Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battlefield V

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Past BF's had beginner servers, why can't they just do that instead. If a player has a rank greater than 10 they can't access that server. Simples!

Used to play on beginner servers in BF4 as I was just returning to the franchise, they did it by K:D ratio and also had an admin keeping an eye on the server.

Once you hit like 1.2 K: D consistently you got booted.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Does squad chat work on xbox?

I see speaker icons beside names but dont hear anything?

Yeah was looking for a setting in game yesterday couldn't see any. Think its an xbox chat setting play in both or something. If you can't hear chat then it is probably set to play only when mic is in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

I’m a bit lost on all this TTK stuff - if a new guy is **** at the game, less or higher time to kill isn’t going to help him in anyway because it’s a skill problem, not a game one?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭KilOit

I have yet to kill anything with the V1 rocket, about 5 so far last few days to get the tides of war week 2 award, so frustrating

KilOit wrote: »
    I have yet to kill anything with the V1 rocket, about 5 so far last few days to get the tides of war week 2 award, so frustrating

Iv'e yet to pass the challenge after killing loads!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

anyone else find that the MG34 is an absolute death ray of a gun once you get used to being in prepared positions

fergus1001 wrote: »
    anyone else find that the MG34 is an absolute death ray of a gun once you get used to being in prepared positions

Iv'e not tried it yet, Been using the Lewis with extended mag absolute ownage on *choke points. Got like 20 kills on Fjell without reloading there tonight with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,408 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

KilOit wrote: »

I spent yesterday afternoon trying too revive squadmates as an assault/engineer(?). I must have revived 50+ it's stuck on 2. Playing with LMGs or ARs is an eye opener it's awesome being able to kill people at distance. I'm using the 2nd SMG on my medic which I main. Anytime I shoot at someone 30 feet away it's the equivalent of shouting "hey, I'm over here, kill me!"

oh as a medic can I just say by far the thing that annoys me the most is trying to revive someone and you pick up their weapon, it doesn't happen a lot but when it does I want to punch my teeth out

Iv'e not tried it yet, Been using the Lewis with extended mag absolute ownage on *choke points. Got like 20 kills on Fjell without reloading there tonight with that.

I had 32-12 game last night with the MG34 people don't expect people to be prone, I blame call of duty

also find if you dive prone backwards enemies will run right by you as you look like your downed just an FYI

• Registered Users Posts: 9,094 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I’m a bit lost on all this TTK stuff - if a new guy is **** at the game, less or higher time to kill isn’t going to help him in anyway because it’s a skill problem, not a game one?

Slower TTK means dying less often which they are hoping means new players won't get frustrated as much and just give up on the game.

We'll never agree on this :) imo better players do well on faster ttk. A slower ttk will allow a decent player to react. A bad player (such as myself) will die in either scenario.
    plus killing people quicker means I don't have to be as accurate again a boon for the likes of me

• Registered Users Posts: 12,210 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

For a bunch of smart lads these game developers sure are dumb as bricks. Instead of fixing the numerous bugs they go and change something that people actually like about the game. Totally mental.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

gimli2112 wrote: »
    oh as a medic can I just say by far the thing that annoys me the most is trying to revive someone and you pick up their weapon, it doesn't happen a lot but when it does I want to punch my teeth out

Tap X or whatever the revive button is on your platform rather than holding it down.

I thought initially it had to be held down and was always picking up their guns.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Doyler99

Finally unlocked the V1 rocket challenge on TOW. Looking forward to now never using one of the ugliest helmets going.

Played one game of Conquest last night, just me and my brother in a squad. Behind the whole game, fairly significantly at one point and then near the end our team suddenly controlled all the points. Ended up in an epic battle taking and then holding one around a farm. Won by 35 tickets absolutely awesome.
    Wasn't BF1 next to impossible to come from behind?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shlippery

Played one game of Conquest last night, just me and my brother in a squad. Behind the whole game, fairly significantly at one point and then near the end our team suddenly controlled all the points. Ended up in an epic battle taking and then holding one around a farm. Won by 35 tickets absolutely awesome.
    Wasn't BF1 next to impossible to come from behind?

Yea, there's a lot more chances of a comeback in BFV! They toned down the 'comeback' mechanics in a recent patch so it's not as aggressive. (too many neck and neck games)

Think they're just right now. Love when it comes down to the wire.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Tap X or whatever the revive button is on your platform rather than holding it down.

I thought initially it had to be held down and was always picking up their guns.

A guy i play with continues to hold in the "wait for revive" button as he's being revived, meaning that nearly every time he gets revived he starts shooting instantly when the animation finishes. :o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

First decent decision they've made since the launch. The ttk actually didn't annoy me too much in the end. Watch now as I start going mental because I'm now dying too fast.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

First decent decision they've made since the launch. The ttk actually didn't annoy me too much in the end. Watch now as I start going mental because I'm now dying too fast.

I could feel it on the SMGs and LMGs at least, so I'm greatly relieved by this.

If they would more beginner friendly servers, implement the slower TTK on servers marked beginner instead.

Good to hear. Had a good few games with the TTK changes trying to get used to the new values but it never felt right.

Spear wrote: »
    I could feel it on the SMGs and LMGs at least, so I'm greatly relieved by this.

If they would more beginner friendly servers, implement the slower TTK on servers marked beginner instead.

I'm using the Suomi with rapid fire, the bullets come out so fast it doesn't really matter. I can't kill anything ten feet away anyway. I hadn't really played the other classes until this week so I had nothing to compare it with. I had a feeling it really hurt the medics the most but that's because of personal bias rather than any facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

TTK being reverted back to launch is better I think. It will give the game a far more realistic feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I didn't think I had an issue with TTK until I started playing support, was a bit ridiculous.

me too bullet sponge' s everywhere the MG34 felt wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shlippery

Eugh, the deluxe preorder airlifts were a bit..underwhelming.

https://www.battlefield.com/news/the-weekly-airlifts-in-battlefield-5-deluxe-edition

Anyone get that special assignment "The Launching Operation" You've to pass on any 3 Grand Operation Norway, Netherlands, North Africa or France its worth 75k xp. Have been playing Grand ops all day hasn't recognised 1 win, have't lost either. Or am I missing something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Anyone get that special assignment "The Launching Operation" You've to pass on any 3 Grand Operation Norway, Netherlands, North Africa or France its worth 75k xp. Have been playing Grand ops all day hasn't recognised 1 win, have't lost either. Or am I missing something.

Sounds like the same issue as in Tides of War, something is very broken about how the game tracks these objectives.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭ewj1978

First time playing in ages(tired of destiny grind :) )
    Played for an hour as a support, Not sure if the TTK changes had come in when I was playing but anywho, Mg34. Prone behind a wall with a lovely line of sight over E point on Rotterdam. Think I got 14 kills before someone blapped me with a PIAT.
    Awesome fun.
    Next map up was the new tank map. Needs more tanks and less bullet resistant planes.
    Was on an AA, blasting away at stuka's and doing feck all damage.(yes i was actually hitting them) PanzerV comes across the field at me and I start dinging away at him. He goes up in flames after a minute. IMO thats stupid. The AA should be doing feck all to the tanks and hammering the planes.
    Also Mg34 again. Much wowness.