Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Correct pronunciation of Dacia

• Registered Users Posts: 11,794 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

at least everyone can pronounce Ford OK ... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    No we say Pew joe. The americans call it poo joe.

and it should be per-show

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Isambard wrote: »
    and it should be per-show

No.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

at least everyone can pronounce Ford OK ... :)

People in the uk usually don't pronounce the r in ford. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Datcha

People in the uk usually don't pronounce the r in ford. :)

eh? - so they say fod??? fod escort ... :confused:

anyone know why we had to adopt the name Opel over here in Ireland and not Vauxhall ? (once made in my lovely hometown) - I have always wondered that .

When I had an old Opel Corsa over here in Ireland my mate in the UK had a Vauxhall Nova - both the exact same car ...

This is something I fond odd, because they actually changed the pronunciation themselves.

In the early advertisements (on the Radio, anyway) around the launch of the cars, they were called 'Darcha' and then they changed them to 'd'arse-ya'.

Which I thought was odd, because, although 'd'arse-ya' is probably easier for the average dumbed down irish man who can't pronounce Peugeot, 'Darcha' sounds much better and more prestigious (in my opinion).

eh? - so they say fod??? fod escort ... :confused:

I'd have thought certain UK accents would actually pronounce it Fawd.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

This is something I fond odd, because they actually changed the pronunciation themselves.

In the early advertisements (on the Radio, anyway) around the launch of the cars, they were called 'Darcha' and then they changed them to 'd'arse-ya'.

Which I thought was odd, because, although 'd'arse-ya' is probably easier for the average dumbed down irish man who can't pronounce Peugeot, 'Darcha' sounds much better and more prestigious (in my opinion).

Logan.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Logan.

Darcha Wolverine. Much more aggressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

anyone know why we had to adopt the name Opel over here in Ireland and not Vauxhall ? (once made in my lovely hometown) - I have always wondered that .

When I had an old Opel Corsa over here in Ireland my mate in the UK had a Vauxhall Nova - both the exact same car ...

They used to sell Vauxhalls here (and Opels in the UK) and they both had completely different ranges. But then, in the 1970s and 80s, General Motors, who owned both companies, started replacing Vauxhall models with re-badged Opels. Both were still sold alongside each other for a while, but eventually GM decided to stop marketing Opels in the UK (presumably because Vauxhall was a respected British brand, and not 'bloody German') and stop marketing Vauxhalls in Ireland (because the cars were all essentially Opels anyway, and presumably also because 'German engineering' had a better reputation).

I think that's all fairly correct anyway.

They used to sell Vauxhalls here (and Opels in the UK) and they both had completely different ranges. But then, in the 1970s and 80s, General Motors, who owned both companies, started replacing Vauxhall models with re-badged Opels. Both were still sold alongside each other for a while, but eventually GM decided to stop marketing Opels in the UK (presumably because Vauxhall was a respected British brand, and not 'bloody German') and stop marketing Vauxhalls in Ireland (because the cars were all essentially Opels anyway, and presumably also because 'German engineering' had a better reputation).

I think that's all fairly correct anyway.

oh right interesting - thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Da-see-Ah

Or something like that.

Then of course we have a conflict between San - dare - oh! and sander - oh!

Why is life so complicated? ...

I've actually never heads the sander-oh pronunciation.

I dunno why that reminded me of this, but I remember when I was getting the car NCT'ed about 2 years ago in Dublin, some wagon of a yoke came into the desk with her car keys and yer man asked 'what car is it?'.

To which she casually replied, whilst holding the keys up to shoulder height: "a B-M fiver." (presumably a BMW 5 Series).

I don't know if she just bought the car and thought she was the dogs bollocks or something because of it, but you could almost feel the room cringing with embarrassment, and yer man behind the desk kinda looking at her with a hesitantly blank look on his face.

I always remember that at random times.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

San-dare-NO

• Registered Users Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

and is it Can-yonero or Canyon-ero ?

F series

• Registered Users Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Isambard wrote: »
    and is it Can-yonero or Canyon-ero ?

F series

"12 yards long, 2 lanes wide, 65 tonnes of American pride!

Can-yonero, Canyon-ero"

d411e259-4162-4284-ac44-8d8ede8915bf_d.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 73,452 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Unexplained fires are a matter for the courts

I've actually never heads the sander-oh pronunciation.

I dunno why that reminded me of this, but I remember when I was getting the car NCT'ed about 2 years ago in Dublin, some wagon of a yoke came into the desk with her car keys and yer man asked 'what car is it?'.

To which she casually replied, whilst holding the keys up to shoulder height: "a B-M fiver." (presumably a BMW 5 Series).

I don't know if she just bought the car and thought she was the dogs bollocks or something because of it, but you could almost feel the room cringing with embarrassment, and yer man behind the desk kinda looking at her with a hesitantly blank look on his face.

I always remember that at random times.

BM fiver... Sounds like something you order in a burger king lol :D

if Opel ever bring out a 4x4 veh-hickle called the Opel Treadmill or Opel Thailand we will be fecked in Ireland :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

You'd occasionally see people write "5er", as that's what it's called in German, but they would say "Fünfer".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

Doesn’t bother me at all, when you’ve so many different cars with the same name it’s actually useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

Ah right, depends on the context I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭jacob2

mikeecho wrote: »
    Should that not be :

Reean - ohh

On a side note, I once drove a German half way to crazy by insisting that it was BMW, where he was saying BMV.

ahh. The Germans. ... great sense on humour

look better with renault badges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

EPAndlee wrote: »
    I assumed its pronounced sh-i-te

I came here to say this :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Bob_Marley

Our pronunciation of peugeot is closer to being correct than the uk's pronunciation.

From Peugeot to Renault to Lidl. We pronounce names how we like to, not necessarily as they are, and so what.

The Irish one's not correct at all according to my French sister in law. Same for Reno.
    The UK are much closer to the correct pronunciation in both cases, but so what ?
    The Irish Pew-Joe and Ren-Alt are here to stay.