC and all for it but it just didn't do it for me at all. I ended up putting more hours into it on the ps4 than I did on pc.

Not sure about the new one. Played the beta but it just seemed more of BF1 set in a later era.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Kinda agree and disagree with Hellrazor.

4 is the best in the series BUT only if you play hardcore, its the only that game mode that works in regards team play.

Bad Company was the death of BF, going console with easy to get into gameplay killed off the 64 player Conquest game. Making everything easier and clearly explaining things was not for the original players of 42/V/2.

I mean to this day there is still no sniper limit by default in any BF game, it was never an issue with 42/V/2 but now I have joined games seen 20 snipers on my team, noone capping and simply just left the server.

The simple way to make BF a thing again is simply go back to Conquest 64 players with the absolute emphasis on capping and holding, in BF5 you can win the game by not having all/or the majority of the points :confused: they are rewarding KD and not forcing team play.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

The simple way to make BF a thing again is simply go back to Conquest 64 players with the absolute emphasis on capping and holding, in BF5 you can win the game by not having all/or the majority of the points they are rewarding KD and not forcing team play.

Says he with the million to one kill death ratio :)

But yeah completely agree--more needs to be done to encourage team play. Stop rewarding k/d and increase rewards for objectives / healing / resupply / anti-vehicle etc.
    In other words encourage each class to actually play as that class in team based matches. Nothing worse than screaming for ammo or a heal when theres a medic 5 feet away from you whose sole interest is in getting kills. And that did my head in in BF1.

I don't think I ever got into a positive kd ratio in any BF game. But that was solely because I wasn't interested and only played the objectives regardless of the mode running on the server.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I think BF as we knew it is pretty much dead. The game is just starting to feel less like a labor of love and more like a huge catch-all commercial behemoth, where the first and last consideration is making as much $$$ as possible, no matter what gameplay concessions have to be made (See Battlefront 2).
    I tried BF2 last night and I got to say anyone who complained about grenade spam in BF3/BF4...holy f*ck you've got it easy. I joined a Karkand map and at the beginning of the round the americans were just constantly lobbing long range grenades from their spawn into the first point. It was ridiculous.

Coming at the first point as the Americans was like the opening scene of Saving Private Ryan. Playing as the MEC, if you didn't get at least one random kill from hurling grenades in the opening 20 seconds, you felt like an utter failure. :D

I've liked all the BF main entries from 42 to BF1 (and even Hardline to a certain extent) but BF2 was the boss.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,952 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Single player trailer released today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Single player trailer released today

Was hoping the SP would generate a bit more interest for me, but I'm just completely cold to this game. All that bombast and barely any gameplay..

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Scram

I have to say i loved the BETA, didnt get to play as much as id like but i found it interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭ewj1978

no discussions on the fact that the battle royale isn't going to be released at the start?

Did EA never have it ready or have they found some problem?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Could be any number of issues really. Possibly they have seen what the latest COD BR has and want to either improve/change or add more to theirs to compete with it or make it better etc.

In other news, I have installed BF3 again and am having good craic playing it. Feel's good to be C4'ing lads again :D

ktulu123 wrote: »

In other news, I have installed BF3 again and am having good craic playing it. Feel's good to be C4'ing lads again :D

C4 and Explosive Crossbow is the ultimate.

Especially on an attack chopper up top on Oman!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

Curious, there didn't seem to be any simple corridor meat grinder maps, like Locker or Metro in that mix.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,952 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

I'm looking forward to it! :)

Spear wrote: »
    Curious, there didn't seem to be any simple corridor meat grinder maps, like Locker or Metro in that mix.

I did notice that too. I wonder is the snow mountain map going to have an underground meat grinder? :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

ktulu123 wrote: »
    I did notice that too. I wonder is the snow mountain map going to have an underground meat grinder? :pac:

I thought that bridge map might be it, but it seems to have plenty of space surrounding it. It's a pleasant surprise I must admit.

Preload available now

And it's a solid 44 gigs worth too.

Jaysus that's a big one. Actually looking forward to playing this now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

yes, downloading now

Really hope its a return to form for Battlefield

Was on the fence until I saw this clip yesterday, immediately bought EA Premier Access for one month

https://twitter.com/dan_mitre/status/1059866043118706688

Very quiet around here with release for early adopters just days away.
    I enjoyed some parts of the beta but hated the attrition system with a passion, nice idea but poorly implimented.
    If they address that ill be interested as the gunplay is pretty good and maps look interesting.

The patch/release notes are 135 pages long according to one of the devs. The beta may not be much reflection of the game at this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

I enjoyed some parts of the beta but hated the attrition system with a passion, nice idea but poorly implimented

Patch notes word count from Dice, I would safely say attrition has been tweaked ;)

DrU0mnBX4AEwUFA?format=jpg&name=orig

Serious amount of patch notes. The map showcase trailer made me want the game.

Pre loading.

Went with Origin Premier for a month, anyone want a game of fifa whilst it preloads? :D

Its free with premium right? while subbed ofcourse.

Yes you get the Deluxe edition 9 days earlier than everyone else.

Or something weird like that, its out in 1 day and 22 hours for Premium.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Going no where near it until it comes out and has been played. A bit salty i went full premium last time and it went to ****e fairly fast.