Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battlefield V

• Registered Users Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shlippery

All the YouTubers in Stockholm today getting briefed on Firestorm and other stuff. Trailer this week and some stuff locked behind an NDA..hopefully they'll have some juicy news for us.

Excited for the rest of the month ...newroadmap next week too!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Firestorm Trailer has been released, looks quite good

• Registered Users Posts: 22,408 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

ktulu123 wrote: »
    Firestorm Trailer has been released, looks quite good

Looks great.

I remain optimistic...breezing through the ToW so looking forward for a fresh dump of content.

The bugs are nearly gone so should be good to see what comes once Firestorm is out.

• Registered Users Posts: 915 ✭✭✭stuff.hunter

..and we've got mosquitos recently ... and game became unplayable (especially Fjell) :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Lads,

Need a hand finding out what map variant this was i ended up playing a month back.

Is was a north african setting , but it was defend vs attackers, the attackers were paradropped in and there was big planes flying overhead for most of the round that would circle and drop troops. Serious points for shooting them down ?

Havent found it since that one round ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Killinator

Lads,

Need a hand finding out what map variant this was i ended up playing a month back.

Is was a north african setting , but it was defend vs attackers, the attackers were paradropped in and there was big planes flying overhead for most of the round that would circle and drop troops. Serious points for shooting them down ?

Havent found it since that one round ?

That's Hamada, grand operations (Airborne)

Killinator wrote: »
    That's Hamada, grand operations (Airborne)
    That must be it alright , one of my work colleagues plays also and he is lvl 50 and i was trying to descibe the map and he had never come across it !

Also - if anybody else wants to add me ( im not very good with regards to K/D ratios but play medic and support alot so can usually sort the squad out )

Outkast_IRE on pc

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Was never usually a fan of hamada, but only noticed the sandstorms on it today.
    Whoa! Savage playing through it.
    Some great weather effects on other maps.

Someone here explain it to me cause I googled it and still can't find the answer , a few times tonight in conquest I ended up 1v1 with another player I took over 180 hit points on him in a few secs with no time for him to heal or be healed and he still didn't drop. Happened twice in 10 mins , emptied a bloody SMG clip in at fairly close range with not a bother on him , his K/d was like 52-6

Also...it sure looks like a good time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭tripperman

Haven't had time in month's to play, looking forward to getting back playing next few day's, has much changed since start of January

• Registered Users Posts: 7,845 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

tripperman wrote: »
    Haven't had time in month's to play, looking forward to getting back playing next few day's, has much changed since start of January

Lots but not enough to radically change it, i think Firestorm is the shot in the arm it needs.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Killinator

Has the patch caused anyone else ticket counter on breakthrough/rush to dissappear?
    Quite annoying to be playing either and not knowing how close or far you are from winning or losing!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭tigger123

I get a bit confused with the ads and updates etc.

Is there new maps coming soon?

I'm still loving it anytime I get an hour or two to get into it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Firestorm is coming on Monday, it is Battlefields version of Battle Royal. I was very sceptical when I heard they were making it but the gameplay I have seen so far looks good. It will probably hold my interest for a couple weeks then I'll drop off again.

Not big into the BR genre anymore

tigger123 wrote: »
    I get a bit confused with the ads and updates etc.

Is there new maps coming soon?

I'm still loving it anytime I get an hour or two to get into it.

New one for Firestorm battle royal, another due in May i think, looks like a beach one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭pegasus1

**World Record attempt**

for the longest time time playing a video game online

Already 48 hours playing time in, he is taking a well earned rest by building up 10 minutes rest time every hour he is attempting to smash the existing record of 135 hours by an Australian playing CoD this time the game is BF V and Northern Ireland

His feed can be watched on twitch

https://www.twitch.tv/ni_oldskool

Give NI_Old Skool support by watching and sharing his feed

pegasus1 wrote: »
    **World Record attempt**

Already 48 hours playing time in, he is taking a well earned rest by building up 10 minutes rest time every hour he is attempting to smash the existing record of 135 hours by an Australian playing CoD this time the game is BF V and Northern Ireland

Fair play to him...135hrs is some length of time - story with food and drink!?

Also..Firestorm is out! Mostly positive reviews so far! Dying to get home and get stuck into it.

Really enjoying it, it has a feel of the older BF games where you had some time to mess about without getting chucked right into a spray of bullets. Few issues but I'd say one or two patches will sort it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭tigger123

pegasus1 wrote: »
    **World Record attempt**

What a complete and utter waste of time.

Firestorm feels alright so far, only played 2 rounds of solo last 7 was the furthest i got.

Not sure on weapon balance, i got an upper torso shot with a sniper rifle on an enemy and it only dented his armour he snuck round me and two bullets from the stg and i was wiped.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,434 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Wasn't impressed with solo mode..but squad mode is a different beast altogether. Absolutely great fun to play and extremely enjoyable.

Blazer wrote: »
    Wasn't impressed with solo mode..but squad mode is a different beast altogether. Absolutely great fun to play and extremely enjoyable.

Yeah might give that a go tomorrow night

I just love not dying over, and over, and over to the point that dying/respawning is meaningless. I spent 10mins just wandering on an adventure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

It has pulled me back in anyway, enjoying it from what I played this evening. The chopper is class :D Is it just me or could it do with a bit of intro/outro music? It all seems very subdued, even the match ending screen.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,408 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

. Played a couple of rounds. One maddening moment for me. Was down to the last 7, firewall right beside me, i got a flank on an enemy and fired first only for the screen to freeze for about a second, long enough for him to move out of my sights and take me out.

Other than that it was fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭jonski

Played a few games of it today , three things that stood out in a negative way for me , the overpowering sound of the firestorm drowning out footsteps ( could use it as a tactic ) , too slow to easily spot what you want from loot ( maybe it will get easier with time ) and the glaring lack of Duos . Other than that I enjoyed it .

I think the sound is fantastic. Had some holy **** moments last night too trying to outrun the fire in a tank.

Audio set to War Tapes and lack of visibility is fcking epic.. Blindly running through the fire to only to meet an unfortunate demise at the end!

Still gong to take a few more rounds to get the hang of it..an hopefully a bit more stability as it's crashing a lot for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,211 ✭✭✭✭km79

I might go back for a look so

Will it be fun solo though ?